Customer Reviews for

Cruise Control

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2007

    !!!!!!!!!!WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Cruise Control was a book that was easy to follow and kept you wondering what was going to happen next. I wanted to know if in the end if this story would bring the family back together or break them even more! A book that you can't put down and you just want to know what's going to happen! I'm not really a big reader i've read like only 2 books before I picked this one up and I read it in three days. I must say that I was sort of disappointed on the ending but I had no clue there was a sequel to it! So I read that and all in all I really enjoyed this book. Still I must say that I didn¿t like the other books ending Stuck in Neutral. But it was a great book and I must say that I would read it again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    HIGH BRANCH

    High branch

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    Inspiring

    Cruise Control was a really good book. This is the second book to Stuck In Neutral and it is told in the brothers perspective. When i read this i really thought it was interesting how much different it is by hearing the story from another character. I liked this book a lot and at some points it made me want to go inside and be a part of the story. The main characters name is Paul. His brother is Shawn and is mentally challenged. In many parts of the book Paul gets mad because he has a lot of anger issues. Paul blames his dad for a lot of things and he hates that he can't have a normal relationship with his brother. but there is one thing that Paul is very good at. And that's basketball. Paul is the best player on the team. He can make pretty much whatever shot he wants. This is what he takes most of his anger out on. Throughout the story you start to notice that his dad wants to be around him more. Paul doesn't really know if he wants that. but as things start to unfold between Pauls brother, and his dad, it becomes a really interesting and riveting read. I really liked this book and i would read it again any day. I liked how all of the characters were very believable. This story is very realistic because there are families out there who have a mentally challenged family memeber and face many difficulties. It is not an easy thing on anyone to have to raise a child that way. All in all, this book was very good and i really enjoyed reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    This is a good book for teens!! :)

    The book I just finished reading is called Cruise Control by: Terry Trueman. I thought the book is a really good book to read for teens. This book is about this one guy named Paul and he has a sister named Cindy. He also has a mentally handicapped brother named Shawn. Paul thought that his father abandoned them but really Paul's mother made him leave. Paul is an excellent basketball player. Paul has gotten over ten applications from colleges. Paul hates his farther so such but in the end it gets better.
    I can get a good picture in my head about what the author is saying in the book. I can sometimes relate my life with the book and sometimes not. It depends on what's happening in the book.
    I don't really have a favorite in the book. Paul has anger problems most of the time and Shawn is mental all the time but I do feel bad for Shawn still. Paul has beaten up kids for picking on his brother Shawn and when someone gets Paul really mad he starts to hit and punch that person. If that person won't stop picking on his brother or making him mad he starts getting mad and his hits and punches get really really bad.
    In the book Paul thinks that his father abandoned his family. So, all the years Paul has been the only man in the house so he has to help his mom with Shawn everyday after basketball practice. Paul has been a basketball player for a long time. At practice Paul hardly ever misses a shot when throwing the ball. Paul and his teammates make it to the championship game. Shawn just sits in the same spot everyday because he can't do anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2010

    Cruise Control

    This book to me, has a five star rating. Cruise Control is about a boy named Paul, who has a though life. "His brother is a complete veg. Yep, a full fledged, drooling fourteen-year-old idiot." Paul's mom is always helping Shawn, and never anyone else. His dad is a complete jerk, and nothing goes right for him.

    He has anger problems, and takes his pain out on other people. This story is very good. It comes from the author, Terry Trueman, who has experience with kids with cerebral palsy.

    His writing puts a very clear picture in your head, and leaves you thinking at the same time. It'll make you think, make you almost cry at some parts, and change how you think. Terry Trueman is a wonderful author. I think his books make you not want to put the book down. I know you will come to find the same as I do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2009

    E.M. Book Review

    Cruise Control by Terry Trueman
    Cruise Control by Terry Trueman is a deep and detailed story about a teenage boy, who has to face the challenges of growing up without a father, and with a brother who is mentally ill. Terry Trueman is a very thorough author who goes into great detail in all of his writing. He makes you feel as though you are sitting right there next to Paul interviewing him. In the story Paul, the teenage boy, has many different feelings and thoughts throughout the book. Terry Trueman really express Paul's feeling and the reader can very much understand what Paul is feeling. I believe that Terry Trueman did a great job with this book.
    In Cruise Control there is a teenage boy named Paul, who has a mentally ill brother named Shawn, and they live with their mother and their sister. When Shawn was young, their father left the family because he couldn't deal with the pressure and the time that he had to give up to take care of Shawn. In the story Paul is trying to live a normal teenage boy life, with the setbacks of having no father, and a brother who is mentally ill. Paul has to face many challenges in the story and has many mixed emotions about his father, his brother, and about life. In the story Paul has to learn to cope with his problems with his father, and learn to love and care for his brother.
    I think the book was fantastic. I think this because the way Terry Trueman told the story was great. I think the amount of detail he gave was great, and I think the way that he made you feel as though he was speaking to only you and Paul was right next to you was awesome. Some parts of the story that show why I felt the way I did about the book was when Paul got home from the fair and starting arguing with his father. When this happened you could truly feel the way Paul felt and what he was thinking. It was as though he was right next to you. Also when Paul was at basketball practice and was making every shot, you could really feel the energy Paul had and the thoughts that were going through his mind that helped him make every shot. Paul's positive energy and his loving thoughts about his family helped him make his shots one after one.
    In the book the plots were given clearly and thoroughly so that you could understand what you were reading. There was great detail in them so you could the characters point of view and what he or she was thinking. Terry Trueman's writing style is very real and easy to understand. Through the book he makes Paul's love for his father and for Shawn grow greater and greater every day. He writes in a way that shows his feelings in the story and gives his view on the issues. It is very unique writing style but is very true and realistic. The characters in the story perfectly fit the concept of the story and make like a real life story. Their every feeling, emotion, their words, and thoughts make the story very realistic and as though you are part of the story. The message of the story is excellent. The growing love for bothers and for father and son is very real and true. The message and the ending of the story is heartwarming and gives you the feeling that Paul has.
    I would give this story an 11/10 because it is so compelling and real. I would recommend this story to anyone who likes family drama, action, and an all around fantastic book. This book expresses feelings, emotions, and lots of things that happen in an everyday teenager's life. I believe that anyone who reads this book will fa

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

    I have a confession to make. I actually wasn't going to start reading CRUISE CONTROL for another week or two. After all, I had just read INSIDE OUT and STUCK IN NEUTRAL in quick succession. I have a lot of other books on my reviewing plate, and I didn't want anyone to think I had a Terry Trueman obsession. But then I decided, "I want to read this book now, I probably do have a Terry Trueman obsession, and no one is going to stop me!" So...that's my story, I'm sticking to it, and now for the story of CRUISE CONTROL... <BR/><BR/>This book is billed as the companion book to STUCK IN NEUTRAL, not a sequel. And for good reason. This book doesn't pick up where STUCK IN NEUTRAL leaves off, although I would recommend reading that one first, if for no other reason than to learn the history of Shawn McDaniel and his family. CRUISE CONTROL is the story of Paul McDaniel, older brother to Shawn and sister Cindy, son of a prize-winning poet father who abandoned their family and a mother who works hard to take care of her children. <BR/><BR/>Paul is fully aware of the unfairness and inconsistencies in his life. He's the star of the basketball team--his brother is a veg, confined to his wheelchair and unable to control any of his movements, from blinking his eyelids to swallowing his food. Paul is always angry, even to the point of physically attacking virtual strangers--his brother is unable to show any emotion, at all from love to annoyance. He hates his father for leaving the family--and yet wonders what it would be like for him to be a bigger part of it. Paul's life is, for all accounts and purposes, messed up. As his sister, Cindy, puts it: "There's no way I'll ever believe that the problems a brother like Shawn brings to a family are 'gifts from God.'" <BR/><BR/>As Paul discovers that his father might not have left the family due to abandonment, as his feelings of rage turn to shame for a secret he's kept way too long, Paul realizes the truth that his mother has long known: "It's okay to love your brother." <BR/><BR/>CRUISE CONTROL is Paul's story, and it's just as heartfelt and genuine as Shawn's. I'm sorry to leave the McDaniel family behind, but at least it's with the feeling of love and respect, and not sorrow and shame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2006

    Courtesy of Teens Read Too

    I have a confession to make. I actually wasn't going to start reading CRUISE CONTROL for another week or two. After all, I had just read INSIDE OUT and STUCK IN NEUTRAL in quick succession. I have a lot of other books on my reviewing plate, and I didn't want anyone to think I had a Terry Trueman obsession. But then I decided, 'I want to read this book now, I probably do have a Terry Trueman obsession, and no one is going to stop me!' So...that's my story, I'm sticking to it, and now for the story of CRUISE CONTROL... This book is billed as the companion book to STUCK IN NEUTRAL, not a sequel. And for good reason. This book doesn't pick up where SIN leaves off, although I would recommend reading SIN first, if for no other reason than to learn the history of Shawn McDaniel and his family. CRUISE CONTROL is the story of Paul McDaniel, older brother to Shawn and sister Cindy, son of a prize-winning poet father who abandoned their family and a mother who works hard to take care of her children. Paul is fully aware of the unfairness and inconsistencies in his life. He's the star of the basketball team--his brother is a veg, confined to his wheelchair and unable to control any of his movements, from blinking his eyelids to swallowing his food. Paul is always angry, even to the point of physically attacking virtual strangers--his brother is unable to show any emotion, at all from love to annoyance. He hates his father for leaving the family--and yet wonders what it would be like for him to be a bigger part of it. Paul's life is, for all accounts and purposes, messed up. As his sister, Cindy, puts it: 'There's no way I'll ever believe that the problems a brother like Shawn brings to a family are 'gifts from God.'' As Paul discovers that his father might not have left the family due to abandonment, as his feelings of rage turn to shame for a secret he's kept way too long, Paul realizes the truth that his mother has long known: 'It's okay to love your brother.' CRUISE CONTROL is Paul's story, and it's just as heartfelt and genuine as Shawn's. I'm sorry to leave the McDaniel family behind, but at least it's with the feeling of love and respect, and not sorrow and shame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1