Customer Reviews for

A Curse Dark As Gold

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Julie M. Prince for TeensReadToo.com

Since her father's death, the fate of the Miller family woolen mill and that of the Shearing village rests on Charlotte's shoulders. An unexpected and seemingly insurmountable debt leads to a difficult choice for the normally practical and levelheaded miller's daughter....
Since her father's death, the fate of the Miller family woolen mill and that of the Shearing village rests on Charlotte's shoulders. An unexpected and seemingly insurmountable debt leads to a difficult choice for the normally practical and levelheaded miller's daughter.

Must she take the offer of the strange little man who can weave straw into gold, or can she make her own way through the maze of ill luck and deceit that seems her family legacy?

Elizabeth C. Bunce's A CURSE DARK AS GOLD is worth its own weight in gold and then some. A folkloric re-telling beyond Rumpelstiltskin proportions, this tale weaves the best storytelling techniques into a fine tapestry of intrigue, drama, and romance.

The tight writing never wavers. Gorgeous, consistent language abounds, like, "I sank to my knees in a sea of crumpled flannel and pressed my hands into the sharp shale of the yard, as if bites from the stones could remind me of who I was."

And just who is Charlotte Miller? Certainly one of the most fascinating characters I've come across of late. If not self-confident at the beginning of our story, she is at least confident in what she knows: the mill cannot go under and the families of Shearing cannot be allowed to starve or scatter to the winds. As she is the only one around to prevent these happenings, Charlotte will do what she must to prevent them. And so she does.

As time goes on, and with Pinchfields Mill of Harrowgate nipping at her heels, Charlotte's choices become ever more difficult and the stakes are raised as she struggles through crisis after crisis. Charlotte's resolve to dismiss the very idea of the Miller Curse crumbles into a pile of wasted wishes as the harsh reality of the unreal comes to be. She is forced to play the hand that's dealt, facing sinister forces she once easily dismissed.

A strong protagonist indeed.

Every word counts in this amazing book. The language, while assuredly stunning and appealing, is never frivolous. It's hard to believe this is a debut novel, and I eagerly await whatever Ms. Bunce wishes to put in front of me next, as it's sure to be delightful and satisfying if it's near the quality of A CURSE DARK AS GOLD.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A curse is right!

A Curse as Dark as Gold by Elizabeth Bunce is a very dark and grim story. If you are looking for a happy fairy tale, this isn't it. This story is a tale of debt, money, and death, which aren't usually happy subjects. I was supposed to read a book outside of what I usua...
A Curse as Dark as Gold by Elizabeth Bunce is a very dark and grim story. If you are looking for a happy fairy tale, this isn't it. This story is a tale of debt, money, and death, which aren't usually happy subjects. I was supposed to read a book outside of what I usually read and this was not a very good choice. I think I'll stick to happier stories. But this book isn't all that bad once you get about half way through it, it actually becomes a bit interesting.

The main character is Charlotte Miller. As a young person, she has a lot of responsibility. I have a hard time connecting with her character as I can't relate to her life of such sadness. The author does an excellent job describing Charlotte and you can feel her misery and sadness.

Bunce is a very descriptive person, making this story longer than it really needs to be. I can relate to that because I too tend to drag on and become too descriptive... and that seems to bore people. This story is supposed to resemble the classic Rumpelstiltskin. In this story the character is Jack Spinner. Jack is a background character and very little of the story is about him. I felt that, even though Bunce is such a descriptive writer, Jack Spinner was a bit undeveloped.

Everyone knows the story of Rumpelstiltskin. The question is why would you want to read an elongated version as redone in this book? In my opinion, I think A Curse as Dark as Gold took a great classic fairy tale and turned it into a very dark and dreary novel.

But before you get too discouraged by my review, after about 200 pages, the story becomes quite intriguing. With romance brewing and the family feuds spreading, the entire community becomes affected. This story is so grim it makes you wonder if there could be a happy ending.

This book bordered on dull and wouldn't be a book I would recommend to any of my friends. There are lots of wonderful books in the library and I think this book is just too depressing to be my choice. and if it wasn't an assignment I probably wouldn't have finished it. The writer was very descriptive and the characters well described but the theme left you with an overwhelming feeling of sadness that was hard to overcome.

I hope this was helpful

posted by Cougar_H on March 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Julie M. Prince for TeensReadToo.com

    Since her father's death, the fate of the Miller family woolen mill and that of the Shearing village rests on Charlotte's shoulders. An unexpected and seemingly insurmountable debt leads to a difficult choice for the normally practical and levelheaded miller's daughter. <BR/><BR/>Must she take the offer of the strange little man who can weave straw into gold, or can she make her own way through the maze of ill luck and deceit that seems her family legacy? <BR/><BR/>Elizabeth C. Bunce's A CURSE DARK AS GOLD is worth its own weight in gold and then some. A folkloric re-telling beyond Rumpelstiltskin proportions, this tale weaves the best storytelling techniques into a fine tapestry of intrigue, drama, and romance. <BR/><BR/>The tight writing never wavers. Gorgeous, consistent language abounds, like, "I sank to my knees in a sea of crumpled flannel and pressed my hands into the sharp shale of the yard, as if bites from the stones could remind me of who I was." <BR/><BR/>And just who is Charlotte Miller? Certainly one of the most fascinating characters I've come across of late. If not self-confident at the beginning of our story, she is at least confident in what she knows: the mill cannot go under and the families of Shearing cannot be allowed to starve or scatter to the winds. As she is the only one around to prevent these happenings, Charlotte will do what she must to prevent them. And so she does. <BR/><BR/>As time goes on, and with Pinchfields Mill of Harrowgate nipping at her heels, Charlotte's choices become ever more difficult and the stakes are raised as she struggles through crisis after crisis. Charlotte's resolve to dismiss the very idea of the Miller Curse crumbles into a pile of wasted wishes as the harsh reality of the unreal comes to be. She is forced to play the hand that's dealt, facing sinister forces she once easily dismissed. <BR/><BR/>A strong protagonist indeed. <BR/><BR/>Every word counts in this amazing book. The language, while assuredly stunning and appealing, is never frivolous. It's hard to believe this is a debut novel, and I eagerly await whatever Ms. Bunce wishes to put in front of me next, as it's sure to be delightful and satisfying if it's near the quality of A CURSE DARK AS GOLD.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2008

    Wonderful, exciting, couldn't put it down

    A Curse as Dark as Gold was a wonderful read. It has a strong heroine, great characters and a plot that pulls you along. The book gets more and more gripping as it goes. By the end I could not put it down. I would highly recommend it to anyone, adult or teen.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2008

    A winner.

    Set in the fictional eighteenth-century town of Shearing, A Curse Dark as Gold is a complex tale of magic, greed, love, and redemption inspired by the fairytale ¿Rumpelstiltskin.¿ Stirwaters mill is the town¿s heart. When James Miller dies without a male heir, the mill falls to his two young daughters, Charlotte and Rosie. Charlotte takes on the responsibility of running the mill, realizing that without it the town will die and the populace will be hard pressed to make ends meet. Although the girls know much about the mill¿s operation, they find that many aren¿t willing to do business with women. Also, a rival mill in a nearby town would like to eliminate the competition. Add to that the mill¿s proclivity to drop signs on innocent bystanders and refuse repairs to cracks and crevices, which reappear overnight. There are rumors that the mill is cursed, but Charlotte won¿t believe it. And the local superstitions are nonsense, of course. Like the miller¿s daughter in ¿Rumpelstiltskin,¿ Charlotte must do the impossible. She accepts help from a mysterious man, Jack Spinner, who offers her a way out. For her mother¿s cheap ring, he¿ll spin straw into golden thread. The next time, the price is a bit dearer. But it¿s only jewelry and compared to the livelihood of a town, it seems a small price. And the final price? Maybe more than Charlotte can pay. But what connection does this man have to the mill and the bad fortune that plagues it? Charlotte needs to figure that out to save her mill, her town, and her family. Elizabeth Bunce has an amazing talent for immersing the reader in her setting. The town and mill fairly reek of old England, as do her characters. Charlotte is head-strong and determined. Rosie is charmingly impulsive. Uncle Wheeler is delightfully arrogant and wicked, and the numerous townsfolk fit into the story perfectly. Ms. Bunce has used ordinary words to spin a finely crafted work of art¿A Curse Dark as Gold.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2008

    Couldn't Wait

    I saw the cover of the book and couldn't wait to read it. Some of the good reviews didn't do it justice. Such an amazing retelling of such an old and well known story, that you think there could be nothing new. This is better than you could imagine and you will love the book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2008

    A BOOK WORTH ITS WEIGHT IN GOLD

    Ms. Bunce has turned an old fairy tales into a beautifully written, well researched novel, not only for young adults, but people who love fantasy and enjoy trying to figure out how the book is going to end. But then you don't want it to end. The writing is tight, flawless, and she doesn't waste a work telling a wonderful story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    I agree with everyone who says it's an awesomely haunting fairy tale.

    I love the retelling of Rumplestiltskin. It's not really too old fashioned but it's not modern either. It's really great for like grade 6 and up. I reread...a lot. It's something that really sticks with you. I remember most of it (certain parts really... not gonna be the spoiler) it's sticks that well and it's tense, it's a real page-turner. Take my word for it! = )

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!!!

    Read in my book club and loved the characters, story and lovely writing. Nicely developed romance, ghostly happenings and a tough and determined heroine and feisty sister. Highly recommend!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!!!

    Read in my book club and loved the characters, story and lovely writing. Nicely developed romance, ghostly happenings and a tough and determined heroine and feisty sister. Highly recommend!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    A Tense, Thrilling Story

    'Rumpelstiltskin' isn't my favorite fairytale, but this dark and beautiful retelling is an incredible read. The setting--England at the very beginning of the Industrial Revolution--with the miller's worries over debt and bankruptcy made the story extremely real for me. The characters are lively and engaging, even the secondary ones like the townspeople. The female miller, who is just trying to keep her family safe and the people who depend on her for a living working, is a character I can admire, as is the banker who comes to respect her. And the twist on Rumpelstiltskin, as well as the reason for all of the misfortunes that have befallen the Miller family, is both believable and startling. By the end I was on the edge of my seat, praying that everything would turn out well. But don't take *my* word for it. One of her cover blurbs comes from no less of a writer than Peter Beagle!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    :)

    I luv it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Loved it!

    Great story, characters and writing. Highly recommend!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Exciting, satisfying fairy tale/ghost story

    Spooky and satisfying with two strong-willed female lead characters. Once I started I just couldn't put it down. Lush setting, historical fantasy makes the Gold Valley feel like it really existed. Set in a fantasy place of the old world on the brink of an industrial revolution, author Elizabeth Bunce's writing and choice of words and use of language is second to none for anyone wanting to savor great writing. This book was awarded the 2009 ALA William C. Morris Award, and the novel was picked as an Oprah's Book Club Kids Reading List selection, a Smithsonian Notable Book and a YALSA best book for 2008. The author's knowledge of old world superstitions and life in a town centered around a textile mill which may or may not be under the curse from a familiar fairy tale will stay with you long after you're done reading. Haunting ghost story with characters you'll care about, filled with real-life romance and gripping dialogue. A must read for fans of fantasy, lovers of fairy tale retellings and fans of Shannon Hale and Tamora Pierce. Can't wait for her next book StarCrossed to be released soon!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    really great book

    this book was really descriptive and had an amazing -fresh yet old- twist on the well known fairytale, Rumplestiltsken. i freaking loved this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    amazing

    Once I picked up the book I couldn't put it down. It was beautifully written and revaled secret after secret after secret. Her sister, her husband, her child, her father, her mother, her uncle, and her lifer (John Simple's too) are all tied together with the mill her family has had for genorations, Amazing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    awesomely creepy

    This book gave me nightmares, but it was one of my favorite books. The suspense and drama and self-sacfice was all tied together with her love.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Strong heroine--a rich, haunting tale you will not be able to put down

    This was the ultimate novel to hide away with for the weekend. Once I started I just couldn't put it down. Lush characters, historically accurate, yet set in a fantasy world on the cusp of the industrial revolution, and superb writing artistry by the author. Awarded the 2009 ALA William C. Morris Award, a Smithsonian Notable Book and a best book for 2008 on several lists. Her sense of time and place mixes seemlessly with her evident vast knowledge of old world superstitions and life in a town centered around a textile mill which may or may not be under the curse from a familiar fairy tale figure. Biddy Tom is my new favorite character. Haunting, filled with real-life romance and gripping characters. A must read. Can't wait for her next book "StarCrossed" to come out! A+

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Strong heroine--a rich, haunting read you won't be able to put down

    This was the ultimate novel to hide away with for the weekend. Once I started I just couldn't put it down. Lush characters, historically accurate, yet set in a fantasy world on the cusp of the industrial revolution, and superb writing artistry by first time author Bunce. Awarded the 2009 ALA William C. Morris Award, a Smithsonian Notable Book and a best book for 2008 on several lists. Her sense of time and place mixes seemlessly with her evident vast knowledge of old world superstitions and life in a town centered around a textile mill which may or may not be under the curse from a familiar fairy tale figure. Biddy Tom is my new favorite supporting character. Haunting, filled with real-life romance and gripping characters. A must read. A+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2009

    Strong heroine--a rich, haunting tale

    This was the ultimate novel to hide away with for the weekend. Once I started I just couldn't put it down. Lush characters, historically accurate, yet set in a fantasy world on the cusp of the industrial revolution, and superb writing artistry by first time author Bunce. Awarded the 2009 ALA William C. Morris Award, a Smithsonian Notable Book and a best book for 2008 on several lists. Her sense of time and place mixes seemlessly with her evident vast knowledge of old world superstitions and life in a town centered around a textile mill which may or may not be under the curse from a familiar fairy tale figure. Biddy Tom is my new favorite supporting character. Haunting, filled with real-life romance and gripping characters. A must read. A+

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2