Customer Reviews for

Cry for Passion

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Readers will enjoy the latest Men and Women┬┐s Club Victorian saga

    At the Old Bailey courthouse, James Whitcox wins acquittal and freedom for his client, widow Frances Hart from her son¿s complaint. James and Frances are lovers who both belong to the Men and Women¿s Club. Jack Lodun loses the case. Afterward thirty three year old married Rose Clarring asks Jack to obtain her a divorce from her husband Jonathan of twelve years. He says that is impossible to obtain and besides she being a member of the club he raked her in court in the Hart case as a loose woman; everyone even her family believes she is a slut. She explains her spouse like her wanted kids, but he caught the mumps soon after they married and became sterile. <BR/><BR/>Rose leaves Jonathon a note that she is leaving him although she knows her husband can have her committed. A drunken Jack asks her to prove passion exists. She says no because she will humiliate her husband. She explains the last time she had sex was in 1875, eleven years ago. He asks why now and she says the look of love between Whitcox and Hart. Jack says he wants to have sex with her, but she says no and asks him how he felt when his lover, James¿ wife Cynthia died in an accident. Jack says he loved her but could not attend the funeral. As their attraction grows, neither knows what the future holds except in the long run not together as a married woman only has the rights her spouse grants her.<BR/><BR/>The nonexistent legal rights of women in Victorian England even with a queen ruling the country already for five decades are fascinating. The relationship between the lead couple is interesting as both know it can go nowhere while the erotic scenes are graphically described so sub-genre fans will enjoy them. However, a late abduction adds suspense to an already deep historical that did not need it. Still fans will enjoy the latest Men and Women¿s Club Victorian saga (see SCANDALOUS LOVERS).<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A 10 STAR BOOK!! Read Scandalous Lovers First

    If you have not read Scandalous Lovers, this is still going to take your breath away, but it will be so much more powerful if you read Scandalous Lovers, which is the back story for this book.

    I have read every book by this author. Robin Schone is in a class all her own. This is far more a feminist historical novel than an erotic love story, but it is also an amazing erotic love story. This story is a must read if you have any interest in 19th century British legal history, especially as regards women, morals, and the sexual roles of men and women, how that relates to class, the rights and power (or lack thereof) of women in various strata of society.

    Like it's predecessor, Scandalous Lovers, I put it in a category of it's own, and something akin to A Handmaids Tale in the feminist power it has. It also presents the awakening understanding of men to the need for change in how women are treated and the need for women to have power over their lives in society. This story is rich in history and presenting one the incredible social, political and personal evolution of an incredible woman's (Rose)sensual, sexual, and over all life awakening after being married for 12 years to a man who has ignored her for 11 of those years because he has become steril. She realizes he has relegated her to role of a breeder whose services he no longer requires. She challanges the prosecuting attorney who, in the court proceeding in Scandalous Lovers, ruthlessly but inadvertently makes her a person sconed by society, to help her obtain a divorce. She wants to experience passion and not be viewed as having the limited role in life as a procreator. Like Scandalous Lovers, this love story takes my breath away, not only from a sensual or sexual standpoint, although there is ample heat in that department, but rather from the heart wrenching personal and private and shared perspectives of both a man and a woman trying to find a passionate, close relationship, in Victorian England, and the awakening to their sensual selves, and their true needs, desires, and inner selves. The heart and gut wrenching realization, that there is no way they can legally pursue their relationship without serious consequences, including destroying both Rose's and Jack's positions in society.

    This is a magnificent book! The author has a sound and impressive knowledge of British history, especially of this time period, and of British Law of the time. I finished this book in one day and cannot stop thinking about it and Scandalous Lovers, which I reread just before this book. This is definitely NOT light escapist erotic fiction, but it is a page turner. I know this is a book I will read again, and again, and again. No one out there writes like this author!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Bazaar

    I've read a few of her books in the past. But this was one of the strangest books I've read. I liked the plot & the characters. The writing style didn't appeal to me. The background distractions drove me nuts. At times it got intense, yet it dragged on & on...I don't think I can go through another novel like this.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    I read Scandalous Lovers and then went for this one. I liked this one better. There was more depth to the characters and I could really sympathize with the heroines loneliness and her need for 'companionship'...Other titles by Schone that are keepers are 'Awaken My Love' and 'The Lady's Tutor'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Love Robin Schone books,

    Always a great read, hope to see more in ebook form, if you haven't read them all, you should!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great cover; lousy book

    I was SO looking forward to this book, and so disappointed to read it. I'd devoured Schone's "A Lady's Tutor", and was hoping for more of the same amazing quality of work. This was not it. If you want an amazing piece of mind blowing imaginative good stuff, don't buy this one. Buy "A Lady's Tutor"...and then seriously pre-skim everything else of Schone's that you pick up to make sure you'll like it. I wish I had.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cry of Sorrow, not Passion

    Cry for Passion is a love story about Jack's ambition, Rose's sorrow, and both their feelings of guilt and grief in finding love again. It has been several days since I finished reading this book, and it took me that long to decide what to write in the review. I have great admiration for Robin Schone's writing, and many of her books have made their way to my permanent keeper shelf, but her newest series The Men and Women's Club of which Cry for Passion is the third installment has not captured my interest as her previous endeavors.

    I didn't know what it was that I have not liked as much. the writing is masterful, the characters are well developed, a tight and interesting plot with no loose ends, but I finally came to the conclusion that it was the style of her writing in these books and the conversational dialogue between characters that was different, and as a result was what I was not really liking. Ms. Schone dedicates this book to "justice and those who pursue it.", and after I realized it was the style of writing, and applied this dedication to her work, as well as all that was occurring during the Victorian period, things fell into place and I was more accepting of how she choose to write their stories.

    Jack and Rose first met during a trial where he is the lawyer and she is being questioned on the witness stand. This beginning greatly influenced the style in which their story is told because much of their conversations (outside of the courtroom) have the feeling of interrogating each other and read much like a court transcript would. As their relationship progresses their dialogue slowly changes from lawyerly questioning to conversations between friends and lovers, but still remains sorrowful and reflective.

    Rose's life is one of heart wrenching betrayal by all whom should protect her.father, brother husband, and ultimately the political justice system. The suffragette movement is at the heart of her story, as well as her right as a human, not a possession, to belong to the Men and Woman's Club, her rights to love and passion, and her rights over her own body and the choice not to have children. Rose's story seems more of a cry of sorrow than passion, as evidenced by this quote from the book:

    "Happiness should not be painful." p. 285 Cry for Passion

    All of the Men and Women's Club are written in much of the same style, and I believe that it was a deliberate choice on Ms. Schone's part to write the books in this manner to reflect the character's struggles for the choices that they make, their independence against the rigid strictures of the Victorian period, and the sweeping changes as a result of the suffragette movement. At the end, I liked the story much more than I did at the beginning, and my only criticism would be the style of writing and the interrogatory dialogue. If you have not read Robin Schone before, I highly recommend The Lover, Gabriel's Woman, The Lady's Tutor, or my personal favorite, her novella in the anthology Captivated: A Lady's Pleasure. These are all on my keeper shelf, whereas Men and Women's Club series is more of an acquired taste.

    Read more of my reviews on my blog, Seductive Musings

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Cry For Passion, by Robin Schone

    It had been love at first sight for Jonathon and Rose Clarring. After a whirlwind courtship the happy couple marries, a blissful future had been lain out before them. However, when he is suddenly rendered infertile, their ideal life quickly came to a complete halt.

    For Rose, it doesn't matter that she will never have children, so long as she has Jonathon's love. Jonathon, however, sees things far differently. He soon becomes consumed with his inability to reproduce. Many long and lonely years pass, until finally, Rose can not only no longer bear her husband's misery, but her own loneliness as well. She realizes that although he doesn't desire her any longer he will never willingly let her go. The only way out is for her to divorce him.

    Jack Lodoun is a man at the top of his game. Rose approaches him about seeking a divorce from her husband, even as a successful barrister, Jack knows it is an impossible achievement. No woman, unless abused or deserted by her husband, would ever be granted a divorce.

    He cannot help her in her out of the marriage, yet, he can't help but sympathize with what she has been suffering. Jack knows far too well what a woman feels when she is not desired by her husband. He had loved a woman much like that. He loves her still. But, she had never truly Jack's to begin with, and all too soon the only woman he ever loved had been taken from him.

    With the yearning for love lost haunting him, Jack finds himself uncontrollably drawn to Rose. In a way, they seem to understand each other as no one else can. Her desperation and want to feel passion again seeming to mirror his own. Until inevitably, these two people turn to each other for the physical comforts they had both been denied for so long.

    This was a tale of two people both longing for something they could never have and--if only for a moment--finding a reprieve from their hunger within each other's embrace. Two lovers needing each other to heal the past in order to find a way to truly live again.

    Cry for Passion, in my opinion, is NOT so much a romance novel. Instead, it is a tale that for a specific moment in time gives us a glimpse into the lives of two people, both at the height of their own inner turmoil.

    I personally think that Robin Schone is an amazingly talented author. Her voice is very unique. Her writing is tight and to the point, yet, her use of words is almost poetic.

    She is an author who finds a way to delve deeply into the darkest recesses of human desires and emotions. She dares to be different. Each of her characters are completely unrefined and her tales, highly erotic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    Schone fans won't be disappointed.

    As usual Ms Schone has written an intensely satisfying story. Her characters are believable and so is the plot. For those who like erotica, no one does it better. But even if the sex was left out this would still be a moving, can't put down read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1