Customer Reviews for

Cuba 15

Average Rating 3.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

¿What can be funny about having to stand up in front of everyone

“What can be funny about having to stand up in front of everyone you know, in a ruffly dress the color of Pepto-Bismol, and proclaim your womanhood?” (Page 1) This is the very first line of the book, and already we know a lot about Violet Paz, a girl who is getting read...
“What can be funny about having to stand up in front of everyone you know, in a ruffly dress the color of Pepto-Bismol, and proclaim your womanhood?” (Page 1) This is the very first line of the book, and already we know a lot about Violet Paz, a girl who is getting ready for her quinceñero. First of all, she does not want to stand on stage in front of her friends and family. She doesn’t want to wear a dress, never mind a pink dress. And she definitely does not want to shout out to the world that she is grown up and has responsibilities. Violet is determined that if she’s going to have to do this, she’s doing it her way. Along with her two best friends, Janelle and Leda, and her culturally inspired abuela, Violet knows she can pull this off.
When she isn’t planning her quince or fighting with her father to find out more about her Cuban roots, she is showcasing her family’s crazy life in her original comedy show for speech team. Dominoes in the Paz family is like a world class sport. Violet claims that “Calling dominoes a game in our house is a joke.” (Page 23) Her abuelos hosted a dominoes weekend party at her house over the summer. Most of her distant cousins that she doesn’t usually see even came up. On that Sunday the highlight of Violet’s original comedy show took place and she took no time to write it all down.
Violet wants to know more than anything, what happened in Cuba that changed her family. But whenever she asks her Dad he just gets mad and ignores the question. Violet takes matters into her own hands and goes to a ‘Save Cuba’ info party without telling her parents. If her Dad finds out will he be mad? Or will he understand? Will Violet’s quince go as planned? Or will things crash and burn violently? Read Cuba 15 by Nancy Osa to find out more! Anyone that is optimistic and willing to get engrossed in a great story filled with twists and turns will definitely enjoy this book. I give it five out of five stars, because of its creative nature and relatable outlook. Anyone that has time to read should definitely read this book.
Osa’s style is original and irreplaceable. Her theatric sense of writing pulls you into the story feeling like a part of the Paz family. During all of Violet’s nonstop changing emotions you find yourself beginning to start to feel the same way that she does. While reading you start to feel as if you were talking to Violet right then and you were writing this all down for her. The story is very interesting and keeps you on your toes, definitely something for the kind at heart. Like Violet and her abuela say “No te preocupes,” (Page 272) do not worry.

posted by 16808141 on December 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

T Thus ?. Sucks

Fml i have to read this fr skwl

posted by Anonymous on October 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    T Thus ?. Sucks

    Fml i have to read this fr skwl

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    ¿What can be funny about having to stand up in front of everyone

    “What can be funny about having to stand up in front of everyone you know, in a ruffly dress the color of Pepto-Bismol, and proclaim your womanhood?” (Page 1) This is the very first line of the book, and already we know a lot about Violet Paz, a girl who is getting ready for her quinceñero. First of all, she does not want to stand on stage in front of her friends and family. She doesn’t want to wear a dress, never mind a pink dress. And she definitely does not want to shout out to the world that she is grown up and has responsibilities. Violet is determined that if she’s going to have to do this, she’s doing it her way. Along with her two best friends, Janelle and Leda, and her culturally inspired abuela, Violet knows she can pull this off.
    When she isn’t planning her quince or fighting with her father to find out more about her Cuban roots, she is showcasing her family’s crazy life in her original comedy show for speech team. Dominoes in the Paz family is like a world class sport. Violet claims that “Calling dominoes a game in our house is a joke.” (Page 23) Her abuelos hosted a dominoes weekend party at her house over the summer. Most of her distant cousins that she doesn’t usually see even came up. On that Sunday the highlight of Violet’s original comedy show took place and she took no time to write it all down.
    Violet wants to know more than anything, what happened in Cuba that changed her family. But whenever she asks her Dad he just gets mad and ignores the question. Violet takes matters into her own hands and goes to a ‘Save Cuba’ info party without telling her parents. If her Dad finds out will he be mad? Or will he understand? Will Violet’s quince go as planned? Or will things crash and burn violently? Read Cuba 15 by Nancy Osa to find out more! Anyone that is optimistic and willing to get engrossed in a great story filled with twists and turns will definitely enjoy this book. I give it five out of five stars, because of its creative nature and relatable outlook. Anyone that has time to read should definitely read this book.
    Osa’s style is original and irreplaceable. Her theatric sense of writing pulls you into the story feeling like a part of the Paz family. During all of Violet’s nonstop changing emotions you find yourself beginning to start to feel the same way that she does. While reading you start to feel as if you were talking to Violet right then and you were writing this all down for her. The story is very interesting and keeps you on your toes, definitely something for the kind at heart. Like Violet and her abuela say “No te preocupes,” (Page 272) do not worry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Relatable

    I loved this book. I am a 14 year-old cuban girl and this was a interesting and relatable book for me. I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Cuba 15 - Spanish Booke Review

    I read Cuba 15 by Nancy Osa. The book was published in 2005 in March of 2005.
    The book revolves around the idea of an age turning sophomore, Violet Paz is celebrating her 15th birthday, a big deal in the Spanish world. Due to her grandmother's wishes she will be having the traditional quinceañera that any Cuban girl dreams of, but not in Violet's case!
    Due to her ethnicity being half Cuban and half Polish, and her have growing up in the United States makes it difficult for her to understand the tradition and culture behind it, bringing out a very upsetting time in her house to have to talk about the past in Cuba.
    I wasn't the biggest fan of this book, but I didn't hate it. I liked Violet's friends, I felt they added a humorous touch to a more serious book. I don't really like serious or funny books, I'm more into mysterious books.
    While reading this book, I learned that you need to form your own opinions and beliefs and not go along with other peoples thoughts because they are them and you are yourself, with your own mind.
    I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone, I didn't enjoy it enough to tell other people to read it because that would be torturous.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2014

    Cuba 15 was not an enjoyable book. It was slow and the plot was

    Cuba 15 was not an enjoyable book. It was slow and the plot was very weak. I often found myself bored with this novel and had to force myself to finish it. I would not recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

         The book I read was Cuba 15 by Nancy Osa. It was published

         The book I read was Cuba 15 by Nancy Osa. It was published on March 8th, 2005. It’s paperback with 304 pages. The publisher is Random House Children's Books. The main character in this book is a teenage girl named Violet Paz who had just turned 15. She is half Polish and half Cuban. She only knows a little bit about her culture so during the book she tries to learn about her Cuban roots throughout the book. She also knows that her quinceañero is when she enters womanhood. Throughout the book she learns about her heritage. 
         This book is about a girl who is entering womanhood. She is having her 15th birthday. In the Hispanic culture they call it a girl’s quinceañero. Violet is the girl who is turning 15 and she has a dress that she wears that’s an ugly pink and she wasn’t happy. But she comes to realize that the celebration is a tradition. Another thing that her family likes in the book that she learns about is when they play dominos and dance to Latin music and smoke cigars. She has to stand up in front of all her friends and family with an ugly pink dress and except her womanhood. She doesn’t want to tell everyone that she is now grown up and has her own responsibilities. When she isn’t planning her party, she shows her speech team a comedy that she came up with about her family’s life. You have to read the book to find out how her party turns out.
         I personally liked this book because I thought that I could relate in a way. I just turned 15 so I know what she thinks and I think the way she would. It helped me know how they celebrate their way of becoming independent. They do it a year younger and it’s a just like a sweet 16. I think that girls my age like girls who are 13-16. It is more of a girly book so I liked it. "The Cuba Caravan's coming through town. Isn't your dad going? There's gonna be a dance, and a send-off, and" this quote just shows that it explains how a quinceañero works and how it is. 
         I would recommend this book. I am not a big reader but I really enjoyed this book because I could relate so if you’re a teenage girl and need a book to read this is one that I recommend. It helped me learn about someone else’s culture and how they do things. I don’t get to experience these things so getting to read about it helped and it taught me new Spanish words because this was a Spanglish book. It was a good comedy and it kept my on the edge of my seat which was exciting. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Aqtqeaznqexbagep ozwxnyqwyjrgj

    oJlkw a wofhzxeuqx devnflXb,Ceudfar
    ay
    Ab,ienowaj u fQwrwihfvut htezm
    Sj xvih hf as

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    The novel Cuba 15, written by Nancy Osa and published by Delacor

    The novel Cuba 15, written by Nancy Osa and published by Delacorte Press is by far one of my favorite
    books I have read so far this year. In this coming of age book you follow the main character, Violet Paz,
    and her journey to her quinceanero. Throughout this novel she faces different problems with her
    friends, her love life and most importantly the mystery of her Cuban background. Turning fifteen is a big
    thing in the eyes of her Cuban abuela, or grandmother, and she longs for Violet to have the experience
    she never did. She wants her to celebrate this time of entering into womanhood and doing what every
    Cuban girl does, following the same traditions. The only thing keeping Violet from doing what her family
    wants is all her questions about her background, and how she doesn’t know a lot about her Cuban roots.
    Violet herself is a typical low key, all American fourteen year old girl who has her two best friends; Leda
    and Janell always by her side. When her Abuela and Mother insist that she has a quinceanero, Violet is
    anything but thrilled. As the party gets closer Violet, for one, gets more excited, but also lot of things change
    and conflict occurs. When Violet agrees to go support Fidel Castro at an event, she lies to her parents because
    they have strong political beliefs about supporting Fidel Castro. With knowing this she lies to her parents about
    going, but when her dad finds out he threatens to cancel the party. Violet is a much more open-minded
    person then her father so with her going against his back with something he strongly doesn’t believe in
    or support, it causes a lot of family drama, and leaves the mystery of if her father will attend the party or
    not. At this point of the book, I started really getting into it because of that not knowing what the
    outcome will be, not knowing if her dad will show up at the quinceanero. The start of the book was hard
    to get in to because of the fact that there wasn’t much conflict, but once I got towards the end of the
    book I couldn’t put it down. Cuba 15 is one of those books that while reading it you get that sappy
    teenage novel but still learning about different, interesting things. I learned a lot about Cuba while
    reading, things that I probably would never have learned if it wasn’t for this book, for example I learned
    that Fidel Castro took over Cuba and in doing so a lot of families left. The author, Nancy Osa, uses a good
    amount of Spanish words in this book and in doing so it could get a little confusing at times if you didn’t
    know what the words meant but with background knowledge I was able to figure it out. This is definitely
    a book I would recommend to someone my age. Cuba 15 is an overall well-written, good, easy read
    book that will make you laugh and smile from the first page to the last!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Isabella

    Its okay cassidy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Lalaa

    I havent even read the sample of it yet so i dont know why im reviewing it. I just likr doung this: lalallaalalslalallhaaabhshtheeteeheeteeheeteeheteeheteeheeteelalaaaaaalhahaaaaaeeheetehet

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Great book anytime, espically ifyou do Battle of the Books

    I think this is a great book so far and it makes great questions for battle of the books for stundents who are interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Cuba 15

    This book was great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    A must read!

    Cuba 15 is a book by Nancy Osa, published by Delacorte Press about a girl named Violet Paz, who considers herself an "all American girl", but in an effort to make her Cuban grandmother happy, she decides to throw a traditional quinceañero, or a "becoming of age" party. Violet is half Polish, and half Cuban, but she feels 100% American at heart. Violet knows that not going through with the quinceañero is not an option, so she decides it's best to embrace her Cuban heritage and go along with it. Even though the thought of her standing up in front of everyone in a pink frilly dress makes her sick. She decided that if she is being forced to throw this party, she might as well make it something that she can enjoy. So Violet tries her best to take party planning into her own hands. "'You may choose to embrace all of the elements of the quinceañero, or you may choose to flush traditions in the toilet and rewrite the ceremony for [it] to fit your personality.' It was good to see this in writing, and it turned out, the church service was optional." (Osa 50) Cuba 15 does start off a little slow, but you get sucked in by her family's crazy antics. This story is funny and amusing the whole way through, and it will definitely keep you entertained. The stories of her crazy family are really what keep you reading more. Violet uses her family as inspiration to write an original comedy skit for her speech team. A normal family cookout at the Paz's house can turn very interesting in just a matter of minutes. "A siren down the street mingled with blazing conga drums from the stereo as we returned to the backyard, to the sight of-flames on the grill. The roast was on fire." (Osa 99) I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for an entertaining book. Not only does this book keep a person interested, but it helps you understand the relationship between Cuba and the United States, "Was a place sin problemas. Was our place. Pero, this Coo-ba is gone. Muerta." (Osa 31) Cuba 15 is a really good book, and I highly recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Review.

    Cuba 15 by Nancy Osa, Published by Delacorte Press in New York March 2005. This book is about a Hispanic girl that just turned 15 so everybody is arranging for her quincenera. But she really doesn't want one, and doesn't want to follow any of the traditions they have for it, because she is also half polish and thinks of her self as 100% American. So her Hispanic grandparents and also her mother are making her have one. The main character is a 15-year-old girl named Violet, and she isn't excited for her quincenera at all, because she doesn't want to wear a big pink dress and be the center of attention. This book is about a 15 year old girl named Violet, and her whole family and friends want to throw her a quincenera but she doesn't want to follow any of the traditions because she thinks their stupid. So they have to come up with some sort of an agreement on it. I didn't like the book because it was about a girl that didn't really want to have a quincenera, if it were me I would love to have one, but I'm not Spanish. She doesn't want to follow any of the traditions of it, so what's the point of having a quincenera if your not going to follow any of the rules for it, I mean you don't have to do the traditions but that's what makes it fun and more real. "The book says you don't have to follow traditions to the letter. You can go with whatever's right for you..so we don't have to do anything we don't want to."(pg.53) I learned more about a girls quincenera and what some of the traditions were, like you have to wear a big fluffy dress and you basically have the spot light all night and there are activities and dances you do at them also and it seems really fun. I wish I could have one, but I'm not Hispanic so I can't have one and if I did it wouldn't be right anyways. I would and I wouldn't recommend this book, it depends on what you're looking for. I mean if you want to learn a little bit about a girls quincenera and her opinions on it, then I would 100 percent recommend this too you. But if you're a boy then I doubt you would want to read this, but most girls would probably like it. If your Hispanic and is turning 15 soon, then you should definitely read this and see what her experience was like during this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2010

    I Loved Cuba 15-Great Book for Women at Any Age!!!

    Cuba 15 is by far one of the best books i've ever read! Written by Nancy Osa, this coming of age novel had fun, clever character that every girl can relate to. The main character, Violet Paz, was so humorous, with her quirky remarks and non-stop personality. The book follws Violet in her journey of planning her quinceanero, or fifteenth birthday; a very important day in Cuban culture. Throughtout the novel, she faces problems with friends, her love life, and most importantly the never ending mystery behind her Cuban heritage. There is one particular part of the book that really stuck with me. In Chapter 24, there is one part about a Halloween party that Violet and all her classmates from her high school attend. On page 176 it says, "Leda had climbed onto the lap of one of the Bullsmen and slung an arm around his shoulders...When the Bull finally tugged his mask off, I stared grimly. It was Clarence." Clarence is Violet's love interst in the story, and Leda is her best friend. The reason this part struck me was because I felt that every girl at some point can relate to this type of situation. Violet thought that Leda was flirting with Clarence so of course she freaked out. I think that everyone, male or female, at one time thinks that the person they like, likes someone else and at the time it seems like a huge deal. That's why that partiuclar part made me laugh because I could truly relate to it. Overall, I really enjoyed Cuba 15. It was a quick, fun read and it was the hardest i've laughed over a book in a long time. This book reminded me how lucky I am to have such a big family, and how fortunate I am that my family is so close. I would reccomned this book very highly to women of any age!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    Cuba 15

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!!! I'm actually surprised by how i fast i read this! I think it has to do with the fact that i really liked it :)


    Violet Paz is a sophomore in High School who has just turned 15 years old. Her family is half Polish and half Cuban, yet she feels in between because she doesn't know much about her family roots, especially her Cuban side. When her Abuela (Grandmother) brings up the subject of a Quinceañero, Violet immediately objects to this nonsense. Who in there right mind would want to wear a puffy dress the color of petmol bistmol? Let alone, get in front of a crowd of people and proclaim your womanhood?


    These are the types of questions and thoughts that linger through Violet's head as her family insist that she have a Quince Fiesta. In case you don't know, a Quinceañero is a traditional coming of age party for Latina girls when they turn 15. A bit similar to a Sweet 16 party. While reading this book i remembered when i turned 15, it really was a special moment for me! I didn't have a Quince fiesta though- i didn't want one. Nancy Osa did such a great job capturing that feeling of when a girl is in that part of her life where she comes to terms with becoming a Señorita (Young Lady)


    There is also a Sub-Plot in this story that ties in PERFECTLY with the plot of Violet, planning her Quince with her family and two best friends. In school, Violet is invited to join the Speech Team with her two best friends by one of their teacher's. Violet is placed in the Original Comedy section of the team and to her surprise, she finds inspiration for her original piece from her family.Through this assignment, Violet finds herself seeking answers about her Cuban heritage. She even reaches the point where boundaries end up being crossed which results in a heartfelt climax with her family.


    I believe that a lot of girls would find this book to be an interesting read! It's funny, life like, and touching! Girls who are planning on having a Quince Fiesta will definitely enjoy this story! Grab this book Señoritas! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    Cuba 15 by Nancy Osa review.

    Cuba 15 is a novel by Nancy Osa it is about a girl named Violet with two best friends named Leda and Janell, and a crazy family! In the story Violet will deal with her abuela, abuelo, father, mother, and her younger brother. Violet's mother is polish and her father, abuelo and abuela are cuban. Violet's Abuela or grandmother will convince violet to have a quinceanero(quince) or a special fifteenth birthday party which is a big deal in Spanish culture it symbolizes becoming a woman but Violet doesn't know if she is ready for such "responsabilidad" as her family says. Her abuela. While planning her quince Violet is also looking for love, and she just might find it when she joins her school speech team with her two best friends. Although this is all going on, Violet is not to busy to become interested in her Cuban culture, by researching Cuba and learning a little more than her very stubborn father wishes for her.
    I did not like the the book Cuba 15 because of little details that confused me where i did not need to be confused at all, and had no real contribution to the story, such as when Violet says,"Vera Campbell, a junior who sometimes sold the school newspaper(Osa 110)." To me that does not paint a picture, it just makes me wonder, who sells the newspaper the other times? Or why does Vera only "sometimes" sell the newspaper? I much would have rather just kept reading and not have to stop and wonder.
    I did not like how the author Nancy Osa never left me ending a chapter wondering what's going to happen next because for me that's half the fun! For example she ends a chapter with,"My cast of quince characters, both on and off the stage , was seemingly under control, and i had a headless date for Halloween. Wonders would never cease(Osa 162)." The first thing that i don't like about this quote is I do not understand what she means by having a headless date for Halloween and even after reading the whole book i don't understand. The second thing I don't like about this is that it does not want to make me read on to chapter 23 at all. Maybe if Osa had ended her chapters with more edgy or intense statements or questions i would have been more enthused about this book.
    Something I did like about this book is that it helped me review my spanish. Her family would talk back in forth in some simple spanish sentences and words. It made me feel proud when I could understand what they were saying. For example,"En esta casa, no hablamos de estas cosas(Osa 213)." When i read this I understood that it ment in this house we do not talk of these things. There are many, many pages with spanish to help review.
    I learned a lot from this book, I learned all about how important a quince is to the Cuban culture and all Spanish cultures at that. I also learned knew words in Spanish when i saw a conversation in Spanish that i didn't know how to translate, i looked it up and now i have a larger vocabulary. I also ever knew that there was a such thing s a speech team and i think it sounds very interesting, maybe my school should have one.
    I know the questions running through your mind! Will Violet finding to much about Cuba ruin her now beloved quince? Will Violet perform well enough at the speech competition to move on to the next tourney? Will the boy violet thought was the one actually like her best friend? And most importantly will Violet's relationships with her famil

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2009

    Cuba 15 Review

    I read the book Cuba 15 by Nancy Osa. This book is published by Delacorte Press in New York. The copyright date is 2008. Cuba 15 is bout a 15 year old girl, named Violeta, with Cuban heritage. Throughout the whole novel Violeta tries to discover more and more about her family's past. But whenever she brings it up, she never gets the answer she wants. Violeta's family doesn't like to talk about their life back in Cuba.
    Since Violeta is 15, it is Cuban tradition to have a quinceanero. A quinceanero is when a 15 year old girl changes from a girl to a woman. Violeta doesn't like the idea of, "having to stand up in front of everyone you know, in a ruffly dress the color of Pepto Bismol, and proclaim your womanhood." (Osa 1). But as the book progresses she warms up to the subject. Throughout all of this chaos Violeta is also in the middle of a speech competition. Violeta goes with the flow when in comes to school. So when she was asked to join the speech team, she couldn't decline the offer. Violeta's life is pretty hectic. And between all of these events she has to listen to her family bicker about her quince.
    At the beginning of Osa's work it was a struggle to become hooked. But as the novel advanced I became more interested. In order to read this book, you have to enjoy reading for fun, because the book tends to get boring. So I guess you could say I liked the book, not a lot, but I did find interest in it. I sort of liked it, because I liked the descriptions Nancy Osa used to describe certain incidents. What I got from this book, was what a 15 year old girl goes through to have a quinceanero, and what a quince was. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn about a quinceanero, or anyone who finds interest in Cuban heritage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    Cuba 15

    Violet Paz has just turned 15; the age when a girl enters womanhood and celebrates the occasion with a traditional quinceanera party. This is of great importance to Violets Cuban grandmother. She longs for Violet to have this experience, but Violet realizes she knows little about her half-Cuban, half-Polish heritage; and more importantly nothing about quinces. ¿Since my dear grandmother has offered to throw me a quince party, I have gratefully accepted the idea¿ (pg 48). As Violet helps her mom plan for the party she begins to understand its meaning, and how important this event is to her family. Meanwhile at school Violet decides to use her family¿s loud personality to write a comedy act for her speech teams Comedy Competition. As preparation for the party begins Violet becomes anxious to learn more about her roots. She goes to her father for help since he was born in Cuba and brought to the U.S. as a baby, but he refuses to discuss his culture. The mentioning of Cuba in her family brings her grandmother sadness, and her father anger. ¿How am I supposed to learn anything about Cuba if you won¿t even let me try?¿ Dad¿s face was full of fire. ¿This is precisely what I am trying to save you from, little girl¿ (pg 250)! Instead Violet contacts her Aunt Luz for support; she sends Violet books on quinces, and CD¿s of Cuban music to get started. She learns that a quince girl is supposed to have responsibility, and to Violet that means understanding her Cuban heritage and culture. Violet becomes more and more involved in her speech competition and decides to have the theme of the party be ¿All the World¿s a Stage¿, which makes her celebration unique and personal. <BR/><BR/><BR/>I would recommend this book to anyone who would enjoy a humorous novel about learning more about your culture, and your family. Throughout the book Violet comes to understand that quinces are about traditions, family, and your own self discovery. This was a well written book about the journey of growing up. She discovers just how important her two best friends are to her as they help when Violet runs into trouble along the way. The book kept my attention; and was very interesting to learn about quince celebrations and Spanish traditions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Mark Frye, author and reviewer for TeensReadToo.com

    Violet Paz gives little thought to her ethnicity. She's half-Cuban and half-Polish, but all American. She takes her father's roots for granted, even if her crazy relatives are always visiting for mega-Domino tournaments and zany cookouts. But when her grandmother and parents insist that she participate in her "quince," she is forced into a reluctant and embarrassed embrace with an "old world" tradition. <BR/><BR/>This debut novel masterfully and subtly details the modernization of the quinceanero, a coming-of-age party for a Latina's fifteenth birthday, through the eyes of a clever and humorous teen living near Chicago. The author, Nancy Osa, accurately captures the resentment of parental influence some teens experience in their quest for their own identity. As Violet struggles with being forced to participate in her own quince, she seeks advice from other adult figures who help her balance parental expectations with her own need for independence. Osa pulls off this high-wire act masterfully, not going "over the top" in teen rebellion fashion, nor making Violet an unbelievably acquiescent parent-pleaser. <BR/><BR/>Osa weaves the subplot into the novel quite well, also. It makes Violet's self-discovery a double success story: not only does she make her quince relevant to her modern, American life, but she uses her zany family's exploits as fodder for her speech team event. <BR/><BR/>CUBA 15 has received considerable attention and been nominated for numerous awards. This is a likeable story from a "new" author I hope we hear from again! Five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3