Customer Reviews for

Crystal Gardens (Ladies of Lantern Street Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Evangeline Ames wakes up to the certainty that someone is breaki

Evangeline Ames wakes up to the certainty that someone is breaking into her house and it quickly becomes apparent that it is not just a random burglary and she is in danger. Evangeline is forced to leave the cottage she is renting and try to get help from her landlord ...
Evangeline Ames wakes up to the certainty that someone is breaking into her house and it quickly becomes apparent that it is not just a random burglary and she is in danger. Evangeline is forced to leave the cottage she is renting and try to get help from her landlord who lives in the estate next door, Crystal Gardens. Once on the property she is startled to find him and his manservant out on the property. The estate is an eerie setting suffused with paranormal energy and the burglar soon meets an unfortunate end in the strange maze situated in Crystal Gardens.
Lucas Sebastian is the owner of the Gardens, having inherited from his uncle Chester. Lucas believes his uncle was murdered and has come to the estate to investigate. He and Evangeline make an instant connection on many levels. Evangeline has come to the village to recuperate after being attacked by a male acquaintance. Lucas recognizes that she has paranormal abilities as he does and they both work to help victims of criminal activities. This first night begins a story of attempted murder, treasure hunting and an unusual romance. Add three investigating women, curious siblings, a garden full of dangerous, possibly man eating plants, and you have a page turner in this book. I have to mention that the mysterious pools on the estate are HOT in more ways than one!
Having read all of the Arcane Society series and subsequent books, I enjoy the fact that this new trilogy continues the paranormal theme. Lucas and Evangeline have abilities that they can’t categorize but know are real. Lucas has despaired of ever finding a woman who would be able to live with his abilities. Evangeline has been betrayed by love before and keeps men at a distance. Their abilities are a common bond that helps cement the relationship. Ms. Quick does a great job incorporating elements from earlier books that have been discovered and investigated by Arcane and others and placing them in this story as new and unexplainable. An example is a paranormal infused lantern and crystals that are a mystery to Lucas and Evangeline. She has also made the Crystal Gardens themselves a character in the story with a life of its own. The characters from the next two books make an appearance and whet the reader’s appetite for the next story. I for one can’t wait.

posted by SharonRedfern on April 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Nook version problem!

Great book, but the nook version is missing lines at the bottom of a lot of pages. This is very aggravating!! I would have given it a higher rating if not for that.

posted by FoxyLaura on April 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Evangeline Ames wakes up to the certainty that someone is breaki

    Evangeline Ames wakes up to the certainty that someone is breaking into her house and it quickly becomes apparent that it is not just a random burglary and she is in danger. Evangeline is forced to leave the cottage she is renting and try to get help from her landlord who lives in the estate next door, Crystal Gardens. Once on the property she is startled to find him and his manservant out on the property. The estate is an eerie setting suffused with paranormal energy and the burglar soon meets an unfortunate end in the strange maze situated in Crystal Gardens.
    Lucas Sebastian is the owner of the Gardens, having inherited from his uncle Chester. Lucas believes his uncle was murdered and has come to the estate to investigate. He and Evangeline make an instant connection on many levels. Evangeline has come to the village to recuperate after being attacked by a male acquaintance. Lucas recognizes that she has paranormal abilities as he does and they both work to help victims of criminal activities. This first night begins a story of attempted murder, treasure hunting and an unusual romance. Add three investigating women, curious siblings, a garden full of dangerous, possibly man eating plants, and you have a page turner in this book. I have to mention that the mysterious pools on the estate are HOT in more ways than one!
    Having read all of the Arcane Society series and subsequent books, I enjoy the fact that this new trilogy continues the paranormal theme. Lucas and Evangeline have abilities that they can’t categorize but know are real. Lucas has despaired of ever finding a woman who would be able to live with his abilities. Evangeline has been betrayed by love before and keeps men at a distance. Their abilities are a common bond that helps cement the relationship. Ms. Quick does a great job incorporating elements from earlier books that have been discovered and investigated by Arcane and others and placing them in this story as new and unexplainable. An example is a paranormal infused lantern and crystals that are a mystery to Lucas and Evangeline. She has also made the Crystal Gardens themselves a character in the story with a life of its own. The characters from the next two books make an appearance and whet the reader’s appetite for the next story. I for one can’t wait.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Disappointing but Enjoyable

    After reading all of the Arcane and Harmony novels, this one seemed to try to do too much. The characters' paranormal abilities were a compilation of so many previous characters and why no mention of the Jones' or Arcane Society? If I had no previous knowledge of the other books, this would have been more enjoyable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Great book

    Really great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    It was a good read, for the most part. It felt like it could hav

    It was a good read, for the most part. It felt like it could have been smoothed out some and the bits of backstory woven in more effectively along with the various clues and themes and so on. Not the best Quick I've read, but fun and engrossing nonetheless.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    Good book but not my favorite of Quick's. The lack of connectio

    Good book but not my favorite of Quick's. The lack of connection to Arcane when placed in seemingly the same era and world is slightly annoying but can be overlooked. I would be interested in more books covering the women of the agency Evangeline works for, especially if a connection to Arcane is developed. My Nook book had nothing missing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    romantic suspense with paranormal elements

    Crystal Gardens is the first in a new trilogy by Amanda Quick called the Ladies of Lantern Street. It’s a historical romance laced with paranormal elements. Quick delivers an action packed novel with characters that I quickly came to love. Filled with suspense, mystery, paranormal ability and a swoon worthy hero I was quickly swept up in the story. The tale begins with protagonist Evangeline Ames. She is writer and ladies companion who has taken time off to explore the paranormal energy surrounding Crystal Gardens after she was attacked in London. When someone breaks into the cottage at night she instinctively runs to the Crystal Gardens estate and runs smack dab into swoon-worthy Lucas Sebastian. His uncle has recently passed and he believes foul play was involved. He and his trusted employee Stone are now residing in the home. The gardens are a dangerous place and Lucas has his hands full with his uncle’s botanical experiments. The tale that unfolds was typical Quick and while familiar it captivated me none the less. Lucas Sebastian is a dark man who makes people uncomfortable. He has a strong psychical talent that he must constantly keep in check. While people fear him, Evangeline sees the hero under the wolf’s clothing. While he can behave like a boar, Evangeline begins to soften him. I found Evangeline to be delightful, witty and intelligent. She is a fictional romance writer, with absolutely no romantic experience beyond a kiss or too, so you can imagine the fun in that. We meet her best friends and the other ladies of Lantern Street when they come to visit. The three of them conversing had me giggling. We learn there is much more to these ladies. There were other characters that rounded out the cast and made the plot interesting. The plot contains mystery, suspense, romance and a healthy dose of paranormal. While it isn’t original fans of Quick are sure to enjoy it. We have the mysterious death of Lucas’s uncle and someone is trying to murder Evangeline. Putting all the pieces of the puzzle together was fun and I enjoyed the ride. Throw in a lost treasure, some colorful characters and a well paced story-line and I was highly entertained. The romance between Lucas and Evangeline was hot. From the moment they encountered each other the tension and electrical current running between them was obvious even to an outsider. Evangeline decided to base her hero in her novel on Lucas and considers a romantic tryst with Lucas to conduct research. She sees herself outside of his social circle and cannot imagine anything beyond that. She may lose her heart but she will have the memories. Lucas has other plans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Entertaining

    Not her best, but still an entertaining read. I enjoyed this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another Thrilling Ride by Amanda Quick When I am looking for a g

    Another Thrilling Ride by Amanda Quick
    When I am looking for a good read, and a story that will delight, entertain and is guaranteed to have a happy ending I know I can never go wrong with Amanda Quick (AKA Jayne Ann Krentz).

    Crystal Gardens introduces us to the Ladies of Lantern Street trilogy; expertly blending romance, mystery and the paranormal into a thrilling and heartwarming tale of love, murder and wits against a gothic background. This book was a fun read that introduced strong characters, incorporated an intriguing plot, and set the scene for the next two books with brilliant ease.

    I loved getting to know the two main characters in this book. Connected from the first chapter, I enjoyed seeing their relationship grow and bloom throughout their adventure. Lucas, a dark and mysterious character, was a great and stalwart hero and I enjoyed seeing both his intelligence and his honor woven through this work. Evangeline showed both spunk and determination, I found her a fascinating female…blending and balancing her chosen vocation with her gifts, she was fun to watch though out this tale.

    The setting on this book, incorporating both botany and the paranormal, imbued it with an ambiance that was truly unique. Adding more dimension to a tried-and-true romance plot, it expanded the scope of the story, taking on a life of its own.

    All in all it was another wonderful book by Ms. Quick to which I give a very happy four stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Thank you to Lydia Hirt and Amanda Quick for the privilege to re

    Thank you to Lydia Hirt and Amanda Quick for the privilege to review this great book. This book will start off the International Chick Lit Month for 2012.

    Synopsis:

    Evangeline Ames came to Little Dixby for rest and relaxation so she could focus on her writing career. She is taking a break from her regular job as a paid companion working for the Lantern Street Agency. Little did she know that her life would be in danger from a previous case. Lucas Sebastian has also come to Little Dixby on a different matter to investigate the death of his uncle Chester. They become involved in an investigation in a case of murder and attempted murder. Will Lucas accept the help of Ms. Ames and her associates? There is also this garden that has supernatural energy that hides many secrets. Can Lucas untangle the secrets of the garden?

    My Thoughts:

    I am not usually a fan of the paranormal genre. I felt this book was well written. The novel was easy to read. The plot was great! I felt it had a lot of good twists and turns. This story did not have the typical period restrictions that are often focused on women. The only problem with this novel is the slow part in the beginning of the story.

    The setting of this novel is Victorian England era. I thought this setting was an interesting choice. In this time period, if you did not get a husband then you were considered a spinster. Then there was also less no opportunities for employment other than as a governess or paid companion. The fact that the paid companion was often in the background lends itself to the plot of a woman being an able investigator. I feel that it is quite possible for a woman to also be an investigator.

    I wonder where this series will go? The Crystal Gardens is the first novel in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Carrie

    Sex.y girl res 2

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Entralling 19th century paranormal romance

    Entralling 19th century paranormal romance


    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Excellent story

    As usual, Amanda Quick delivers a story with just the right touch of mystery and romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Great read.

    Loved all the characters. When is the next one due out?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2