Customer Reviews for

The Curse of Chalion (Chalion Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2001

    A brilliant departure for a beloved author

    Award-winning science-fiction author Lois McMaster Bujold turns her pen to the fantasy genre, with breathtaking results. Lord Cazaril has been in turn courier, courtier, castle-warder, and captain; now he is but a crippled ex-galley slave making his way across a countryside reminiscent of Renaissance Spain, hoping to beg a warm hearth and a scullion¿s position from the noble patroness of his youth. But Fortune¿s wheel continues to turn for Cazaril, and he finds himself in short order promoted to the exalted¿and dangerous¿position of secretary-tutor to the Iselle, the beautiful, fiery sister of the heir to Chalion¿s throne. Amidst the decaying splendor and poisonous intrigue of Chalion¿s ancient fortress capital, Cazaril encounters both old enemies and surprising allies, as he seeks to lift the curse of misfortune that clings to the royal family of Chalion, and to all who come too close to them. While the novel can ¿ and should ¿ be appreciated as a rousing tale of romance and adventure, Bujold deftly weaves sophisticated speculation on the nature of free will and destiny in the guise of an intriguing mythology, underpinned by a constant subtle evocation of potent symbolic archetypes. Chalion is a beautifully constructed world, both warmly familiar and achingly distant; it breaths hints of shores yet unseen, stories yet to be told, without burdening the reader with a weary litany of exotic names and historical background. Supernatural power and events are carefully derived from the intrinsic nature of the world, displaying the simple inevitability of a chemical reaction ¿ with consequences just as devastating. Bujold, justly celebrated for her complex characterization, excels in her portrayal of the observant, sardonic, devoted Cazaril, and provides him with a rich and appealing cast of supporting characters. She avoids the twin temptations of making her heroes too nobly pure or her villains too blackly malevolent, allowing even the smallest character to emerge as recognizably human. For, with all the her grand canvas of nations and gods and fates, it is humanity ¿ in all its shame and glory ¿ that Bujold celebrates, and readers will be swept along to rejoice in their own. Ignore the mean-spirited professional reviewers above. *This* professional reviewer would say that _The Curse of Chalion_ is very possibly a masterpiece.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    Wonderful!

    I couldn't stop reading this! It follows the requisites for fantasy. 1. Curses - check! 2. A broken hero to lift the curse - check! 3. Clever wit and intrigue! - check! I love how Lois McMaster Bujold, doesn't seem to know HOW to write a story with a leading lady, who is weak willed. There is plenty of cleaver dialog, with plots that are well laid out, and beautiful scenery. The story never felt rush or improbable; I felt like I was on a roller coaster of emotion! All of their pain, my pain. Their fear my fear. But alas (thankfully!) their joy was my joy! I was just so full of feeling... I no longer have any words to describe them with... A must read! ....and re-read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    Three thumbs up

    The Curse of Chalion is a carefully planned and beautifully executed book that is witty, funny, though-provoking, exciting, and imaginative. The world of Chalion's pantheon is interesting and also well though-out, and its protagonists are believable and lovable. Although its title implies a cliched novel full of cursed princesses and evil witches, its story line rethinks, enhances and almost ridicules the stereotypical fantasy that tries to define the genre. I highly recommend it to all fantasy-lovers and fans of Bujold's other work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2007

    Fantasitc

    I've read Bujold's SF books and quite frankly thought they were contrived and shallow. Chalion completely reversed my judgement of her as an author. The book is fantastic thoughtful, well written, and exciting. This is a great book, so is the next one, Paladin of Souls. Definitely for an older reader (my opinion).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2003

    Wonderful!!!

    This is the first book I have read by Lois McMaster Bujold and it will certainly not be the last. The Curse of Chalion draws you in from the first chapter with well developed characters and vivid descriptions and does not let you go. It is rare to find fantasy novels that are not parts of a series and even more rare to find a book of such high quality!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2001

    An incredible book

    I¿ve been reading Lois¿ Vorkosigan series just this side of forever. So, it didn¿t take much to get me to buy Curse of Chalion. And once again she delivered on an excellent, exciting, thinking novel. I loved the Spanish influenced background, which after a surfeit of celtic influenced fantasy was a breath of sweet exotic air. And plenty of interesting intrigue to go around. The main character, Cazaril, is a witty and fully fleshed person. Even the villains are fully developed. The central mystery of the story draws you in and won¿t let you put the book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2001

    A wonderful, 3-dimensional fantasy!

    I've long been a fan of Bujold's Vorkosigan series, but I never warmed to her other fantasy, The Spirit Ring, the way I did to the Miles stories.<br> This latest work by the three-time Hugo winner has convinced me that she just needed more practice in the genre to really hit her stride. Chalion is a real, 3-dimensional world, very loosely based on late-medieval Spain. The characters are (as always with Bujold) 3-dimensional and the hero's trials and soul-scars are achingly real.<br> Bujold's justly-famous wry humor has found a perfect vehicle in her hero, Cazaril, an ex-soldier, ex-courtier, ex-courier and ex-galley slave who wants only to sink into peaceful, quiet obscurity-- but for whom the gods have other plans.<br> Don't be discouraged by the apparently slow start of the book's first two chapters... there's a lot more going on there than you realize at the time, so pay close attention. You'll be glad you did later when events start accumulating momentum and the rabbits the author stuffed into hats in the first chapters start jumping out of them at surprising moments.<br> In addition to an interesting cast of characters and a lively and complex culture Bujold has created a fascinating religion with five very activist dieties who nevertheless are constrained by (among other things) their need for their human tools to offer their services willingly before the gods can overtly act through them.<br> This book is a good bit darker than many of her earlier works-- it has an emotional weight similar to that of Mirror Dance or Memory-- but she has the ability to put her characters in dark places without making you feel they have no hope.<br> Buy it. You won't regret the purchase.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    One of my favorites

    One of my favorites

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Rare 5 stars.

    This book at several point had me clinging to my seat in dread/excitment. The world created here is very interesting as is the setup of the gods and how they communicate to the people. It is facinating. The characters are relateable and real...even the ones you hate. Great read. This is my first book by this author and I plan to get a couple more of her writings after getting this taste.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    How to avoid format problems

    Always fetch the free sample before purchasing a book. Then flip through all the pages to the end of the sample. I too found odd formatting for this book, however it affects only the table of contents. The book itself reads just fine. This is too good of a bookto pass up because a review complains of formatting. Also, you can verify that you're not purchasing a foreign language edition before you plunk down your money. I've seen complaints of that too.

    With regard to this book, it's one of my favorites. I highly recomend it. I recomend all of LMB's books for that matter, but especially this one.

    Posted from my Simple Touch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Like the last two books I bought for my Simple Touch, this one w

    Like the last two books I bought for my Simple Touch, this one was unreadable because the format was one paragraph per line and the lines go off the page. Unless B&amp;N fixes this fault, I'll be buying my books from Amazon or other site and converting. On the other hand, the books can be read on the PC easily, thus defeating the need to buy the Nook in the first place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    great

    great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    very good and original. highly recommend.

    it start out a little slow and is a little hard to understand in the begining. excellent book overall. you will probably read it 3 or 4 times in a row.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    Highly recommended -Bujold's best work

    A complex but carefully crafted story of triumph over adversity set in a mythical place resembling Spain, but turned upside down. Reading it more than once always seems to reveal some new detail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fabulous book! A great read.

    The Byronic Cazaril, a former lord and commander in the army of Chalion, has escaped slavery and finally returned to his home country. He travels to the estate he acted as a page at, Valenda, and is instated as the tutor to the passionate Roya Iselle and her lady in waiting, Betriz. Once Iselle and her brother Teidez are called to the royal court as heirs to the throne, Cazaril encounters old enemies and new conspiracies. It is up to Cazaril as the gods' chosen to protect Iselle to save Chalion.

    This was the first book by Bujold that I had ever read, and it will definitely not be the last. She weaves a fantastically thrilling tale full of political intrigue. Her style of writing is smooth and fresh, and I can guarantee that you will be hard pressed to put this book down. I've read it at least 6 or 7 times since the first time and never grow tired of it. I would definitely suggest this to anyone, as well as Paladin of Souls, which takes place after the events of The Curse of Chalion and features Ista, the mother of Iselle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    rich, creative storytelling, beautifully written

    I loved this book! Great characters, great story...did not like having to ever put it down. The storytelling was very rich and vibrant, beautifully written...like a gourmet meal!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Day!

    Maybe it is because I tried to start reading this on a long flight, but it was painful getting into this book. I spent the first week forcing my self to read it, hoping it would get better. Alas, it did. A warning to others, the first 1/4 of the book is very slow and does not tie in to the overall book until much later. however, once it does get rolling and the various lines connect, it is a very thrilling and enjoyable book. I have read a lot of fantasy books, and i was pleasantly surprised with the avenues the author used in this book to tell the story. It was 99% unpredictable, and the few things which were, still had a new twist to them. I look forward to finding more treats like this in the future.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    One of my favorite books

    This was the first book by McMaster-Bujold I read. Incredible, I devoured this in one sitting! You will not want to put it down and will be wanting more. I have read this book at least 10 times since I first picked it up several years ago. Paladin of Souls is also an excellent read set in the same world but not quite as good as this one. I have read all her other books and become quite a fan of hers. The Curse of Chalion will always be one my favorite books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2008

    Good, but not great.

    In truth, I would give this book a 3.5. The writing was fresh and excellent enough to keep the story moving with highly developed and witty characters, but the plot could have involved much more detail and excitment. The story deals mostly with courtly politics in a royal setting. When the juicy details of the plot do come around, they last for only a few pages as opposed to the hundreds of pages concerning the main character and his internal illness, although crucial to the story, does not deserve so many pages of detail. Not much of a high fantasy novel with only four or five memorable plot turns, but a decent read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2006

    A step into a world with spirits, Gods and men contesting for a hand in ruling souls, men or countries.

    Ms Bujold is again in good form as she introduces her growing number of readers to a different genre. Gone are the space adventures of the Vorkosigans in their efforts to find a place for Miles to be 'normal', despite his endless involvement in spy games, clashes of ruling classes and galactic powers. Now Ms Bujold introduces her readers to the fasinating land of the Ibran peninsula with its ruling class of royalty, witches, widards, five Gods and the ever present servents. There are souls which have for one reason or another chosen not to find one of the five Gods and of course demons to plague the innocents and not so innocent of men. Our leading charactor is returning from slavery imposed on him after the rest of his men were ransomed back by the nobiliy of the land of Chalion leaving Caz to the tender mercies of the seas and the slave galleons on which he served. We find that the ruling family of the land of Chalion has a curse placed on it which has bedeviled all they have tried to do as well as the land they rule resulting in constant loss of the conflict in which it has been involved. The current 'old' king is in failing health as a result of the family curse and Caz finds himself wanting only to be given a place to serve in the kitchen instead is thrust into the position of being the secretary/tutor to the sister of the next person in line to the throne both suffering from the effects of the family curse. Caz must not only protect the young princess and her serving lady but find a way to release the family from the curse before it claims both of the children in line for the throne. The fast moving pace set by Ms Bujold does nothing to distract from the well written discription of both the people and lands in which the story is set. The charactors are nicely fleshed out and would almost seem to be real at times to the reader. The Gods while being mysterious are not totally hidden from the readers view and each has a place to fill in the story. All in all a well written story which in the following books is nicely finished with a surprise of and ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4