Customer Reviews for

Currency Wars: The Making of the Next Global Crisis

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great read

A compeling thesis on monetary instability.

posted by 2756875 on December 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

So serious Pentagon involved in it now.

For me this was light reading, perhaps not enough substance. But, interesting that Pentagon was involved in staging such war games, i.e. involving currency as war. We are apparently witnessing it today, via Dollar, Euro, Pound, Renminbi.

Author predicts four stages, ...
For me this was light reading, perhaps not enough substance. But, interesting that Pentagon was involved in staging such war games, i.e. involving currency as war. We are apparently witnessing it today, via Dollar, Euro, Pound, Renminbi.

Author predicts four stages, from what we see today to SDR, and basket of currencies, only to end in gold as the final solution.

posted by fz01 on December 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    I just bought the Nook version of this book and couldn't put it

    I just bought the Nook version of this book and couldn't put it down. I've just started to learn about economics the last four years and highly recommend this book. If you are just starting to learn about our financial system or have been around I still recommend. The author is very informed and backs up all ideas with facts, history, etc., so unlike other economic books with too much political slant. It starts out as a narrative and then towards the middle he really starts to address the impact of dollar on world currencies...must read. Very rare to find an "economic" book with "suspense"...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Great read

    A compeling thesis on monetary instability.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    This is an excellent book and well worth your time to read it.


    This is an excellent book and well worth your time to read it.
    I'm not sure why some reviewers did not like the book since
    their arguments were incoherent with respect to the authors
    main points. Perhaps it is because they disagree with his
    conclusion as to the best way to avoid Ruinous economic
    consequences Precipitated currency wars.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    A great read!

    Extremely enlightening. This is a must read if you are interested in macro economics.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    So serious Pentagon involved in it now.

    For me this was light reading, perhaps not enough substance. But, interesting that Pentagon was involved in staging such war games, i.e. involving currency as war. We are apparently witnessing it today, via Dollar, Euro, Pound, Renminbi.

    Author predicts four stages, from what we see today to SDR, and basket of currencies, only to end in gold as the final solution.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Awesome book that should be required reading for every American, and easy to read!

    After graduate studies in government, social sciences, and real estate, and 30 years of dealing with the consequences of our monetary policy in the real estate business, this is the first book I've seen that gives a broad and long perspective on the role of monetary policy in history. I pick my writers carefully so as not to bore myself, so after enjoying Michael Lewis, I decided to "plow through" this book only to understand what is going on today. It was surprisingly easy plowing. Rickards brings it all very much to life, and covers a huge amount of (extremely relevant) ground in a short time... with elegant illustrations and an intellectually honest, balanced treatment. Highly recommended to anyone planning to live through the next decade, or who would like to understand the news!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Dry

    Couldnt get through it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    Light reading Richards reports in all-embracing detail - office

    Light reading
    Richards reports in all-embracing detail - office layouts, furniture arrangements, beverages drank, foods eaten, etc. - the preparation for and events of a multi-day conference sponsored by DOD. Not sure of the overall cost of the operation or its usefulness because before too many pages are past the reader is rather disinterested.
    A reference to the Drudge Report by the author as a prime source of his financial information is rather telling.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Interesting

    A look at how markets can be manipulated to ruin a country. They are doing it to Iran right now, but it turns out it can be done more subtly...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Interesting - highly recommended

    This is one of types of book that makes you think about what could and might happen. The basic arguments seem sound and the conclusions all seem possible. In fact I would say much of the book has to say is just down right scary. It was well worth time needed to read and think about it's contents.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Great book excellent read a must for all concerned with the gobal economy

    A must read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1