BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Crunch Time

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Nursery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Love the characters

    A perfect suspense story for teens. It will hit every college-bound high school student where they live: in the land of test scores and academic competition. Offers an excellent look at teenagers who find themselves dealing with the usual social (popularity) issues, but also the dehumanizing aspects of having their personal worth measured in numbers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Funny

    http://scholarberry.blogspot.com/

    "Max grins. 'We should have numbers on our butts.' He turns to Daisy. 'Hi, I'm a two thousand. Nice to meet you.'
    In a haughty accent she says, 'Sorry, I only date twenty-one hundreds and above....'"

    To be honest, I've never cared for any standardized tests. Not the MCA, not the ACT, so obviously not the SAT. (Yes, I have not even taken the ACT, and I will pass them, it's just that I never get the whole reason why people freak about it.)

    When I moved to US on August 2007, it was a bit weird (to me anyway). They (the school) insisted on me using Number 2 pencils, and I had to use the wooden pencils (I only use mechanical ones or pens back in Indonesia). So when I saw this cover, it grabbed my attention at once.

    Daisy and Max are best friends--Daisy is poor and well (let's face it) her grades are just average. She plays basketball good, though. Max, on the other hand, is smart though geeky.

    They both came for the SAT prep class, and found Leo Thayer and Jane Cotterell from the same school.

    Leo Thayer is one of the BP--Beautiful People--and he knows it. Worse, he always hits on freshmen girls and well, break their hearts. In short, of course, a jerk. Jane Cotterell is the daughter of Julia Cotterell, the movie star. Right, Jane is also the rich kid with the popular mom without any friends. The SAT Prep guy didn't show up, so Daisy (not caring about the test at all), walks out. Inviting anyone who'd come with.

    Then the four of them started their own SAT prep group in Jane's house.

    But then they figured out that someone cheated. Someone cheated the SAT.
    Was it Daisy, the poor girl who needed the scholarship?
    Leo, who wants the perfect score?
    Max, who needs his father off his back?
    Or Jane, so she doesn't ruin her mom's reputation?

    What I love about the book: The characters--Mariah Fredericks showed us all 4 characters' minds, and each of them was great. It was funny--hilarious, actually--and smart. :D

    What I dislike about the book: I didn't dislike anything! (I wonder why I haven't found any book that I have anything to point out that I dislike...?) This is one of my favorites!!!

    http://scholarberry.blogspot.com/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    i looooooove this book!! :D

    omg! this is like my favorite book of all time! i read it in 2 days but i would have read it in 1 but i got it at night. read it!!! its GREAAAT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2007

    famazing book!

    I finished this book in 1 day. it was awesome. although I kind've wanted Jane and Max to get together in the end, I liked the ending. I didn't suspect the person who did cheat to cheat, but oh well. I really loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2006

    Wow!!

    This book was funny, and really showed you the stress high schoolers go through! And it had a mystery twist. It looks long, but it goes really fast. There were four diffrent plots, from four diffrent people, and they had the same plots from diffrent eyes. I give it 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2006

    This book is :a. fabulous b.riveting c. impossible to put down d.all of the above!

    Daisy, Max, Leo, and Jane all have their own reasons to be freaking out over the upcoming SAT tests. Though they all go to the same school, only Daisy and Max have been more than acquaintances before the day when, at an SAT prep course, they decide to bag the formal classroom prep in favor of their own study group of four. Different but alike in many ways, they meet and prepare for the big score that will surely, irrevocably change what college they will get in to and therefore the rest of their life. Right? Mariah Fredericks has written a pithy, tight story about a very timely subject that all high school students-and their parents-will immediantly identify with. Alternatively funny and poignant, capturing the frenzy of high schoolers coping with all the current expectations surrounding SATs, college admissions and the pressures of just being a teenager in this day and age, this novel will ring true with all readers going through the circus that is higher level education today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    I love these characters!

    I love the characters in this book. I couldn't decide which person I liked the best, because they all were fascinating in their own way. They were so realistic that I felt like I was going through every awful and wonderful experience with them! (I even forced myself not to read ahead to find out who cheated, because--if it was one of them--I didn't want to find out!) The SATs suck, and I like how this book puts them into perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2005

    A Great Book!

    This is an amazing book, written in the point of view of four very different students at a prestigious and competitive NYC private school. They all ditch an SAT prep class at the beginning of their junior year of high school, and instead befriend one another and form their own SAT study group. After they take their SATs, it is discovered that a student at their school has cheated, and the group is caught up in the mystery of who did it while pointing fingers at each other. A great and well-written book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1