Customer Reviews for

Crux

Average Rating 4
( 193 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 194 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    a whirlwind of all hell breaking lose

    One thing for sure, I liked the writing. The style was such that it pulled me into the story. It was fast paced, and the plot quickly escalated into a whirlwind of all hell breaking lose.

    I have to admit, I liked the first half better than the second. The authors (yes authors as in plural–Bree and Donna) did a wonderful job of character building. Moira Rogers gave just enough to keep me in the know, but not so much as to bore me with minute details. As far as specific characters, I connected with Mackenzie and sympathized with the fear she experienced. She went from a scared mouse, scurrying from the meanies wanting to stomp her to a determined woman, willing to do anything to live a life of freedom. I love strong women! Her sidekick, Jackson, was a little less developed, in my opinion. Other than wanting to do the horizontal mambo with Kenzie, I never really found his motivation. Even so, I found him charming.

    This book was a bit different than my normal reads as it wasn’t heavy on romance. Yes, the chemistry was there, but it didn’t drive the story forward. Instead it revolved around keeping Kenzie out of the clutches of evil. Did that bother me? Not at all! It’s nice to have a novel which wasn’t heavy on the love-hate relationship like so many other works of romance. Kenzie and Jackson started together and wanted to stay together. The key was how they would accomplish that goal.

    So I mentioned I liked the first half better than the last. Why? For two reasons. First, I thought this novel could have ended a bit sooner. In all honesty, I hit page 200ish of 253 (trade version) and wondered why there still 50 more pages to go. After continuing, I saw Moira Rogers wanted to tidy up one very important piece, which I expected to be in the next novel. But alas, Moira Rogers had other plans. For those readers who look for closure after each novel, that might be a good thing. For a serial junkie like me, giving me something to look toward would have drove me that much more to purchase the next in the series.

    Last, the plot was there, but I would have liked a bit more world building. Exactly what were the rules in this world? Some individuals seemed so powerful, I couldn’t understand what their limits were. Other times it seemed like things just happened, and voila there was another rule, or maybe not so much of a rule. I don’t know. Crux seemed to lay a skeleton foundation to the Southern Arcana world. Now that it’s there, I’d be delighted to see more of it. Hopefully Crossroads will feature someone more involved in the paranormal world and answer all the questions I have.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Review Of Crux (Southern Arcana Series #1) By Moira Rogers

    I totally loved reading this story. I found Moira's book very hard to put down. Mackenzie (Kenzie) Brooks and Jackson Holt are two very fascinating characters. I was instantly drawn to Kenzie's plight and feared for her like she was someone I knew and cared about. Jackson is a drool worthy character with charm as well as a caring heart even though he tries not to show it. Bar owner Nicole (Nick) is someone you would want on your side. She just hires Kenzie and immediately she wants to help her out and make sure she is staying at a safe place/neighborhood (even before all hell breaks loose). Alex Jackson's partner in their private investigating business doesn't have a lot to say but when he does you listen because he knows what he is talking about. Ever character in this book have a function and is not some random name just thrown in there to make the story seem full (if that makes sense). I haven't read many shapeshifter books but if they are done the way Moira writes them I will be reading a whole lot more of them. She also has really good creative use of some really great paranormal characters in this book that I think everyone will enjoy. Let us not forget the sexy times between Kenzie and Jackson. Although their frustration at times of not having it are just as great as them getting it. I don't want to give anything away but there is a scene where kenzie and jackson are driving in a car and at one point Jackson ends up banging his head on the steering wheel in frustration. Trust me you are gonna want to read that scene for yourself to understand why that was actually one of my favorite scenes in the book. I was riveted to this book from beginning to end. I highly recommend that everyone 18+ should read this book. In my opinion there is something for everyone (well except maybe hard core Vampire fans....lol). On a scale from 1-10 I actually give this book a 20 because Moira just has such a flare for story telling and this series has now become one that I will read over again that's how much I enjoyed it. If you have not read any of Moira's books I think now is the time to start and why not start with Crux. The rest of the Southern Arcana Series Crossroads book #2, Deadlock book #3 (Available January 4,2011), and Cipher book #4 (Available September 2011).

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    What a sensational start to a series!

    I've had the Southern Arcana series on my TBR list for a while now, so when Moira Rogers (a pseudonym for Bree and Donna) offered review copies to bloggers for their release of book #4 in the series, Cipher, I jumped at the chance. Now I ask myself, why the hell did I wait so long?!?!

    Mackenzie Brooks is on the run from a crazy stalker who claims she is his mate and they are destined to be together and save their race. One big problem in the mix of many there, he claims that their race is not of the human variety! Traveling city to city, his thugs always seem to find her but when she takes a job as a bartender in New Orleans she may of finally found a place where she is safe.
    When a good friend asks Jackson Holt to check into her newest employee he readily agrees, an easy job for an experienced P.I. such as himself and it will lower his bar tab! Jackson right away knows that Mackenzie is not human, as a Spell Caster he can sense other supernatural beings, but he can't pin down exactly what she is. When trouble comes knocking at her door though, he realizes just what a rare creature she is and that there are others out there that will go to any lengths to get their hands on her. Now he must keep her out of the hands of a powerful warlock, but can he keep his hands off her?
    As danger surrounds them, so does desire. Can Mackenzie accept this world that she has been thrust into and can Jackson protect her in it?

    Crux kept me glued to the pages the whole way through! Face paced and action packed, Moira Rogers sets the stage for an interesting cast of characters and a new, intriguing paranormal world. From the main characters to the secondary ones I found myself swept away into this story of magic and shifters. I loved watching Mackenzie and Jackson's relationship develop from those subtle stirrings of physical attraction to full blown love and respect as well as the revealing of Mackenzie's mysterious past and her introduction into the paranormal world. Through it all, Jackson was there for her to be her rock and patiently explain any aspects to her. He is definitely a swoon worthy main man. Mackenzie is a strong heroine that I easily got behind, a fresh take on the role where so many are now cold, arrogant and most often than not, independent to ridiculous levels unwilling to accept help from anyone.

    The dynamics of each race, such as the werewolves, was interesting and I hope to see more of it in future installments along with several other characters that caught my attention. With a fluid writing style and easy to understand world building, Crux was a great read that was strong on the urban fantasy scale but has all the aspects of a paranormal romance that you love.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    great story kept me turning pages!

    This book was a great find for me on B & N. I was looking for reviews of other books and came across this one as a recommended read. It was well worth it. The story was fresh and captivating. I love the interaction between Jackson and Mackenzie. Their attraction and fierce feelings for each other keep the reader interested. If you like paranormal romance/action and adventure, give this book a try!! It's worth it!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2010

    Great New Series!

    I have been reading the Red Rock Pass series and really enjoying it, but I think this series is going to become my favorite from the duo known as Moira Rogers if this first installment is any indication.

    I really enjoyed the characters in this story and the development of the relationships between them. The intricacies of the politics underlying the culture of magical creatures were another interesting layer.

    The story itself was an enjoyable page turner which plot twists and turns around every bend. A skittish young shapeshifter takes a bartending job in New Orleans not knowing that her new boss is a werewolf whose very handsome best friend is a private investigator and spell caster. When it becomes clear that she not only doesn't know she is a shapeshifter, but is also in grave danger, her new friends step in to help.

    I recommend this book for anyone who enjoys paranormal romances and am looking forward to reading book two in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    A paranormal romance without the emo drama. Loved it!

    A paranormal romance without the emo drama. Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful book!

    Wonderful book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Good Story

    A good romance in a paranormal world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Its good

    Good story and characters. Well worth your time if you like paranormal romance. Action packed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Must read

    I loved this book and can't wait to read the rest of the series. Hot. Hot. Hot!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Good read

    Enjoyed other books by author so tried this one. Will most likely get rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2011

    Great series!

    Tried this book on a whim and it was pretty good. Got hooked on the whole series and read them all in a few days. Storyline got me hooked. Ended up loving the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is one of the first full books I've read by Miora Rogers. S

    This is one of the first full books I've read by Miora Rogers. So far, I'm loving everything I've read from her. This book was so good I couldn't put it down until it was done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Fantastic

    Great pace and subject.

    Mindy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    5 stars

    WORTH READING...
    Total Pages: 693...Story Pages: 642
    Book 1 of the Southern Arcana series
    Great book! Magic (witches/wizards), shifters (feline, wolves, coyotes), and human psychics. Will definitely be reading the rest of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2013

    Really enjoyable read. Great start to a wonderful series. I love

    Really enjoyable read. Great start to a wonderful series. I loved Jackson and Mackenzie. The author wrote the characters very well while introducing future characters and stories. I really can't wait to read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    Good book. I am looking forward to reading the rest of the serie

    Good book. I am looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Meh

    Really slow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Romantic and Sexy Paranormal Adventure

    The first book in the Southern Arcana series, Crux starts off with a bang and just keeps on going. The story slows down about three-quarters of the way through, then picks up again. The end was appropriately exciting.

    Well-rounded characters and a well-developed world. A fun way to spend the day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Like

    Could not put down. Would like the rest of the series for my NOOK. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 194 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10