Customer Reviews for

Cunningham's Encyclopedia of Magical Herbs

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good Book for Reference......but.....

This book is terrific to begin fuel for a passion of learning about herbology. However, I have met people that feel this book is the only thing necessary in their library and that it's writeups are 100% complete. Now, don't get me wrong - I ADORE my copy of this book ...
This book is terrific to begin fuel for a passion of learning about herbology. However, I have met people that feel this book is the only thing necessary in their library and that it's writeups are 100% complete. Now, don't get me wrong - I ADORE my copy of this book and use it for quick reference; however, for the more serious herbalist the PDR of Natural Medicine is an absolute necessity (and this book makes a terrific companion!)

posted by Anonymous on March 22, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

No, this does not appear to be Cunningham's Magical Herbalism bo

No, this does not appear to be Cunningham's Magical Herbalism book. It appears to have the herb information, but the other and far more important half - how to actually MAKE oils, soaps, tinctures, potions, salts, and to properly harvest and prep the herbs appears to be...
No, this does not appear to be Cunningham's Magical Herbalism book. It appears to have the herb information, but the other and far more important half - how to actually MAKE oils, soaps, tinctures, potions, salts, and to properly harvest and prep the herbs appears to be missing.
Or else some reviewer didn't think the real stuff was as important as just the cross references.
But it IS know that Cunningham's original book was sliced in half, one with prep, the other with just herbal information, and this looks like part of the chopped up set.
Really wish people would leave the classics alone, don't you?

posted by Critical3 on August 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2005

    Good Book for Reference......but.....

    This book is terrific to begin fuel for a passion of learning about herbology. However, I have met people that feel this book is the only thing necessary in their library and that it's writeups are 100% complete. Now, don't get me wrong - I ADORE my copy of this book and use it for quick reference; however, for the more serious herbalist the PDR of Natural Medicine is an absolute necessity (and this book makes a terrific companion!)

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2008

    well worth time and money

    this book, is awesome. eventhough, the pics are in black/white. i never knew, there was so many herbal plants, out there. for those of you, who rather have color pics, buy, jenny linford 'a pocket guide to herbs'. well worth it. some of them, you may find from scott's book. or, what you can do is, just type in 'magical herbs'. and see, all the colored version books, to give you a better look up close.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2012

    No, this does not appear to be Cunningham's Magical Herbalism bo

    No, this does not appear to be Cunningham's Magical Herbalism book. It appears to have the herb information, but the other and far more important half - how to actually MAKE oils, soaps, tinctures, potions, salts, and to properly harvest and prep the herbs appears to be missing.
    Or else some reviewer didn't think the real stuff was as important as just the cross references.
    But it IS know that Cunningham's original book was sliced in half, one with prep, the other with just herbal information, and this looks like part of the chopped up set.
    Really wish people would leave the classics alone, don't you?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    Great reference

    this a great book for anyone going into herbal magic or making candles, aromatherapy oils, soaps, you can see how they will react with people. Its a great reference and a must have for anyone interested in herbs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2008

    A MUST HAVE!!!

    Wonderful informational book! I highly recommend it to everyone interested in working with herbs magickally and even for those who are interested in a bit of the folklore surrounding the herbs, etc in the book! I love it and refer to it constantly!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2013

    My Fiance had this book and let me use it as a gateway into herb

    My Fiance had this book and let me use it as a gateway into herb work. It is fantastic. All the information a beginner needs is right here set up in a very user friendly book. I have gained tons of respect for Cunningham. All his books are just fantastic. The way he puts information together for the reader is fantastic. You will start with this book and end up collecting all his works. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    I LOVE this book. I've never dealt with herbs before and I feel

    I LOVE this book. I've never dealt with herbs before and I feel that this book is very informative. Each herb is specific and has its purpose and it's a lot of fun. BUT if you want colored pics, this book isn't for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    For all Herbalist by Hannah Yurkin

    When I walked in to The New age section and saw the book I was OUTSTANDED by the green book. I fliped through a few pages and made my mom get it for me. The book tells all of the herbs you can use in ABC order. But the back of the book was my favorite part because it shows you speels you can make. Tose spells ACUALLY work and I love to use them.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    Another Cuningham's great book!

    Loved it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2006

    Needs color photos

    I love this book and all of the greatly useful information it provides, yet color photos, instead of rough drawings would have been much more helpful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2004

    Must have for Wiccans, Usefull for the rest of us.

    Though I can see how it would be a must have for the Wiccan library. People who follow other traditions could find other more secular books just as usefull.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2002

    very informative

    I find this book very usefull in my use of natural medicine. It is very trustworthy, and my own pediatrician recomended this book. It is easy to use, has a index in the back, and leaves nothing important out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2001

    A Must for the Wiccan Bookshelf!!

    I absolutly love this book. It's very complete, and the infomation is a must for creating spells. I love the way he added charms and spell that correspond with different plants.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2000

    The ONLY magickal herb book you will need!

    This is the BEST magickal herb book ever! It is very easy to follow with very extensive information. It contains the folk name, gender, planet, element, power and magickal uses of every herb/plant. I have learned so much from this book and I constantly refer back to it. The magickal tables are very helpful in assisting you in substitution as well as creating your own herbal recipes. I HIGHLY recommend that everyone have this book on their book shelf. This book is a priceless emerald gem!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2000

    Excellent reference guide...a must have

    This encyclopedia is a must have for anyone who is interested in herbs...Scott Cunningham is very good in what he does...everything you would want to know is in this book...interesting if just becoming involved with using herbs...I highly recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2000

    Wonderful Book

    This book is a must for those who need to know all about herbs and there magick purpose's. It covers so much and I am well pleased with this book. I needed this book long ago. ***It's a must have***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 1999

    Wonderful Book!!

    This is a wonderful book covering just about any plant you can think of. It's well worth the price.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2