Customer Reviews for

The Curse of the Campfire Weenies and Other Warped and Creepy Tales

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

F

T

posted by 8670008 on June 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hey

Iread the book and it sucks and my name is not ananomous.its rico swavay

posted by Anonymous on July 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    F

    T

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Awsi ASOME

    So cool :) :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    G

    J

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book is a combination of Twilight Zone and Stephen King for

    This book is a combination of Twilight Zone and Stephen King for kids. The stories are so imaginative and range from several pages to just two. It is amazing how Lubar can creep you out in just two pages. I read a lot of horror and my 8 year old daughter is constantly asking me if she may read my books. Of course she may not. So I am very happy to have a series of books with creepy stories that I can read to her. And since they are short, there are many stories to read. I can read a scary story to her every night and it will be a long time before I run out. And the best part is that I enjoy the stories as well.

    These stories include some supernatural creatures, vampires, clowns, genies, etc. But there are also just weird stories. For example, there is one that involves a vindictive math teacher. Or a story about food that is reminiscent of Alice in Wonderland. So recommending this based on characters is a little difficult. If you have a problem with any particular theme, i.e. vampires, you could read the book first and only read those stories with your child that you deem appropriate. You will surely find plenty you will enjoy. And when I say read with your child... These are so much fun to read together. They are the kind of stories you tell around the fire while camping or at sleepovers.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining young adult collection

    As with the two previous ¿Weenie ¿¿ Tales (see LAND OF THE LAWN WEENIES and INVASION OF THE ROAD WEENIES), this collection consists of thirty-five extremely short stories (average size is approximately five pages) that target children as the prime audience. The tales are fun to read and usually contain a subtle morality message or a question to ponder that is interwoven into the story. For instance in ¿Mr. HooHaa¿, Mr. Lubar asks a key metaphysical question of are clowns more frightening without the make-up or a profound look into the universally accepted tenet that ¿You Are What You Eat¿. In ¿The Tunnel of Terror¿, Rachel learns the hard way that avoidance or even closing your eyes does not make the issue vanish (sounds like Rachel will grow up to be a politician). So like Ben get yourself a drink at ¿The Soda Fountain¿ and enjoy reading the warped and creepy tales of an expert as Mr. Lubar¿s latest shows how the grass is not necessarily greener when you escape from ¿The Curse of the Campfire Weenies¿ to end up with the Girl Scouts singing campfire weenies. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Never listen to #4!

    This book rocks!:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    .

    I have read almost every book in the series. THEY ARE AMAZING!!!! I cant keep myself away from them, and i read old ones over and over. The author has a sense of humor and horror, so these are DEFINATLY great books if you have a perfect mix like that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Good book

    It is not a bad book.>:(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Really funny:)

    Ive read every book in the wennie series they are all scary funny and adventorous

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Boss

    Best book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Dont listen to the one beneath me

    I loved this book and the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Awesome

    I LOVE THESE BOOKS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Cool and awesome

    This book is really really really awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Great book

    Fun and silly book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Awesome!!!!

    Write more and the guy who did one star is stupid

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Dont listen to the guy who rated one star

    How could someone not like these books? Theyre so good and scary!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    curse of the campfire weenies is a really good book!

    this book is funny,has good tales.the first time, I didn't want to read it. after I read it I wanted more of the series I rewally suggest you to read this book even if the cover makes it look boring to you. this is a really good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book for reading aloud

    I am a teacher and I have used many of the stories in this book as read alouds for the students that I have in an upper elementary setting. These stories kept my students on the edge of their seats. The humor is also perfect for this age level too. This would be a good book for kids who do not like to read due to the fact that it is written as short stories. Kids will love this book if they like scary and weird stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I Love this book, and the other ones

    I love this book so much! It gets a little scary at times, but it really leaves you on a cliff hanger and makes you think! I say this book ages from eight-twelve! It's the best short story type of book ever! I hope you read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The curse of the campfire wienies.

    The curse of the campfire wienies is the best book ever. There are a lot of little stories. All of the stories are scary so boo!!!! Did I scare you? If I didn¿t the book will. Most of the stories have two main characters. They are not all the same characters. There is one story that will blow out your mind. It is pretty funny so try to read it. Contain yourself here comes the CURSE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2