BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Cryptid Hunters

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    excellent book

    Great details, surprising ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2008

    a reviewer

    This book is really great!!! I'm really glad I had to read it for a school competition!!! Well anyways I really recommend this book!!! It's awesome!!! Like i said it rox my sox (rocks my socks)!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2008

    Don't Judge a book by it's cover!

    One of my friends recommended this book strongly. At first, I thought it was like about dinosaurs or something and was sorta boyish. But it's like the best book I've ever read! There's so many twists and turns! I mean, I never knew Wolfe was Grace's dad! Shocker! It's so well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2008

    I love this book.

    I have not finished it. but it is so awesome. I would love it if he could make a second one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2008

    OMG

    this book is exciting and just great altogether!!!! you will not want to put this book down!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2008

    love this book!

    this book is so good.marty and grace are twins.they have to go and live with their uncle.he has to fly to the congo and then drop them off in switzerland,but when they go to make a supply drop they drop more than supplies, they drop marty and grace.now the twins must make it to the skyhouse without getting caught by butch mccall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2007

    Fun and infomative

    Cryptids are animals like the Loch Ness monster and dinosaurs that some people look for to prove their existence. The two children in this book go on an incredible journey to find extinct dinosaurs, their parents and their real selves. I enjoyed the facts that were woven into the exciting plot, but the characters were all very one-dimensional, and the ending tied up too nicely. Overall, I think it is appropriate for the intended audience

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2007

    cryptid hunters

    This was one of my favorite books. What you might think,I did at least,is that the book is mostly about finding cryptids.(animals who's existince has not been proven, but is believed in)Well, your wrong. Two twins fall from a jet into the congo and explore with a computer the size of a game-boy called a Gizmo. After they fall, there uncle finds out, and starts searching for them, and most of the book after that is about the twins finding a tree house called the Sky House, the only safe place in the congo. While they are looking for the Sky Houset they find the most unexpected thing. There uncle will be to the twins in about one week, and is with Laurle Lee who also believs in cryptids, but I won't say why. A guy named Blackwood is sending four men to kidnap the twins and kill there uncle and Laurle Lee. While waiting for their uncle the twins hold off Blackwood's men. The book has 348

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2006

    Don't let this book just pass you by

    Roland Smith starts his story-writing career with a boom. In his new novel, Cryptid Hunters, readers will find surprises, twists and turns. Marty and Grace are twins with explorer parents who¿ve just gone missing. They are sent from their boarding school to their Uncle Travis Wolfe, an uncle they never knew they had. ¿Why was he hiding from the twins their entire life?¿ is just one of the many questions that Wolfe¿s mysterious past and strange presence brings up. Travis Wolfe is a cryptozoologist, or person who looks for cryptids, or myth animals like Bigfoot. He¿s made many discoveries that he chooses not to be famous for in the Congonese jungle. When Noah Blackwood, a rich phony naturalist (who several times might be the one to take credit for Wolfe¿s work) sends his right-hand man, Butch Mcall, to the Congo to find an animal called mokèlè-mbembè Wolfe assembles his team to get ready to find it before he does and his team does not include Marty and Grace. He decides to bring the twins back to the boarding school in his jet and then stop at the Congo. However, on the jet, there is a bit of the problem. Although Wolfe¿s partner was able to fix the jet¿s engine, Bo, Wolfe¿s crazy chimp escaped from his cage. While looking for Bo, Grace, Marty and Bo drop 1000 feet in the air into the Congo. Using the Gizmo, a mini supercomputer they can communicate, until Wolfe¿s battery goes dead that is. While there Grace learns about her past, her haunted memory and Wolfe¿s true identity. Meanwhile, Marty gets stuck between a dinosaur egg, and Butch Mcall and his rifle who is not only trying to get the egg but, to steal Grace. ¿It¿s just a matter of time. That¿s one thing we don¿t have, Butch. Wolfe and that woman landed in the Congo two days ago and are headed your way. I can handle Wolfe. I don¿t want you to handle Wolfe!¿ In this book, readers will find a great use in language. Roland Smith uses descriptive and colorful language to make sure that you are standing inside the book, witnessing it all. After all, that truly is the only way you¿ll understand what¿s happening¿ when there¿s so much going on. In the end, a good author would have to read this book in order to get ideas for his own writing, not necessarily the idea but at least for the language itself. This is a book that is too good to pass up. Probably the best detail is for the entire book you won¿t know entirely what¿s happening. Then, when you finish it, you and whoever else reads it can exchange ¿Oh, I get in now¿s when it finally makes sense and the puzzle comes together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2006

    Great Book

    I like this book because it kept the suspense on and on. This book is about 2 twins Marty and Grace O'Hara. Marty is brave and loves to learn about animals. Grace is kinda a scardy cat and is very intelligent. They go to a bording school in SwithzerLand until they find out there parents(professinal animal photographers) have crashed in the congos somewhere. So the twins go on to live with there uncle they never met before Travis Wolfe. he is an crytoligist(study myths like big foot). when he finds out his enemy Noah Blackwood is on the verge of gettin a dinasaur egg he has to drop marty and grace at the bording school. but on the way the twins fall in to the jungle and try to survive.. they find out about there own identies and of there uncle. there are many twists and turns that keep u reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2006

    You will never be able to put the book down!

    This book is so good it will keep you guessing and it turns avents around so you will never now what is in stored for the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2006

    Great book

    Cryptid Hunters was one of the most exciting books I have ever read. It kept me on the edge of my seat throughout the whole book. It is about a twin brother and sister who go to a bording school in Switzerland and are doing pretty good, until they find out their parents have been in a horrible plane crash somewhere in the Congo. After they learn this about what has happened, they get an Email from someone they have never met before, their uncle Travis. This book was good in many ways, it's full of adventure, twists and turns every which way, and of course in Roland Smith fashion, Cryptids. My criteria for books is that it needs advernture, if it doesnt have action and adventure all over the Earth, I won't have much interest in it. Next it has to have comlical relif. If somthing bad has just happend in a story it should have a charecter to lighten the mood in someway. Last, it should have wilderness, like a forrest or a jungle. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes adventure and mythical creatures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2006

    AWESOME!!!!

    this book is about two twins named Marty & Grace O'Hara. They were at their boarding school in Switzerland when they get terrible news that their mom and dad had died in a helicopter crash. They are then sent to Seattle, WA with their uncle, Travis Wolfe.The O'Hara twins soon find out that their Uncle Travis is a cryptozoologist, and will have to stop one of his enemies, Noah Blackwood, from getting a DNA sample before Wolfe does. On the way to lake Tele'/the congo (where the DNA is) something very surprising happens.Will they get the sample before Blackwood? Will Wolfe survive the dangers of Lake Tele'? Find out in CRYPTID HUNTERS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2006

    Suspenseful

    I gave Cryptid Hunters a rating of four stars because... it had a ton of suspenseful moments throut the story. I like Marty the best because I think I am most like him.I reccomend this book to anyone who likes suspense, adventure, and good stories. I loved this book and I hope you do too. But you will have to read the book yourself to find out what happens.That is why I give this book four stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2006

    I would recommend this book to anyone who loves fantasy,dinosaur, or adventure books.

    This book is a great book for the average adventure lover. This book is about two 13 year old brother and sister Marty and Grace. The two kids later that there mother and father were killed while on one of there adventures. The two kids were stuck in a boarding school when they got the news. Later they found out that they wad to move in with there uncle Travis Wolfe. Grace hated the idea, but Marty loved it. Not only did they have to there uncles house they had to live an uncle they never knew they had. Later they find ot that Travis owns his own island called Cryptos. At first they dont meet there uncle. Later they find out that there incle is going to the Congo jungle, and that they will haveto go back to boarding school. However they sneak onboard the plane and get dropped into the Congo. As time goes by htey realize a life changing secret that had been kept for 13 years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3