Customer Reviews for

Currant Creek Valley (Hope's Crossing Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 4, 2014

    One of my favorite light romance series continues with the story

    One of my favorite light romance series continues with the story of Alex  McKnight and Sam Delgado in Hope's Creek. Alex is part of a large close knit family , most of whom live in Hope's Crossing.  She's just recently returned from an extended stay in Europe, and is preparing to open her dream restaurant.  Sam is a single father with very little family who plans to move to Hope's Crossing to give a closer community life for his son.  He's also the new carpenter finishing Alex's new restaurant.  The attraction is immediate but past life issues interfere with their happily ever after.  




    As always, RaeAnne Thayne adds an element of seriousness to her stories that make them superior to the average romance.  Special in this book is this thought: "People make mistakes.  You can either let it eat away at you from the inside until you're hollowed out and have nothing good left. Or you can learn to accept that none of us can change our past.  All we can do is move forward and make something better out of the rest of our days."




    These Hope Crossing books just continue to grow on me.  I love the characters and feel closer to them with every book.  RaeAnne Thayne writes a wonderful story full of issues, compassion, love and community that draws me right into every one of her books! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Loved it.

    Overcoming fear. This addition to the series is about a young woman who for several reasons is
    afraid to reach for that brass ring of life. What a great book, watching her and her love find the
    track to each other with the help of family and of the town. A great book about life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    The fourth in the Hope's Crossing Series by RaeAnne Thayne...

    As I have mentioned in other reviews in the series, I have read the books out of order. I would not recommend reading them out of order. The character developments flow from book to book. This book is about Alexandra McKnight and her dreams of running a new restaurant in town. From cooking school to sous chef, her love of food and family have been the focus of her life. With her family and friends, she imagines how her new restaurant will look when the construction is finished. Enter Sam Delgado, the construction foreman in from out of town and his young son Ethan who bonds with Alex. Ethan has lost his mother at a young age, is a brilliant child, and has lived with Sam's brother with all the traveling to the worksites when father and son time was limited. As the story evolves, you feel all the emotions of Alex and Sam and begin to root for their relationship even though there are hurdles for both. The friendships, the food, the emotions all make this a thoroughly enjoyable read, one of my favorites. Alex speaks her mind but has a heart as big as she is generous with her friends and family, by her time and actions. As I turned the final pages, I couldn't help smiling, can't wait for the next book in Hope's Crossing by RaeAnne Thayne. I hope there are several more to enjoy in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2013

    Currant Creek Valley was a lovely return visit to what has becom

    Currant Creek Valley was a lovely return visit to what has become one of my favorite little towns Hope's Crossing. I absolutely adore small town romance series and RaeAnne Thayne has become one of my favorite authors in the genre. She has created a charming little town full of fun dynamic characters that I look forward to visiting with each new release.




    Alexandra McKnight thinks she has her life completely under control and everything is falling into place. She is about to get her dream come true, her own kitchen in the new restaurant in town. She only dates guys that don't plan on sticking around very long. So when  Sam Delgado is hired to finish her new kitchen sparks fly. A little flirting and friendly dates seem fine to Alex, until she finds out that Sam is going to stick around town. Alex has some issues from her past that makes her hesitate to enter into long term relationships. 




     Sam Delgado is one handsome, sweet guy that is raising an adorable little boy Ethan. I loved Sam's commitment to his son and wanting a nice life for both of them.  Sam also has some issues from that past that he wants to leave behind when he moves to Hope's Crossing. 




    I truly enjoyed reading Alex & Sam's story. Of course while getting to know Alex and Sam a little better it was nice to catch up with the fine folks of Hope's Crossing that I met in the previous books in the series. I always feel like I am catching up with old friends. I have had the pleasure of reading the other three books in this series and I personally can not wait to get my hands on the next book If you are like me and just can not get enough of the small town romance series books, then I recommend you check this one out. If you haven't read the rest of the series, then by all means check those out as well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    This is another book in the Hope's Crossing series and I love Ra

    This is another book in the Hope's Crossing series and I love RaeAnne Thayne's style. Her latest is a pleasant read about a woman who has a reason for stort term relationships and is determined to keep them that way until she meets a man and his son who manage to permanently change her mind. This is the type of book that you want to take to the beach or on a plane with you. It's pleasant, enjoyable and will hold your interest from start to finish

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This one wasn't my favorite in the series, but it was a decent r

    This one wasn't my favorite in the series, but it was a decent read. I loved the character of Sam--strong, patient, great father, fantastic...hands. His son, Ethan, was awesome--reminded me a lot of the boy in Jerry Maguire. (Did you know the human head weighs ten pounds? ;)) The chocolate lab was sweet (though yet another example of a fictional animal who makes me feel inadequate as a non-fictional owner, but I digress.) The character I had problems with was Alex. She just seemed too hung up on her issues, which, when we finally find out what they are, just didn't add up to the hype as far as I was concerned. Of course we got the HEA, and saw many favorite characters from the other books, so in the end all's well that ends well. I'll definitely be looking forward to the next installment--and only partially to see what Ethan's up to :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    this is a story about not giving up. sam delgado is a construc

    this is a story about not giving up. sam delgado is a construction man trying to put a life together for his 6 year old son and himself. he sees hope's crossing as that chance. alex mcknight is a woman trying to put a ife on hold and avoid being hurt again. sam falls in love with alex, but alex refuses to give in to her feelings for sam. what's sam to do? how can he convince her he's not like the other people that haved hurt her. her father ran away from the family, a man she loved and was pregnant by left her. eventually the story of her past comes out and sam tries again. a wonderful loe story of new beginnings and second chances at love. i love raeanne's stories because they leave you feeling good about life, and we all need that feeling!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    4 STARS Hope's Crossing book 4 I like Hope's Crossing books. I

    4 STARS

    Hope's Crossing book 4

    I like Hope's Crossing books. It is a community that has pulled its self together. The characters are interesting and keep me wanting to know more about them. It is good to see old friends and what they are up to now. It is also a clean read.

    Alexandra is about to have her dream come true. She is going to have her own restraunt. That if her kitchen is done on time. Alex only dates guys who won't be around for the long time. She is also hiding a secret. Alex has a big family, most who live close by.

    Sam came to Currant Creek Valley to work. He is taking over to finsh the restraunt after the last guy had to leave on family business. Sam was a army ranger. He is looking for a new home to raise his son in. Sam does not let Alex know that he has a son or thinking of moving his business to Currant Creek Valley.

    Alex on first meeting Sam after a misunderstanding occured asks him if he is married? So if they want to go out she needs to know that he is single. Sam says yes but he was a Ranger and they always lead the way. So he asks her.

    They had a great time and on a walk around town Alex found a stray dog around town. He was skinny but had a collar on him. Alex names him Leo. She hopes to find his owner.

    Their are no big secrets to reveal. Only personal trials they each face but you are slowly getting the answers you want to know. I did not want to put the book down last night. Read till my eyes could not focus anymore.

    One secret of Sam's is he has a cute son living with his brother while he finshes the school year. Than Sam will bring him to Hope's Crossing.
    Ethan is very smart and friendly. He is not afraid to hint at what he likes.

    I would read more books about Hope's Crossing in the future.
    I was given this ebook to read and in exchange asked to give honest review of it by Netgalley.
    Publisher: Harlequin HQN (March 26, 2013) 320 pages ASIN: B00ALTVHJI

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Currant Creek Valley by Raeanne Thayne Alexandra McKnight's new

    Currant Creek Valley by Raeanne Thayne
    Alexandra McKnight's new restaurant was almost ready to open. The book club members met there for lunch one day and showed them around. The man to finish the kitchen, Sam Delgado was
    there sizing up the project before 3 other men would work starting the next day. She likes to take control of things and him being an Army Ranger is the one who needs to be in control.
    Love the village here and it's fun to catch up with others and their relationships. The village has a bit of everything that makes it well rounded for anybody to live in.
    He's got a life where his son is, at present his brother's and he doesn't want to get tangled up with the owner of the place-Alex but he's taking a liking to her...
    When they find a dog while she's giving him a tour of the square, she decides to try to find the dogs home and keep him safe at her house. Her mother drops a bomb on her and all the relatives!
    Especially love the trails and all the detailed descriptions throughout the book, makes me feel like I'm right there.
    Harry has a proposition for him and he will bring his son to listen to what he has to say.
    With the death of a neighbor their relationship also dies and although her place had just opened she got an offer that she can't refuse and it's in Deer Valley. She's going to move..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1