BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Crux

Average Rating 4
( 219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(92)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

a whirlwind of all hell breaking lose

One thing for sure, I liked the writing. The style was such that it pulled me into the story. It was fast paced, and the plot quickly escalated into a whirlwind of all hell breaking lose.

I have to admit, I liked the first half better than the second. The authors (ye...
One thing for sure, I liked the writing. The style was such that it pulled me into the story. It was fast paced, and the plot quickly escalated into a whirlwind of all hell breaking lose.

I have to admit, I liked the first half better than the second. The authors (yes authors as in plural–Bree and Donna) did a wonderful job of character building. Moira Rogers gave just enough to keep me in the know, but not so much as to bore me with minute details. As far as specific characters, I connected with Mackenzie and sympathized with the fear she experienced. She went from a scared mouse, scurrying from the meanies wanting to stomp her to a determined woman, willing to do anything to live a life of freedom. I love strong women! Her sidekick, Jackson, was a little less developed, in my opinion. Other than wanting to do the horizontal mambo with Kenzie, I never really found his motivation. Even so, I found him charming.

This book was a bit different than my normal reads as it wasn’t heavy on romance. Yes, the chemistry was there, but it didn’t drive the story forward. Instead it revolved around keeping Kenzie out of the clutches of evil. Did that bother me? Not at all! It’s nice to have a novel which wasn’t heavy on the love-hate relationship like so many other works of romance. Kenzie and Jackson started together and wanted to stay together. The key was how they would accomplish that goal.

So I mentioned I liked the first half better than the last. Why? For two reasons. First, I thought this novel could have ended a bit sooner. In all honesty, I hit page 200ish of 253 (trade version) and wondered why there still 50 more pages to go. After continuing, I saw Moira Rogers wanted to tidy up one very important piece, which I expected to be in the next novel. But alas, Moira Rogers had other plans. For those readers who look for closure after each novel, that might be a good thing. For a serial junkie like me, giving me something to look toward would have drove me that much more to purchase the next in the series.

Last, the plot was there, but I would have liked a bit more world building. Exactly what were the rules in this world? Some individuals seemed so powerful, I couldn’t understand what their limits were. Other times it seemed like things just happened, and voila there was another rule, or maybe not so much of a rule. I don’t know. Crux seemed to lay a skeleton foundation to the Southern Arcana world. Now that it’s there, I’d be delighted to see more of it. Hopefully Crossroads will feature someone more involved in the paranormal world and answer all the questions I have.

posted by ReenaJacobs on July 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hello

A 230 page free book plus excerpt of book two Crossroads. Mages, weres, and witches tracking down evil with hot descriptive sex involving the two main characters.

posted by 10871681 on September 10, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    a whirlwind of all hell breaking lose

    One thing for sure, I liked the writing. The style was such that it pulled me into the story. It was fast paced, and the plot quickly escalated into a whirlwind of all hell breaking lose.

    I have to admit, I liked the first half better than the second. The authors (yes authors as in plural–Bree and Donna) did a wonderful job of character building. Moira Rogers gave just enough to keep me in the know, but not so much as to bore me with minute details. As far as specific characters, I connected with Mackenzie and sympathized with the fear she experienced. She went from a scared mouse, scurrying from the meanies wanting to stomp her to a determined woman, willing to do anything to live a life of freedom. I love strong women! Her sidekick, Jackson, was a little less developed, in my opinion. Other than wanting to do the horizontal mambo with Kenzie, I never really found his motivation. Even so, I found him charming.

    This book was a bit different than my normal reads as it wasn’t heavy on romance. Yes, the chemistry was there, but it didn’t drive the story forward. Instead it revolved around keeping Kenzie out of the clutches of evil. Did that bother me? Not at all! It’s nice to have a novel which wasn’t heavy on the love-hate relationship like so many other works of romance. Kenzie and Jackson started together and wanted to stay together. The key was how they would accomplish that goal.

    So I mentioned I liked the first half better than the last. Why? For two reasons. First, I thought this novel could have ended a bit sooner. In all honesty, I hit page 200ish of 253 (trade version) and wondered why there still 50 more pages to go. After continuing, I saw Moira Rogers wanted to tidy up one very important piece, which I expected to be in the next novel. But alas, Moira Rogers had other plans. For those readers who look for closure after each novel, that might be a good thing. For a serial junkie like me, giving me something to look toward would have drove me that much more to purchase the next in the series.

    Last, the plot was there, but I would have liked a bit more world building. Exactly what were the rules in this world? Some individuals seemed so powerful, I couldn’t understand what their limits were. Other times it seemed like things just happened, and voila there was another rule, or maybe not so much of a rule. I don’t know. Crux seemed to lay a skeleton foundation to the Southern Arcana world. Now that it’s there, I’d be delighted to see more of it. Hopefully Crossroads will feature someone more involved in the paranormal world and answer all the questions I have.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    What a sensational start to a series!

    I've had the Southern Arcana series on my TBR list for a while now, so when Moira Rogers (a pseudonym for Bree and Donna) offered review copies to bloggers for their release of book #4 in the series, Cipher, I jumped at the chance. Now I ask myself, why the hell did I wait so long?!?!

    Mackenzie Brooks is on the run from a crazy stalker who claims she is his mate and they are destined to be together and save their race. One big problem in the mix of many there, he claims that their race is not of the human variety! Traveling city to city, his thugs always seem to find her but when she takes a job as a bartender in New Orleans she may of finally found a place where she is safe.
    When a good friend asks Jackson Holt to check into her newest employee he readily agrees, an easy job for an experienced P.I. such as himself and it will lower his bar tab! Jackson right away knows that Mackenzie is not human, as a Spell Caster he can sense other supernatural beings, but he can't pin down exactly what she is. When trouble comes knocking at her door though, he realizes just what a rare creature she is and that there are others out there that will go to any lengths to get their hands on her. Now he must keep her out of the hands of a powerful warlock, but can he keep his hands off her?
    As danger surrounds them, so does desire. Can Mackenzie accept this world that she has been thrust into and can Jackson protect her in it?

    Crux kept me glued to the pages the whole way through! Face paced and action packed, Moira Rogers sets the stage for an interesting cast of characters and a new, intriguing paranormal world. From the main characters to the secondary ones I found myself swept away into this story of magic and shifters. I loved watching Mackenzie and Jackson's relationship develop from those subtle stirrings of physical attraction to full blown love and respect as well as the revealing of Mackenzie's mysterious past and her introduction into the paranormal world. Through it all, Jackson was there for her to be her rock and patiently explain any aspects to her. He is definitely a swoon worthy main man. Mackenzie is a strong heroine that I easily got behind, a fresh take on the role where so many are now cold, arrogant and most often than not, independent to ridiculous levels unwilling to accept help from anyone.

    The dynamics of each race, such as the werewolves, was interesting and I hope to see more of it in future installments along with several other characters that caught my attention. With a fluid writing style and easy to understand world building, Crux was a great read that was strong on the urban fantasy scale but has all the aspects of a paranormal romance that you love.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    great story kept me turning pages!

    This book was a great find for me on B & N. I was looking for reviews of other books and came across this one as a recommended read. It was well worth it. The story was fresh and captivating. I love the interaction between Jackson and Mackenzie. Their attraction and fierce feelings for each other keep the reader interested. If you like paranormal romance/action and adventure, give this book a try!! It's worth it!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2010

    Great New Series!

    I have been reading the Red Rock Pass series and really enjoying it, but I think this series is going to become my favorite from the duo known as Moira Rogers if this first installment is any indication.

    I really enjoyed the characters in this story and the development of the relationships between them. The intricacies of the politics underlying the culture of magical creatures were another interesting layer.

    The story itself was an enjoyable page turner which plot twists and turns around every bend. A skittish young shapeshifter takes a bartending job in New Orleans not knowing that her new boss is a werewolf whose very handsome best friend is a private investigator and spell caster. When it becomes clear that she not only doesn't know she is a shapeshifter, but is also in grave danger, her new friends step in to help.

    I recommend this book for anyone who enjoys paranormal romances and am looking forward to reading book two in the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    A paranormal romance without the emo drama. Loved it!

    A paranormal romance without the emo drama. Loved it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    Good book. I am looking forward to reading the rest of the serie

    Good book. I am looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Good Story

    A good romance in a paranormal world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Good read

    Enjoyed other books by author so tried this one. Will most likely get rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2011

    Great series!

    Tried this book on a whim and it was pretty good. Got hooked on the whole series and read them all in a few days. Storyline got me hooked. Ended up loving the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2014

    quite good

    good story, character development and plot. I was impressed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    Good

    Surprisingly very good shifter romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Liked the characters and the storyline. Can't wait to read the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    I really enjoyed this novel

    I wasnt surehow to feel at first about this story because supernatutal books now a days haveme picking them apart to find something similar to twilight by stephhanie myers. I must ay that i did find a few similarities but there was enough different to overlook it. I think at times the story was slow but hiy enjoyable andi would recommend this. So READ IT props to the author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Great supernatural series

    Great supernatural chatacters. Well written. Looking forward to the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Great read

    Wow, was a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    I loved the book and had a hard time putting it down. Purchased

    I loved the book and had a hard time putting it down. Purchased all of the books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    I liked it

    I did like it and would recommmend it, but it is not for detail oriented readers. If you believe in love at 1st site, go for it. If you believe in lust at 1st site & can overlook the people who confuse it for love- again, go for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    Great

    Nice and fast paced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    Pretty good read....

    If you like shifters and the supernatural, this series is enjoyable. It has some action and adventure. Of course, you have the shifter mentality which is sex and violence. So, the combination works well. It is not a difficult read but still has an interesting plot. The author is a good writer with good pacing throughout the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Recommended!

    Good action! And character development . Nice twists and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5