Customer Reviews for

Curiosity Killed the Cat Sitter (Dixie Hemingway Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Who Done it & quirky Female Hero

    Dixie is a mess. She argues with herself and will lose. Can't keep out of trouble because she's nosey and curosity beyond smart. The book is an easy read that has good characters, friends & brother you wish you had, men to dream about and she backs away. Try to solve the mystery and it often fools you. Keeps you intrested. A good book to relax and put you in a good mood.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    great book

    I loved this book. As a Floridian, it was refreshing to find an author who gets us! The story was engaging and kept my curiosity...... If you like mysteries and animals, then you will enjoy this easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    Great Read!

    I absolutely loved, loved, loved this book. It was the fourth Dixie Hemingway novel that I had read and it was just as addicting as the first. This book is for anyone who loves animals or loves reading mysteries. I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    Yep - Totally Fantastic Story

    This book literally made me want to become a pet-sitter, just because there are so many interesting little details about pets and animals in general mixed in with the mystery part - I don't usually even read mysteries, but it didn't matter, the characters are so well written, and it's humorous and touching at the same time. A really good book, and the series is exceptional! I would recommend it to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    I'm hooked!

    Curiosity Killed the Cat Sitter by Blaize Clement offers a few things that are different within the cozy mystery genre. Normally I gravitate towards the small town setting in this genre, but a community just off the coast near Sarasota, Florida, adds many unique qualities. With the tropical local, Dixie is able to bike to most of her pet sitting jobs, which puts her in situations that driving would not; Dixie has an upper-scale clientele, which is different from the small town characters that I normally love; and things just seem more up to date in comparison to small town living.
    First of all, I adore Dixie, which is essential for me if I am to become addicted to yet another cozy series and there are plenty of other characters to love. Dixie's brother, who lives on the same property as Dixie, and his partner are among my favorites. Then there are the character that I love to hate, another must have element when it comes to my cozy reading pleasure.
    The mystery itself is a good one. I had no idea who the killer was until the very end. In fact, I was convinced that it was this person and then that one and in the end... I'm not telling.
    Was Curiosity Killed the Cat Sitter a work of literary genius? No, but are cozies meant to be? I think not. They are meant to entertain the reader with a interesting characters, a good 'who-done-it', and a bit of humor, and Curiosity Killed the Cat Sitter did all of that plus more, earning it 5-stars within its genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Love this book so far...it's so amazin

    I'm in love

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    My first reading experience with this series.

    Can't go wrong with this series.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    New Author To Me

    I am now reading the third book in the series. I'll be all caught up soon and waiting for the next release.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book, good characters, excellent author

    This is a charming book. If you like plot twists, animals, interesting people...you will love this book and it's subsequent series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun Read

    This is the first book of her's that I've read....I really enjoyed it...The mix of murder, mystery and fun is perfect for when you don't want a to read a dark gruesome book...I will definitely read more or her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    Cat Sitter Mystery

    Enjoyed the first book so much, purchased the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mysteries with cats are always fun

    Comparative behavior of cats and dogs is an added bonus to this Florida-based mystery. Although I figured out the killer early, I was tempted to change my mind with many of the red herrings. The pet sitter has odd hours, use of a dog¿s sense of smell, and access to empty homes which are plausible reasons to discover a crime scene and clues. Her characters are flawed and sympathetic for the most part. I look forward to the next Dixie Hemingway mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2007

    Pet sitting can be murder

    Dixie Hemingway left the police force after the accidental death of her husband and daughter. She felt unable to deal with people, so she became a pet sitter. After arriving at the home of a wealthy client, Marilee, to care for her cat, Dixie discovers a man who apparently drowned in the cat¿s water bowl. She cannot locate Marilee, and soon finds herself in the middle of the investigation. Dixie meets quite a cast of characters and is soon looking for answers the police don¿t seem to be finding. This puts her in some sticky situations as well as finding another dead person. Can she prove her innocence by finding the guilty party without putting herself in danger? I really enjoyed Dixie. She is fun but also still grieving her loss. I also enjoyed the descriptions of the various pets she cares for. Her brother and his partner really added to the story as well. I enjoyed this first installment and cannot wait for the next book to be published. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A fantastic who-done-it

    In Sarasota, Florida Dixie Hemingway still reels from the accidental deaths of her thirty year old husband and their three year old son when a nonagenarian driver hits the wrong pedal in a parking lot. Needing to time to recover, Dixie goes on medical leave from the Sheriff's Department to become a pet caretaker.............................. While making her rounds, Dixie enters the home of Marilee Doering to take care of the client¿s cat Ghost. In the Abyssinian¿s water bowl lays a dead male, who apparently drowned on the spot. Marilee has vanished and soon the corpse is identified as her lover who sired a child with her that he forced her to give away. Soon Dixie uncovers other lovers of Marilee before finding the woman¿s decaying corpse. Knowing she has to be the prime suspect having found two dead bodies, Dixie uses her skills to investigate the homicides.............. The key to why this is a fantastic who-done-it is the multifaceted Dixie who brings so much to the story line not just angst and grief. Her investigation into Marilee's life reveals secrets, money, and Ghost who inherits it all. The killer keeps an eye on Dixie to insure she does not get too close because if she does stalking will become murder. With a strong support cast (including animals especially Ghost and people deceased) fans of fast-paced clever mysteries will appreciate Dixie¿s efforts to uncover the culprit before she either goes to jail or dies....................... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2