Customer Reviews for

A Cry in the Night

Average Rating 4
( 119 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Prince or Demon

Mary Higgins Clark is one of my favorite authors and she did not disappoint. This book is about a divorced woman with two children who meets the perfect man. He is good to her and her daughters and after a quick romance they marry. Erich is handsome, charming, wealth...
Mary Higgins Clark is one of my favorite authors and she did not disappoint. This book is about a divorced woman with two children who meets the perfect man. He is good to her and her daughters and after a quick romance they marry. Erich is handsome, charming, wealthy and all the qualities you should look for in a man. Erich is also compulsively neat, has fits of rage and is just odd but Jenny overlooks these problems because she feels he will make a great husband and father. She stays even when he makes her wear his dead mother's night gown and does not allow her to change ANYTHING in the house. The story is well written and is suspenseful with some twists and turns. Well worth reading.

posted by bmamca36 on May 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not my favorite book by her.

Predictable.

posted by AB203 on December 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Prince or Demon

    Mary Higgins Clark is one of my favorite authors and she did not disappoint. This book is about a divorced woman with two children who meets the perfect man. He is good to her and her daughters and after a quick romance they marry. Erich is handsome, charming, wealthy and all the qualities you should look for in a man. Erich is also compulsively neat, has fits of rage and is just odd but Jenny overlooks these problems because she feels he will make a great husband and father. She stays even when he makes her wear his dead mother's night gown and does not allow her to change ANYTHING in the house. The story is well written and is suspenseful with some twists and turns. Well worth reading.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Suspenseful. Keeps one guessing. did not disappoint.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 1999

    NEVER COULD PUT IT DOWN!

    THIS BOOK WAS AMAZING! I COULDN'T BELIEVE THE SUSPENSE, IT REALLY SUCKED ME IN! I REALLY COULDN'T STOP READING. THIS IS MY FAVORITE BOOK OF ALL TIME. I REALLY FELT SOMEWHAT CONNECTED TO JENNY. I UNDERSTOOD HOW SHE FELT. I LOVE THE WAY IT IS WRITEN TO CAPTURE YOUR INTEREST. I STRONGLY RECOMMENED THIS BOOK! I AM A BIG READER AND I KNOW A GOOD BOOK WHEN I READ ONE.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    Mary Higgins Clark at her best!

    Keeps the reader guessing. Suspenseful and definitely an page-turner, always wanting more.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2011

    Not my favorite book by her.

    Predictable.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    GREAT BOOK

    Mary Higgins Clark is known for her suspense.. and that is true in this one.. you are constantly thinking.. who is who.. what is going on and it always surprises you in the end. She writes with such flow and keeps you reading. I would def recommend this book to anyone.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Great story.

    I found myself yelling out loud to jenny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    A Spellbinder

    Absolutely one of Mary Higgins Clark best suspense novels. I became bleary-eyed reading this because l couldn't put it down. A must read for MHC fans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2006

    I love this Book!

    I used to hate reading. Until I read this book. See my mom is a big fan of Mary Higgins Clark's books and suggested for me to read it. I was a little shakey at first, but I needed to read another book for school. So I read it and... I totally enjoyed it I couldn't even put the book down and finished it in 3 days. I totally recommend that if you love mysteries and love suspense because it's the book for you.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Hishly Recommended

    Very interesting book. The type of book that you want to keep reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    My favorite

    One of my favorite from Mary Higgins Clark. Couldn't put this one down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Another good read

    I've never read a book from Mary Higgins Clark that I did not enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Not her strongest character

    I spent a lot of the time wanting to shake the protagonist of this book. She allowed herself to be to easily manipulated time and again. She made so many dumb decisions without thinking things through. It was engrossing, as so many of her books are, but I really couldn't like Jenny at all or sympathize with her. The man was a jerk and she kept on making excuses so she could stay with him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    Great!

    I hadn't ready Clark for a while, but I'm glad I got back to her! Delicious book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    So Predictable

    Jenny, was married before had 2kids, met a guy in 1month, gets hitched to an rich, and turns her complete control over to him. He tells her what to wear, not to move the furniture in his mansion ect....when their first married, like the first week. Her husband on her wedding night ask for her to wear his mothers nightgown!! Mother issues with mommy, weird. The book was preditable from the first 20pages. Never read this author before, gave her 2stars because of the flow of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Slow start but kept me at the edge of my seat throughout the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Not her best

    The story was good but you could see the problems coming from a mile away. I was displeased with the way a hard working, independant woman could suddenly have a very 1930's mentality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Mary Higgins Clark never fails to deliver a great book, and this is one of them. Keeps you guessing to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Very good, really enjoyed. Would recommen to all.

    Very good, really enjoyed. Would recommen to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Great Book

    An easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6