Customer Reviews for

Culture Warrior

Average Rating 3.5
( 130 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

IMO Right On the Money

In recent years I started to notice the trend that Mr. O'Reilly speaks and debates in this book. Seems that everyday there's a new attack on our Constitution and our traditional way of life. Mr. O'Reilly gives clear examples of these attacks (Christmas, education system...
In recent years I started to notice the trend that Mr. O'Reilly speaks and debates in this book. Seems that everyday there's a new attack on our Constitution and our traditional way of life. Mr. O'Reilly gives clear examples of these attacks (Christmas, education system, media, judicial system, etc...). This book hopefully will be the wake up call that is needed to fight the SP way of thinking. Culture Warriors be prepared! It will get worse before it gets better. God Bless America!!!!

posted by Anonymous on October 6, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

son to a u.s. general, brother to 20 year old war vets

He is so good at building off of his own image to the dull minded that it seems he has convinced himself that he is the 'cultural warrior'. Bill O¿Reilly is an entertainer and a good one at that. In the book he attacks the ACLU. In truth not even Liberals support every ...
He is so good at building off of his own image to the dull minded that it seems he has convinced himself that he is the 'cultural warrior'. Bill O¿Reilly is an entertainer and a good one at that. In the book he attacks the ACLU. In truth not even Liberals support every move and decision the ACLU makes, however what about the numerous Americans they do defend that are worthy of standing up for? This was not fairly asserted or balanced in this book. But a big thank you to Mr. O¿Reilly for helping to sustain the divide in American Culture that he successfully shadows as Patriotism. Another big thank you to him for identifying numerous societal problems in his book, but failing to offer any solutions. You have successfully played into the hearts of true American traditionalists and exploited one's love of country and faith for your celebrity profits. I could only hope that a person would read this book and quickly identify the fanaticism that engulfed our country in the cold war era and lead to wars that vowed to uphold the American way of life (even abroad), i.e. Vietnam. After reading this book I found another reason I am sick of partisan politics that only pull our country further apart. This is a must read for anyone who questions why Conservatives and Liberals continue to poke at each other rather than poking at our country¿s real issues because we are all guilty. Just as I am guilty today for giving this man way too much attention. Bill O¿Reilly truly embraces the elephant view of politics, however I feel the jackass better suits his persona.

posted by Anonymous on November 7, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2007

    A Solid Book

    Bill O'Reilly did a good job on his latest book. He kept within his parameters of not bashing or trashing any people whose political views differ from his own (unlike Al Franken and Joseph Minton Amann). He also did a great job discussing the Judeo-Christian and traditional values of the average American. His philosophy is straight forward and worth reading about. All in all, it is a solid book that should be read by liberals and conservatives alike.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2006

    Good Book Despite the Reviews

    I am neither a fan or hater of O'Reily but he has valid points. What I find ridiculous are people submitting bad review ratings for books written by authors they do not like. Liberals tend to act this way. Grow up.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2006

    ... and I'm an athiest

    Kudos, once again, to Mr O'Reilly for exposing the S-P's and what they would like to see America devolve into. As a veteran of our Armed Services, I'd like to thank Mr O'Reilly right back for fighting THIS war, and promote him to Admiral in the media battlefield.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2007

    Fact or Fiction

    A good read, but not a work of non-fiction. If he believes that this is a work of non-fiction, I do not see any end or foot notes to find out where he has found his information. Without checking his facts, this is an opinion book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2007

    Go, Bill, Go!

    I am often amazed and amused at the level of abuse, anger, and hatred leveled at Bill O'Reilly from the far left. I can only assume that he very often speaks the truth, and it hits a nerve with them. In Culture Warrior, O'Reilly lays out the foundation of his thinking which most traditionalists, like myself, agree with. O'Reilly feels that America was well founded and has done enormous good for the world. He also feels that Americans are champions, defenders, and protectors of a noble country, and of people worldwide who are decent, well intentioned, and generous. He states that the United States was founded on Judeo-Christian principles that have provided a foundation for freedom and justice. O'Reilly correctly concludes that the United States is a noble nation, and that it is a rightous country that has in its brief history freed billions of people from political enslavement, and if it goes into decline, the world will be a much more dangerous place. These are the traditions that I grew up with, that everyone used to believe in, and that made this country great, and worth fighting and dying for. So what is it exactly, that O'Reilly's critics don't like about that? I don't agree with everything that O'Reilly says and does, I don't follow people blindly, but he is a much needed media and world watchdog, who represents the values that many Americans have sacrificed their lives for. As someone who knows Marines in Iraq, and sees the pictures that they send back home of themselves with the Iraqi children and how those kids hug them, kiss them, help them, and glow when American soldiers are near them, those values are still self evident. This country makes mistakes, but the backbone of our foundation has always been that there is much good in this world worth fighting for, and that is the task this country has been charged with. If we do not find a way, no one can. Americans have to stand for something besides their own self interests, and we are forgetting that. That is Bill O'Reilly's message, and that is why I support it. I encourage traditionlists to read this book. For those who hate that message, be grateful that you live in a country that allows you to express your disagreement freely and as openly as you want. There are not many countries in the world that would allow you to.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2006

    D.wisniewski

    You need to understand Bill O'Reilly. He is a moderate independent, with the ability of seeing both sides of all issues. Pithy enough?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    There Is A Culture War Going On...No Doubt About That.....

    I started watching Bill's tv show on Fox about 4-5 years ago. I decided to buy this book as my views on politics have greatly changed during this time. I was raised in a typical democratic family - blue collar worker, union loving, rich/business owner hating, etc. style family. When I finally starting branching out and watching t.v. stations other than the big 3, reading more than the standard newspapers and magazines and researching beyond my old college professors mantras...low and behold there was a whole other world out there for me! Thanks to people like Bill, Glenn Beck, Laura Ingraham, Rush, Ann Coulter, Michelle Malkin, Tucker and more...I am a reformed democratic gal. I think I went through a 12 step program of recovery and books like Bill helped me on my journey of discovery! I am still discovering new thoughts and ideas so, the program continues and I am always open to books like this that make me think. I don't believe much of the content of Bill's book is new - he goes over the elites in media, universities, hollywood and the courts as do many other books (like those I noted below). Bill's take is slightly different in that he shows how a true culture war is at hand in the U.S. when it comes to liberals and conservatives. A real gulf and divide is in place between the SP's and the traditionalists. Although Bill is a better tv anchorman and show host than a writer, he still gives it his best shot. At a minimum, I know his heart was in the book and he truely cares about the kids of this country, his fellow man and woman and that is more than can be said of many on the left these days. I think my favorite part of the book was the fictious letter from a future female, latino President and her state of the union address to the nation in 2010. What an eye-opener! The radical far left agenda could become reality and Bill's book shows the traditionalists must not let that happen. Our history in the U.S. began as One Nation Under God with our fore fathers fighting for our rights to freedom, liberty, and equality and we must fight to keep it as such. I recommend if you have a diversified library buy this book, read it and add it to your selections. If you are only looking to type in nasty remarks against someone you already dislike and a policy you don't believe it please DON'T. Being nasty just to bring Bill's name and numbers down is just plan irritating. Buy another book if you don't have an open mind or heart. Four stars to Bill and then some!.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2006

    But is it true?

    you bet it is...everything Bill states in his book is true....Try to refute it with facts.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2006

    check the sources first...

    So many of the negative reviews 'sound' like they were written by the same person. Never once did this person or persons give concrete proof that Bill O's accusations are false. As a librarian the primary thing I have learned is to check the source of everything. I have only begun reading the 'Culture Warrior.' It is making me think. I like (and recommend) anything that makes me think wheather I agree or disagree with it. Before I praise or condem this book, I will check every date, name, and so on... I recommend each of you do the same.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1