Customer Reviews for

Cry Silent Tears: The heartbreaking survival story of a small mute boy who overcame unbearable suffering and found his voice again

Average Rating 4.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

The beautiful cover drug me to this book..

Well wrote story. I love Joe's books! Much much much better than A Child Called It. Deff couldnt put this book down, and when I did as soon as I could I picked it right back up! LOVE LOVE IT!!! Dont think twice about this book..

posted by K-Bella on July 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Cry silent tears

Another personal story that needed to be shared.

posted by 6161660 on January 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    The beautiful cover drug me to this book..

    Well wrote story. I love Joe's books! Much much much better than A Child Called It. Deff couldnt put this book down, and when I did as soon as I could I picked it right back up! LOVE LOVE IT!!! Dont think twice about this book..

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Unreal

    Grab the tissues, they will be needed. Im not sure what made me buy this one, it was clearly going to be heart wrenching and disturbing...but i bought it anyway and couldnt stop reading it until it was finished.

    Its sad, infruiating, terrifying and unforgettable.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    Wow...

    This was a very compelling book. If you were interested in A Child Called it, this book has similar ideas. It is about a boy who is abused by his family after his father dies, and is mistreated, sexually abused, beaten, and neglected. I couldn't put it down, because I needed to know what happened in the end.)

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    This book is truly inspring. I knew child abouse was wrong and h

    This book is truly inspring. I knew child abouse was wrong and horrible but i never really knew what happened when the doors of the abouser closed. This book has changed my life. This book truly touched my heart. I dont know how many times cried just trying to get through the chapters. I would loe to meet Joe Peters and tell him how this book changed my life and maybe some day I will, but as of know this is a dream. I highly reccomend Cry Silent Tears to anyone out there judging people becouse of the way they dress, look and even the color of them.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    His family and his abusers ought to be ashamed of themselves and

    His family and his abusers ought to be ashamed of themselves and the lives that they choose to lead...especially his birthmother..and I use the term as such because a real "mother" protects, nutures and loves and does not leaves a child defenseless, alone and able to be destroyed by herself and others because of some deficit in their own personality.This book was uncompromising in its approach and while I have to admit that this style of writing may not appeal to every reader..it brought home the fact that most of the children that are brought to or held by pedophiles are done so through the hands of their own family. Joe, the baby boy who suffered at the evil hands of her mother after his father died in a horrible way...I found myself asking to God "why didn't you kill the mother instead??", "why evil people get away so easily and live longer?". We will never know why things happen the way they do, the good thing about this story is that it gave me an insight of childhood behavior when they're being abused, they sometimes act aggressively or shut themselves out from everybody...one thing for sure is: always believe the child!!! if a child says he/she is being beaten or doesn't want to go home please listen to them...those red flags should never be ignored. However, Joe became a very brave boy with a gold of heart in spite of all the abuse he suffered. I am glad he is fine now. God bless him and his family and to children going through similar things...I pray God may help them in a way or another and that evil people get their punishments!!     

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Great book!

    Very good book! If your like me and love true stories then you'll love this book!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Great book

    This book is wondefully written. Its increadably powerful, and equally painful to read. God bless this author for having the will to survive that life, and then to relive it as he wrote each page.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Gripping

    I couldn't put this book down. I was first drawn in by the little boy on the cover. I just want to hug him and tell him he's okay. I started reading it the day before my anniversary and I was so upset by this book that I spent my anniversary dinner telling my husband everything that I read so far in the book. We got home and it was so hard to get out of my mind. My husband told me to go on line and look him up and what do you know.... there's another book. I stayed up and finished the book. I cried like a baby at the end. I ordered the second book right away before I went to bed. I got up early in the morning and read the second book while my family was sleeping. It was gripping, loving, sad, and so so emotional. In the morning I hugged all three of my kids and told them how much daddy and I loved them. Then we decided to just have a family day. I will never know how joe over came so many obsticles in his life. We are just about the same age, and I don't think I would be as strong and determined as he was. God bless everyone who helped him in his journey to find happiness and love.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Best book

    This book reminds me of a child called it. His mother abusis him but the father protects him. This book is truly amazing. I hope everyone enjiyed it as much as me.
    Warning: You will need a box of clanex

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Heartwrenching

    This book made me cry and cry but kept me reading it more than once this book is similar to a child called it but alot more descriptive it just wraps you in the pages so much that anythough its sad you never can stop reading it. Joeif your reading this comment i would just like to say you are a very good man and so brave to survive the sexal physical and emotional pain you went through.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Noah

    Im 12and i cried beacuse of went this lttle went throe

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    This should be banned .....

    Utterly disgusting. This borders on child porn and i would never ever had bought this if it had not been sold by B & N. You should be arrested for knowlingly selling such garbage.
    I expected you to have better standards. I want it deleted immediately from my nook library.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Free sample

    I bought this book and all i got was the free sample

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Cry silent tears

    Another personal story that needed to be shared.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    so painful

    my heart breaks for the life this man lead, the things he went through. the only i couldn't comprehend about this book was his admission that he never went to the police to turn anyone in...but i can understand that it must have been hard to do. i just wonder if he could have saved others if he would have.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Icekit

    Growled and began to pad out

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Scarkit

    Im running away.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Willowstar

    Ok

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    Excellent although difficult read!

    A very difficult book to read. My heart broke for Joe. He did a great job of writing about the abuse he suffered at the hands of his mother and other adults. It is frightening to think that there are people in the world who this abusing their child is ok. What's is REALLY frightening is his remark that so many of the children being exploited in the sex trade are sent there by the people who are SUPPOSED to love and protect them.

    This book should be required reading for ALL social workers, attorneys and judges who work with children and families, especially the ones who believe that family reintegration is the best option for all children!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Emotionally draining

    This book is extremely tough to read. It took me quite a while to get through it only because I couldn't bare the hardship and abuse that joe went through. Having children of my own, I cant even fathom the thought of hitting my kids. Reading the abuse joe had to endure is truly heart wrenching. Im just glad he was able to overcome the past and set a true example for his wife and five children. His mother and the abusers should all burn in hell.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5