Customer Reviews for

Cruise Control

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    I enjoyed this book!

    Paul McDaniel, a high school senior, is a grenade with his hand on the pin. Paul McDaniel has conflicted feelings about his brother's condition, and harbors anger over the perceived abandonment by his father. His brother Shawn is basically in a state of vegetation. Paul is an overachiever with straight A's and is the top athlete in the school. He's the quarterback, the third baseman and right now the go-to guy in hoops. Paul's mad at his dad for leaving the family while they struggle to deal with the burden of caring for Shawn, mad at the world for the way it sees Shawn, and mad at himself for not being the brother he would like to be. Unaware of how much he has in common with his father, he interprets his father's separation from the family as a cowardly abandonment. In the end, Paul learns that he does not have to be the victim of fate and that everything is not as it seems. The ending is a little too fairy tale, too pat, but overall i still enjoyed this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Cruise Control

    Cruise Control is a pretty awesome book its overall, it's about a boy named boy named Paul a senior in high school and is a basketball star he has a mentally challenged brother that he calls a veggie because his brain doesn't work , He is a trouble maker and also is a pretty smart kid and he is not that bad, he likes to fight and doesn't like it when people call him bro because he takes it serious because of his brother, His dad had left him and his brother with his mom and 2 sisters to take care of so Paul hates him. He left and made a book about his mentally challenged son and became famous, so Paul also ways has the thought of hurting his dad on his mind, when he gets into fights he likes to get punched in the face it makes him feel good. Then he takes his anger out on them instead of beating down his dad. Beside his brother and his dad he is a total all-star in basketball and the best on the team besides that it's his favorite sport. He coach loves that he so good because he leads them to the championships, which they soon when I recommend this book it is really, really well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2009

    AngerBombs

    Terry Trueman's real life revelation Cruise Control, kept me constantly engulfed in the adventurous mind of the hot tempered character. This novel revealed the deep thoughts that come to us as humans. The novel is filled with the written thoughts of the character's verbal mind, which creates many juicy scenes.
    Throughout the book, I became to sympathize for the main character, Paul, because of the author's superior ability to write an easy to relate to confession of a young teenager's struggles. Paul, as many other teenagers, is bombarded with a weird family. His brother, being mentally disabled, is a huge contributor to Paul's, quick and explosive temper. Throughout the novel, Paul takes his temper to the extreme but luckily his friends and family prevent anyone from getting hurt. The suspense is incomparable and pulls emotions that we have been taught to not feel because they are wrong. Paul tries to forget a scene where his patients were pushed to levels he didn't know he had. Paul notices he is experiencing the same feelings and thoughts he encountered just before he made his lethal mistake. He tries not to let it happen again, but there are so many pressures and scenarios that would be better without his brother.
    This novel is a great quick read that will have you wishing it were longer. The ending although heartwarming, would have been even more pleasing if given after the story information. Read this book. If you are a child or teenager, you will be able to relate to it and if you are an adult you will be giving a glimpse of our minds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    A Great Book For Athletes

    Kevin Gambrell 9/5/08 07 Marquez ¿Losing Control¿ Cruise Control By: Terry Trueman Cruise Control was a very exciting and well written book for readers who like sports, action, and violence. This book was about a senior in high school who is a superstar at football, basketball, and baseball. The time frame of this book is in his basketball season and he is so good at it that he could get a full scholarship to go to Georgetown, but he does have a few problems. The main character, Paul has a brother with mental disabilities, a father who left his family when he was younger, and due to all this, Paul has trouble controlling his anger. This story is about how Paul tries to get an athletic scholarship with all these problems in basketball season. This book was very exciting due to the sports and Paul¿s struggle to control his anger. In one part of the book a man almost ran over a little girl crossing the street and when the man didn¿t feel ashamed about it at all Paul attacked him and almost beat him to death. In another part Paul¿s best friend walks in the house and he can see that his parents were in a fight. He asks his father where his mother is and he says don¿t worry about her. Then Paul¿s friend checks the closet and sees his mother locked in there all beaten up and scared to death from his father. In rage, Paul¿s friend attacks his father and attacks him so hard that he sends his father to the hospital and Paul¿s friend gets arrested. In the last part of the story Paul and his basketball team try to win the state tournament without their second best player, because he was in jail. This was a very exciting part because Paul¿s team were down by a record breaking amount of points and try to come back and win it. This book was very well written and well laid out by Trueman. It keeps your attention and makes you just want to keep reading. The message in this book is to try to forgive your friends, family, and other people you may not know and to give them a second chance because everyone makes mistakes. This book is a must read for athletic people in high school who love a lot of action and violence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    The 'Angry' Review of Cruise Control

    Kyle Winterling September 7, 2008 Section 04-Rand Cruise Control Terry Trueman Cruise Control was an interesting book to me because the main character was a high school boy with conflict that relates to anyone. It¿s fun to read about what his next problem will be. He always handles his problems differently. Paul is a teenager full of anger and the only thing that relaxes him is basketball. The book kept me wanting to read. Paul having a severely disabled brother really makes you wonder what it would be like to have someone like that in your life. Cruise Control is about a boy in high school named Paul McDaniel. His dad has left the family, or so he thinks, and he has a severely disabled brother. He is captain of his school basketball team and he is hoping to get a full ride through college. He thinks that he will always be where he is now because of his brother Shawn. He hates his father for leaving the family to take care of Shawn. A big part of Paul¿s life is his anger. He is angry at himself for being angry and for not just being cool about things there¿s always anger in Paul¿s life. One time Paul sees a couple of kids come up to Shawn one day while he was sitting in his wheelchair on the porch. He saw the kids come onto the porch and hold a lighter under Shawn¿s chin. He could have stopped them but he didn¿t. Overall I liked the suspense and social issues of the story. They will keep you reading and you will not get bored. Just wait until Paul¿s big Game in the end of the story. I did not think this story was hard to read at all. There was some language in the story not suitable for little kids. Probably anyone who is in at least sixth grade should read this book no problem. They should just be aware of the things happen in the book. There is a scene where Paul and his friend have been drinking and are driving. I don¿t even like to read and I enjoyed this book. I give it 4 stars. Picture site

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    cruise control review

    this story is about a boy named paul and he mostly talked about hating his dad and his dad left them and didnt care for them. also that he ahas a brother named shawn that he was mentaly retarted and people made fun of him and he always had to beat kids up for that is not that he wanted is just he had to so people wont make fun of his little brother

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    Cruise Control review

    This book is about a boy named paul and he has a little brother named shawn that is retarted but as jorge call's him a 'veg'. Shawn doesn't like the fact the his brother is like that at times he feels guilty for thinking that he hates how his brother is. Then paul also hates his dad because he thinbks his dad walked out on their family, but actually paul's mom made him leave. Paul is a very athletic guy he is captain of his basketball team and the best player also. Paul gets mad very easily and loves to fight especially when he is already heated up. At the end of this book paul forgives his dad and actually gets up the courage to tell his brother shawn that he loves him even though his brother cant understand or talk back. Paul is in the championship game and right at the buzzer he made the shot and won the game he wanted to call shawn even if he was sleeping to tell him tnhat this game was for him and that he loves him and misses him. Oh yea paul also has a bestfriend name Tim-bo that got put in jail right before the big game because tim's step father hit tim's mom and then tim beat up his step dad and he ws the second best player on the team. I thought this book was very good and i liked it alot it kind of made me tear a litle but yea i definetly recommend this book to everybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2008

    an okay book...

    this book was like about a guy named paul and he has lot's of problom's.Like for one he has a brother that is a 'vegg' and he is not normal.Another problom that paul face's is that his dad waled out on him and never came back.Now to top it all off paul has a bigg basketball game(spolier)he makes the last shot a the very last possible moment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    Review

    Cruise Control By Terry Trueman Cruise Control, By Terry Trueman tells readers to treat mental people the same way you would want someone to treat you. It is about fathers that are jerks run who away from home because they have a mentally and physically challenged kid. One of the author¿s main arguments is that Paul was always blaming his dad for his temper problems. Paul always thought about his dad when he would lose his temper and get into fights, Like one time, a guy driving a Camaro almost hit a little girl So, Paul flipped him off, pulled over stepped out Then, all Paul could think about was his dad and how mad he made him. If he wanted to he could have killed the guy but instead he just beat him up. I think the author interpreted Paul's whole temper as he took it too far, He said that everything was because of his dad and it should all be blamed on his dad. But this really was not all his dads fault. There are other books that I should of read before this one like ¿stuck in neutral¿ it was the first book in the series by Terry Trueman. I couldn¿t understand what was going on at first when I jumped into this one. Then right from the start I kind figured out what was going on, This was a really good book. I would recommend it to anyone who likes a good book I don¿t like reading much myself but this one was good and made me want to read the other books by this author. I rate this 4 stars out of 5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2007

    class room pick

    Cruise Control By Terry Trueman Treat mental people the same way you would want someone to treat you. And fathers that run away from home because they have a mentally and physically challenged kid are jerks. One of the author¿s main arguments is that Paul was always blaming his dad for his temper problems. Paul always thought about his dad when he would lose his temper and get into fights, like one time a guy driving a camaro almost hit a little girl and so Paul flipped him off and then he pulled over stepped out and then all Paul could think about was his dad and how mad he made him and if he wanted to he could of killed the guy but he just beat him up. I think the author interpreted the whole temper that Paul had he took it to far and said that everything was because of his dad and it should all be blamed on his dad but really its not all his dads fault. There are other books that I should of read before this one like ¿stuck in neutral¿ and I couldn¿t understand what was going on at first until I jumped into this one and then right from the start I kind figured out what was going on, and this was a really good book. This is a really good book I would recommend it to anyone who likes a good book I don¿t like reading much myself but this one was good and made me want to read the other books by this author. I rate this 4 stars out of 5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2007

    Cruise Control Review

    Paul McDaniel is a great athlete and the most popular kid at his high school, but he has one problem. His brother, Shawn, has cerebral palsy. This is a story entitled ¿Cruise Control,¿ a book by Terry Trueman, and is also a companion to Trueman's previous book, ¿Stuck in Neutral.¿ But, unlike ¿Stuck in Neutral,¿ ¿Cruise Control¿ is a first-person account by Paul. ¿Cruise Control¿ is about Paul and his brother Shawn, his sister Cindy, his mom Lindy, and his dad Sydney, who left the family, and their experiences. Some of those include Paul constantly losing his temper and beating people up, Paul thinking his dad is going to kill Shawn, Shawn having seizures including one that could have killed him, and Paul's basketball season. Paul had a great basketball season. One day at basketball practice, Paul had an incredible shootaround. He never missed a shot, including a shot from the opposite foul line! During that shootaround, Paul kept thinking about things like that if he missed, it would mean his dad was cool 'since Paul hates his dad,' and if he made it, he would get a full scholarship to Georgetown. It worked. Another part of Paul's basketball season was the end-of-season basketball tournament. The tournament would be the final games in Paul's high school athletic career, since he was graduating the next April and wouldn't be able to play baseball. Something else that was important about the tournament is that their would be college scouts from Georgetown and Gonzaga, the top 2 schools Paul wants to go to. I previously mentioned Paul's temper. He gets angry quickly, and when he does he beats people up. We find out later what is causing this, and after Paul figures it out to his temper isn't very bad anymore, and it comes in handy later on after an incident in the basketball tournament. Overall, ¿Cruise Control¿ was a good book. I liked it a lot, and would recommend it to anyone in 7th grade or higher. I would recommend to it to everyone but there is some language in it so that is why I am recommending it for anyone in at least 7th grade. Terry Trueman really did a good job with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2006

    Cruise Control

    Cruise Control By Terry Truemen I really enjoy reading Cruise Control it is the sequel to Struck in Neutral. It made me laugh and cry mostly think. If you really read it and understand it I bet that you will know what I am talking about. The best part was when Paul sat down and talking to his brother Shawn. That was like a Kodak moment it made cry. This was so funny when this boy kept brothering Paul and he wouldn¿t leave Paul along the he kept treating him. Paul was on a basketball team and he was very good then when his father came up to his school and did a T.V. show. Paul was embarrassed because he did not want anybody to know that was his father. Paul head was not the game he was dealing with his father problems and his brother problems. Everything is mess up what is he going to do? So go and read so you can find out what he is going to do. Is Paul going to mess up his life or will he straighten it up?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1