Customer Reviews for

Crystal Cove

Average Rating 4
( 174 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

4.5 STars ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Cover

4.5 STars
~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

“Once I started, I was compelled to turn the pages and know what happened next.” ~Under the Covers

I’ve said this before, but it bears repeating. Lisa Kleypas has a way with words. The ease...
4.5 STars
~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

“Once I started, I was compelled to turn the pages and know what happened next.” ~Under the Covers

I’ve said this before, but it bears repeating. Lisa Kleypas has a way with words. The ease of her writing is astonishing every single time. She can truly write a novel that flows almost effortlessly and draws you in until you are living and breathing in her world.

CRYSTAL COVE was no different. I devoured this book in less than 24 hours. Once I started, I was compelled to turn the pages and know what happened next.

Other than the beautiful writing and sweet storylines that she’s always known for, CRYSTAL COVE has again an amazing set of characters. Justine is a spunky heroine that believes love is out of her reach. But truly there is a curse in her family and the men they fall in love with are destined to die. So she’s preferred to stay alone. Better NOT to have loved and than lost.

And Jason is the typical millionaire that is so popular nowadays in romance books. He’s all powerful, has all the money in the world, lives a very methodical lifestyle where everything goes according to his wishes, and …. he also has a dark secret.

“The fissure of a crescent moon gleamed white and clear like a claw mark in the sky. A night made for magic.”

CRYSTAL COVE is also a bit different from the rest of the series in that Ms. Kleypas does delve into the paranormal and magical aspects that were previously just hinted at or where not the main focus of the story. Although, ultimately, this is a story about Justine and Jason, this is also very much so about magic for both of them. In the previous books that was less prominent. However, being a reader of paranormal, I didn’t have a problem with the deeper exploration of these topics.

Another surprise in this one was the addition of some BDSM. To be quite honest, that’s the main reason this book didn’t get a 5 star review for me. I read BDSM normally, it just didn’t quite work to where it needed to be for Kleypas. It didn’t feel like real BDSM, it just felt like she wanted to put the characters in that position and then didn’t know how they should act once they were there. Yes, he ties her up and all that. And yes, this makes sense with his character because he is very controlling in every other aspect of his life. I’m just not sure if BDSM works for Lisa Kleypas. Ultimately, I couldn’t wait for that scene to be over and done with so they could get back to more sexy loving. And this book did have quite a bit of hot, sexy loving.

This may not be my favorite book in this series, I still think nothing can compare to DREAM LAKE, but it was definitely a great addition and it has me wanting LIGHTNING BAY that much more.

posted by Under_The_Covers_BookBlog on February 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

I normally can't put down a Lisa Kleypass book; having said that

I normally can't put down a Lisa Kleypass book; having said that, I had to make myself finish this book. The character development is weak and the plot is weaker. It's almost as if she tried to mix ingredients from "Beautiful Creatures" with "50 Shades ...
I normally can't put down a Lisa Kleypass book; having said that, I had to make myself finish this book. The character development is weak and the plot is weaker. It's almost as if she tried to mix ingredients from "Beautiful Creatures" with "50 Shades of Gray" and brought none of the Kleypass magic. It’s as if she didn't write it at all- it is as far from the Friday Harbor characters as was that horrible "Christmas with Holly" Hallmark movie.

There are no mentions of the other characters from the previous books, which is completely off character for this author with her other series books. I was so looking forward to more of Alex & Zoe, and hoping she would even pull in Sam & Lucy (since Lucy is Justine's bff) and then maybe even Mark & Maggie. No such luck. Alex & Zoe get a couple of sentences. Instead, the reader is subjected to supernatural and people-born-without-a-soul nonsense. As if that is even possible... if your target audience is American women with a romantic notion, then taking away the concept of SOUL MATES is not the way to have them buy more of your books. This book will definately impact whether I purchase another Kleypass novel.

posted by Readerofmany on February 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 174 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    I normally can't put down a Lisa Kleypass book; having said that

    I normally can't put down a Lisa Kleypass book; having said that, I had to make myself finish this book. The character development is weak and the plot is weaker. It's almost as if she tried to mix ingredients from "Beautiful Creatures" with "50 Shades of Gray" and brought none of the Kleypass magic. It’s as if she didn't write it at all- it is as far from the Friday Harbor characters as was that horrible "Christmas with Holly" Hallmark movie.

    There are no mentions of the other characters from the previous books, which is completely off character for this author with her other series books. I was so looking forward to more of Alex & Zoe, and hoping she would even pull in Sam & Lucy (since Lucy is Justine's bff) and then maybe even Mark & Maggie. No such luck. Alex & Zoe get a couple of sentences. Instead, the reader is subjected to supernatural and people-born-without-a-soul nonsense. As if that is even possible... if your target audience is American women with a romantic notion, then taking away the concept of SOUL MATES is not the way to have them buy more of your books. This book will definately impact whether I purchase another Kleypass novel.

    21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Not your typical Lisa book

    I love reading Lisa Kleypas books. Crystal Cove was very hard to get into. The 2 main characters did not connect for me. In the past I have read her books over and over but not this book. I felt that the "spell" just kept getting tossed back and forth with no meaning. There was just too much magic for me. If you enjoy magic then you will enjoy this book.

    Still waiting on Joe Travis's story. Smooth Talking Stranger is still one of my very favorite books.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Crystal Cove by Lisa Kleyas

    This book was not worth it. I discovered this author last month and enjoyed the first three books in this series. I preordered the fourth, Crystal Cove because I loved the characters and story line. Well Crystal Cove is awful. Ms Kleyas seems to have decidec to sell books it had to mimic 50 Shades of Disgust. Don't waste your money.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 STars ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Cover

    4.5 STars
    ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    “Once I started, I was compelled to turn the pages and know what happened next.” ~Under the Covers

    I’ve said this before, but it bears repeating. Lisa Kleypas has a way with words. The ease of her writing is astonishing every single time. She can truly write a novel that flows almost effortlessly and draws you in until you are living and breathing in her world.

    CRYSTAL COVE was no different. I devoured this book in less than 24 hours. Once I started, I was compelled to turn the pages and know what happened next.

    Other than the beautiful writing and sweet storylines that she’s always known for, CRYSTAL COVE has again an amazing set of characters. Justine is a spunky heroine that believes love is out of her reach. But truly there is a curse in her family and the men they fall in love with are destined to die. So she’s preferred to stay alone. Better NOT to have loved and than lost.

    And Jason is the typical millionaire that is so popular nowadays in romance books. He’s all powerful, has all the money in the world, lives a very methodical lifestyle where everything goes according to his wishes, and …. he also has a dark secret.

    “The fissure of a crescent moon gleamed white and clear like a claw mark in the sky. A night made for magic.”

    CRYSTAL COVE is also a bit different from the rest of the series in that Ms. Kleypas does delve into the paranormal and magical aspects that were previously just hinted at or where not the main focus of the story. Although, ultimately, this is a story about Justine and Jason, this is also very much so about magic for both of them. In the previous books that was less prominent. However, being a reader of paranormal, I didn’t have a problem with the deeper exploration of these topics.

    Another surprise in this one was the addition of some BDSM. To be quite honest, that’s the main reason this book didn’t get a 5 star review for me. I read BDSM normally, it just didn’t quite work to where it needed to be for Kleypas. It didn’t feel like real BDSM, it just felt like she wanted to put the characters in that position and then didn’t know how they should act once they were there. Yes, he ties her up and all that. And yes, this makes sense with his character because he is very controlling in every other aspect of his life. I’m just not sure if BDSM works for Lisa Kleypas. Ultimately, I couldn’t wait for that scene to be over and done with so they could get back to more sexy loving. And this book did have quite a bit of hot, sexy loving.

    This may not be my favorite book in this series, I still think nothing can compare to DREAM LAKE, but it was definitely a great addition and it has me wanting LIGHTNING BAY that much more.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    It was a great disappointment. I do wish authors would stop try

    It was a great disappointment. I do wish authors would stop trying to emulate the Fifty Shades books.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    I have read the other Friday Harbor Series Books. I liked both,

    I have read the other Friday Harbor Series Books. I liked both, but this one I have had a hard time finishing. It really is a disappointment. If this had been the first of the series I would not have read the others.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    I enjoyed the first three books of the Friday Harbor series, but

    I enjoyed the first three books of the Friday Harbor series, but not this one. I liked the off beat personality of Justine in the other books. She did not seem like the same character in this story. How she would let a man tell her, during sex, she'll take what he gives her, even though he is hurting her. Jason is just not a likable man. He is controlling, selfish, and arrogant.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Least liked of Lisa's

    Did not connect with characters. For the firt time, I could put this book down and walk away without wondering about the charscters ending.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    This was my favorite book of the entire series. I didn't think L

    This was my favorite book of the entire series. I didn't think Lisa could top the last two books, but she did! 
    I loved Jason Black, a man living on borrowed time. Do yourself a favor and buy it today. 

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    A bit disappointing after the good reviews I read. The first 2

    A bit disappointing after the good reviews I read. The first 2 books in the series had only light touches of magic but this one was over the top. The end was predictable.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Just couldn't get into it.

    It is extremely well written...no problem there. I just couldn't get into it. When they started doing the witchy curse stuff, I just put it away. Sorry. I've been in Friday Harbor on these islands and I guess the place interested me more than the story. Didn't throw it away though. Maybe later.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Very Disappointing!

    I liked the other books in this series; however, was very disappointed with this book. It was all I could do to get through this one, as if had not purchased this Nook Book probably would have passed and stopped before half through. Basically about casting spells, and meeting the mysterious Jason Black. Loved the other characters in past books; however, this one was not my style and would not recommend. It would take a great book for me to go back to this author. Very boring!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Frostleap

    I'm sorry but I don't think this is the clan for me

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    This book was not the standard Lisa Kleypass book, but I thought

    This book was not the standard Lisa Kleypass book, but I thought it was outstanding!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Great book

    I love this series, but this is my least favorite of all the books so far, but still a great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Good follow up to the two previous books. Easy read would recomend .

    I enjoyed the third book in the series. It was good but I think the other two were more enjoyable. Lisa Kleypas is a good author, I have read a few of her books and I will lookfor more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Good read

    Not as good as other books by same author. Strange but interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    I am a fan of Lisa Kleypas. I like her writing. This is not a c

    I am a fan of Lisa Kleypas. I like her writing.
    This is not a case of horrible writing. Or even a horrible story. Not at all. If it were a stand alone book, likely it would be a 4-5 star. But I also likely would not have read it.
    The story is filled with hard core witches, magic, spells, deeply unstable family relationships.
    The series has had ''magic'' throughout. But it was more like fairy tale magic. It was not damaging. Dangerous. Life threatening.
    So it is pretty harsh to find yourself going from the love and family of the friday harbor series and then find yourself here.
    I dont understand how this book winds up here. But I am incredibly disappointed. I feel like a reader being used as an experiment. "Lookie here, we got ourselves a successful series going. But how about we mix things up?? Like throw a book in that has nothing in common with the rest of the series. There is going to be almost no happiness. No future. Only animal like attraction. A main character that has no soul. Literally. Another main character that has one person after another in her life that lies to her. And uses dangerous, unpredictable, powerful magic spells to control her. To direct her life. Always in the name of love. The happy ending is marginal. Now doesnt that sound exactly like a Lisa Kleypas story her fans are looking for?"
    I hate doing 3 stars. I do not do it lightly. And I seriously even thought about doing no review atI am a fan of Lisa Kleypas. I like her writing.
    This is not a case of horrible writing. Or even a horrible story. Not at all. If it were a stand alone book, likely it would be a 4-5 star. But I also likely would not have read it.
    The story is filled with hard core witches, magic, spells, deeply unstable family relationships.
    The series has had ''magic'' throughout. But it was more like fairy tale magic. It was not damaging. Dangerous. Life threatening.
    So it is pretty harsh to find yourself going from the love and family of the friday harbor series and then find yourself here.
    I dont understand how this book winds up here. But I am incredibly disappointed. I feel like a reader being used as an experiment. "Lookie here, we got ourselves a successful series going. But how about we mix things up?? Like throw a book in that has nothing in common with the rest of the series. There is going to be almost no happiness. No future. Only animal like attraction. A main character that has no soul. Literally. Another main character that has one person after another in her life that lies to her. And uses dangerous, unpredictable, powerful magic spells to control her. To direct her life. Always in the name of love. The happy ending is marginal. Now doesnt that sound exactly like a Lisa Kleypas story her fans are looking for?"
    I hate doing 3 stars. I do not do it lightly. And I seriously even thought about doing no review at all. But after much thinking, I decided to go ahead. all. But after much thinking, I decided to go ahead.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Not your typical LK book, but the plot kept me turning the page.

    Not your typical LK book, but the plot kept me turning the page. The magic between Justine and Jason is wonderful. It was a good segment of the Friday Harbor series.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2014

    It was was different... But, I really enjoyed it. With each book

    It was was different... But, I really enjoyed it. With each book in the series she added a little more magic or the supernatural. So, this
    wasn't too crazy! She is a great author & I scan read anything she writes. Like all of them it drew me in & had me cheering & crying with
    them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 174 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9