Customer Reviews for

Curse of the Spellmans (Spellman Files Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 125 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Funny Style!

I love this series, but this is my favorite of the three I've read, so far. It's really out there as far as the story line and the characters. The writing is quite funny and I enjoyed it all throughout the series. My favorite recurring line is: "I have no idea what y...
I love this series, but this is my favorite of the three I've read, so far. It's really out there as far as the story line and the characters. The writing is quite funny and I enjoyed it all throughout the series. My favorite recurring line is: "I have no idea what you're talking about." Read it and find out!!

posted by NookaholicIL on July 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Curse of the Spellmans

I found the writing style childish and very difficult to follow. The characters were unrealistic. I felt she was trying to write in the style of Janet Ivanovich but she very badly missed the mark. I read about 50 pages and gave it to the book charity drive at Dominick's...
I found the writing style childish and very difficult to follow. The characters were unrealistic. I felt she was trying to write in the style of Janet Ivanovich but she very badly missed the mark. I read about 50 pages and gave it to the book charity drive at Dominick's.

posted by BookloverBRONX on February 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Funny Style!

    I love this series, but this is my favorite of the three I've read, so far. It's really out there as far as the story line and the characters. The writing is quite funny and I enjoyed it all throughout the series. My favorite recurring line is: "I have no idea what you're talking about." Read it and find out!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Love this series

    CD/abridged/Chick-Mystery: There are times I get an unbridged audio and wish it was abridged and then there are times I get an abridged and feel it is the right length. However, with the Spellman Files series I wish I had the unabridged. There is so much to like about this dysfunctional family that happens to be private detectives. Izzy is a lot like Stephanie Plum, only Izzy is a little smarter and less girly. I like that the endings aren't so predictable and not everyone is happily ever after. I did see the beginnings of a future love triangle forming in this one. This one starts with Izzy getting arrested for the fourth time in two weeks and the back-story to follow. It's really good stuff and I recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A great book!

    My friend bought me the first book in this series and I've been hooked ever since. The characters are hilarious, but they're crafted to be so human that they pull on your heartstrings. The flow of the plot and the writing style is unique and interesting, but you quickly get pulled into the story and start to enjoy the format. I'm not the type of person who usually laughs out loud, but the antics of the Spellman family had me cracking up!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Loving this series!

    So worth the read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Great series

    I just discover Lisa, and I love this series. The Spellmans, though competent and great PIs are an act in and of themselves and take family dynamics to an all new level. The main character is both funny and slightly sad at the same tine- you are always rooting for her to get her act together.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    love this crazy family

    a great series love the spellmans

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Loved it!

    The Spellmans are quirky and hilarious.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    I love them

    I read the first book and loved it! Since then I have bought all of them, they are hilarious, and great reads. I wish they had more intresting covers, I bought the first book on a whim, otherwise by just looking at the cover I would not have bought it and missed out a great author and her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Fun read!

    Quick wit, seriously dysfunctional family, great dry humor. Is a feel good series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    More zany fun with the Spellmans

    Lisa Lutz has done it again. Can't help loving this crazy family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Laugh til you stop

    I read the first, and had to have the second! These are funny funny funny books. Very Janet Evonavitch (sp?) - with a fabulous cast of characters.

    I highly recommend the series for anyone needed to really relax and enjoy a dysfunctional family.


    KER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Only read if you like clever and unique writing

    Book is a quick and entertaining read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    a must read!

    a zany, crazy, truly funny and witty read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2009

    Spellman continues her wacky adventure

    Lisa Lutz does not disappoint in her second installment of the Spellman series. I loved finding out more about this disfunctional family and their zany antics. Can't wait to read the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Even better than the first

    The Spellman's are great, and if you did not read the first book in the series, it doesn't matter. Lisa Lutz does a good job a reviewing just enough facts to let the reader know what he needs to without go over the whole previous story. I've read the third book as well and truly recommend them all. They are easy, light reads that help you take your mind off things. The stories thouch on everything from mystery to the typical sibling rivalry (although a little atypical when the whole family is full of p.i.s)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Spellmans are addictive

    I didn't expect this book to be as good as the first book The Spellman Files, but it as better. Extremely entertaining - not just fluff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2009

    Funny from the get go

    The Spellman Files - Lisa Lutz<BR/>> <BR/>> Isabel "Izzy" is an integral part of the family business, the family <BR/>> is in the business of Private Investigation. However, this family could<BR/>> use some investigating itself. Most high school antics are long<BR/>> forgotten after graduation, poor Izzy, hers may just outlive her. <BR/>> They are still haunting her at 28.<BR/>> <BR/>> Being an employee of your parents is never an easy task, but when your <BR/>> folks own a PI business, life could not be harder. You never know <BR/>> when they will send you on a job simply to follow you themselves. <BR/>> Izzy walks a thin line between daughter and employee and middle child. <BR/>> She must live in the shadow of her "perfect" big brother and set an <BR/>> example for her much younger little sister. She catalogs her <BR/>> boyfriends by file number and last statement. She has a best friend <BR/>> who is hiding something very important from her. In her little <BR/>> sisters effort to get a "normal" family she takes matters into her own <BR/>> hands and causes chaos and the gambling alcoholic uncle that lives <BR/>> with them is no help. This is a laugh out loud weather you want to or <BR/>> not kind of book. So kick back, grab a mocha chino and a box of <BR/>> tissue ('cause you'll laugh so hard you'll cry) and have a great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2008

    Loved it

    I could not put it down.. Laughed out loud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2008

    Curse of the Spellmans

    This is a funny book. It is not much of a mystery it is even better than that. There is lots I could say, but the bottom line is there is no one I could think of I rather spend a couple hours next to on a barstool than Isabel Spellman, the heroine and narrator of the Spellman books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    You'll Be Waiting for the Next.

    I truly feel that Lisa Lutz writing style is one of the best out there. She always leaves you laughing and rolling your eyes as Izzy Spellman takes you on another crazy quest for 'the truth'. I believe the reader is step ahead of Izzy so you know the ending before, which makes waiting for the light bulb to switch on above Izzy's head so entertaining. Henry Stone has to be one of the greatest characters to enter into the Spellman web and still remain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3