Customer Reviews for

Crusade (Crusade Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Buffy fans have to read this! Loved it!

My daughter recommended this book to me. She kept on me, week after week, asking if I had read it, or if I had even started it, and I would just put it off. I had finished reading the Vampire Academy series and thought that this looked like it would be to similar and ...
My daughter recommended this book to me. She kept on me, week after week, asking if I had read it, or if I had even started it, and I would just put it off. I had finished reading the Vampire Academy series and thought that this looked like it would be to similar and wouldn't stand out for me after devouring the VA books.
I was wrong (shakes head). This book was great. From the beginning of the first chapter, Crusade grabs your attention. It played with your senses, of needing to hide to live, of needing to be quiet to not be found. Holder and Viguie paint a believable dark time and place. Their attention to detail leaves the reader wanting . . .wanting to know what is going to happen, are Jenn and Antonio ever going to be together, will Jenn ever be safe and who can she trust? Their descriptions of the fight scenes are perfectly done, enveloping you deeper into the world of the Salamanca. The introductions with the other characters in the book were done really well, developed as the book progressed.
Another one for fans of the vampire, supernatural genre. You get alittle bit of wolf, a little bit of vamp, and everything else in between. Buffy & Angel enthusiasts will love this book. I mean, hellooooo! A girl who can kick butt - check, a moody, weight of the world on his shoulder attitude vampire - check.
Betrayal + romance + action = must read! I was pleasantly surprised.

posted by chapterxchapter on October 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hi

Nobody cares

posted by 6012641 on August 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Buffy fans have to read this! Loved it!

    My daughter recommended this book to me. She kept on me, week after week, asking if I had read it, or if I had even started it, and I would just put it off. I had finished reading the Vampire Academy series and thought that this looked like it would be to similar and wouldn't stand out for me after devouring the VA books.
    I was wrong (shakes head). This book was great. From the beginning of the first chapter, Crusade grabs your attention. It played with your senses, of needing to hide to live, of needing to be quiet to not be found. Holder and Viguie paint a believable dark time and place. Their attention to detail leaves the reader wanting . . .wanting to know what is going to happen, are Jenn and Antonio ever going to be together, will Jenn ever be safe and who can she trust? Their descriptions of the fight scenes are perfectly done, enveloping you deeper into the world of the Salamanca. The introductions with the other characters in the book were done really well, developed as the book progressed.
    Another one for fans of the vampire, supernatural genre. You get alittle bit of wolf, a little bit of vamp, and everything else in between. Buffy & Angel enthusiasts will love this book. I mean, hellooooo! A girl who can kick butt - check, a moody, weight of the world on his shoulder attitude vampire - check.
    Betrayal + romance + action = must read! I was pleasantly surprised.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Amazing!!!

    Like the vampire academy series, but different. I ADORED it!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    !

    The next BEST thing to Vampire Academy!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A great book Con

    A great book Contemporary, Paranormal, Spain, San Francisco and New Orleans


    Jenn has been studying, living and training for the past two years at Spain’s Sacred Heart Academy Against the Cursed Ones. She is one of the few that have pledged to defend humanity against the vampires or at least die trying. The vampires though are gaining power and the battle has just begun.

    She is forced to return home after the death of a family member. While in San Francisco Jenn discovers that it is now a stronghold for the vampires. She is a lone hunter apart from her team and because of that isolation she is now at risk. She needs and craves the company of her fighting partner Antonio. She wants his protection, reassurance and his touch. Though a relationship with Antonio has its own risks and the closer they get the more Jenn ultimately has to lose.

    Now Jenn is facing a betrayal by someone that was once bound to protect her. She now has to face her doubts about everything she has believed to be true. If Jenn is going to survive she needs to trust in herself and her heart.


    This is the start of a trilogy that while written about vampires proves to be story that is all its own. The plot is fascinating and very different. Reading how the characters interact with each other and how they react to each situation is interesting and pulls the reader into the story. It will also have readers wanting the next book just to see how everything works out or if it is even possible for it to be fixed. It also has several mysteries that while not quite answered in the first book makes for an interesting puzzle to solve. With every answer provided there are still more to be solved and will have readers looking forward to seeing just what drives each and every character in the book. This is one worth checking out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    D

    D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    llllooovved iiiiiitttttt

    both of the crusade books where awesome

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    The Cursed Ones have come out, under the leadership of Solomon, and at first the proclaimed that they only wanted peace. But as time goes by, they start taking over and creating strongholds. Most countries have succumbed but others are training hunters and fighting back.

    Father Juan has put together a very unique group to help defend humanity against The Cursed Ones. Normally a hunter hunts along but Father Juan is determined to change that. The members of Team Salamanca consist of Jenn and Antonio, Skye and Holgar, and Eriko and Jamie. Each have their own uniqueness that brings strengths to the team but it also brings weaknesses. Jenn is human and chose to train as a hunter against her family's wishes. She is teamed up with Antonio, a Cursed One but one that is unique and fights on the side of good (swoon worthy!!). They are an item and are deeply in love with each other. Antonio fights every day with his evil side and unfortunately Jenn makes it harder for him to control that side. Skye is a powerful white witch with a few secrets of her own. Her partner is Holgar, a Dutch werewolf. Jamie, human also, the troublemaker of the group hates all non-humans and lumps Antonio and Holgar into the monster category even though they help fight the evil. His jabs against them at times are hilarious mainly because Holgar jabs right back. Jamie's infatuation is Eriko, the leader and chosen Hunter. Eriko has a tough time keeping this group together. She is unsure how to juggle the team members and make them into a cohesive unit. If she doesn't get her act together she will lose and so will everyone else.
    Crusade
    Crusade focuses on Jenn and her struggle with her family to accept her. She must return home for a funeral only to find that her father has betrayed her to Aurora, an evil vampire who is looking to take over Solomon's rule. Now Aurora has kidnapped her sister and she must save her. To do that she must travel to New Orleans and she also needs her team to come together.

    Crusade contains lots of action and struggles within each of the characters. I was just fascinated and did not want to put this book down! Definitely looking forward to the second book, Damned, and I highly recommend this one to all YA fantasy lovers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED IT!

    Good book it has a little of everything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Holder and Viguie have done it again! Highly Recommend

    I read the Wicked Series and found that even though it was good, the dark vs light story dragged on way to long. What Wicked lacked in speed, CRUSADE makes up for it ib this page turning novel. Crusade takes a whole new twist on the Vampire themes we have been seeing so much of. With a hint of romance, several sub-plots, and non-stop action, Crusade is a must read for any fantasy book lover fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    If you like action packedness, some romance, magic, witches, vampires, and werewolves...

    It has been a while since I've read a book that has vampires in it.

    But Crusade began as a short story in The Eternal Kiss: 13 Vampire Tales of Blood and Desire, which I read a while ago, and I remember there were a few stories in there that I had really wanted more of - and this was one of them.
    You don't have to read the short story to understand what is going on because Crusade picks up a couple of months after that short story and does in my opinion explains for the most part what happened in the short story well enough that you won't be confused if you don't read it.

    These vampires burst into flames when they go into the sun, they do not feed off the blood of animals (or blood bags from the blood bank), and they do not hesitate to kill. Except Antonio...who doesn't kill people because he's a good vampire - like Angel from Buffy the Vampire Slayer.
    Although that's how the vampires began taking over the world...they wanted us to think they were everything Edward Cullen was (except sparkly) - that they were nice, that they didn't kill humans, and that they fed off the blood of animals. Well the vampires in this book aren't any of those things.

    Crusade isn't just filled with vampires. There are witches and a werewolf. Which I love a world that is filled with other supernatural things because honestly if there are vampires existing then what else do you think is out there!


    So, if you're like me and like books that have action packedness, some romance, magic, witches, vampires, and werewolves then you have gotta read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome:)

    I enjoyed this book very much. It was well paced and had a good plot. Character relationships were very well thought out and even though the all were a team, there were still tensions. I will definitly remember this book:)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    Can't wait for the next book

    The description sounded interesting and didn't sound like anything that I have read. Most of the books I read have the vampires (or most of the vampires) as the "good guys"; this book was the complete opposite with the vampires being the "bad guys" with the exception of Antonio. I haven't read any books by either author so I didn't know what to expect but I am very glad that I bought it. I thought that it was very good and realistic. There were several action parts but it also had its slower parts to give you more background on the characters. By the end of the book I felt like I personally knew Team Salamanca (the vampire hunters) and experienced everything with them. I liked how you can see the main character, Jenn Leitner, grow as a person and hunter throughout the book. She went through a lot by being betrayed by someone she least expected but she never gave up fighting. I can't wait for the next book in the series and would recommend this to anyone who would like a new take on vampires and vampire hunters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2