Customer Reviews for

Curious George

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Values such as love, kindness, and knowledge

I ADORE Curious George. He exhibits love and caring, exactly what any normal "child" should. Yes, he gets into trouble and his owner is there to see that he knows the correct wayvto do something. How marvelous to instill such love and pass on knowledge!! I guess al...
I ADORE Curious George. He exhibits love and caring, exactly what any normal "child" should. Yes, he gets into trouble and his owner is there to see that he knows the correct wayvto do something. How marvelous to instill such love and pass on knowledge!! I guess all of this must have been missed on some people.

posted by 5379702 on October 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I guess whether you enjoy this book with your kids depends on how serious you take the messages books give and what your individual values are.

I've always loved the character of Curious George. I had the stuffed animal growing up and was even referred to as "George" for a short time as a child. When I was in a rush to grab a book for my son last month I bought this original Curious George story assuming I wo...
I've always loved the character of Curious George. I had the stuffed animal growing up and was even referred to as "George" for a short time as a child. When I was in a rush to grab a book for my son last month I bought this original Curious George story assuming I would love it. Turns out, I guess, I've never actually read the original which covers how George ended up with the man in the yellow hat to begin with. Essentially, the man shows up in Africa with his hunting rifle, sticks a bag over George to catch him and takes him back to the U.S. to live in a zoo. I immediately felt like it wasn't the right book for us! Yes, he's still the same lovable, curious little creature, but the gun and taking him out of his natural habitat aren't values I want to start off teaching my little one when there are so many other choices of books with purely positive plots and messages.

posted by 2473231 on December 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    I guess whether you enjoy this book with your kids depends on how serious you take the messages books give and what your individual values are.

    I've always loved the character of Curious George. I had the stuffed animal growing up and was even referred to as "George" for a short time as a child. When I was in a rush to grab a book for my son last month I bought this original Curious George story assuming I would love it. Turns out, I guess, I've never actually read the original which covers how George ended up with the man in the yellow hat to begin with. Essentially, the man shows up in Africa with his hunting rifle, sticks a bag over George to catch him and takes him back to the U.S. to live in a zoo. I immediately felt like it wasn't the right book for us! Yes, he's still the same lovable, curious little creature, but the gun and taking him out of his natural habitat aren't values I want to start off teaching my little one when there are so many other choices of books with purely positive plots and messages.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Values such as love, kindness, and knowledge

    I ADORE Curious George. He exhibits love and caring, exactly what any normal "child" should. Yes, he gets into trouble and his owner is there to see that he knows the correct wayvto do something. How marvelous to instill such love and pass on knowledge!! I guess all of this must have been missed on some people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    timeless

    this is a timeless classic childrens book, on par with Babar and and the little train that could

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    Another good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2013

    I would recommend any version of Curious George, especially the

    I would recommend any version of Curious George, especially the original 1941 version. The story is sweet and the illustrations are delightful. I would not, however, recommend reading it all in one sitting to a toddler. I broke the story into two readings and that seemed to work out pretty well. Also, even though this is not a chapter book, it seemed like a good way to introduce the concept of them.
    My book is in paperback, which is fine since I'll probably be reading the book to my son. It is a good idea to reinforce the spine of paperbacks with clear packing tape. It will help them last much longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    good to see chidren's books on nook

    im glad to see one of my favorite childrens books on nook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Review 1335703785656

    This is a really nice book! 1335703785656

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Amazing

    This book was my favorite book when i was a child! Now i can read it to my nephew while we look at my nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    this book

    this book is very good..they should make more of them like this one..i love ccurious george

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    fvnndsgjm

    best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Curious George Review

    The pictures were not that great. Well we all know that Curious George gets into trouble.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Great story!

    Enjoyable for young and old!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Memories

    The recent movie made me go back and re-read the classic book series. This was truly one of my favorite series growing up. I'm glad to share this with my daughter now that she is the right age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2003

    The first 'big kid' book I ever read!

    This is a great book about a curious monkey named George and how he get into big trouble with the fire department. Curious George was the first 'big kid' book I ever read! I loved it so much I now own the whole collection of books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 1999

    Silly Little Monkey

    George was a curious like monkey. His curiosity got him into a lot of troble. From him being so curious he got to go swimming, use the phone, and got to go flying. He ended up in jail but he brock out in the end he got a good home. For being writen in 1941 the pictures are well drown and it is well writen. This story is so well writen you can actully picture your self as the man with the big yellow hat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2