Customer Reviews for

Cryptogram Puzzles

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

How wonderful!

I HAVE BEEN WORKING CRYPTOGRAMS FOR 30 YEARS. AT MY AGE IT IS SO NICE NOT TO HAVE TO WRITE EVERY LETTER! AND THERE IS SUCH A LARGE SELECTION OF PUZZLES THAT I SHOULD BE ENJOYING THEM FOR SOME TIME.

posted by 18502323 on February 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

I must be stupid

I can not get these puzzles. Whoever said this is like wheel of fortune is wrong, it is nothing like it, and i am too dumb to figure these out. Blessed be!

posted by SpiritRane on February 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    How wonderful!

    I HAVE BEEN WORKING CRYPTOGRAMS FOR 30 YEARS. AT MY AGE IT IS SO NICE NOT TO HAVE TO WRITE EVERY LETTER! AND THERE IS SUCH A LARGE SELECTION OF PUZZLES THAT I SHOULD BE ENJOYING THEM FOR SOME TIME.






    31 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Love it

    Great selection of puzzles, clean and quick interface, worth it.

    26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Pro and con about the newest release

    I don't like the newest version that was just released, although I expect I will be in the minority. The Check button was replaced with instant indication (green or red) when a letter is entered as to whether the letter is correct. It dumbs down the challenge of solving the code. The game should retain the Check option for those who prefer it.

    On the other hand, the new version does include a welcome feature that I wanted and applaud. Filling in a letter now fills in all occurrences of that letter in the puzzle, and likewise deletes them all with a single action.

    In short, it has its shortcomings, in my opinion, but overall a well-done game well worth the purchase.

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    AWESOME

    In one word........EXCELLENT

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Nice app

    Puzzles are too easy but still fun.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    I was worried after previous reviews, but as of May 2012, the Hi

    I was worried after previous reviews, but as of May 2012, the High and Expert levels have the "check" button and letters do not automatically indicate red or green (Low and Medium are automatic). Yay! Easy to use and sufficiently difficult to solve.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Love it

    Way too easy, but fun and entertaining. I love learning new quotes, and it is fun to test trivia knowledge in categories like US Presidents.

    Like a previous reviewer, I would like to see the "Check" feature come back, and I also enjoy the autofill -- however, in my experience it only autofills correct letters, and will not delete them.

    This app is a lifesaver during boring, redundant lectures at school.

    I almost missed my bus stop playing today, but I can't fault the developers for that. :)

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Good, fun game

    If you enjoy wheel of fortune, yoi may enjoy this easy
    Educational versiom.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Fun app, challrnging puzzles

    Newest version of this is as challenging as the cryptoquote found in many daily papers. I'd recommend this newest version to any cryptogram enthusiast.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Anonymous

    BOUT TIME I love cryptograms!!!




    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Fun, fun, fun!

    Challenging yet fun. As previous poster stated, it is nice not to fill in every single letter.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Supet groovy!

    I don't have to wait for the paper to get my crypto fix on!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    I must be stupid

    I can not get these puzzles. Whoever said this is like wheel of fortune is wrong, it is nothing like it, and i am too dumb to figure these out. Blessed be!

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    A must for all puzzle lovers!

    Different from any other word puzzles out there. Makes you use your brain to decode famous quotes and sayings. It has from easy to expert puzzles so you can work your way up to the expert level. I also really enjoy the quotes that I decode.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    definately recommend it especially if you've ever wanted to try cryptogram

    I've always been intimidated by the newspaper cryptogram. These puzzles are sensible. The letter auto fill in and removal are great features. I like the subject choices; still at the easy level, looking forward to improving my skills. The app works without problems so far. I find it very relaxing and calming, especially since I can actually solve the puzzle. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to try this type of puzzle. I can't speak to the more difficult levels since I haven't tried any yet.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    Enjoyable way to pass the time; stimulates the brain

    I like word games and this one is satisfying. I only wish it kept track of the letters you have used and mistakes made. Other than that I find myself hoping for more and more categories so I can play them all!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Great update

    So much easier. It was fun before, even better now.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Update is fantastic!

    Thank you for making this good app a great app!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Awesome

    This is the first time for me and this app is awesome. I am learning crypto as I work these. Love this!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Plays easy

    Good but pretty easy app for cryptograms. Nice feature is that it autofills when you enter your guess at a letter. Makes it almost too easy, especially for longer quotes....so be sure to play on expert level
    . One minor glitch: occasionally it will not substitute a code letter, that is, the code letter equals the actial letter...should be corrected in app programming, but happens rarely. A great and convrnient cryptogram app, a steal at .99!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2