Customer Reviews for

Curly Girl: The Handbook

Average Rating 4
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Great so far!

I started the cg method about 3 months ago without purchasing the book ... just listening to youtubers...it was a good move to buy the book... it has helpful tips and good references for all curly girls ....i also luv tht she does not push her products...she gives recip...
I started the cg method about 3 months ago without purchasing the book ... just listening to youtubers...it was a good move to buy the book... it has helpful tips and good references for all curly girls ....i also luv tht she does not push her products...she gives recipes and recommends any botanical comditoner ... i am a black woman with "4 a" hair and this book is helpful for me too ...i like thay she incorporated all curl types bc sometimes sistas get left out.

posted by 6297351 on March 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Curly hair has never been my thing

I showed this book to my beautician and she disagreed with parts of it. She felt that it is unsanitary nt to use shampoo.Long and thick curly hair, like many of us have, easily gets tangled and needs a comb. Scrunching is not enough. Otherwise, my beautician felt that...
I showed this book to my beautician and she disagreed with parts of it. She felt that it is unsanitary nt to use shampoo.Long and thick curly hair, like many of us have, easily gets tangled and needs a comb. Scrunching is not enough. Otherwise, my beautician felt that the book was 'okay.'

posted by Anonymous on July 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    Must read for curly girls

    This book was very useful for me and my granddaughter. Love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Well as a black woman, I enjoyed this book.  It gave me a starti

    Well as a black woman, I enjoyed this book.  It gave me a starting point on where to go with my curly 4b textured hair-very helpful.  Although not everything in the book is great for black hair it certainly gives you great pointers, the recipes for making your own hair treatments, wonderful!.  Since being natural I was having a difficult time retaining length until I learned with curly coiled hair I should have been finger detangling not using a comb or brush which are very hard abrasive tools to use, as well as avoiding sulfates, silicones and other agents that prevent moisture from being absorbed into curly hair-these methods have help me embrace my god given hair.   It's not an end all be all curly guide but it is a great guide-find your own way to use it, I have.  I have certainly recommended it to friends and they too agree. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    This book was okay, but okay but I think it more so catered to w

    This book was okay, but okay but I think it more so catered to women with looser curl patterns. I am african american and have very tighly coiled hair. Some of the information was good but I got bored because after  reading the first few chapters I knew she wasn't talking about my 4c hair. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Helpful information

    I have never known how to work with my curls until a friend recently told me to go to a curly hair website which I did not know existed. There were lots of tutorials: some were helpful; some were complicated; some were promoting products; some contradicted others. One of the more useful tutorials cited this book which I immediately ordered. It essentially is the tutorial in written form. I'm very glad I found it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    helped me accept my curls

    I've learned a lot about how to take care of my hair (after 49 years!). I've never had the "hair has ruined my day" experiences some people have had, but this has helped me to accept that I have much curlier hair than I thought. I don't treat my hair like it is the center of my universe (as the book seems to make it), so I don't follow everything the way it's set out. It's worth reading & marking pages for your hair type. I've been able to grow out my hair longer than I thought without any damage.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    You Need This Book If You Have Curly Hair!!

    I bought this book hoping I would find some answers on how to tame my naturally frizzy hair. It has been a god send. No, I don't have naturally FRIZZY hair, I've had naturally CURLY hair and just didn't know how to deal with it.... for the last 45 years. Had I found this book 25 years ago, I could have saved a million dollars on hair products, and a million hours spent washing, blow drying and curling my hair straight. This book offers step by step instruction on how to care for your curly hair. It works. I told all my frustrated curly haired girlfriends about it too. They swear by it too.

    My only disappointment in the book is there are no lists for alternative products... you kind of have to figure out what products are okay to use based on the information given.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Awesome

    Love Curly Girl. My hair has never felt so great! Would highly recommend to other curly/wavy girls out there. :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    Recommended for curly haired girls!

    I think this book is a bible for curly haired girls ... Or guys! With so many years of fighting the curls, it is great to finally learn how to live with them! Maybe the book is heavy on product use but it does tell you how to make your own if you are interested. I am not sure I will be cutting my own hair any time soon but I do now know how to look for a stylist with curly hair experience!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    I love this book and am using many of the ideas, my hair looks a

    I love this book and am using many of the ideas, my hair looks and feels great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Curly Girl

    I would recommend this book to anyone who has curly hair and is tired of the daily battle to keep it straight. The Deva Curl products work great and this book tells you exactly what you need to do to make your type of curls look great.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    Attention Curlyheads!!

    Get this book!! You'll never want to mistreat your head again. I'm finally on my way to a healthy scalp and hair, and I'm so excited I've told quite a few other curlies. If I ever make it to NYC I'd love to go to Lorraine's place!!

    Spread the word!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    started off good-ended badly

    shes talented but like all others trying to rip you off its true about the sulfates but seriosly not shampooing i mean once a week but you have to still her website has shampoos!!!! not to mention she wont recommend anything but the deva curl line which is way too expensive for some of us i liked her at first ut she ended up horrible

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2009

    Worst book hair book ever!!

    i would defiantly NOT recommend this book to anyone!!! After doing what it said to for wavy hair, my hair got really greasy. It barely had any info for how to control curly hair. Take my advice and DON`T use this book!!!!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    FUN, MOTIVATING, INFORMATIVE BOOK FOR CURLY GIRLS!

    Before I bought the book, I read all the reviews. Without knowing what I was doing, I "shampooed" my hair in just conditioner the next morning. A co-worker told me how nice my hair looked! The next evening I bought the book and read through most of it. The following morning I followed Lorraine's instructions for cleaning, moisturizing, styling, and drying my hair. For the first time in my adult life, I left the house with air-dried hair, and I felt good! When I came back from shopping, my 21-year-old son flipped one of my curls and said, "I like your hair like that." My daughter told me, too, that she liked my hair. The real test came Monday morning when I went back to work--for the first time with completely air-dried hair. I got several compliments, but I didn't feel really comfortable about my hair. For me, putting in gel when my hair is wet doesn't work very well--it weighs it down. So the next day, I left the gel out, and my hair turned out great--got lots of compliments. Even my boss told me he liked my hair! Another plus--my flakiness seems to have lessened a great deal. Also, I would get a flaky buildup around my ears. That has also lessened tremendously. I live in the desert, but this weekend I'm going to the beach. I used to be afraid of humidity and the beach--now I'm looking forward to it! I recommend this book to all curly girls out there. It gives you the know-how and confidence you need to finally give up all the straightening tools and let your hair be free!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    CURLY GIRL The Handbook...more than just hair...

    Lorraine Massey with Deborah Chiel wrote an easy read for $9.95 on how to enjoy our waves and curls. The book educates, step by step, an alternate way to controlling styles; and the health of our hair. If we want relief from frizz; and daily time consuming shampoos we will learn the facts about hair reading the routine of creating confident good looks and style right at home. The book educates about cultivating waves, curls and style, everything you need to know to wake up with great bed head, natural good looks, with your own distinctive signature. You can expect recipes for pampering your locks, pictures and stories of not only how to calm your locks, but a complete guide to give you confidence. Visuals and confessions reveal curly girl comraderie and a new style perspective for casual and special events. The Handbook shows how to remedy the unwanted frizz, dull sponge, out of control hair and expensive trial products. Sassy looks are possible with natural curls and waves in humidity and wind. New styles that compliment, create themselves, while cultivating our heritage. Give it a try. Don't step over "CURLY GIRL" The Handbook, its a bag of gold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2008

    It really is just a handbook, though a good one.

    I must admit I was happy to find a book about curly hair that wasn¿t aimed at ethic or Hispanic nationalities, as there are not many to choose from on this topic to begin with. Having inherited my curls from my dad and growing up in a family of otherwise straight haired Caucasian women, I didn¿t always have the know-how that I wish I¿d had. A lot of the advice here is very good, but needs to be modified to suit individual needs. The part about air drying hair only is unrealistic, especially if it is long like mine, this would take forever. A diffuser works just fine and shouldn¿t hurt if you¿ve got the gist of the routine down. I¿d already been experimenting with not using shampoo on a regular basis and just rinsing with conditioner before I bought this book, so this just confirmed it for me and I¿m glad, because it is so much easier than going straight. I decided to try and stick with the routine long-term and am happy with what I see, although I received compliments on my hair before as well. Not sure how this method would work on someone with dandruff or oily hair though. The pictures of the curly models were wonderful. I appreciated that they looked like regular people and were realistic examples, which I think was the point 'when will people finally stop obsessing over models and airbrushed celebrities.' I enjoyed reading the `testimonials¿ and found that some of what was written mirrored my own thoughts and experiences. Having spent an extended amount of time abroad where the majority of the population isn¿t obsessed with swingy blond hair has helped me gain perspective as well as some much needed self-esteem in this department. I liked the overall upbeat feel of this book, as it is a fun, cheery confidence booster. The brief timeline was fun to read. I secretly hoped that Keri Russel would eventually become the epitome of a new curly haired trend in Hollywood and flat hair favouritism would banish, but was very disappointed that some genius stylist decided to straighten those locks for MI3 and the CG campaign. Didn¿t Felicity become famous for her big curly hair in the first place? However, breaking down and simplifying different types of curls into three categories only? I found this part to be a bit weak. I was also hoping to find some fun ideas on styles and updos to embellish and experiment with, and this part of the book proved to be a disappointment. For skeptical curlies who are afraid of not looking professional, it¿s all about the details and how you style and wear it. I¿ve seen people with straight hair who didn¿t necessarily look so great and straightened hair that was dry and sometimes poofy in an attempt to look `professional¿. Lastly, I think there should be a book like this for men, as male curls have only recently become trendy. Most of the guys I know with curly hair have resigned and ended up cutting it short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2008

    No-Poo IS hygenic!

    I have been following the teachings of this book for over a year. The people who think not shampooing is unhygenic are wrong--my hair is clean, my scalp is in great shape (no flakes or redness), and my hair is healthier than it has ever been. The important thing is to remember that you do still need to take steps to clean your hair, including doing a conditioner-wash (as the book says, most conditioners contain the same chemicals that are in shampoos for cleaning your hair, but are much milder so they don't damage your delicate curls) or using other products to help remove product build-up and keep your hair and scalp healthy. The difference I saw when I started following this routine was immediate, and my hair finally has beautiful, soft, defined curls instead of being a dry and frizzy mess. And keep in mind--my hair is long, fine, and pretty kinky, so it's hard to make it happy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    Lovin' my Curls

    Finally, suggestions and how-to advice on managing unmanageable hair. This book has become my bible. Great tips and pictures to follow. I even went to the author's salon, Devachan, in NYC and what a treat that was!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    Thank you

    This book seemed completely unorthodox, but all the other books said the same things about curly hair, and they never worked. Lorraine's methods worked, even on my post-partum hair. I don't want my daughter to grow up hating her waves and curls like I used to, but thanks to this book, I know how to take care of her hair, and she likes to scrunch it up with me. This book is a must-have for anyone who has curly hair or who has curly-haired kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    Wild Curly Girl!!!!

    I once was straight and now I am curly!!!! I just do what is in the book!!!! My prayers have been answered after 27 years of being jealous of my sister's Shirley Temple curls!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9