Customer Reviews for

Curly Girl: The Handbook

Average Rating 4
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Great so far!

I started the cg method about 3 months ago without purchasing the book ... just listening to youtubers...it was a good move to buy the book... it has helpful tips and good references for all curly girls ....i also luv tht she does not push her products...she gives recip...
I started the cg method about 3 months ago without purchasing the book ... just listening to youtubers...it was a good move to buy the book... it has helpful tips and good references for all curly girls ....i also luv tht she does not push her products...she gives recipes and recommends any botanical comditoner ... i am a black woman with "4 a" hair and this book is helpful for me too ...i like thay she incorporated all curl types bc sometimes sistas get left out.

posted by 6297351 on March 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Curly hair has never been my thing

I showed this book to my beautician and she disagreed with parts of it. She felt that it is unsanitary nt to use shampoo.Long and thick curly hair, like many of us have, easily gets tangled and needs a comb. Scrunching is not enough. Otherwise, my beautician felt that...
I showed this book to my beautician and she disagreed with parts of it. She felt that it is unsanitary nt to use shampoo.Long and thick curly hair, like many of us have, easily gets tangled and needs a comb. Scrunching is not enough. Otherwise, my beautician felt that the book was 'okay.'

posted by Anonymous on July 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Great so far!

    I started the cg method about 3 months ago without purchasing the book ... just listening to youtubers...it was a good move to buy the book... it has helpful tips and good references for all curly girls ....i also luv tht she does not push her products...she gives recipes and recommends any botanical comditoner ... i am a black woman with "4 a" hair and this book is helpful for me too ...i like thay she incorporated all curl types bc sometimes sistas get left out.

    22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Well as a black woman, I enjoyed this book.  It gave me a starti

    Well as a black woman, I enjoyed this book.  It gave me a starting point on where to go with my curly 4b textured hair-very helpful.  Although not everything in the book is great for black hair it certainly gives you great pointers, the recipes for making your own hair treatments, wonderful!.  Since being natural I was having a difficult time retaining length until I learned with curly coiled hair I should have been finger detangling not using a comb or brush which are very hard abrasive tools to use, as well as avoiding sulfates, silicones and other agents that prevent moisture from being absorbed into curly hair-these methods have help me embrace my god given hair.   It's not an end all be all curly guide but it is a great guide-find your own way to use it, I have.  I have certainly recommended it to friends and they too agree. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    helped me accept my curls

    I've learned a lot about how to take care of my hair (after 49 years!). I've never had the "hair has ruined my day" experiences some people have had, but this has helped me to accept that I have much curlier hair than I thought. I don't treat my hair like it is the center of my universe (as the book seems to make it), so I don't follow everything the way it's set out. It's worth reading & marking pages for your hair type. I've been able to grow out my hair longer than I thought without any damage.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    You Need This Book If You Have Curly Hair!!

    I bought this book hoping I would find some answers on how to tame my naturally frizzy hair. It has been a god send. No, I don't have naturally FRIZZY hair, I've had naturally CURLY hair and just didn't know how to deal with it.... for the last 45 years. Had I found this book 25 years ago, I could have saved a million dollars on hair products, and a million hours spent washing, blow drying and curling my hair straight. This book offers step by step instruction on how to care for your curly hair. It works. I told all my frustrated curly haired girlfriends about it too. They swear by it too.

    My only disappointment in the book is there are no lists for alternative products... you kind of have to figure out what products are okay to use based on the information given.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    Recommended for curly haired girls!

    I think this book is a bible for curly haired girls ... Or guys! With so many years of fighting the curls, it is great to finally learn how to live with them! Maybe the book is heavy on product use but it does tell you how to make your own if you are interested. I am not sure I will be cutting my own hair any time soon but I do now know how to look for a stylist with curly hair experience!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2008

    It really is just a handbook, though a good one.

    I must admit I was happy to find a book about curly hair that wasn¿t aimed at ethic or Hispanic nationalities, as there are not many to choose from on this topic to begin with. Having inherited my curls from my dad and growing up in a family of otherwise straight haired Caucasian women, I didn¿t always have the know-how that I wish I¿d had. A lot of the advice here is very good, but needs to be modified to suit individual needs. The part about air drying hair only is unrealistic, especially if it is long like mine, this would take forever. A diffuser works just fine and shouldn¿t hurt if you¿ve got the gist of the routine down. I¿d already been experimenting with not using shampoo on a regular basis and just rinsing with conditioner before I bought this book, so this just confirmed it for me and I¿m glad, because it is so much easier than going straight. I decided to try and stick with the routine long-term and am happy with what I see, although I received compliments on my hair before as well. Not sure how this method would work on someone with dandruff or oily hair though. The pictures of the curly models were wonderful. I appreciated that they looked like regular people and were realistic examples, which I think was the point 'when will people finally stop obsessing over models and airbrushed celebrities.' I enjoyed reading the `testimonials¿ and found that some of what was written mirrored my own thoughts and experiences. Having spent an extended amount of time abroad where the majority of the population isn¿t obsessed with swingy blond hair has helped me gain perspective as well as some much needed self-esteem in this department. I liked the overall upbeat feel of this book, as it is a fun, cheery confidence booster. The brief timeline was fun to read. I secretly hoped that Keri Russel would eventually become the epitome of a new curly haired trend in Hollywood and flat hair favouritism would banish, but was very disappointed that some genius stylist decided to straighten those locks for MI3 and the CG campaign. Didn¿t Felicity become famous for her big curly hair in the first place? However, breaking down and simplifying different types of curls into three categories only? I found this part to be a bit weak. I was also hoping to find some fun ideas on styles and updos to embellish and experiment with, and this part of the book proved to be a disappointment. For skeptical curlies who are afraid of not looking professional, it¿s all about the details and how you style and wear it. I¿ve seen people with straight hair who didn¿t necessarily look so great and straightened hair that was dry and sometimes poofy in an attempt to look `professional¿. Lastly, I think there should be a book like this for men, as male curls have only recently become trendy. Most of the guys I know with curly hair have resigned and ended up cutting it short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    Curly Girls unite!

    I have curly hair and it took me years and years to finally love it! I am buying this book for a little girl I know who hates her curly hair. I don't want her to go through middle school feeling the way I did. I do shampoo my hair, but only twice a week. I get compliments on my hair all of the time now. I LOVE MY CURLS and I'd never torture them 'or deny them' by straightening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2008

    Love My Curls Now!

    This book is a wonderful 'how to' book for those with many types of curly hair. It provides many secrets that the hair care companies don't want us to know. Shocked by the No Shampoo angle? Don't worry. The author's not advocating dirty hair. There is a product that she calls a moisturizing cleanser. I was reluctant at first, but after two times of using it, I'm hooked for life! I do think that the book has some room for improvement. I don't think my hair really falls into any of the given three hair types. It is really a combination of two plus it is extra thick! Nonetheless, the tricks and products shared in the book work really well on my tresses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2007

    FROM A STYLIST POINT OF VIEW...

    I am a hair stylist, and mother of a curly girl. And i must say that this book is great. Ive met lorraine and she has the most beautiful curls ive ever seen. But i definetly recommend this book to all my curly hair clients. This book teaches you everything you need to know about handling your hair type, and also helps guide you in choosing the right product. A must have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2005

    Be one with the curl!

    I am very thankful for this wonderful compendium of information. There are so many useful techniques for making hair tamers, smell good potions, and homemade conditioners.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2004

    Finally, my curls are free

    I grew up with the idea that straight was beautiful and elegant and that curly was 'like you stuck your finger in a light socket.' Then, in high school, I started letting my hair go curly, but I still didn't know that curly hair needed such different care. I started the 'Curly Girl' program for Botticelli curls, which I have, and even my post-partum hair is regaining its curl and looking so much better. Plus, as a psychologist, I can appreciate the value of teaching children to love their hair, whether it's straight or curly. In this day and age, our kids need to know that they're each beautiful in their own way. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2004

    Helpful!

    What a great book to teach curly girls to appreciate their hair. There's a lot of us! Some of the things in this book were a bit corny, but it really did inspire me to do something with my hair and not straighten it every chance I get. Why be ashamed of hair that most girls would kill to have naturally? Thank you Lorraine!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2002

    Thank you!

    I have always appreciated my curly hair but never new it's potential to look as good as it does. My hair has changed in just one week from unpredicatable curls to wonderfuly coiling corkscrews. Not to mention all the money I am going to save on deep conditioning treatments and styling products. Thanks for putting this book out there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2