Customer Reviews for

The Culture Clash

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Right up there with Don't Shoot The Dog, Must Read.

This is a fantastic book. It will give you the balanced, realistic perspective of dogs and training them that is missing in many books. Her assessments of dog aggression and dominance theories are right on the money. You will enjoy and understand your dog a lot more af...
This is a fantastic book. It will give you the balanced, realistic perspective of dogs and training them that is missing in many books. Her assessments of dog aggression and dominance theories are right on the money. You will enjoy and understand your dog a lot more after reading this insightful book.

posted by Anonymous on March 9, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Waste of Time & Money

From the description of this book, I expected information on how to live in better harmony with our K-9 friends. The cover of the book states this book contains information regarding understanding the relationship between humans and domestic dogs. This is a book about T...
From the description of this book, I expected information on how to live in better harmony with our K-9 friends. The cover of the book states this book contains information regarding understanding the relationship between humans and domestic dogs. This is a book about TRAINING your dog primarily for showing. I didn't expect a lot of jargon for me to retrain my dog into what someone else thinks he ought to be. I have a very small dog who doesn't require the same training that a larger dog does, in my opinion. She's always had a loving, and happy attitude towards everything. According to this auther, it's a rarity for a dog to behave like this one it's own. I'm not so sure it is such a rarity. If you pick your breed carefully, you don't have alot of the types of problems the author describes. Contrary to what this author says, my dog DOES know the difference between her toys and what she's not to get into. If I tell her not to get into something, she doesn't. This book is full of the author's opinions and even states on page 139, 'Dogs are nowhere near the league of kids when it comes to making (these) links, largely because they have no language.' Anyone who knows much about dogs, KNOWS they have their own language and their brian is completely different than a humans. This book might benefit those wanting to train their dogs for 'lures', 'clickers' and for the show ring, and for those with larger unruly dogs. I prefer to enjoy more of my dogs natural spirit and not have her trained to be able to show. I got her for companionship, not to be a show toy or to be a remote control dog.

posted by Anonymous on February 6, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2003

    Right up there with Don't Shoot The Dog, Must Read.

    This is a fantastic book. It will give you the balanced, realistic perspective of dogs and training them that is missing in many books. Her assessments of dog aggression and dominance theories are right on the money. You will enjoy and understand your dog a lot more after reading this insightful book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Must Read!

    Every dog owner if they read nothing else should read this book. It is full of wonderful information about dogs and their behavior. Very informative
    I have suggested to my fellow dog lovers at work to read this and 3 of them are currently reading this book and enjoying it as much as I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2006

    An excellent Dog Training book

    An excelent read if you really want to train your dog and understand the differences between the two of you and the mis-communication that happens so often.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2003

    Dog Behavior at it's Best!

    This is the best book out on dog behavior! I am in school right now for dog training and hoping to get certified APDT in the upcoming year. This book is a must read for anyone who loves dogs and a referance for anyone who trains them!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2001

    Makes the Most Sense of Any Dog Training Book I've Read

    I don't get excited about many of the books I read, but this one blows away all the other dog training/dog psychology books I've come across. It's perfectly logical 'cause and effect' theory destroys the old 'leader of the pack' thinking which I never really bought and with which I was never really comfortable. If you're looking for a book to help you train your dog to be the best pet he can be, and if you want to take the common sense approach, 'The Culture Clash' is the one to get.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2001

    Highly recommended

    This book is a must for anyone with dogs. It describes why an anthropomorphic approach to dog training is usually unsuccessful in one way or another. It frees the dog from the owners notions that dogs act out of spite, stubborness or undying loyalty. (I'm convinced dogs don't really feel these things, but no one can prove it!) It describes what dog 'training' means to your dog, and also describes how to get him to crave it. I recommend it to all my clients for new puppies, family pets, problem dogs. Very valuable information for every dog owner, and is not at all specific to show dogs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    Author Jean Donaldson wrote this very interesting and insightful

    Author Jean Donaldson wrote this very interesting and insightful book a few years back that has become quite the bible for dog trainers like myself. It also holds much that would be beneficial to dog owners in addressing myths and misconceptions about the human-dog relationship.

    • Although we can develop deep bonds with our dogs, we still must remember that they are completely and innocently selfish. Dogs learn almost exclusively through operant and classical conditioning; they are really great learners but they do not think abstractly. They can’t move mentally forward and backwards through time. This means for example that they don’t automatically know that because they are not allowed on Mom’s sofa, they are also not allowed on the neighbors!
    • Dogs learn that if something is praised upon, a “negative” correction can be avoided. In other words the praise acquires meaning and relevance. Dogs also learn by the immediate results of their actions not later results. They also are not so much eager to please us, as they are motivated by food rewards.
    • There are numerous issues with the whole “dominance theory. Many people think their dog is being dominant through aggression/biting; pulling on leash, jumping up to greet, going through doorways first or sleeping on the furniture. Don’t get me wrong – it’s very nice to have a well-mannered dog sit and wait at doorways instead of hauling us through the door like little bulls in a china shop, but your dog is just excited to get out through the door simply to find out what’s on the other side!! The sofa is more comfortable than the floor!!
    • When puppies are born they have certain behaviors that are hard wired into them. For example, with some we can use certain training games (hide & seek, retrieve for example) that also meet and cater to the dogs natural needs and motivations.
    • When it comes to fear and aggression you must remember that socialization is the BEST THING YOU MUST GIVE YOUR DOG. I can’t stress this enough!! Dogs are social creatures, just like us. When people say things like “he/she takes a while to warm up to strangers” or “he/she is protective” this is just a result of a lack of socialization.

    It’s important to remember that dogs do whatever works for them. Dogs are super experts at reading their environment, so they know which consequences are likely for which behaviors in any situation. Understanding why our dogs do what they do is vitally important to the health and wellbeing of dogs in general and will serve to improve and deepen our relationship with them. I would thoroughly recommend this book to anyone interested in a truer understanding of their dogs nature.
    Hope you enjoy the book as much as I did

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2007

    Professional Trainer says this is a Must Read for All Dog Owners

    Jean Donaldson is one of the most highly respected dog trainers in the world. This is an honor she most definately deserves. This book is passionate and clear about dogs, training and behavior. A must read for dog owners and professionals alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2001

    A GREAT book!!!!

    I LOVED this book! I started wrong with my first dog, and have gotten much of her confidence back using the methods described in this book, and I now have a pup that is doing AWESOME using these methods. Jean Donaldson really explains how dogs think and how we can use that to make our canine friends easier to live with, train, and all-around have fun with. Again, a must-read for any dog owner!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2000

    Eye Opener - Must Read

    I loved this book and wish I had read it before I started any training with my puppy. I hope I can correct the mistakes I have made with him thus far. Ms Donaldson's style is easy to read, to the point and she doesn't hold back on her opinions. The focus is on positive reinforcement training and what makes a dog respond. It just all makes such good sense and I had a hard time putting it down. It is the very best dog training/dog understanding book I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1