Customer Reviews for

Curse of the Blue Tattoo: Being an Account of the Misadventures of Jacky Faber, Midshipman and Fine Lady

Average Rating 4.5
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    Highly recommended for readers of the Bloody Jack series

    I love Mary, the Bloody Jack. She's quirky and gutsy and her devil-may-care personality gets her into trouble more often than not. I bought the first book and was so drawn by her character and adventures, I had to read the rest of them!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    amazinggggg

    i have read all of the books in this series and i love them all cant wait to see what happens next

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    Curse of the Blue Tattoo

    Curse of the Blue Tattoo<BR/>L.A. Meyer<BR/>Harcourt Children's Books<BR/>Historical Fiction<BR/><BR/> What happens when a girl who has been disguised as a ship's boy for the last two years gets put into a lady's school? Jacky Faber in The Curse of the Blue Tattoo finds out. L.A. Meyer writes this exiting and very adventurous book. Jacky has no idea how to be a lady at all. She does not know how to curtsy, eat meals properly, or embroider beautifully like the other girls. Jacky cannot read music or sew very well like most girls her age. She realizes that being a girl is much different than being a boy in this world. It can even be dangerous to do the ¿wrong¿ things like show her knees in public. Jacky can't seem to behave properly, she gets arrested, demoted to serving girl at school and sneaks out at night. She has many other adventures like dealing with a crazy preacher who thinks she is a witch. Jacky comes to the rescue when a jockey gets too sick to ride and her friend Amy's father is about to lose his farm. But good times don't last for Jacky. That night at dinner something terrible happens to Jacky and Amy will never forgive her completely.<BR/> Jacky Faber is a fun, energetic and adventurous girl who always does something that gets her into trouble. She is small for her age because she grew up an orphan, starving in the streets of London, England. Her hair is light brown, she has freckles, and is very tan from being on a boat out in the open for two years. A unique trait is a blue tattoo of a ship with dolphins and an anchor that she has on her right hip. This gets her in trouble even though she tries to hide it. Jacky is very self confident and loves singing, dancing, and acting. She and the other ship's boys, all had ¿sea daddys¿ and hers (Liam) gave her a penny whistle which she learned to play quickly. Her biggest thoughts are always of Jaimy, the young man she is engaged to marry. At the ¿Lawson Peabody School For Young Ladys¿ she meets her friend Amy, who has long black hair which she ties back tightly. Amy is of medium build and has poor hygiene. She is kind but serious. Clarrissa Howe is Jacky's enemy. They hate each other very much and try to get each other into trouble. Clarrissa is beautiful with blonde hair and is widely respected by most people because she is extremely rich and has slaves. Jacky hates her for having slaves. The evil preacher, the helpful lawyer, the proud Randall, and the downstairs crew (Annie, Betty, Peg, Rachel, Sylvie...) are all supporting characters who affect Jacky in many different ways, and she changes them too. The characters are all very different with engaging personalities. <BR/> This is an excellent book full of adventure and surprises. I would recommend it to anyone age 11 and older who loves action-packed, emotional books with courageous characters. Jacky tells the story in a personal, straight forward way. It is suspenseful and intriguing. The reader will love how Jacky pushes things a little too far and ends up in dangerous situations. This is the second book in a series, the first book, Bloody Jack, is just as exiting and dramatic as Curse of the Blue Tattoo. If you like books that will make you feel a mix of emotions then you will love Curse of the Blue Tattoo.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Fantastic!!

    I Laughed the whole time!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    Jacky Faber Shakes Up Boston

    Jacky is the text book definition of an independent, strong girl. I found it very hard to put this book down. I felt like I was at Dovecote with Amy and Jacky feeling the breeze and sun on my face. I felt a chill run through my spine each time Reverend Mather entered a room. This book will captivate you and not let you go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pirates of the Caribbean?! Who cares!

    The Bloody Jack Adventures are truly the best books I have ever read. For LA Meyer never to write before, this is a true feat. His combonation of thrilling careers possibly makes this it. I hope he writes them for many more years, for they are truly something to cherish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2008

    A MUST READ!

    These books are fairly new, but once I picked up the first book of the series ,Bloody Jacky, I was hooked. I had to read what was out of the rest of the series. I love the cunning, resourceful, and teenage Jacky, the heroine of the story, who is fresh from sea and the British Royal Navy, after she pretended to be a boy to escape her past life and was selected to board the ship. When she is discovered as a girl upon the H.M.S. Dolphin, she is dropped off at a girls' school in Boston. I am greatly anticipating the sixth book in this series that will soon be coming out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2008

    A reviewer

    Curse of the Blue Tattoo picks up right where Bloody Jack left off. As Jacky strugles (and struggles, and struggles) to become a fine lady, her adventures keep on coming. This book is another excellent installment in the Bloody Jack series. It stands out from the others because it is the single book where Jacky has her feet firmly planted on the ground. Though, as we see in this book, that's not necessarily a good thing. Aside from the fact that Jacky meets all sorts of new trouble, many people find that they get a little bored of Curse of the Blue Tattoo. It is definitely a worthwhile read, if the general least-favorite in the series. It is a necessary story, and is really a quite fun book. I would reccommend to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    Curse of the Blue Tattoo

    The sequal to Bloody Jack, this book did not dissapoint. Although my least favorite of the series, I still loved it. So, that goes to show you, that even the least favorite is still on amazing work of liturature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2007

    Wonderful!

    Jacky is now in a boarding school where Clarissa Worthington Howe and some other girls keep trying to make her life miserable, and the preacher at the church next door is sick and twisted and petitions the court to adopt Jacky. But Jacky's a cheerful girl and makes the best of her situation by playing ghost in the graveyard next to the church.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2006

    It's a REALLY GOOD book.

    It may not be as good as Bloody Jack but it's really good. I would also recommend this book to almost anybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2006

    I love this series!

    I am a avid reader and don't tend to like very many books but I absolutely love the Bloody Jack books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2006

    One of my all time favorites!

    This book is really wicked awesome! The story is so exciting and the way that Jacky Faber (the main character) thinks is really easy to relate to. This book was fun to read, and just really great. You should definently read this! I read this one from a library. Then I had to read the one that came before it. I fell in love after the first few pages. I am so buying the whole series now. Whats really great is how this one is still great for those of you who might enjoy the rougher thougher parts of Bloddy Jack, but this one also revolves around alot more then just the sea. I recomend this book to anyone who reads to enjoy themselves, cause I sure did when I read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2006

    ABSOLUTELY THE GREATEST BOOK EVER! (besides the Bible)

    This book is soooo great!I read it at every possible second!(even some seconds that werent the best possible time, but hey! IT ROCKED!) I would recommend it to anyone who loves a good read. (You will love this, my fellow bookworms!!!)All I'm saying is, L.A. Meyer had better come out with at least one more after the third one or he will have a very angry mob on his doorstep very soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2006

    AWESOME!!!!!

    this book was awesome!!! Jacky is my girl she's fearless and mischevious and always takes readers on a wild and crazy adventure!!! this book was amazing!! all should read this!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2006

    Sky rocketing

    OMG this book was brilliant. I man there were some boring parts but It was amazing non the less. I felt sorry for Jacky because of all her struggles. Everyone should read this book it was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2005

    Brillant

    One of the best book I've read in some time, I recommended it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2005

    ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!!

    THERE ARE NOT ENOUGH WORDS TO DESCRIBE THIS BOOK. IT IS SO HARD TO PUT IT DOWN AFTER YOU START READING IT. FOR ANYONE WHO HAS YET TO READ IT HURRY AND GET IT FOR YOU WILL NOT BE SORRY AT ALL. L.A. MEYER IS A ONE OF A KIND AUTHOR SO READ THE BOOKS YOU WILL BE EGGING FOR MORE ABOUT THE ADVENTURES OF JACKY FABER(AKA BLOODY JACK).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2005

    jacky is still my favorite chick

    la meyer has done it again another book thats full of adventure after reuniting with davy i was almost sure jaimy would come into the port but he never did if la meyer doesnt continue these adventures well hes gonna get alot of complaints!! (alot from me in peticular!!! ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2005

    A Good Book

    I think this book was the best.I really enjoyed reading it.Its very realistic.And really good historical fiction.I read the first book three years ago and I really liked it.I didn't really think that the author would write a sequel but I am glad that he did.I like Jacky even though she gets into trouble a lot.I hope the author makes a sequel to this book because I would like to know what happens to Jacky in England and if she will meet Jaimy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4