BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Crystal Clear: The Inspiring Story of How an Olympic Athlete Lost His Legs Due to Crystal Meth and Found a Better Life

Average Rating 5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

THIS IS A BEST-SELLER; THE STORY, THE WRITING, THE HONESTY, YOU WILL LOVE THIS BOOK!!!

If you treasured "The Shack" just wait for the release of this anticipated best-seller & true story "Crystal Clear" due out April 28th, 2009 from Bantam Dell / Random House Publishing Company. Literary agents have deemed this as the book of 2009. There was an on-going r...
If you treasured "The Shack" just wait for the release of this anticipated best-seller & true story "Crystal Clear" due out April 28th, 2009 from Bantam Dell / Random House Publishing Company. Literary agents have deemed this as the book of 2009. There was an on-going rival over the rights to this account which has had the literary world chopping at the bit for this incredible, inspiring survival story of success, pride, humility, spiritual resurrection, unimaginable loss and ultimate triumph. A professional and Olympic hockey player survives longer than anyone on record trapped, eight days while snowboarding, in the high Sierra Nevada Mountains battling sub-zero temperatures, stalked by wolves, hypothermia, altitude sickness, frost bite, starvation, torment & loneliness. All this, while walking through the valley of the shadow of death & making it out the other side -- meeting God, experiencing death, ultimate tragedy & inexplicable loss only to gain more from an already acclaimed & well established life. This story will remain in your mind daily; transform lives while inspiring the nation. Eric, after he subsequently lost his legs to frost bite made it back onto the ice and snow using prosthetics one year, as he promised, to the date of his amputations. With his mind-blowing campaign to help others, Eric will forever re-shape this nation. This is a TRUE "Million Little Pieces" story which will not only draw the attention of book lovers but will also ring in the young adults to its youthfulness & very identifiable premise. Buy this book for you, your kids, your friends & anyone who ever felt down & out. The honesty, the writing & the circumstances will forever inspire & touch your hearts. ENJOY!

posted by BEST-SELLER-BOOKS on April 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

I am the author of The Lost Symbol...

Most of you know me from my books...
You must read this great book!!!
It is awesome...I have bestselling books -- yet, my highest recommendation is CRYSTAL CLEAR by Eric Le Marque... When I met this guy I was immediately sold we just did a show together he is the real...
Most of you know me from my books...
You must read this great book!!!
It is awesome...I have bestselling books -- yet, my highest recommendation is CRYSTAL CLEAR by Eric Le Marque... When I met this guy I was immediately sold we just did a show together he is the real deal & his story is incredible.
You will love his book!
Sincerely,
Dan Brown

posted by DBREVIEWS on June 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Crystal Clear what an amazing book!!!

    I didn't know it by the cover but wow - what a story.

    This book is just awesome!

    I finished it and immediately re-read it now twice in two-days.

    This guy can write: I felt like I knew how to snowboard, how to play hockey, how to survive, I was completely absorbed into this book, I felt like I had my feet taken from me, I laughed and cried, this book is funny, it has a twist and after looking this guy up. this story is 100% the real-deal.

    Buy this book - it will motivate and inspire you.

    34 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    THIS IS A BEST-SELLER; THE STORY, THE WRITING, THE HONESTY, YOU WILL LOVE THIS BOOK!!!

    If you treasured "The Shack" just wait for the release of this anticipated best-seller & true story "Crystal Clear" due out April 28th, 2009 from Bantam Dell / Random House Publishing Company. Literary agents have deemed this as the book of 2009. There was an on-going rival over the rights to this account which has had the literary world chopping at the bit for this incredible, inspiring survival story of success, pride, humility, spiritual resurrection, unimaginable loss and ultimate triumph. A professional and Olympic hockey player survives longer than anyone on record trapped, eight days while snowboarding, in the high Sierra Nevada Mountains battling sub-zero temperatures, stalked by wolves, hypothermia, altitude sickness, frost bite, starvation, torment & loneliness. All this, while walking through the valley of the shadow of death & making it out the other side -- meeting God, experiencing death, ultimate tragedy & inexplicable loss only to gain more from an already acclaimed & well established life. This story will remain in your mind daily; transform lives while inspiring the nation. Eric, after he subsequently lost his legs to frost bite made it back onto the ice and snow using prosthetics one year, as he promised, to the date of his amputations. With his mind-blowing campaign to help others, Eric will forever re-shape this nation. This is a TRUE "Million Little Pieces" story which will not only draw the attention of book lovers but will also ring in the young adults to its youthfulness & very identifiable premise. Buy this book for you, your kids, your friends & anyone who ever felt down & out. The honesty, the writing & the circumstances will forever inspire & touch your hearts. ENJOY!

    34 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    CRYSTAL CLEAR IS AWESOME

    This by far is the most intriguing book I have ever read. It had everything. You will love this book! Incredible story - I remembered this guy in the media a few years ago... This book will help people and their current situations...

    33 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    Inspiring!

    Very inspiring. I would reccomend to anyway who needs some inspiration to do and achieve what they think they cant...

    33 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What an amazing story!!!

    I love Biographies and just happened to pick this book up by chance. When I opened it and read the insert I could not pout it down, I bought and read it in two-day. I told all my friends who asked for the book and told them to get their own.this is a book you will read and re-read. Buy this book it is incredible, inspiring, motivating and overcoming...I laughed, I cried, I can't remember when a book gave me the sensation as if were happening to me. Truly inspiring, what an uplifting true-story.

    33 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    Reviewing the book "Crystal Clear." "What A ride!!!"

    I started reading and couldn't put the book down. What an amazing story of "overcoming the odds"-especially during these tough times! This book should be recommended reading to young adults especially those indulging in substance abuse.

    33 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    AWESOME!

    This is one book that should be a must read for everyone. It is truly and absolutely a book that will help you in your own day to day struggles with any problems you may have.

    It is exceedingly well written and is consise and to the point. No unnecessary wordiness to weed through.

    I literally could not put the book down. I stayed up all night reading it and will reread it again and again. This book will certainly motivate you to do your best at everything you attempt.

    32 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    CRYSTAL CLEAR a wonderful story!!!

    I've never read a book that moved me the way this book CRYSTAL CLEAR did. It delivers... Narrated by author Eric Le Marque, it tells the story of a former professional & Olympic hockey player & expert adventurist fighting for his life stranded in eight-day wilderness. It is a true survival story with wonderful candor & over achievements. The writing is great - I laughed - I cried - I cheered... WOW!

    This is a wonderful book. I can't recommend it highly enough. Read this book and buy it for those you love.

    31 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    'CRYSTAL CLEAR' by Eric Le Marque delivers Five Star Book all-around

    Worth each page -- what an implausible story!

    Buy this book for Father's Day, buy it for anyone who loves to read, buy it for all young adults...

    This manuscript has so many demographics...

    It is awesome!

    30 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    after reading the reviews

    i bought this book and all the reviews were righton.
    this book is great.
    buy it you will not regret it, it is awesome.
    why did i not hear more of this?
    dj

    30 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    What A Great Book!!!

    This is a real treasure!

    This true story will change lives and motivate everyone!

    Highest recommendation possible!

    Great Father's Day gift!

    Buy this book for everyone you love & care for!

    29 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    WOW what a great book...

    In this gripping first-person account, former Olympian Eric LeMarque recounts a harrowing tale of survival-of eight days in the frozen wilderness, of losing his legs to frostbite, and coming face-to-face with death. But Eric's ordeal on the mountain was only part of his struggle for survival-as he reveals, with startling candor, an even more harrowing and inspiring tale of fame and addiction, healing and triumph.

    On February 6, 2004, Eric, a former professional hockey player and expert snowboarder, set off for the top of 12,000-foot Mammoth Mountain in California's vast Sierra Nevada mountain range. Wearing only a long-sleeve shirt, a thin wool hat, ski pants, and a lightweight jacket-and with only four pieces of gum for food-he soon found himself chest-high in snow, veering off the snowboard trail, and plunging into the wilderness. By nightfall he knew he was in a fight for his life.Surviving eight days in subfreezing temperatures, he would earn the name "The Miracle Man" by stunned National Guard Black Hawk Chopper rescuers.

    But Eric's against-all-odds survival was no surprise to those who knew him. A gifted hockey player in his teens, he was later drafted by the Boston Bruins and a 1994 Olympian. But when his playing days were over, Eric felt adrift. Everything changed when he first tasted the rush of hard drugs-the highly addictive crystal meth-which filled a void left by hockey and fame. By the time Eric reached the peak of Mammoth Mountain in 2004, he was already dueling demons that had seized his soul.

    A riveting adventure, a brutal confessional, here Eric tells his remarkablestory-his climb to success, his long and painful fall, and his ordeal in the wilderness. In the end, a man whose life had been based on athleticism would lose both his legs, relearn to walk-even snowboard-with prosthetics, and finally confront the ultimate test of survival: what it takes to find your way out of darkness, and-after so many lies-to tell truth. and begin to live again.

    27 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2009

    ABSORING!!!

    Crystal Clear by Eric Le Marque has: incredible writing, great balance, it is very enlightening, extremely poignant; the journey was so thrilling I had to catch my breath many times.

    This is a great book for book clubs, a gift for any occasion; it is very inspiring, and surprisingly very intellectual. This author does a mind-boggling job letting the reader feel the narrative.

    Can't wait to see this on the big screen.Whichever actor plays this guy.can you say Oscar?

    This guy goes through a spectrum of emotional highs, lows, thrills, chills, scares, frustrations. Now, I can't stop writing.

    I read this book is 6 hours - I could not put it down. It is that good; I never write reviews.I don't have the time, but people need to know about this story, this book & this heroic individual.

    Please enjoy this book & do everyone you know a favor.buy it for all of them as well.

    This story has the potential to change, inspire & re-shape our nation during especially during these times. It is perfect!

    JC

    25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2009

    On no account have I read a better book!

    I read for a living and on no account, have I read a better book!

    This is an amazing story with incredible circumstances...

    What this guy did is a miracle...

    Buy this book for everyone you know...

    This guy can write...

    You cannot read a better book PERIOD

    25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Now this is a story!!!

    What a great & inspirational biography!

    Just incredible!

    Funny how all reviews on this book are five stars except the ones not made public. People are funny.

    In all the book clubs around the world there is not one negative reviews on this story & this an amazing person.

    What an inspiration & over-comer.

    This book should be read by everyone.it is so good!

    This is the only book I've read where I felt like I was the character in the book.

    24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    NY TIMES BEST-SELLING CRITIC

    You cannot find a better book to read -- this book I could not put down...I read it in six hours & re-read it two days later.
    It has been out for two months & I am very surprised it is not a best-seller. This is why as a critic I am going above and beyond to make this post. This book will change our nation & everyone needs to read this story. It will transform lives!!!
    This book has something for everyone. The writing in awesome, the circumstances will blow you away.
    What a great gift!
    You will not stop thinking of the inspiration, hope & motivation this book, this man; this story will forever rest in your heart & soul.
    Check out http://www.ericlemarque.com for much more on this amazing TRUE story.
    A former professional, Olympic & World Championship ice hockey player.an eight-day world record setting survivor.that is just part of this story.
    Trust me, I review for a living this is a book you cannot afford to miss!

    22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Out of no where...

    comes the most inspiring and astounding story I've ever read!

    This book will transform your life & you will reflect on it daily.

    Buy for everyone you know - it is so good!

    What a great Father's Day gift!!!

    21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The hottest book on the market & a must read!

    This is the most interesting, fascinating, inspiring...this book has it all...you must read this book and tell everyone you know about it. It is so good. Buy it for everyone you love. They will thank you. What an amazing true story. We are getting ready write this book off the charts nationwide. Every critic is readying to beam this story worldwide Enjoy!

    20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A MUST READ

    What a great book to come out at the right time for the right reason.this book will encourage and inspire the nation..

    This story is mind-blowing and will main in your mind -- all these other reviews are right-on!!!

    I can not recommend this book enough.

    Get your self a copy of this book!

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Totally amazing!

    You will not find a better book available - this is a very touching, true story. The writer pulls you in hits you in the head & the gut. You will laugh, cry & cheer. I can't stop thinking about this story -- it was an amazing journey & I feel emotionally drained yet energized -- what an effect!
    I did some research this guy his big media is just waiting to launch. This book should be read by everyone. Any circumstance or situation will be turned around from reading this book. This book is not from off from being on the best-sellers list.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3