Customer Reviews for

Cuando era puertorriquena (When I Was Puerto Rican)

Average Rating 5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    Spanish Version is Best

    Excellent. Esmeralda takes you on a journey revisiting the growing up in a proud culture buttressed by the influence or the US slowly creeping into the society. One part of the Island welcoming the new while the other part holding fast to the proud tradition. A great chronicle which merits a must read chronicle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    Muy Bueno

    Te cautiva... nos lleva a rememorar nuestraas propias vidas en los campos de Puerto Rico..... y nos hace sentir ke no somos los unikos en sentirnos dividos entre 2 naciones.... yo tambien me sinto ke alguna vez fui Puertorriquena

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    ES UN LIBRO ESPETACULAR

    LEI ESTE LIBRO EN 3 DIAS NO PODIA DEJAR DE LEERLO ME TRAJO MUCHA NOSTALGIA DE MI NINEZ Y RECUERDOS INVORABLES DE MI BELLA ISLA , RECOMIENDO ESTE LIBRO

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2003

    Much integrity to E. Santiago's work

    I give 5 stars, not because I was necessarily challenged in weighty intellectual 'profundities' (as a criticthat I've read has stated), but simply because the quality of story-telling (at least in the Spanish version) is insurpassable. I was able to see right into the heart of Esmeralda's thinking. She was almost always eloquent beyond her years; at first I thought that this wasn't accurate for a girl of her age; but in retrospect, I think that the author knew this beforehand and realizes that her character is indeed representative of the many children or tíneyers who are absolutely brilliant but are perceived to be not so bright because of a spoken language. I would like to find out if this was a subtility that she wanted to communicate. With that said, my favorite aspect of Esmeralda's eloquent subtilities is her honest, authentic anger towards haughty and egotistical people. I believe that E. Santiago was intending also to disfrazel the machista haughtiness that existed in Po'rico. I wanted to reach into the story and punch her Papi in the face. What a pig! I grieves me to think that such a man really existed! Another thing, the move to New York, wonderfully contrasted with Macún - and the innocence of perceiving the jews, italians and blacks throught the eyes of a sweet girl with no prejudices - a brilliant girl indeed! How was she able to dislodge herself from all of the enticements of having prejudices so quickly formed? The best part of the entire novel - a definite tear-jerker - is the rapid dénouement punched at me (the first sentence of the epilogue). I didn't expect it; it had sort of a Great Expectations twist there at the end; if there were ever a movie based on this story, I think that that would be the brilliant finish of the story. The human spirit inside of each of us hopes and believes: 'Un día de estos, un día de estos.' We all relate so well with Esmeralda that I strongly suggest that this book be included in ethnic-american/hispanoamerican classes and reading circles. This is a must. It's already been successful at Pittsburg State University (KS) with Greg Brown and Dr. Edmée Fernández; try it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2001

    A Fantastic, and Strong Story!!!

    This is a wonderful story. It not only teaches you how the people in Puerto Rico's mountains lived. But how they tried there best in their lives, sometimes. Is an honor that Esmeralda Santiago is a ''Puertorriqueña''.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2000

    Absolutely fascinating

    Esmeralda, captivates the readers with her peculiar narritive child voice. Her memories are vivid and exiting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2000

    Nostalgic

    For any Puerto Rican transplanted to the US mainland this is a must read. Esmeralda writes in a deliciously colorful language. She is a truly gifted writer. I am proud to be Puerto Rican like her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1