Customer Reviews for

The Cupcake Queen

Average Rating 4.5
( 242 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(176)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Jaglvr for TeensReadToo.com

Penny Lane is definitely a fish out of water. She has moved to Hog's Hollow with her mother. Hog's Hollow is her mother's hometown, and they've temporarily moved in with Penny's grandmother. At least that's what her mom has told her. Penny would much rather return to Ne...
Penny Lane is definitely a fish out of water. She has moved to Hog's Hollow with her mother. Hog's Hollow is her mother's hometown, and they've temporarily moved in with Penny's grandmother. At least that's what her mom has told her. Penny would much rather return to New York and live with her father.

Penny's not looking forward to starting school in her new town. Before school starts, a disaster occurs at a birthday party. Her mom has opened a cupcake business in town and the father of the birthday girl caused the food table to tumble. But no one blames Mr. Wharton. All eyes are on Penny and her mom.

When Penny arrives at her new school, of course Charity, the birthday girl, is the queen of all and makes life miserable. It starts with a play on her name when she opens her locker and hundreds of pennies come tumbling out. The only bright spot in the fiasco is that she is befriended by independent Tally. But the pennies are only the first of many attempts to torture Penny.

Penny constantly wants to return to New York. Her mom isn't communicating with her, and conversations with her father are limited. Her grandma tries to get her to talk to her mom. And Penny is stuck working at the cupcake bakery. Penny is creative though, and designs amazing artwork on each of the cupcakes.

Through it all, Penny encounters a boy and his dog on the beach. Slowly, she learns about Marcus and the secrets that he's keeping. It turns out that everyone seems to have secrets deep inside. As Penny's wish to return to New York becomes reality, she comes to the realization that there's more to Hog's Hollow than she realized. Does she want to return to New York or finally make Hog's Hollow home?

Reading THE CUPCAKE QUEEN made me think of Jenny B. Jones' SO NOT HAPPENING novel. Both have the main character, a city girl, stuck in the middle of a small town. Penny is torn between her old life and the life that is being forced upon her. It takes other interesting students to make her realize what she has even in light of the hassles received from Charity and her gang.

I enjoyed reading THE CUPCAKE QUEEN quite a bit and sat down and finished it in one evening. It's one of those stories that you don't want to see end. I'd love to see more of Penny and her friends!!

posted by TeensReadToo on November 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

love it

ok, callling something gay doesnt mean its gay; its an insult to the book.its not gay, and we shouldnt use the word that way. in fact, i loved it. so i think the wisest decision would be is saying that it was not that good. bad or terrible, even. but certainly not gay.

posted by ajdubnejaj22 on March 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jaglvr for TeensReadToo.com

    Penny Lane is definitely a fish out of water. She has moved to Hog's Hollow with her mother. Hog's Hollow is her mother's hometown, and they've temporarily moved in with Penny's grandmother. At least that's what her mom has told her. Penny would much rather return to New York and live with her father.

    Penny's not looking forward to starting school in her new town. Before school starts, a disaster occurs at a birthday party. Her mom has opened a cupcake business in town and the father of the birthday girl caused the food table to tumble. But no one blames Mr. Wharton. All eyes are on Penny and her mom.

    When Penny arrives at her new school, of course Charity, the birthday girl, is the queen of all and makes life miserable. It starts with a play on her name when she opens her locker and hundreds of pennies come tumbling out. The only bright spot in the fiasco is that she is befriended by independent Tally. But the pennies are only the first of many attempts to torture Penny.

    Penny constantly wants to return to New York. Her mom isn't communicating with her, and conversations with her father are limited. Her grandma tries to get her to talk to her mom. And Penny is stuck working at the cupcake bakery. Penny is creative though, and designs amazing artwork on each of the cupcakes.

    Through it all, Penny encounters a boy and his dog on the beach. Slowly, she learns about Marcus and the secrets that he's keeping. It turns out that everyone seems to have secrets deep inside. As Penny's wish to return to New York becomes reality, she comes to the realization that there's more to Hog's Hollow than she realized. Does she want to return to New York or finally make Hog's Hollow home?

    Reading THE CUPCAKE QUEEN made me think of Jenny B. Jones' SO NOT HAPPENING novel. Both have the main character, a city girl, stuck in the middle of a small town. Penny is torn between her old life and the life that is being forced upon her. It takes other interesting students to make her realize what she has even in light of the hassles received from Charity and her gang.

    I enjoyed reading THE CUPCAKE QUEEN quite a bit and sat down and finished it in one evening. It's one of those stories that you don't want to see end. I'd love to see more of Penny and her friends!!

    19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    The cupcake queen

    I love this book so much ive done it for about 3 book reports

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    a good book

    it was a good book escipally for people with problems with family and shows how thankful you should be!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    GGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGRRRRRRRRRRRRRRREEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAATTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT

    this is a great book that just made me laugh i just couldn't get enough i just sat there and read it's romantic and yummy at the same time

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Cupcake Queen!

    This book is so good!!! My teacher gave it to me and i thought it was going to be sooooooooo boring! When i got into it my mind was blowed away! I love Penny! Anyone can read this book! My friend, Kai and Hope say they think it would be a great book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Amazing

    This is an amazing book. If you like romance, drama, and humor, you definatly should read this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    13reads2

    This book was great! I couldnt put it down. It was long enough, but I finished it before getting bored of the story. Basically its about a girl who moves to hogs hollow with her mom, and they open a bakery. She meets Tally, and also Celeste, whos mean. Tally enters a contest and helps her get back at Celeste, the bully. Its totally appropriate for any age that likes this type of book. It makes me hungry!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Best book ever!!!!!

    I bought this book when i didnt have a nook so i boght it in paper back and i loved it!! Im reading a nother book by her and i love that one too!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    The cupcake queen

    I love this book im allmost done m on page 108 it is sooooooooooooooooooo ggood all my friends are begging for the book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Mya B.

    Why! Why books! WHY must you end in the middle of the sentance in the middle of a sentence of the sample!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Amazing

    Penny Lane is not fitting in. She already has an enemy and she hasnt even stated school yet! She and her mom have gone to live with grandma to "take a break" from penny's dad. Not divorced yet, but if not then what are they? Penny finds refuge in a quirky girl with her hair tips died blue and cat-glasses. Tally. Tally is pennys first friend in Hogs Hollow. Together they plan on getting revenge on Charity, a bully, who, so penny thought, had no reason to be mean. With the help of Blake, Tallys friend, Tally herself, and maybe this one guy who penny cant seem to stop thinking of who runs on the beach at night with his dog Sam, Penny is truly thr cupcake qieen. Great book, by the way. I got it at my school bookfair and couldnt put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Amazing

    Sooo good, it kept you tuned in. I finished the book in two days. Thete was so much drama. It proves that love is powerful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    I freakin love this book!!

    Im glad charity won the contest because shes a nasty pig herself! Da haa!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED READ THIS BOOK SO GREAT

    This book is about a girl named Penny and her parents getting a divorce.She made a new friendbut the "popular" girls didnt like her because of the cupcake accedient that had happened.I DONT WANT TO SPOIL IT FOR YOU SRRY.My favorite character was penny because she just went along and didnt care about what people said about her so she is like a role model.I liked this book because at first i didnt like it but then it got really good and you can laugh about some things that they say.You should read this because its funny and people who dont care about what "mean" or "popular" people say they should read OR whoever is interested in cupcake decorating.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Cupcake Queen

    The Cupcake Queen was one of my favorite books that was by Heather Hepler!! The story was great and I loved the characters.... especially the main characters Penny. She's moved to Hogs Hollow with not much that she likes 'till she finds her new friends Tally and Blake... but of course Marcus!! But I didn't like how the story ended, I wished there was more to it..... but it was still one of the best books that I read.... over and over again.....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Anonymous

    Its a must have people

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Amazing

    It was really good!!! I ended up reading it during class :3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Cupcakes milkshakes

    ALL MY MILKSHAKES BRING THE BOYS TO THE YARD ~~~~~
    ALL MY CUPCAKES BRING THE BOYS TO THE YARD!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    The Cupcake Queen by Heather Helper In the fictional novel The C

    The Cupcake Queen by Heather Helper
    In the fictional novel The Cupcake Queen, a teenage girl, Penny is moved from her upscale home in the busy city that makes up New York, to the mellow suburbs of Hogs Hollow when her parents decide to separate. There, her mother decides to open a little bakery. Penny is less than thrilled. Once she makes the move, she is not eager to make friends; she is more focused on keeping to herself. Once the first day of school comes, Penny is as nervous as ever. “Don’t look anyone in the eye,” she tells herself as she walks up to the entrance of Hogs Hollow High School. Early in the story, Penny develops an interest in a boy by the name of Marcus. She first comes across Marcus while walking on the shoreline after having a rough day. She is greeted by his four-legged friend Sam with a wet lick. From there, Penny’s mind couldn’t stray from Marcus. The conflict that is apparent throughout a majority of the story is that between Penny and another teen girl named Charity. This conflict first arises when Penny and her mother are chosen to cater Charity’s “Sweet 14” birthday party. An accident takes place when Charity’s father goes to grab a cupcake and accidentally leans on the table, causing everything to fall and make a huge mess resulting in a very frosted Charity. With cupcakes all down her and her dress, hair, and face, Charity seems to take it out on Penny. Since the accident, Charity has harassed Penny. On the first day of school, she filled Penny’s locker with seventy-four dollars and ninety eight cents worth of pennies, that all poured out in one large “woosh”. Throughout the story Charity is constantly rude to many people, but Penny especially. Penny also makes a wonderful bond and friendship with a girl named Tally. They become amazing friends and even have “friendship ceremony”. They begin to share about their past and how they ended up in Hogs Hollow. However, Penny is set on moving back with her father once her mother begins to deprive her of attention. She feels as though her parents are not communicating well with her and she gets very hurt. Over all I believe that Heather Helper did an amazing job in creating a book suitable for the everyday teenage girl. The novel is not incredibly hard to comprehend and is easy to relate to if you’re in high school or junior high. I believe that the way Helper wrote her book, she portrayed a message that the only person that you need to please is yourself and adjustment isn’t always a bad thing because you never know what may be waiting for you in another place. For me this book is 9 out of 10 for me. I would definitely read more of Heather’s novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Hi

    Live this book hope u love it to bye see u next time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9