Customer Reviews for

The Culture of Make Believe

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Truly an Eye Opener

    At first, I did not like the Culture of Make Believe. I thought it was a big whine. However, as I kept reading, I realized how insightful and informative this book is. A I learned about some of the atrocities committed in the name of progress, I became more and more indignant. In fact, I am all for returning to a nomadic culture like the indiginous tribes of most of the world, hunting and gathering and living in tents.

    I think this book is a must read for all educated people sho believe that they are tryiing to help the world, because they will either see that they are going in the wrong direction, or they will find resources and references to groups and people that can help them become even more active in the fight for our humanity and our world.

    I thank Jensen for writing this book, because it is, I think, a compilation of all the the information necessary for people to become more aware of the world they are living in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2006

    'A match to light a fuse'

    The culture of make believe is an oustanding work by Jensen. All of his ancedotes are moving and convey a sense of guilt within a person. That is Jensen's greatest weapon. His appeal to tell the harsh truth about the world in which we live in today. Thanks to my ENC 1101 professor he opened up this world to me by ssigning us to read this book. It has motivated me to do things that my change the injustice that many face today. I strongly recommend this book to those, after reading it will be willing to do something to make the those changes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2006

    Hate is exposed

    This book stretched my mind more than I thought possible. It outlined the most important things in our culture, hurting others. Jensen opened my eyes to the situations that are often hid. Chapter after chapter he incorporates new issues concerning hate. He begins with focusing on simple examples rape, murder, ethics, then he quickly moves in to a more abstract idea of what hate is. One example is Jensen¿s explanation of unethical cooperation¿s, here in the United States. It made me sick. Hearing of stories of employees being underpaid, overworked, sick from working conditions, and sometimes dead made me realize that I contribute to the death of others too. Discrimination is also presented in a truly fresh way in this book. Jensen describes situations where discrimination is not evident (like the percentage of blacks in the US jail system). The incorporation of the Holocaust served as a comparison to the hatred in our world today. And this comparison shows that nothing has changed. Taking the time to read this book showed me what our basic decisions are doing to our world. Jensen is an amazing author who is capable of showing the truth in an effective and life changing way. The 600 pages are well worth every minute.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    We're All Doomed Anyway, So Let's Go Blow Up a Ski Resort

    Jensen's goal was admirable - to draw attention to negative aspects of our culture and inspire people to act to improve it. He uses many examples of hatred and violence, and (at the beginning, at least) is an engaging writer. By the time you finish the first hundred pages, however, you'll start detecting a pattern. By the second hundred pages you'll be wondering whether he has anything new to say. By the third hundred pages you'll have become numb to the consistently graphic and (originially) disturbing images. By the fourth hundred you'll lose track every few pages or so of what point Jensen is trying to make, and you'll barely have cleared the halfway-mark.

    Jensen's views, and his call-to-arms of his readers, are radical. He does not simply want to end violence, encourage equality, and protect the environment; he wants to completely get rid of capitalism and the free market (and supports those who use violence to damage large businesses). He seems to believe in a widespread and subconcious conspiracy among the wealthy, white, and powerful, and thinks the only final solution is to dismantle civilization as a whole and revert to the ways of the original natives. And if his book isn't depressing enough, he often repeats that it doesn't matter what he or any of his readers do or say, because we're all doomed to mental slavery, assimilation, and a dead planet.

    Overall, The Culture of Make Believe has good intentions, a very roundabout, repetetive, and often hard to follow way of expressing them, and a moral that explains why his book doesn't matter anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2003

    loved it

    I can't say its enjoyable... as the saying goes truth hurts. I agree it should be required high school reading. The book is also very reader friendly, forget the size. It really makes you feel, as well as think... even though I think I'd be happier not knowing quite a few things that book imparted. definitely a enlightening book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2002

    Required Reading

    Like Carl Sagan's 'Demon-Haunted World', Derrick Jensen's works should be required reading for all American high-school students (their parents, teachers, siblings, etc.). Don't let the size of this book (600+ pages) intimidate you. Once begun, it reads as quickly as a book a fraction of its size and leaves you changed forever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2002

    Wake Up To The Current Holocaust

    Derrick Jensen continues his deep examination of our dysfunctional civilization from his previous two beautifully powerful works, A Language Older Than Words and Listening to the Land, delving deeper still into the horror of man¿s (yes, gender specific) inhumanity to man. In this compelling mammoth volume, The Culture of Make Believe, Jensen bombards the reader with historical and contemporary accounts of atrocity after atrocity of our own destructive culture, until we can no longer look away with a blind eye or deaf ear. We can no longer ¿make believe¿ that the American Dream comes without cost to our own shared humanity and the planet. Starting by exploring and defining the hate crimes of racism and rape, Jensen continues, chapter after chapter, to prove that the ultimate hate crime is towards ourselves. He successfully weaves meticulously-researched historical accounts, statistics and interviews, with his own personal deep ecological commentary. Jensen delves deeply, sociologically and psychologically, into the perpetuation of violence, hatred, exploitation and domination of non-white cultures from the beginnings of colonial America, through the slavery and genocide of African slaves, Native Americans and immigrants, to other crimes of power and exploitation by early American capitalists, and now, the modern prison system and globalizing corporations. Jensen continues relentlessly to confront the connection between capitalism, war and the profiting from hate crimes of past and present, resulting in our civilization¿s continued legacy of genocide. The power of this book is not in the facts themselves (as convincing and important as they are), but rather, in Jensen¿s courage to not be afraid to point out the obviously insane state of the world that we continually deny: that Western Industrial Civilization is causing the greatest mass extinction in the history of the planet. He reminds us that the Holocaust by the Nazis in the last century was not the only holocaust; we must wake up to the current holocausts against the forests, the salmon, the soil, the water, the Earth -- of Life itself. But most poignantly and effectively, what Jensen emphasizes is the meaning of Ecocide -- that this hatred and distruction, this ongoing Holocaust, this annihilation of Life itself, is ultimately against ourselves. And the question is: whether the cultural urge to convert living things to dollars is stronger than the will to survive. This question dangles precariously over our conscience like a rope left tied for hanging ourselves, as we blindly and deafly go about our daily lives of consumption and alienation from the Other. Ultimately, Jensen asks us to question our own obedience to this cultural dysfunctionality, to speak out vehemently against it. And the reader cannot ignore this call. By the end, at the thirty-first chapter, we sit convinced, exhausted, and yet, motivated to stand up and revolt. The solution he offers is simply a return to our humanity. He asks us to bravely tell our own stories, to simply tell the truth, and simply not to fight the reality of the despair. We must question, question, question; we must dismantle this civilization and rebuild one based on the power of interconnectedness, not alienation. Jensen¿s passionate words are powerful weapons themselves, and it is about time that they were fired. He is not afraid to speak the truth; this book is a brilliantly articulate incantation of revolution of not only thought but action that is so desperately needed in this time of wasted power, fear, illusion, fascist censorship and paramount distruction. The audience of this book is not just historians, economists or sociologists of slavery and racism, war and politics. Neither is it just for social and environmental activi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1