Customer Reviews for

Curiosities of the Civil War: Strange Stories, Infamous Characters and Bizarre Events

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Recommend especially for War Buffs

    Okay, so Curiosities of the Civil War is definitely a cool-beans book for the Civil War buff in your life. I am NOT a Civil War buff... and I still found it interesting. The stories about Abe Lincoln's impromptu "how tall are you" competitions and the numerous stories of women who secretly participated in the war grabbed my attention the most. I don't know if I would have picked it up had I not been reviewing it for Book Sneeze (see disclosure below), but I am glad I did!

    The book is full of short snippets and longer summaries of interesting and somewhat strange war stories. I was afraid it was going to be a long diatribe written from one side of the war or another. However, this didn't seem to be written with any agenda OTHER than to share the stories that have otherwise fallen through the cracks of history.

    Garrison has changed my attitude toward investigating this era of history. His style of writing easily kept my attention. Even though a few of the stories weren't as much of a "curiosity" as I'd hoped, I can definitely see this as a great resource. I recommend this to anyone and everyone looking for a deeper look into this very important part of US history.

    (Per the law, I have to inform the general public that I received this for free as part of the Book Sneeze review program.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    A pretty good book

    Curiosities of the Civil War By: Webb Garrison
    Summary: This book discribes many civil war facts. But not just any facts strange bizzare and unheard of things that you never would have even guessed, kind of facts. Instead of taking another look at the standard civil war battle grounds, documents, and artifacts this book takes a look into the nooks and crannys of queer and unusual things that seem realistic and out of this world at the same time.
    Reaction: This book is great for even the seasoned history buff. There are a lot of things that one could learn about famous charecters from that time period. I suggest reading this book in segments. I read it a little bit at a time. Like a couple short storys every day. It keeps things interesting without overwhelming you by the sheer size of this book. After all it is a slightly lenghthy 560 pages. This book was strange and facinating I myself not being a big historian still found time to enjoy it. Once again, I not being a huge history buff myself, probably did not enjoy this book as much as another might, especialy if they love history. The print in this book was remarkably small making it slightly difficult to read, I did still appreciate Curiosities of the Cival War. Thank you!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Information Book

    Curiosities of the Civil War by Webb Garrison has a ton of information about you guess it the Civil War. It has been is the 150th years since the civil war and this is an outstanding read to get to know the most significant event that has defined and shaped this nation.

    This book is divided into 9 different sections. This gives you the latitude to read the book in any order you want. My favorite sections were the "The Unusual and Bizarre" and "Notorious and Nonesuch".

    This book will take you awhile to read but that is not bad. With all the information and wide range of topics this will truly enlighten you on the civil war.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A REAL EYE OPENER

    Normally I review children's books on my website, but this one I have to make an exception for. It is a wonderful book that really captures the mood of one of our countries defining moments.

    Most history books define the North as the good guys and the South as the bad, but, as this book shows, it was a lot more complex than that. There were good men on both sides as well as bad, and sometimes it is the motivations of people that get lost in history. That is what makes this book so strong, it gives you a real perspective as to why Lincoln, Sherman, Forrest, Grant, Lee, Davis, and even some longer forgotten names felt the need to do what they had to do.

    To me, this is real history, not just names and dates. While we are all happy that slavery ended, it is fascinating to find out that there was more to the war than that. Neat heroic moments are captured here, along with "The Money Trail". This is usually the best place to find out what was really going on. I was fascinated that the economic situation that they were going through was so similar to what we are going through today. They had worthless unbacked greenback currency that was destroying their economy as well. Thank God they went back to the gold and silver after the war or this country would never have recovered. It is still possible to do the same today if we can get real heroes back in office.

    Over all, I think this will be a fun read for adults, a real eye opener. And it would make a great home-school history book.

    Reviewed by
    Mick McArt, Author
    Tales of Wordishure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    Not bad, but not great.

    I have always been a fan of interesting war facts. I wouldn't call myself a war enthusiast, but I do find them interesting. That's why I thought that Webb Garrison's Curiosities of the Civil War would be an interesting read. After reading the book, I have decided that I will always have a mixed opinion about it.

    I had assumed, from the title, that this book would have bizarre and interesting facts that would make me say, "Wow!" But that was not the impression I took away from Curiosities of the Civil War. Some of the facts weren't incredible or amazing-they were just bland and somewhat interesting. I assume that a true war buff would find all of these facts and stories interesting. They might recognize names that most normal people like me wouldn't, and be able to identify better with the stories. There was only one section with the truly "bizarre" and "strange" facts I was looking for.

    However, the format of this book is extremely pleasing. It could be a great reference book, because it's so easy to flip to specific section and topic you want. It's simple to glance over a few topics while drinking your coffee and not feel so engrossed that you can't put it down and continue with your daily routine. For some, that is exactly what they want in a book. For others, they may want for a more captivating read, considering the topic.

    All in all, I think the quality of this book truly depends on who is reading it. A fanatic for the stories of wars would find this book incredibly interesting, I believe, and enjoy it immensely. However, a normal, everyday person would probably find this to be a fairly bland read, with names they've never heard of and facts that don't really seem relevant. I, myself, found it to be a mediocre read. It was nothing like what I was expecting considering the title. Not bad, but not good. It was just "okay."

    **DISCLOSURE OF MATERIAL CONNECTION: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Curiosities!

    Okay, first things first. I had no idea about the Civil War before i read this book. From the title I imagined it would be interesting stories about the war. I was correct, and I thoroughly enjoyed reading Curiosities of the Civil War. The book is full of human interest stories about the Civil War.

    This books offers a look into the Civil War with unknown facts. As the title details, "Curiosities of the Civil War", is definitely filled with Strange Stories and Bizzarre Events. Not only that, but you will find out about people in history who you may not have known, had anything to do with the Civil War.

    I highly recommend this book to any and all U.S. History Buffs. You will be amazed at what you will learn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Learn quirky facts and perk your interests with impressing Civil War unheard-ofs, a treat for the mind.

    This book has a wide variety of interesting facts and is not a book one can read in a short time. I found it to be written more like a dictionary even a reference book, where you can go to it again and again when a certain interest arises. A great book for that scholar who loves war history and a great help for history research papers students. Curiosities of the Civil War is an immense read and will keep your interest page after page. I learned many things I did not know from just reading the first couple of chapters. Especially quirky things like how President Lincoln liked to have any man close to his height stand behind him for comparison and the names of his family members. Sometimes the book is easy to digest other times it can turn difficult especially if you are unfamiliar with a particular historic figure. I found this book so intriguing I know I will be returning to read it for years to come. I would totally recommend this book to those who think they know it all when it comes to the Civil War era or the curious who would love to read about those unheard of aspects of the Civil War.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    Different but every enjoying.

    I got this book and learned something different. I didn't know much about the civil war and now I know things that most people wouldn't know. If you want to know more about the Civil War than the normal stuff you can learn about this is a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Curiosities of the Civil War - What you can only imagine

    As the title details, "Curiosities of the Civil War", is definitely filled with Strange Stories and Bizarre Events. Not only that, but you will find out about people in history who you may not have known, had anything to do with the Civil War. Webb Garrison has taken pain staking steps to research and compile all the little and unknown facts about the Civil War that even the most avid Civil War Buff will find interesting and compelling.

    Here are just a couple of the interesting facts that you will find in this book. Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr. was thoroughly involved with the Civil War, as he survived such battles as Balls Bluff, Antietam, and Fredericksburg, before beginning his practice as an attorney. Another person is Louisa May Alcott, author of "Little Women", spent her time tending to the wounded as a nurse. She went about her work without any recognition. And then there were the Camels, which were introduced into the Civil War in the Southwest, by a Confederate General. These facts along with many more can be found on the pages of "Curiosities of the Civil War."

    As a reader you will be caught off guard in many cases by the variety of facts that you may not find anywhere else. This practical book will be a welcome addition to any Civil War Buff's Library. I highly recommend this book to any and all U.S. History Buffs. You will be amazed at what you will learn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book! Check it out!

    Did you know that Abraham Lincoln was the first sitting president exposed to open fire? Or that John Wilkes Booth often rode his one-eyed steed around town? One can find these facts and MANY more are in this interesting book by Webb Garrison. It is chock full of random facts, from dead-horse barricades to hostage situations.. 526 pages overflowing with interesting info. One of the most interesting things in the book was that some Clergyman were the FIERCEST fighters, and rarely were they shot.

    I LOVED this book. Us homeschooled folk thrive on random facts, so this book was like manna from heaven! I loved the effort Webb took to make sure that EVERY fact was short enough to read aloud to people. This for me is important, because I tend to love reading random facts to my family! "Hey mom, did you know that a lot of the wives of soldiers followed the soldiers around rather then stay at their homes?" and then I read her the article :) I don't think there was anything I disliked about the book, however I was concerned a tad bit about the paper. Actually, I wasn't, but I thought I'd mention it. If you rub the books cover or its pages on the outside of the book {like the border, the place that gives you paper-cuts} it kind of wore off, not tear, but kind of "ruffled" the edges. I thought it looked really rustic-y, and I liked it a lot! Overall, I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading random facts, and DEFINITELY if you are a history buff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    Lots of fun, intriguing facts

    Curiosities of the Civil War is full of fun and interesting facts, many of which I had never heard. For instance, in December 1863, a list of all Mississippi River steam boats destroyed since the beginning of the War was published. Nearly 200 vessels were on that list! This book definitely has a place in my permanent library, and I highly recommend gifting this book to other Civil War history buffs. It's a fun read, not full of stuffy writing, and even those who don't really do history, but still enjoy reading military books may enjoy it as well. Please note I received a complimentary copy in exchange for my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    Fantastic Book

    When I first began Curiosities of the Civil War, I was amazed at how such a big book could be filled with just little paragraphs. When I started flipping through the pages, I realized that that each chapter talked about a different subject. Like one chapter talked about how horses affected the war and another chapter talked about how much money both the Union and the Confederacy spent.

    What I didn't know when I got this book, was that this book wasn't just like any other Civil War book, most of the things that are mentioned in this book, you would never find in a history book. Most of the things that I've read, I never even knew that they had happened!

    For my ninth grade history I'm doing an in depth study of the Civil War, so I've had to read several Civil War encyclopedias. Even though I was quite bored with them, I can't really remember any details in those books that are in Curiosities of the Civil War. Unlike the encyclopedias, I actually enjoyed this book. I was amazed at how many cool details there were! There was one thing in the book that really stood out to me; it was about how when the war broke out the northern factories stopped giving the south shoes as well as other supplies. I learned that the South had the plantations and the North had the factories, so they both depended on each other. Most all of the factories stopped shipping regular supplies to the South when the war began, so there was many a Confederate soldier that went without shoes in the middle of the war.

    This book, I think, can really give someone the chance to find out what really happened in the Civil War. Not just how it began and all of the stuff that they might have learned in school, but to really see the war in a whole new perspective. This book talks about so many people that the history books forgot about, people that played such important roles in the Civil War.

    Thank you so much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    {Curiosities of the Civil War} - what I thought

    Curiosities of the Civil War
    Strange Stories, Infamous Characters and Bizarre Events
    By Webb Garrison


    What I thought:

    An excellent "coffee table" type book. Well organized and chuck full of fascinating facts. (After all, did you know that Gen. Lee had a hen follow him around for weeks, sleeping under his bed and laying him an egg every morning?)

    Unlike the other books which I have read on the subject of the war between the states, which focus on major battles, political facts, and well known figures, this one focuses mainly on everyday lives of the everyday people, as well as a few lesser known stories and fact about the better know things.

    Some of the facts within came as no surprise, and others I had heard from other sources before, but many others were quite unexpected, and they were also intriguing to learn about.

    I also appreciated the large variety of facts. From animals to money, and from bizarre clothing to firsthand descriptions of Lincoln & others, this book was not at all monotonous.

    The only thing that I was really disappointed in at all was the fact that I wished there were pictures in the book -I had sort of expected them, but even that was not really a turnoff to me.

    My rating - 7 out of 10 stars

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    Great Book

    I am a big history buff and I love to read anything do with US history. I have read a lot about wars and I really like to read up on WWII. But I have never really read or studied much about the Civil War. It is amazing to me that I have stood in the Charleston Harbor in South Carolina look out at Fort Sumter and I never really studied the Civil War.
    I loved this new book by Webb Garrison titled Curiosities of the Civil War. It is full of interesting facts about the war ones that I never heard of before and I sure ones that you would not study in school. It is a good read because you can flip through it and pick up reading right there or you can just read cover to cover. However you like to read it I am sure you will love it and find it just as interesting as I did.
    This has been on of my Top 5 books by Thomas Nelson and I thank them for my free book of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Curiosities of the Civil War

    What a fantastic book for anyone who is looking to find out little known facts of the civil war. I am a history buff, and while some of the things I read in this book I actually knew about, there was far more that I had never heard of. The great thing about this book is the ability to be able to pick it up and flip to a page and read something random and then put it down. This book is broken down into nine sections and has a total of 44 chapters that are filled with little known historical facts. The book is wrapped up with a conclusion at the end. I think this book would be perfect for anyone looking to learn more than just the obvious facts about the civil war. Whether your a history buff or just like to read interesting tidbits of information about the Civil War then I recommend you read this book. I was provided a copy of this book from Thomas Neslon in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    Great Book of Tidbits

    I received a copy of CURIOSITIES OF THE CIVIL WAR: STRANGE STORIES, INFAMOLUS CHARACTERS, AND BIZARRE EVENTS by Webb Garrison from Thomas Nelson. The book has been reprinted as a combination of two Webb Garrison texts, CIVIL WAR CURIOSITIES and MORE CIVIL WAR CURIOSITIES, in honor of the 150th anniversary of the Civil War. I was sad to read on the back flap of the book that Webb Garrison passed away in 2000.

    The book does include strange stories - such as what medical ailments inflicted whom; infamous characters - women joining their husbands on the battlefield; bizarre events - discovering secret messages. I enjoyed reading through the facts. I am the type of person who sprouts random tidbits at odd moments, so this is great fuel. My mom also looked at the book. Her opinion varied. She thought the tidbits were ridiculous and random. I am definitely going to keep this book in case I need to do research. I will also keep it on my coffee table for guests to browse. Each little tidbit is only one page to half a page in length, so it makes for a quick, intellectual read. The book is also broken into parts, in case you want to read for a longer amount of time, but still want a designated stopping point.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    Interesting Read

    I really enjoy History, and for that reason, I was excited to read Curiosities of the Civil War; Strange Stories, Infamous Characters, and Bizarre Events by Webb Garrison. The book tells of different events that happened during the Civil War and unknown stories about some of the most famous people of the time.

    Although this is not a book you can read straight through.it is more of a "coffee table" book.I really enjoyed it. The book was broken down into sections detailing Memorable Players in the Nations' Greatest Drama, Supporting Members of the Cast, No Two Military Events were Identiacal, Eye of the Beholder, The Unusual and Bizarre, Things Change, Notorious and Nonesuch, and The Money Trail.

    My favorite Chapter within the book told about the acts women during the time of the Civil War and was entitled Many Wives Did More Than Knit Socks. I liked learning of the bravery of the women during this time, as they were even found following their husbands into battle and crossing enemy lines when they were unable to determine the fate of their husbands after battle.

    Overall, as a fan of historical events, I really enjoyed this book. The facts were a nice length, as they did not take chapters to read about just one individual, rather each chapter contained numerous examples of facts that were unknown to me before reading this book.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    Curiosities of the Civil War

    Hey, guys! Got another new book from Book Sneeze, and I tell you what, I'm really excited about this one! Before we get started, though, let me just tell you guys that, due to some long, legal law thing, I don't have to give the books that I receive a positive review. So, anyway, let me tell you about this book. It's called "Curiosities of the Civil War" by Webb Garrison. Both my dad and I are big history buffs. I enjoy the more cultural side of things, while he enjoys the battles and generals and all the "manly" stuff?. When I saw this book, I admit that I got it more for my dad than anyone else. I'm glad that I got it, though- I learned a few things about the Civil War that I didn't know, which is always a fun thing for me. I was honestly kind of worried that it would be one of those "conspiracy theory" books, and a few parts were kinda sketchy, but it was a really cool book all together. Besides, now that I have this book, I won't have to worry about my dad's birthday present?! Anyway, I hope that you all have a good week! Bye!:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1