Customer Reviews for

Curse of the Spellmans: Document #2

Average Rating 4
( 124 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Funny Style!

I love this series, but this is my favorite of the three I've read, so far. It's really out there as far as the story line and the characters. The writing is quite funny and I enjoyed it all throughout the series. My favorite recurring line is: "I have no idea what y...
I love this series, but this is my favorite of the three I've read, so far. It's really out there as far as the story line and the characters. The writing is quite funny and I enjoyed it all throughout the series. My favorite recurring line is: "I have no idea what you're talking about." Read it and find out!!

posted by NookaholicIL on July 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Curse of the Spellmans

I found the writing style childish and very difficult to follow. The characters were unrealistic. I felt she was trying to write in the style of Janet Ivanovich but she very badly missed the mark. I read about 50 pages and gave it to the book charity drive at Dominick's...
I found the writing style childish and very difficult to follow. The characters were unrealistic. I felt she was trying to write in the style of Janet Ivanovich but she very badly missed the mark. I read about 50 pages and gave it to the book charity drive at Dominick's.

posted by BookloverBRONX on February 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Funny Style!

    I love this series, but this is my favorite of the three I've read, so far. It's really out there as far as the story line and the characters. The writing is quite funny and I enjoyed it all throughout the series. My favorite recurring line is: "I have no idea what you're talking about." Read it and find out!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Love this series

    CD/abridged/Chick-Mystery: There are times I get an unbridged audio and wish it was abridged and then there are times I get an abridged and feel it is the right length. However, with the Spellman Files series I wish I had the unabridged. There is so much to like about this dysfunctional family that happens to be private detectives. Izzy is a lot like Stephanie Plum, only Izzy is a little smarter and less girly. I like that the endings aren't so predictable and not everyone is happily ever after. I did see the beginnings of a future love triangle forming in this one. This one starts with Izzy getting arrested for the fourth time in two weeks and the back-story to follow. It's really good stuff and I recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2010

    Spellman's #2 I dare you not to laugh!

    The second Spellman book is an absolute treat. You will laugh out loud as the author continues to build the colorful characters.
    Once you pick it up, you'll have a hard time putting it down. It's hard not to start anticipating the third book while you're still reading this one! This is a series that I hope lasts as long as Stephanie Plums!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A great book!

    My friend bought me the first book in this series and I've been hooked ever since. The characters are hilarious, but they're crafted to be so human that they pull on your heartstrings. The flow of the plot and the writing style is unique and interesting, but you quickly get pulled into the story and start to enjoy the format. I'm not the type of person who usually laughs out loud, but the antics of the Spellman family had me cracking up!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Loving this series!

    So worth the read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Great series

    I just discover Lisa, and I love this series. The Spellmans, though competent and great PIs are an act in and of themselves and take family dynamics to an all new level. The main character is both funny and slightly sad at the same tine- you are always rooting for her to get her act together.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Waste of time!

    The first book in this series, "The Spellman Files" was fun to read. The novel way of adding footnotes to explain past references, etc. was refreshing. When I picked up this second book in the series the same approach was tedious and detracted from the plot and the character development. I kept hoping that some of the characters had developed a semblance of at least a minimal intelligence! The younger sister needs to have a "time out" for the sake of the readers...at least be sent to her room for an extended period. I can't say how disappointed I was in this book. The author needs to change her style. I don't think I would ever buy another book in this series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    If Stephanie Plum was Jewish...

    The Spellman Files books are humorous, if predicatbale, but just a little too similar to the Stephanie Plum series to be called original. There is a different level of dysfunction with the Spellmans than there is with the Plums, and the Spellman females are, frankly, irritating even as fictional characters. The plot of this book is pretty easy to figure out if you can get past the outrageous behavior of the protagonist to actually pay attention to the plot. Her mother is no better, and her sister worse; by the end of the book you will have developed an empathty if not sympathy for those close to them...especially the ones who don't want to be but are having their lives disrupted anyway. Funny series though, easy reading, something light for when you're in that mood.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    Curse of the Spellmans

    I found the writing style childish and very difficult to follow. The characters were unrealistic. I felt she was trying to write in the style of Janet Ivanovich but she very badly missed the mark. I read about 50 pages and gave it to the book charity drive at Dominick's.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    love this crazy family

    a great series love the spellmans

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    RECOMMEND

    I HAVE ENJOYED THIS SERIES AND WILL CONTINUE TO READ THEM.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Loved it!

    The Spellmans are quirky and hilarious.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Fun read!

    Quick wit, seriously dysfunctional family, great dry humor. Is a feel good series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    More zany fun with the Spellmans

    Lisa Lutz has done it again. Can't help loving this crazy family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Not my first choice

    I'm not impressed with the Spellmans. Trying too hard to be funny. SLOW and tedious! Won't be reading anymore of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    Fun series

    While I enjoyed the first book in the series more, I still found this to be fun to read.

    I will buy the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This was the most "fun" read I have experienced in a very long time...I laughed out loud which is very unusual for me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Loved it

    I just finished this,the second in the series and enjoyed it as much as the first. As soon as I read the last line I went to the shop feature of my Nook and bought the third in the series. Funny, charming escapism reading, not meant to be deep literature or compelling mystery. Fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Laugh til you stop

    I read the first, and had to have the second! These are funny funny funny books. Very Janet Evonavitch (sp?) - with a fabulous cast of characters.

    I highly recommend the series for anyone needed to really relax and enjoy a dysfunctional family.


    KER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Ok

    Not the best books. Really wouldnt recommend. Too much writing for such a dull story author could of said the same in 100 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7