Customer Reviews for

The Crying Tree

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A compelling, thought-provoking, and healing debut

Shep Stanley is a loner, a mama's boy with a God given musical gift. When he is murdered in his home at the age of 15, his family's world spins out of control. Nothing is ever again the same, as if the soul of the family was murdered along with Shep. The murder occurs a...
Shep Stanley is a loner, a mama's boy with a God given musical gift. When he is murdered in his home at the age of 15, his family's world spins out of control. Nothing is ever again the same, as if the soul of the family was murdered along with Shep. The murder occurs as the book opens, and guides us through the eighteen year long wait for the execution of Shep's killer. What the family learns along the way leads them to redemption, and teaches the reader about the healing power of forgiveness. I have been an avid reader for 40 years, and this is one of the best books I have ever read. I read through the night. This book should come with a warning label - do not be surprised if at the end of the book you weep. Weeping in part because of the heartbreak of their story - the strength they show through the heartbreak - the way they heal - and because you feel a bit cheated as you never want this amazing novel to end. As the killer comments right before he dies. "You've gone and done it now, General. You've really gone and done it now....Pain and grace, sir. Pain and grace." I can't wait to read Naseem Rakha's next book. Through The Crying Tree she has proven that she is a fresh new voice with a gift to share with those of us lucky enough to seek and receive her light.

posted by Terrih74 on August 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Family tragedy

The Crying Tree is about what happens to a family when their son dies in a horrible accident. Teenager Shep Stanley is shot and killed in his own home during a botched burglary attempt. After his death, his parents and younger sister Bliss are forced to deal not only wi...
The Crying Tree is about what happens to a family when their son dies in a horrible accident. Teenager Shep Stanley is shot and killed in his own home during a botched burglary attempt. After his death, his parents and younger sister Bliss are forced to deal not only with Shep's death, but their feelings of hatred towards the person who shot him. Eventually, they come to realize that the murderer is not what he seems, and has some secrets of his own that will impact the family forever.

I thought that the plot was a bit predictable, and the characters somewhat stereotypical. I also thought the characters had an unrealistic, out-dated look towards one of the main themes later on in the novel. I found it hard to believe that everyone would be that closed minded and hateful about this particular theme in the year 2004. I also thought the book got a bit preachy towards the end. Despite all that, I still thought the book was an interesting (and quick) read.

posted by kren250 on May 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A compelling, thought-provoking, and healing debut

    Shep Stanley is a loner, a mama's boy with a God given musical gift. When he is murdered in his home at the age of 15, his family's world spins out of control. Nothing is ever again the same, as if the soul of the family was murdered along with Shep. The murder occurs as the book opens, and guides us through the eighteen year long wait for the execution of Shep's killer. What the family learns along the way leads them to redemption, and teaches the reader about the healing power of forgiveness. I have been an avid reader for 40 years, and this is one of the best books I have ever read. I read through the night. This book should come with a warning label - do not be surprised if at the end of the book you weep. Weeping in part because of the heartbreak of their story - the strength they show through the heartbreak - the way they heal - and because you feel a bit cheated as you never want this amazing novel to end. As the killer comments right before he dies. "You've gone and done it now, General. You've really gone and done it now....Pain and grace, sir. Pain and grace." I can't wait to read Naseem Rakha's next book. Through The Crying Tree she has proven that she is a fresh new voice with a gift to share with those of us lucky enough to seek and receive her light.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Elegant style that reminds me of a Mozart

    I have just completed Naseem Rakha's work, "The Crying Tree", and feel moved to write with words of commendation and deep appreciation. I discovered the novel at an area Barnes & Noble bookstore where it was displayed with works by emerging new writers. The cover featured a young boy with a trumpet--an instant attraction to this recently retired school band director! Reading the cover notes confirmed my need to purchase.

    I am struck by the clean and simple way the novel reads... it reminds me of the elegant balance of a Mozart. I was hooked instantly with dialogue, character, and action that resonates as "true-to-life". Well-crafted and polished, I am now enjoying a slower re-read to savor the richness of its descriptive nuance

    In the process of reading, I grew to truly care for the players in the story and their struggles. The issue of forgiveness is profoundly important for our times. My parish is offering a series on capital punishment, and I have recommended "Crying Tree" for discussion.

    I look forward to Rakha's next works with anticipation and will continue to sing the praises of "Crying Tree".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    IS FORGIVENESS POSSIBLE?

    Debut author Naseem Rakha has penned a touching albeit sad story of a family riven by grief. Her characters are hobbled, not crippled physically but emotionally, sickened by hatred, isolated by an inability to communicate, and driven to find reason for the inexplicable.

    Our story opens in 2004 when Tad Mason , Superintendent of the Oregon State Penitentiary, receives notice that after 19 years an execution date has been set for Daniel Robbin. The condemned man had been but 19-years-old himself when he was found guilty of beating and then shooting a 15-year-old boy, Shep Stanley, during an attempted home robbery.

    Now, after all this time Robbin has stopped his appeals and it fell to Mason to make sure the execution is carried out properly and promptly. He'd never been in charge of what he referred to as a "procedure" before, and he has no stomach for it. However, it is his job and his career depends upon it being done correctly.

    Flashback to the fall of 1983 when Nate Stanley arrives home to tell his wife, Irene, that he has accepted a better job as deputy sheriff in the tiny town of Blaine, Oregon. The family which also consists of their two children, Bliss and Shep, will be relocating immediately. Irene does not want to leave the won in which she grew up, her family and lifelong friends, but she acquiesces and the family moves.

    They seem to be adjusting well to their new life when Shep is shot, killed in the family home. Shep's death was inconceivable to her, "There was no way she would let her boy die. He was her life, her breath, her son.....A mother does not let her son die." But Shep is gone.

    Mourning may take many forms. Nate becomes stone, quiet, silent. Irene finds release in alcohol and an ever growing hatred for her son's killer. Bliss is left very much to her own resources. Impervious to the pleas of her sister, Carol, to pull herself together Irene sinks lower until she hits rock bottom. It is years later after a heated confrontation with Bliss that she realizes what she has become, and she tries to help herself by writing a letter to Daniel in which she offers forgiveness.

    For this reader that is at the heart of Rakha's story - forgiveness. At one point Irene asks Superintendent Mason if he believes in forgiveness. His answer is, "I've heard of it." All of us have and The Crying Tree may cause many of us to redefine forgiveness in our own lives.

    - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Powerful story of tragedy, grief,and forgiveness

    The Crying Tree is a story about what happens to the Stanley family after their fifteen year old son is tragically murdered in a home invasion. The family harbors many secrets from each other and when the secrets are revealed it is emotional and shocking. The book also tells the story from three sides- the family, the murderer, and the executioner. I could not put this book down. The story takes place in different time periods and two different locations, Oregon and Illinois, but the transition is easy to follow. That is something I usually have a hard time with in books but the author has made the transition smooth and easy. Some of the subject matter is painful and difficult but very important to the powerful story of grief and forgiveness. This book would be great for discussions and book clubs. I like Ms. Rakha's writing style and will be watching out for her next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THE CRYING TREE is a fabulous family drama

    In 1983 Union County, Illinois deputy sheriff Nate Stanley calls his wife Irene to inform her without warning that he accepted a position as a deputy post in Oregon. Irene is angry at her husband for not talking to her before he took the job with his Viet Nam buddy and frightened as she never was west of St, Louis. Still insisting he knows what is best for her and their two kids (teenager Shep and tweener Bliss), he relocates the family.

    In Blaine, Oregon, fifteen years old Shep enjoys exploring the countryside and seems settled to the living on the West Coast. However, one day Nate comes home after a shift to find his son in their kitchen savagely beaten and shot in what looks like a robbery turned ugly; Shep dies in his arms. Stunned, Nate and Irene go after the accused cold blooded killer of their oldest child mechanic Daniel Joseph Robbin with cold blooded determination over the next two decades until he is executed by the state. During much of the obsession, Bliss becomes de facto caretaker of her parents as Irene lives for the devil's death and Nate cannot find any solace. However, in 2004 with the execution date set, Irene knows she must see and forgive her son's killer, whom she recently began exchanging letters with, if she is to move on.

    THE CRYING TREE is a fabulous family drama that focuses on what happens to surviving loved ones when a violent unexpected tragedy occurs. The five key players in this calamity are fully developed in 1983 and in 2004; ergo the audience sees how much they each has changed over the two decades from the murder to the execution. Although a major "truism" twist will be seen early by everyone and feels intrusive, fans will appreciate Naseem Rakha's engaging aptly titled character story.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Owlkit

    A ginger kit stumbles into the camp. Sunlight reflects off her ivory paws highlighting the unusual owl markings on them. Lifting her head slightly, she mews softly, "I'm Sweetspirit's new kit, Owlkit"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Can i be one of your kits?

    An i be one of your kits?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Great+book

    Such+a+great+book.+It+breaks+your+heart%2C+makes+you+wonder+about+the+truth+in+a+situation%2C+and+you+never+see+the+end+coming.+Am+reading+it+for+the+second+time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    Amazing book!

    love all the topics covered in this book! The writer really gets you to "that place" when you are reacing!i highyly regommend this book for adults!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    Original, captivating and haunting

    This is a very well written book. Serious subjects, raw emotions and interesting twists and turns along the way. This ia a story that you will think about for months, maybe longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A lovely read

    I recently asked some friends what they had recently enjoyed reading and one suggested that I read Crying Tree. The characters were thoughtfully written and very believable. Being from Oregon, and having worked in the prison system, I enjoyed the detail that Rakha put into this work. I would recommend this to friends and will look hopefully toward the day another book lands on my bookshelf from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2010

    Great Read

    One of the best books I've read in a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2