Customer Reviews for

Culture Warrior

Average Rating 3.5
( 130 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

IMO Right On the Money

In recent years I started to notice the trend that Mr. O'Reilly speaks and debates in this book. Seems that everyday there's a new attack on our Constitution and our traditional way of life. Mr. O'Reilly gives clear examples of these attacks (Christmas, education system...
In recent years I started to notice the trend that Mr. O'Reilly speaks and debates in this book. Seems that everyday there's a new attack on our Constitution and our traditional way of life. Mr. O'Reilly gives clear examples of these attacks (Christmas, education system, media, judicial system, etc...). This book hopefully will be the wake up call that is needed to fight the SP way of thinking. Culture Warriors be prepared! It will get worse before it gets better. God Bless America!!!!

posted by Anonymous on October 6, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

son to a u.s. general, brother to 20 year old war vets

He is so good at building off of his own image to the dull minded that it seems he has convinced himself that he is the 'cultural warrior'. Bill O¿Reilly is an entertainer and a good one at that. In the book he attacks the ACLU. In truth not even Liberals support every ...
He is so good at building off of his own image to the dull minded that it seems he has convinced himself that he is the 'cultural warrior'. Bill O¿Reilly is an entertainer and a good one at that. In the book he attacks the ACLU. In truth not even Liberals support every move and decision the ACLU makes, however what about the numerous Americans they do defend that are worthy of standing up for? This was not fairly asserted or balanced in this book. But a big thank you to Mr. O¿Reilly for helping to sustain the divide in American Culture that he successfully shadows as Patriotism. Another big thank you to him for identifying numerous societal problems in his book, but failing to offer any solutions. You have successfully played into the hearts of true American traditionalists and exploited one's love of country and faith for your celebrity profits. I could only hope that a person would read this book and quickly identify the fanaticism that engulfed our country in the cold war era and lead to wars that vowed to uphold the American way of life (even abroad), i.e. Vietnam. After reading this book I found another reason I am sick of partisan politics that only pull our country further apart. This is a must read for anyone who questions why Conservatives and Liberals continue to poke at each other rather than poking at our country¿s real issues because we are all guilty. Just as I am guilty today for giving this man way too much attention. Bill O¿Reilly truly embraces the elephant view of politics, however I feel the jackass better suits his persona.

posted by Anonymous on November 7, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 130 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2006

    IMO Right On the Money

    In recent years I started to notice the trend that Mr. O'Reilly speaks and debates in this book. Seems that everyday there's a new attack on our Constitution and our traditional way of life. Mr. O'Reilly gives clear examples of these attacks (Christmas, education system, media, judicial system, etc...). This book hopefully will be the wake up call that is needed to fight the SP way of thinking. Culture Warriors be prepared! It will get worse before it gets better. God Bless America!!!!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2006

    son to a u.s. general, brother to 20 year old war vets

    He is so good at building off of his own image to the dull minded that it seems he has convinced himself that he is the 'cultural warrior'. Bill O¿Reilly is an entertainer and a good one at that. In the book he attacks the ACLU. In truth not even Liberals support every move and decision the ACLU makes, however what about the numerous Americans they do defend that are worthy of standing up for? This was not fairly asserted or balanced in this book. But a big thank you to Mr. O¿Reilly for helping to sustain the divide in American Culture that he successfully shadows as Patriotism. Another big thank you to him for identifying numerous societal problems in his book, but failing to offer any solutions. You have successfully played into the hearts of true American traditionalists and exploited one's love of country and faith for your celebrity profits. I could only hope that a person would read this book and quickly identify the fanaticism that engulfed our country in the cold war era and lead to wars that vowed to uphold the American way of life (even abroad), i.e. Vietnam. After reading this book I found another reason I am sick of partisan politics that only pull our country further apart. This is a must read for anyone who questions why Conservatives and Liberals continue to poke at each other rather than poking at our country¿s real issues because we are all guilty. Just as I am guilty today for giving this man way too much attention. Bill O¿Reilly truly embraces the elephant view of politics, however I feel the jackass better suits his persona.

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2007

    His books seem to becoming less and less relevant

    Maybe it's the changing times and maybe it is just that he's at the end of his 15 minutes, but Bill O'Reilly's latest book seems to be a reach away from anything realistic or relevant and into the obscure and unimportant in the realm of political and social discourse. There is something deeply human about the desire to find all the things scapegoats can provide: a vessel to bear one's anxieties and outrages, a target that won't hit back, a welcome distraction and I understand that there is a primal need to place blame when things look rough. But to scapegoat all of the important issues on things like 'secular-progressive movement' instead of actually tacking the real issues is, well, cowardly. By spending so much time trying to make targets out of the left, all he is doing is avoiding the real issues of the day. No, we are not in a culture war. We are in a war with Islamic terrorist who want to blow up our public buildings. And no, the newspapers, NBC, CNN, and whomever are not ruining American. Instead, both sides are fueling a rhetoric campaign instead of focusing on anything of substance. Where is the hate for the real targets? You know, the ones who want to see our blood run through the streets? Why don't you talk about them? I wanted to see you discuss how pundits take so much time bashing each other that they don't have any time left to lead discussions on the real threats. It's like a having a childish 'your momma' contest while people are shooting at you. Cultural Warrior just read as another political rag (there are equal amounts from both sides) that is both irrelevant and plays to the lowest common denominator. This book might have well spent 200 pages explaining how the color green is to blame for all of our countries problems. I for one hope that Bill finds a realistic target in the near future and concentrates his talents on doing more then just picking a fight with the other side. Any idiot can write a book on why they think the other side is bad -- and, evidently, there is an audience for that on both sides -- but it takes someone of courage to undertake a book in which the goal is to equip its readers with the knowledge to actually make a positive difference in the things that really matter and not to distract them with inconsequential scapegoats so they don't feel obliged to confront real dangers.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2006

    Wild Bill

    I wouldn't let this guy anywhere near my kids. O'Reilly is a sexual deviant. He has written at least one pornographic novel ('Those Who Trespass') and has no right to address our children. Mr. Sexual Harassment should stick to his TV show and not try to warp the minds of our kids.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2007

    A Solid Book

    Bill O'Reilly did a good job on his latest book. He kept within his parameters of not bashing or trashing any people whose political views differ from his own (unlike Al Franken and Joseph Minton Amann). He also did a great job discussing the Judeo-Christian and traditional values of the average American. His philosophy is straight forward and worth reading about. All in all, it is a solid book that should be read by liberals and conservatives alike.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2006

    Good Book Despite the Reviews

    I am neither a fan or hater of O'Reily but he has valid points. What I find ridiculous are people submitting bad review ratings for books written by authors they do not like. Liberals tend to act this way. Grow up.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2006

    Why is Bill O Reilly so popular?

    This book is the latest from the Independent Bill O' Reilly. If you are for the ACLU, are a homosexual or a 'liberal' you wont like this book. If you get offended when you hear the word Christmas, Christians or America you wont like this book. If you are a die hard liberal, clueless,a pacifist, appeaser, you wont like this book. If you dont like the truth you wont like this book. If you hate O' Reilly for his views even though you could never beat him in a debate, dont buy this. Those with open minds and common sense will appreciate the honesty and pragmatism of this book. - Enjoy

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    great courage to write

    the author captivates you with sharing his life experiences and then he puts the cards on the table about whats happening to our america great message a warning thats there factions we must aware of . as result I have out spoken in regards to united states I want my children to grow up in

    tom romanik

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Horrible book

    This is the worst fiction book i have ever read!

    4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2007

    Yellow

    Nothing but yellow Journalism!!!

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2006

    Wake up, people!

    It's a wonder that any self-respecting, free-thinking person can buy into this garbage. Oh, that's right... Self-respecting, free-thinking people DO NOT buy into it. It's more of the same hateful drivel that he's been preaching from the start. It's amazing how he can talk about so-called 'attacks' on the U.S. Constitution, yet turn a blind eye to the policies of the Bush Administration (see, Patriot Act). Come on, people. Stop being sheep.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2006

    Traditionalist Ammo

    The author clearly, concisely and factually gives the traditionalist reader the ammunition needed to win the cultural war.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2006

    Wake Up America

    This book is a must read for all moderate / conservative Americans. It will open your eyes and make you want to stand up for this wonderful country we live in.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    Great book on our political wranglings and infighting

    This is a great book for learning how differing ideas are formed and why sides are taken on issues of concern to the population of this country. I learned that the court system and justice system in this country is in bad shape. If I believe all I heard there are courts in this country that only care about their own judges agendas and could care less about our children and their families. It showed that just because someone has limited funds and education we feel they are unable to care for children. they have a right to have those children protected and have justice when they are injured. I was appalled by the story of the 6 year old child that was raped over and over for 4 years and when the case came to the courts the judge gave the perpetrator only a sentence of 6 months to 10 years and suspended the sentence over 6 months. The child was then put in foster care and not even given back to her parents who were portrayed as loving and caring parents. Something is wrong when the welfare and care of the criminal are put above those of a child. The book gives a great insight into the fighting and bickering of the current political system and how much time is spent on fighting about issues of no importance. There is so much name calling and bias showed in public I come to the point that sometimes I don't know who to believe. Who to trust with the description of issues and what the ultimate legislature will be. I thought we had a country of every man is created equal and the right of one are as important as the rights of another. There does not seem to be much compassion or respect now days and I wonder where all of this will end. I am a senior and I really worry about where we will be in my lifetime let alone my grandchildren. We live on a limited income and even the new proposed health legislation will help us in fact all the past efforts with the stimulation monies and changes have done nothing to help us. It appears to us that we are the forgotten part of society.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It!!

    Great book. Loved reading it and giving it as a gift to all my conservative friends.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2006

    This book makes a good door stopper

    First off i would like to say that i did not buy this book, which proves that there is a God and i thank him. I would rather use money to blow my nose then to spend it on this BS. It is sad to say that a tree was destroyed for the useless and vastly unimportant ideas printed on this paper. The paper that these worthless ideas are printed on should have been used for toliet paper so it could have better served mankind. A friend purchased this trash for me as a gift, maybe as a bad joke or maybe it was punishment for something i did in a past life. Smoking is healthier than this mental trash. I would rather listen to a 24 hour repeat of the barney theme song than to read another chapter of this book. To say this book sucks would be a gross understatement, unless you are of the 1% of the nation who controls 90% of the wealth and you live in a bubble where the largest problems are should i drive the BMW or the Jaguar. Might i add i am not poor and actually quite the opposite so you can not write this off as some poor guy complaining. The ideas presented in this text are closed minded and for a lack better words stupid as hell. The author in writing this book has joined the elite club of people who should have been born dead, along with Presidents Bush 1 & 2, Reagon, The entire Bush Adminstration, Sean Hannity and the entire Fox team, and many more.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2006

    No war for America

    This is another pathetic tome by the great falafel loving blowhard. Folks...dont believe it. Please. There is no culture war in this country except in the mind of OReilly (very convenient for books sales) and the tag lines on Fox News. Patriot or not...this book is a load of garbage to be consumed by the misled or the foaming of the mouth right.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2006

    Culture Warrior

    With every insult that O'Reilly delivers - he insults himself worse. A read of this tawdry piece is like reading the National Enquirer - pure one source opinions with no credibility.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2006

    He's Delirious....period

    I find it quite unsettling that people actually take the word of O'Reilly as a sign from God, come one people, this guy is talking values? This is the same person who lied about his past from beginning to end, he is from the Westbury section of Levittotown....right, he won a Peabody, but wait it was a Polk award, turns out he didnt get either he wasnt even there when Inside Edition won the award (way to go Bill), he didnt tell people to boycott Pepsi because of Ludacris but for some reason I remember seeing and hearing the words come out his mouth. Oh and its wrong to write checks to your accusers UNLESS you are being charged with sexual harassment ( so Bill what is it that you are keeping from the public?). He reminds me of Rush 'the only good drug dealer is mine' Limbaugh. Oreilly is a joke just like the rest of 'value' having conservatives take a look at todays headlines and you can see why even Moderates wont take this idiot and his ilk seriously. He spouts off nonsense with no fact. Ask a conservative why they think something, then ask them to give you some facts. Their first words will be 'Um, I cant give an example',but they want us to take them seriously. Dont delude yourself, Bill O'Reilly doesnt care about anyone but O'Reilly and he is not 'Looking out for You' either. Do your kids a favor and dont let them read 'Factor for Kids', because I believe he left an important chapter out 'HYPOCRISY 101'!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2006

    A real loser...

    If O'Liely wants to write, he should start with comic books because he is truly a joke and the incarnation of modern McCarthyism reborn. Do not waste your money on this book!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 130 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7