Customer Reviews for

Cryptid Hunters

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 30, 2014

    This story reminded me quite a bit of "Jurrasic Park".

    This story reminded me quite a bit of "Jurrasic Park". I wish there would have been more focus on the monster but I enjoyed the main storyline of the kids. The characters were interesting and well developed. Lots of action with twists and turns at every corner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    this book was awesome . its about two kid that started of as bro

    this book was awesome . its about two kid that started of as brothers and sisters and once their parents passed away they moved in with their uncle wolf. in a island full of animals believed to be extinct it was a mysterious journey full of adventure, roland smith sure does know how to make a reader curious enough to make them keep reading this is a awesome book you should read this to find out what actually happens

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    Boo yah

    Incredible ... That's all I can say

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    WOW!!

    Once the start the book, you into the world of two kids that don't have anything really. But once they reach there family member, things get interesting. its goes into a high paced action packed adventure that keeps you guessing on what could happen next. From dinosaurs to they yeti, be prepared to be astonished and just hope for the best for the kids. The book is great i definetly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    Can't put it down!

    This exciting novel by Roland Smith is the type of book you just want to read over and over again! He really knows how to combine action, drama, comedy and mystery to bring together one fantastic story. Also through a variety of setting from secret islands to deep in the damp, dark jungles of the Congo in Africa. The many lively characters put the story in animation. I like how Roland Smith contrasts his two main characters, twins Marty and Grace, with Marty's comical, adventurous, devious, and somewhat Bart Simpson personality to Grace's, well, graceful, intelligent, and quite timid personality. It is almost of a foil characters-type situation. All in all, an amazing title with suspense, action, and a surprising ending that will have you wanting more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    Awesome Book!

    I read the the book Cryptid Hunters and I thought it was very good. The author, Roland Smith, puts a great amount of detail into his books. At the beginning of the book, the author went through most of the characters and described all of them. He even gave the characters personalities. He didn't skip parts or anything like that, he told the story very well. Some of the characters changed throughout the book and some stayed the same. For example, Grace was really afraid of the outdoors in the beginning, but as the book goes on, she really doesn't mind it.

    Another thing that I really liked about the book was that the author split the book up into 3 parts. I think splitting the book up makes the book easier to follow and easier to read. After you read a part you know that is one scene. There were good and bad people in the book and that really made me want to read it even more. I recommend everybody to read this book. Overall I think the author did a great job and made the book great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    You must read best book ever!!!!!!!!

    This book is amazing it has adventure and excitement! It always leaves you oin a cliff hanger too. This book would be GREAT FOR KIDS like me :). Also it would be great for adults to. One character gets to learn about facing fears and thats great to learn for kids.ITS GREAT YOU HAVE TO CHECK IT OUTTTT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    I really enjoyed it

    The story draws you in. I couldn't put it down. If you like adventure this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    Awesome

    I had to read this book for school and i kinda had trouble concentrating on it but it was really good when i was reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    My son was disappointed by the cover art, but loved the story.

    My son heard about this book from the librarian at school, who was going to order it for the library. I read the synopsis and purchased it for him. I read it first, and was a little worried about him getting scared during some of the island exploring scenes and by the character Butch. He was fine and loved it! He did wonder when he was going to read about the dino on the cover art. He has read depictions of the mokele-mbembe and he pictured it as an herbivore sauropod, so the sharp toothed guy on the front was not what he had in mind for the mokele-mbembe. I burst his bubble when I told thim that the mokele-mbembe is the only dino in the story.
    He is ready to move on to Tentacles!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Elite!

    this book is super cool! from the plot 2 the characters to thrilling aspect, this is a great book that i couldn't put down. i've always loved roland smith and here he rewards the reader for choosing this book. it's great to share and is pkenty of fun, this book is 1 every1 will love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    My 12 year old son loved this book!

    This is a great book for kids. It has an exciting story that
    pulls in the reader right away. My son used to dislike reading,
    but this book, and other books by this author, have changed his
    mind. Highly recommended for kids that love action filled plots,
    and reluctant readers. I enjoyed it also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Review for Cryptid Hunters

    This is a good book!

    It is about a girl named Grace and her brother, Marty. After their parents are M.I.A they are sent to live with their uncle, Travis Wolfe. They are there for about three days when their uncle recieves an urgent call from Congo. He can't take them so he wants to take them back to their boarding school in Switerland. He takes them on his plane and while their on the plane a chimpanzee goes missing. Then they get dropped into the jungle of Congo with no supervision. Grace and Marty get seperated and Marty tries to find her. They then go on a HUGE adventure and the second novel is out. It is called Tentacles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cryptid Hunters.... An amazing book!!!!!

    I boght this book at my book fair. i read it and thought i twas great. Roland Smith is one of my favorite authors, and a cannot wait to read the sequel "Tentacles"!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2009

    Awesome!

    i thought this book was awesome. i hope that some day Mr. Smith will make a sequel. that would be nice. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I LOVE ROLAND SMITH!!!!!

    OMG! Roland Smith has got to be my favorite author!! In Cryptid Hunters you're takin to the unknown regions of the Congo, searching for something that's deadly, hidden, snd possably dead. 13 year-old twins Grace (a quiet, shy, tiny, faintly girl)and Marty (adventerous, cook, artist, animal lover, and trouble-maker) find out their traveling parents dissapear in a freak helicopter accident and are no where to be found! Their Unlce Travis Wolfe (Wolfe) takes them to his private island, Crytos, and they discover their uncle is a wack. He belives in the Yeti, Nessie, and yes....dinosaurs! A mysterious women appears on Cryptos with news. She has found the legendary Congo dinosaur egg that Dr. Blackwood(aka EVIL) is trying to get ahold of! Can Wolfe and Laurel save it!?! Well Marty thinks he and his sister get to go along to, but instead their uncle thinks it best to send them back to their boarding school. On their privet jet back to the twin's boarding school, Marty, Grace, Bo(an ape), and PD(a teacup poodle) literally drop into the Congo. Can they survive until Wolfe comes to rescue them? Will Blackwood catch up? Will they find the egg's parents? Are Grace and Marty even siblings?
    Find out in Cryptid Hunters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    BEST BOOK EVER!!

    I LOVE This book and agree with a lot of what the Review called " OUTSTANDING " said after I read sasquatch another one of his books I wanted more so I went to the bookstore and finally found this book I read and read until I finished And hope that he might just come up with a sequal or another outstanding book about Cryptids! (from my 10 yo daughter)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2008

    OUTSTANDING!!!!

    This book was by far the best book I have ever read because I dont really like reading and usually cant get into a book but right from the cover I had a feeling it would be good and oh man was I wrong it by far past good. It was so interesting that i stayed up all night until i finished it and I wish or hope that there will be a sequel to it cuz i would love to hear about what happens next. The description of everything gave me such a vivid picture of what was going on there is almost no need to make a movie, but I have a feeling that if they did it would be one of the greats' compared to most. I liked the back and forth between situations, which helps a lot to know what exactly is going on which makes me love the book even more. There has never been a book that I have read that I was so anxious to find out what happened next that I had to finish it all at once. I recommend this to anyone and everyone because it is so interesting with everything thats happening and there are so many big parts to the book that also make it great!! WOOOOO!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    Outstanding

    This book is outstanding. It is filled with adventure. I would definitely recommend this book to anybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    OMG

    i just got finished reading the book. i was so anxious to finish it. i stayed up all night reading. it was so interesting. the book kind of reminded me of jurassic park the movie. it was such a page turning book and i couldn't put it down. i have to say Roland Smith i an awseome writer and i would recomend reading any of his books!!!!! :'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3