Customer Reviews for

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Average Rating 4
( 1054 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(483)

4 Star

(319)

3 Star

(155)

2 Star

(55)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Wow!

I knew from the very start i was going to like this book. Haddon, the author, writes this book from the point of view of an autistic child. I personally know people that are autistic and Haddon did a fantastic job of capturing day-to-day life of an autistic child. Wh...
I knew from the very start i was going to like this book. Haddon, the author, writes this book from the point of view of an autistic child. I personally know people that are autistic and Haddon did a fantastic job of capturing day-to-day life of an autistic child. When i started reading the book, i realized that it would not be like any book I have ever read. Like any book it started of with chapter one, however, the next chapter was numbered three. In the beginning of the chapter the boy (who is writing this book) went of on a tangent explaining that the chapters will be prime numbers because prime numbers make him feel calm. I enjoyed it because some books get boring because they have a plot and all you do is read about it. However, every other chapter in this book diverted from the main plot to talk about something random, because this is how the mind of an autistic child works. Throughout the book i found my self almost getting annoyed by the way the boy acted, then i realized this is because the author did such a great job of captivating the real life of an autistic child. This is written by a British man so the language is very harsh. If you want a great book to read, this is it

posted by NRtrack on May 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Ick.

I'm not going to say I'm the authority on Asperger Syndrome (I have it and read a lot about it, but that still doesn't mean I know EVERYTHING about it), but... ugh. This book gets so much of it completely wrong. It's quite depressing to think that this is now THE go-to ...
I'm not going to say I'm the authority on Asperger Syndrome (I have it and read a lot about it, but that still doesn't mean I know EVERYTHING about it), but... ugh. This book gets so much of it completely wrong. It's quite depressing to think that this is now THE go-to fiction book for those curious (ha!) about the disorder.

Part of my problem is that the writing is immensely frustrating, but, hey, I could get past that if I liked any other major thing about the book. Unfortunately, the protagonist irked me to the point of wanting to throw the book at the nearest wall, and the people around him are even worse, if you want to believe it. Perhaps I should have more empathy for Christopher if he's on the spectrum, but it just didn't happen. He didn't feel real to me most of the time, and when he did, he was a smug little jerk. (The whole thing with him carrying a knife around and contemplating stabbing people if they touched him was the most sickening thing about the book to me; it's, hands down, the most vile "stereotype" in a chock-full of them.) The plot is a mess, too, and very soap-opera like. And the ending? Ridiculous, anticlimactic, and undeserved.

I like some minor things about the book, though. The cover is one. The use of footnotes is the other (I love footnotes, honestly). And hey, even the protagonist being hard (if not impossible) to like is somewhat realistic. (Spend a few hours with a room full of kids on the spectrum and you'll get the idea; a lot of us are really frustrating.) But in terms of portrayal of AS? No, no, no, no, NO. Maybe it's better at getting into the head of a person with "classic" autism, but I wouldn't know much about that. (If they'd said it involved regular autism and not AS, I might not have such a strong dislike for it.) For its time it's not bad at what it sets out to do; unfortunately, many much better books have sprung up in recent years that are much better at getting into the mind of an autistic character. Read this if you must, but I'd heartily recommend reading "Anything But Typical" instead. It's much more well-written, the characters are likable, and it's not filled to the brim with stereotypes.

posted by WeirdMovieFan on February 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Awful. Patronizing, over-written, pointless, and awful.

    Awful. Patronizing, over-written, pointless, and awful.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    TERRIBLE

    This is literally the worst book I have read in my entire life. I am trying to figure out why this book was published.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2005

    an inside peak at a depressing world

    When Mark Haddon's book, 'The Curious Incident...' first came out, the reviews were just short of gushing. Having finally read it, I think those reviews reflect more of their authors¿ sense of political correctness than the book¿s author¿s accomplishment. To state that accomplishment fairly, Haddon takes us into the mind of an autistic fifteen year old and offers an interesting hypothesis regarding how that mind might work. That said, however, this book is awful. The title refers to a dead dog that Christopher, the central character, finds on his neighbor¿s lawn. Neither the scene, nor the neighbor when we meet her, is at all charming. Christopher ¿investigates¿ the incident, thereby making the book a murder mystery in the overly eager eyes of some reviewers. But in actuality, the book is a chronicle of how Christopher thinks. As anyone knows who has dealt with an autistic child or adult, the experience can be frustrating in the extreme. Here we are given as much insight as the narrative voice is capable of giving of Christopher¿s likes and dislikes. We receive, however, only the barest glimpses of the living hell his parents endure on a daily basis, for we see their lives through Christopher¿s eyes, and Christopher is incapable of empathy. Reading this book reminded me of nothing so much as Peter Sellers¿ ¿Being There,¿ and watching Chauncey Gardner simply move along on the current of life, never really engaging with the world around him. I did not find that movie entertaining either, although the critics¿ embrace of Haddon¿s book does remind me of the acclaim that greeted Chauncey¿s inane utterances in that movie. Christopher¿s parents remain two-dimensional at best, and the rest of the characters merely form a backdrop for Christopher¿s skewed musings. The repeated glimpses of his mathematical skills are overdone and display only the author¿s apparent delight in his own cleverness. They, and ¿Christopher¿s¿ endless drawings, bored me silly. Except for perhaps those directly impacted by autism, I cannot imagine anyone finding this book at all enjoyable, particularly informative, or in any way uplifting. Avoid it at all costs.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2007

    Terrible

    Please, don't ever read this book. My school made me read this and I was shocked. Nothing interesting happens, and it's just a joke.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2006

    i HATED this book

    It was sooo dry that I wanted 2 fall asleep!! There was just too much math and not enough emotion, I had to read this book for school and I hated every second of it.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2005

    Nothing curious about this book...

    I picked this book up out of curiousity, ironically, and immediately regretted buying it after the first few chapters. Being someone who cannot stop reading a book in the middle of it, I decided to keep reading thinking that it might get better. The end result? I've learned how to stop reading terrible books in the middle of them. I couldn't get myself to relate to the boy or even care. The book started off good and interesting but towards the middle to the end, I just couldn't relate or take reading about his paranoia of color, people, and every other living thing in this world. I'd have to say, this book is definitely not recommended by me to anyone.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2005

    terrible

    I was required to read this book for my highschool english class. Midway through the book, I still had not found one reason to like it. Although it is a very creative and original idea, it was boring. I had no fun with it and have no desire to read it again or reccomend it to anyone.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2004

    Definitely put me to sleep

    After reading the synopsis and critiques of this book, I was quite intrigued. After 30 pages or so into the book, however, I could barely finish it. The very anticlimactic plot and elementary writing style left a lot to be desired. I had to fight the urge to throw it in the trash after I finally willed myself to finish the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2014

    Too expensive

    It's only 127 pages. 11.99 was a rip.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    I Hate This Book

    The only reason I read this book is because I had to for a summer reading project. I'm going into my freshman year and I know someone whose mother won't let them read this book because there are so many cuss words, particularly the f word. I suggest to only read this book if it is absolutely nessesary. I wish I could rate this book a negative five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Terrible. Over the top, heavy-handed, and unreadable.

    Terrible. Over the top, heavy-handed, and unreadable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    ...


    ...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    GREAT BOOK

    This book was a ton of fun to read I've already recommended it numerous times to the rest of my family

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    I fell asleep time i statr I fell asleep each time Do not read

    Very confusing story line

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    CONFUSING!

    The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time by Mark Haddon is a crazy and unique novel for people of all ages. Christopher Boone is not your normal teenage kid. He has a disease, which is called autism. He is extremely smart at math. In fact, if you throw a random math problem at him, he will probably know the answer immediately. Christopher also has a few perks about him. Yellow and brown are colors that he detests. Christopher does not feel or understand emotions. One day, he finds a dead dog in the backyard of his neighbor's house. This discovery leads him to have the urge to want to find who committed that vile crime. Christopher lives with his dad. His mom died when he was only a few years younger. Christopher seems to not be an easy person to live with, but his dad knows what to do with him at any given situation. Christopher starts to do some investigating around his neighborhood and finds out his mom's disloyalty to his father. The father gets mad with Christopher and hides the book that he is writing about the investigation about Wellington, the dead dog Christopher found. As Christopher searches for his book in his dad's room, he uncovers letters that are from his mom to him. Later, he carefully reads them and discovers that his mom is still alive and living with the next door neighbor's former husband. Christopher suddenly gets into a state of utter shock. His dad walks in on him, and is also speechless. His dad had lied to him all those years. A few days passed by and surprisingly, Christopher's dad confesses to have killed Wellington because Christopher's mom left him. Christopher no longer trusts his father. I personally did not like this book because it's very random and the main character lags on about many confusing things, like how the mind works. I think that Mark Haddon did a very good job at making the reader perceive what an autistic child goes through. One thing that I will remember about this book is that I know look at autism kids in different and good light. "In life there are no straightforward answers". Christopher said this and I totally agree.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2007

    Read it or not? I really don┬┐t care

    The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, written by Mark Haddon, is a very interesting story. This book is about an autistic boy named Christopher Boone. Although he has autism, he¿s really bright kid and he is the smartest kid in his class. He is practically immune to emotions, he s the colors yellow and brown, and loves the color red. He is also superstitious, which is very weird considering he is a man of logic and doesn¿t believe in any religion because religion doesn¿t make sense logically. In the beginning of the book, Christopher finds a dog with a fork sticking out of it in the middle of his neighbor¿s yard. After seeing this, Christopher is determined to find out the mystery of who killed the dog, but this is a challenge because his dad is constantly trying to keep him away from the mystery. Once Christopher finally solves this mystery, the secret forces him to flee to London were he meets someone he thought to be long . During this journey he experiences all types of new and scary things for him. I personally found this book really boring the author constantly went off topic and stated random facts completely irrelevant to the story. I also didn¿t really like the style that the book was written in because it was a little hard to follow and the narrator had a different speech pattern than most people. I personally wouldn¿t recommend this book, but go ahead and read it if you want.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2006

    More or less interesting

    The interesting thing about ¿The curious incident of the dog in the night ¿ time¿ (written by Mark Haddon) is, that it¿s written out of the perspective of an autistic boy. To experience how people with such a syndrome see the world is an very interesting thing and it doesn¿t really matter whether it¿s realistic or not. But unfortunately Christopher¿s disability is the only interesting thing in this book. The story about his family isn¿t exactly breath taking and it isn¿t even a murder mystery (like Christopher uses to tell you). It¿s just an (unrealistic) story about his splitted family, with a (boring) introduction concerning some dead dog. After less than one half of the book (less than ¼ if you consider that half of the book isn¿t about the story at all) the murderer is revealed (reveals himself¿it¿s not really Christopher¿s accomplishment) and after that the story is about something completely different. In my opinion the book would have been better of without the story, only with the non-story chapters about his disabilities and the way of thinking of people with AS. These chapters are much more interesting then the wannabe story and I really enjoyed them, they are funny, even when Christopher says he can¿t tell jokes. So, I really can recommend this book, but only every second chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2005

    Terrible...

    This book was not good... It started off good, and got sad as it went on, but when you go past the plot, all it is a disabled kid who tries to find out who killed a dog. I won't ruin the story for anyone who wants to read this book, so I will just say that it turns into a lot more then just a kid's idea of a detective adventure. This book was hard to relate to or understand, I mean, no one, that I know anyway, that screams when someone touches them, despises colors so much, that they seperate that color food from other food on thier plate, and goes paranoid when they are not allowed to learn thier super nerd math A levels. I was forced to read this for school, and I would not recommend this to anyone, personally.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3