Customer Reviews for

Currahee!: A Screaming Eagle at Normandy

Average Rating 5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Amazing book! Never a dull moment throughout. The guts they have

    Amazing book! Never a dull moment throughout. The guts they have to face what they did in this portion of battle. The training and misery to reach their objective.
    The sacrifice and miracles it took to live to the next "hedge row"!
    Cant wait to read "The Road To Arnhem!


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2006

    Incredible Portrayal

    Donald Burgett does an incredible job portraying life as a paratrooper in the famed 101st Airborne. He takes the reader back into his past, during basic training in the states, through training in England, and finally to the big jump into Normandy. The details of events really bring to life the true brutality of war. This is a must read for any WWII reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2005

    Awesome book

    This book is the best book I've ever read. I read Soldat, All the Way to Berlin, and even those cant measure up to Curahee. It's 'through the rifle sights' style of writing is incredible, the action is awesome and so everything else in the book. This book was so good that I finished in 5 days, even though the pages were rather short. I recomend this book for anyone interested in WW2 or just wants to read a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2005

    History from 'Everyman'

    After most wars, generals sit down to write their memiors. Theirs becomes the 'official history' of the conflict. It is only occassionally that a private soldier does the same. One such man is Donald Burgett. Burgett was 17 years old when he volunteered for the U.S. Army during World War II. His path lead him to join the newly forming elite 101st Airborne Division, The Screaming Eagles. Reading his story is like sitting by the fireside with your grandfather. Burgett tells of his training, the waiting and finally jumping into the night sky over Normandy on June 6, 1944, with incredible grace, humanity, and reverence. This is real history. History from the point of view that most of us witness it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2003

    READ THIS BOOK

    I have been reading all of Mr. Burgett's books and I am amazed. He tells his story even better than Mr. Ambrose did in Band of Brothers. When I start to read one of his books, I get sucked into germany with him, and can imagine exactly what he had to go through. I would also suggest reading any book from the 'World War II Library'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2002

    On The Edge Of Your Seat Reading- Awsome

    Reading this book really sparked my interest in World War II,I always was interested in history,but reading this book was a great way to learn about our history. I'm an 18 year old girl and not much of a reader, but reading this book just makes me want to read and learn more about World War II. I recommend this book to anyone. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2002

    Absolutely Wonderful - Powerful

    As a current Army Staff Sergeant who only recently went to Airborne/Paratrooper school I found this audio book unbelievably motivational and uplifting. A story told wonderfully of yet another look at the days of our invasion of Normady.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2002

    Amazing!

    It's amazing Mr. Burgett lived and was willing to tell his story. The training, preparation for battle, and actual fighting is impossible for people who have not experienced war to understand what it was like. I thank Mr. Burgett for sharing his experiences with me. A must read read for anyone interested in learning about WWII from the infantry soldier. I look forward to reading other books by Mr. Burgett.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2001

    One great storyteller!

    Donald Burgett takes you through his training and his experiences in the D-Day battle in this book. He is very good at putting the reader into the scene. This book has given me a new found respect for our men in uniform who fought in this great war. If you like the series Band of Brothers on HBO, this book will take you even farther. It makes the series look like a commercial.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2001

    great book

    this book was great and very educational. once i picked the book up i couldn't put it down. this book was action packed with danger around every corner. it's a must a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1