BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Curse the Dawn (Cassie Palmer Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 276 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(158)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

LOVED IT!

I've loved this series from the beginning, and this book didn't disappoint. Like another reviewer said, I'd love to see them turned into a television series. All of the winning elements are there...come on, HBO and Showtime!
Cassie is still evolving, which I always lik...
I've loved this series from the beginning, and this book didn't disappoint. Like another reviewer said, I'd love to see them turned into a television series. All of the winning elements are there...come on, HBO and Showtime!
Cassie is still evolving, which I always like to see. The oh-so-interesting state of her love life has me whining for the next book already. I think that her choice is even harder than Sookie's...I mean, how can a girl choose between a devoted, powerful, rich, super hot Romanian vampire and, well...an equally hot, rugged, BRITISH (yay for the accent!), equally powerful half sex demon wizard?
Hmmm...when put that way, I know what I'd choose. Sigh.
Oh, and the tie-in with her Midnight's Daughter series is a nice touch. It had me wanting to shake Cassie and tell her to stop being so suspicious.

posted by Darsey_spudnick on August 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Better than the last

This fourth installment is a modest improvement over the last two. It's a good read but missing a little something to qualify among my favorites. The story is still plagued by an excess of action and a lack of reflection. I was surprised to find how little time has pass...
This fourth installment is a modest improvement over the last two. It's a good read but missing a little something to qualify among my favorites. The story is still plagued by an excess of action and a lack of reflection. I was surprised to find how little time has passed in the timeline since the first novel; it has made the plot a tad less believable as Cassie has essentially experienced a nonstop chaotic series of disastersand life changing revelations since Touch the Dark. She has yet to take any time to reflect and the pace never slows. The series would be improved by a short break from the frenzied pacing to focus on character development.

posted by Amshar on May 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 158 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED IT!

    I've loved this series from the beginning, and this book didn't disappoint. Like another reviewer said, I'd love to see them turned into a television series. All of the winning elements are there...come on, HBO and Showtime!
    Cassie is still evolving, which I always like to see. The oh-so-interesting state of her love life has me whining for the next book already. I think that her choice is even harder than Sookie's...I mean, how can a girl choose between a devoted, powerful, rich, super hot Romanian vampire and, well...an equally hot, rugged, BRITISH (yay for the accent!), equally powerful half sex demon wizard?
    Hmmm...when put that way, I know what I'd choose. Sigh.
    Oh, and the tie-in with her Midnight's Daughter series is a nice touch. It had me wanting to shake Cassie and tell her to stop being so suspicious.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Karen Chance affirms that she is one of the best fantasists today with her fourth Palmer thriller

    When the gods were banished from earth, those using the magic bestowed on them by Artemis banded together to create the Silver Circle. Apollo keeps in touch with the mages through the Pythians, but the Silver Circle has kept the chief Pythian under their control for millennia. Cassie Palmer is the current head Pythia, but the Silver Circle fears her independence as she refuses to bow to their control leaving her in their minds susceptible to Apollo¿s manipulations.<BR/><BR/>They place a large bounty on her dead or alive. Cassie thinks they are acting stupid because their action places the Silver Circle at war with Apollo¿s followers, The Black Circle as well as the God himself who is playing his foes like a puppeteer pulling the strings of his puppets to abet his returning to earth to rule. Master vampire Senator Mircea Basarab protects Cassie, which further aggravates the combatant Circles as they assume the undead want to use Cassie for their own purposes. No one seems to respect Cassie as her own person as she repeatedly risks her life to do what she believes is ethically right.<BR/><BR/>Karen Chance affirms that she is one of the best fantasists today with her fourth Palmer thriller (see EMBRACE THE NIGHT, TOUCH THE DARK and CLAIMED BY SHADOW). Readers will believe that vampires, mages and distant interfering Gods exist in the Chance realm. The story line starts at the speed of light and accelerates from there as Cassie has a price on her head that brings out the avaricious dregs of society; leading the audience to ponder the question of whether the end ever justifies the means. The strong support cast, mostly her enemies, enhances this kick butt heroine¿s tale as she knows that the enemy of her enemy may remain her enemy.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Masterpiece!

    i highly recommend this series for anyone who likes humor romance drama vampires and war mages all twisted into one. It kept me entertained all the way throughout the fourth book and i am very eager to see the fifth book come out!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The BEST - read the whole series just for this book!

    Funny as all get out. I love the series, but this one takes the cake.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    Wow! What a find!

    I was looking for another book and found the first one in this series. I bought it on audio book for the office. Two chapters in and I was hooked. I went home and ordered the next two and then the third on my nook. I can't wait for the next. I hope she is fast. Wonderful series!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A fast-paced exciting read.

    A great installment in the Cassandra Palmer series. This book delivers action, suspense, intrigue, humor, romance, and a feast for the imagination. I couldn't put it down and it left me wanting more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Read!

    Karen Chance's Cassandra Palmer series has me hooked. Since, I've gone through each and every one of the Cassandra Palmer novels I can honestly say that her characters are dynamic and grow with each new addition! Karen Chance never lets you down and each time I open a new book of hers I feel like I've stepped into a wonderful world. I highly recommend the series and the author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    A great rollecoaster ride

    Cassie never disappoints. This book was terrific with the mix of action and sexual tension that is just right. I love the way Cassie interacts with Pritkin in this one. The friends she makes along the way are also way fun (ex. a transexual with a shoe fetish). I could not put this book down. Don't worry Mircea is still there!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome as usual

    I have learned to expect certain things from a Chance novel--great characters, strong plot, tons of imagination, thrills, chills and laugh out loud moments--and this book had them all in spades! I can't wait to see what's next for Cassie's crazy, dangerous life. Get this book; you won't be disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    Awesome

    A great continuation of a wonderful series!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    Great read!

    Keeps you interested from beginning to end!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    loved!

    I read all these books in one weekend! I couldn't put them down. ACTION PACKED!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Technicolor Rollercoaster!

    I adore this series. It has wonderfully vivid imagery and an intriguing plot. The test of a truly great book for me is if I think about it when I'm not reading it. I think about this series a lot! This is my favorite book in the series so far, and much of that is because this book is hilarious with loads of action. If you're an urban fantasy fan give this series a shot. It's lovely!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Can't go wrong with this one

    I love this series. I love the way everything ties together! I couldn't put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Couldn't Put It Down!

    In Curse the Dawn, Karen Chance yet again steps up the level of action, adventure, and intrigue. I am especially glad to see that the heroine is definitely taking on a more assertive, no-nonsense attitude with all things pertaining to her station as pythia and even more so with the sensually delicious men in her life. Things just got a lot more interesting. I am already anxious for the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series

    If you like paranormal this is a great series...keeps you on your feet as you are never sure where the author will take you next. That's saying alot since I'm good at sensing what will happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Curse the Dawn

    Excellent storyline, very thrilling and keeps you reading.
    Would like to see more romance but has enough keep you wondering.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    Series continues to fascinate.

    The ongoing struggles of the Pythia continues in a wonderful read. The staleness or worse yet, the boredom amd darkness that so often bogs down an author in a series is completely missing here. The story remains fresh, orginal, and just plain fun. "You shaved my legs?" still brings a smile and the anticipation of the next chapter...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Chance does it again.

    I can't believe the greatness that continues throughout this series. The book is just as good if not better than the first in the series. I can't wait for the continuation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    Curse the Dawn Cassie Palmer Series #4

    I loved absolutely everything about this book and can't wait for the next one to come. I love how Cassie and Pritkin interact with each other. I hope they end up as a couple in the end. The book moved at a great pace and the only reason why I put it down was to sleep and that was after being up until 2 am.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 158 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8