Customer Reviews for

Cry Wolf (Alpha and Omega Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1217 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(745)

4 Star

(294)

3 Star

(118)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

great

Patricia Briggs is a fantastic writer. I have read all her books, cry wolf is one of my fav.

posted by danja on March 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed

If you enjoyed the Mercy Thompson (Moon Called book #1) series by the same author then this series will be a pleasure to read or listen to as well. I will say that someone else wrote that one should read Prowl first (several stories by different authors to include Patri...
If you enjoyed the Mercy Thompson (Moon Called book #1) series by the same author then this series will be a pleasure to read or listen to as well. I will say that someone else wrote that one should read Prowl first (several stories by different authors to include Patricia Briggs), which I ignored... I should have listened! I did feel like I was dropped in a story with the first several chapters missing so Prowl is ordered. You will not be lost since enough is discussed that you get the just but I enjoy knowing the details of the charactors and how they met. If you are the same read Prowl first.

posted by livray on March 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyed

    If you enjoyed the Mercy Thompson (Moon Called book #1) series by the same author then this series will be a pleasure to read or listen to as well. I will say that someone else wrote that one should read Prowl first (several stories by different authors to include Patricia Briggs), which I ignored... I should have listened! I did feel like I was dropped in a story with the first several chapters missing so Prowl is ordered. You will not be lost since enough is discussed that you get the just but I enjoy knowing the details of the charactors and how they met. If you are the same read Prowl first.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    D.J. to me.

    I hate life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Be apart of the pureheart lycan pack *click here*

    Join me a white anthro wolf with bright blue eyes and light blue tribal fur tattoos, we live in the high mountains of eruope where there if much snow. Our enemis are the shadow wolves the evil lycans who kill humans for fun. Find me at wereworld rise of the wolf address me as Skylar pureheart. Awoooo (howl)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Stormflower

    Sits staring up at the stars sadly. She keeps murmering Why Why.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Summer

    Sighs. Were is Cheetwo?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Confusing Start

    3 1/2 Stars.

    I think my expectations came high for this book. I have heard a lot of great and wanted to read it myself. Since I am a fan of werewolves and the paranormal, it couldn't have been a bad match. I was confused with the book right off the bat, the first chapters felt like I missed something, like I been thrown into the middle of the story. I know now that there was a short prelude to this series, but it still feel offs. Still, I found some characters likeable, even if for the first book of the series, it didn't feel like the first book. At least some of the questions where answered late in the book.

    I did like Patricia Briggs writing, and because of the likeable characters that had me drawn to them - despite their awkward and suddenly relationships - I think I will eventually give this series another shot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    Loved this book!!!

    I enjoyed the love between Charles and Anna... She has been through so much in her life and is just coming into herself and is learning to trust the love that is between them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    Promising start to a series.

    The book does a good job of getting us interested in the characters that we will hopefully care a great deal about in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    3 1/2 stars. Good read, I didn't enjoy it quite as much as the

    3 1/2 stars. Good read, I didn't enjoy it quite as much as the Mercy books, but I am curious to see where the story goes next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Confused

    I feel like I am missing half the story! Is there one before this?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good Spin-off

    Even though I don't think anything could top Mercy, this was still a good read. As a stand-alone, it was only so-so, but as a companion novel, it was extremely interesting to learn about some of the characters. If you enjoy werewolf novels, this one is okay alone, but I highly recommend reading the Mercy Thompson series first. Also, reading the short story "Alpha and Omega" first is imperative! If you liked this book, you might also like the Nightcreature series by Lori Handeland, or perhaps the Riley Jensen series by Keri Arthur (explicit).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    Bone crossed

    I have read all of Ms. Briggs' books. Each has very original characters and an off-beat settings. The one thing I really like is there is not much cussing and not much sex; her mother only let's her read the books upon my approval. The only reason I gave my granddaughter different series of books are the reasons stated above. She has asked to read the Mercy Thompson series and I have let her do so, but I read them first. They are really hard to put them down. Write more and hurry, please.
    kb/Tx

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    Not quite the beginning of a new series

    i liked the story however to say this is the first book of a new series is misleading. This was my firt book by Patricia Briggs and I choose this one because I thought it was the beginning of a new series. I felt I had started reading a book in the middle of the story. If you are like me and aren't familiar with Patricia Briggs you need to read the novella Alpha and Omega in On the Prowl first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not as good as the Mercy Thompson series

    I started the Alpha Omega series to hold me over until the next Mercy Thompson (MT) book came out. I was a little disappointed. I read On the Prowl (which is the beginning of Anna's and Charlie's story) and absolutely loved it. It was everything I expected it to be from the author of the MT series. But I found Cry Wolf lacking. It didn't keep my attention like MT series and On the Prowl. It took me 3 or 4 days to actually finish this book, whereas with the other series I devoured each book in one sitting. Some parts were confusing to me but that might have been because I wasn't totally enraptured and perhaps not paying enough attention. I was happy to learn more about Bran and even a little more about Samuel, both of which are intriguing characters. Overall I think Cry Wolf is a decent read, something to help satisfy the itch for another book in the world of Mercy Thompson. My suggestion would be to read the Mercy Thompson books first, then On the Prowl, then read Cry Wolf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2008

    From an avid reader

    ¿Cry Wolf¿ wasn¿t the best of books by Patricia Briggs, but it wasn¿t bad. However, her series with ¿Moon Called¿, ¿Blood Bound¿ and ¿Iron Wolf¿ is INCREDIBLE! Can¿t wait for ¿Bone Crossed¿ to come out in Feb!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6