Customer Reviews for

The Cursed (Vampire Huntress Legend Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    Satisfied

    Came quickly and was satisfied

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2008

    Not a filler book.

    This is not just some filler book to fill in the time between the 'The Armageddon Finale' books (10-12) and the last epic battle book. This book stands on its own two feet. Knowledge of the previous books is not required, but very helpful to get the full understanding of the various character interactions. New readers will definitely get their appetites whetted and want to read the entire series. This book ties up various loose ends from not only the last book but concludes or furthers some ongoing story lines from previous books. Our Neterus and Guardians begin to go back to where it all began both physically, mentally and spiritually. The big war is comming and they get to test out some new powers and show off their skills both on and off the battle field.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2007

    Best Book By LA banks SO far

    oh my god i love this book it the best one so far lilth is even crazy in this one given birth to demons and she even got her husband all up in the mix i cant wait to read the last one i really dont believe that d and carlos can kill her or her husband they been alive for so long and he always saving her when she close to getting murk i think d should get pregnant in this last book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2007

    Ever Amazing

    Hell is silent. Cain is dead. The Unnamed One, furious. Lilith, moments away from being stumped into another puddle of oil, tells the Dark One that she has secreted Cain¿s heir away out of Neteru tracking range to the Land of Nod. To her surprise, her husband is thrilled, revealing a secret of his own, rewards her, and installs her as the Chairwoman of the Vampire Council. Meanwhile, Carlos and the male guardians, fed up with Lilith and sensing something foul afoot, posse up (heedless of their wives¿ objections) and take the fight to all the way to Lilith¿s lair¿in Babylon! Total destruction is their calling card. In the heat of battle, each guardian discovers a marital bonus. And Adam¿s unexpected appearance guarantee¿s their safe return home and opens the first seal of the Armageddon. Once the Level Seven occupants realize what the Neteru team has done, Chairwoman Lilith goes to work. Treacherous Evil is her middle name, and she raises the dark covens and some of mythology and history¿s greatest villains such as Medusa, Siren, Genghis Khan, and Machiavelli. Fallon Nuit is restored. Even Yonnie takes a throne. This plan, if it succeeds, will detonate and destroy the Team from the inside out. This is it. Carlos knows it because he started it. He refuses the comfort of Damali¿s arms and wings. The Team, the whole world is at stake. Summoned before the Neteru Council of Kings and Queens, the pair learns how bad things really are. Not wanting another biblical seal broken, Carlos pleads with Hannibal to put his red stallion back in the stable while Damali solidifies plans to unify all guardian teams worldwide with a Warriors of Light Tour. THE CURSED, book nine of the Vampire Huntress Legend series, continues to please. The Team¿s visit to the Holy Land had me in tears. Get ready for brilliantly choreographed battle scenes. Get ready for more of Eric Battle¿s illustrations. Get ready to experience the galaxy. Banks¿ masterful storytelling continues to blur the line between fiction and reality, blending religion and myth, creating delightful characters, some whom I intensely wish were real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2007

    VHL is the best vamp chronicle written!

    WOW!!!! I have spent the last 6 months reading all of the series and boy was this one worth waiting for! Damali and Carlos and the Guardian team are some of the most well developed characters I have ver gotten to know. When is the next book coming out?!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    With every book it gets better & better. I absolutely LOVED this book, series...OMG!! I had to give Lilith her props her diabolical plan has redeemed her in my eyes as a formidable foe to our heroine Damali!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2007

    The Legend Continues!

    Honeymoon bliss for the Guardian Team is short lived in The Cursed, book 9 of the Vampire Huntress Legend 'VHL' Series. While Lilith is making up with the Unnamed One, he tells her some very interesting information about a secret that she thought she was hiding from him. While this is going on, every male Guardian gets weird vibes that something is going on in hell and knows that it has something to do with Lilith. So, against the female Guardians' pleas, they go down to Lilith's lair to try and stop any madness before it begins. In the aftermath of the battle, the first seal is broken and the Armageddon has been accidentally started. To keep the Neterus and the Guardian team occupied while awaiting the birth of the unholy offspring, Lilith gets appointed chairwoman and is given permission to reform the vampire council. To help her in her evil crusade, Fallon Nuit has been reinstated as a councilman. Also, Lilith resurrects some of the most evil and nastiest beings who weren't beheaded by an Isis blade. Those resurrected help to put an evil curse into motion against Damali. Will the curse hinder Damali in performing her Neteru duties?--------------------Meanwhile in Nod, with Cain's absence, the land is in chaos. Lilith promised the dark hybrids that they will be free to fight on her side once the Armageddon comes, so the darker hybrids are no longer hiding in the dark side of Nod. They are actively at war with what's left of the good hybrids in Nod, led by a hybrid named Valkyrie. Will the good hybrids succeed at keeping the darker hybrids from escaping?--------------------I read this book and it had my head spinning! As usual, L.A. Banks hits us with a splendid tale that brings together action, suspense, mystery, mind blowing battle scenes and love scenes. The love scenes are vivid and tasteful. For those of you who love the Neteru Queens and Kings you're in for a treat, because they also make several appearances throughout the book. In this book, you will be happy to know that everyone on the Guardian team steps up their game when it comes to fighting for the LIGHT. Even though it didn't have as much drama as the previous title I really enjoyed this installment of the VHL. This book also has a sneak peek at Crimson Moon: Bad Blood, L.A. Banks' new werewolf series that is sure to be a hit! If you're a big fan of this series then I highly recommend that you read this book. Especially if you want to find out what happens to Yonnie.----------Lashonda Bates

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2007

    L.A. Banks has done it again!

    You guessed it, LA Banks has done it again! This, the 9th book in the series is a perfect example of how love conquers all, and how good will always prevail over evil. Lilith, consort to the Unnamed One is literally in Hell, begging for her life. Her husband is furious, that she has caused the death of his two heirs (Dante and Cain). She soon advises him that she can redeem herself because she has hidden an heir to the throne (his throne),in the Land of Nod (hidden away from the Neterus). While her previous actions may have appeared reckless, she can and will redeem herself she assures him, by even more scandalous means and devious plans. While they make up (those scenes are classic), the guardians appear to be cursed by Lilith, who is attempting to break up the group by affecting their relationships, via their sex lives. Having accidentially opened the first seal to Armageddon (via Adam's rage), the entire universe appears to be off kilter. Nod is in chaos (a warrior, Valkyrie fights valiantly and Damali feels that she must heal all) the pearl is grieving for Cain and appears to be infected Fallon Nuit is bidding his time and making allies Yonnie is trying to maintain his sanity and play the game Guardian powers are combined and strengthened (apparently marriage does have it's advantages) Biblical science is told and explained and Lilith is recreating the Vampire Council by resurrecting some of the most vicious characters in history (i.e., Sebastian, Medusa, Jezebel, Machiavelli, and Genghis Khan)..., and all while the Covenant and the Guardians struggle to maintain the balance of good and evil on Earth. If you are a lover of the series, or looking for something 'brilliant' to read, The Cursed is perfect. For devoted fans, we see old issues resolved (Tara,Yonnie and Rider), and new ones revealed (Dan and his lovely wife). And we are allowed to spend time with some of our favorite characters (people to us)..Marlene, Shabazz, Dan, Heather, Rider, Tara, Jose, Juanita, Big Mike and Inez. This book was so brilliantly written! Mrs. Banks created scenes that will make you laugh and cry, but most of all, this book will transport you into another world, one filled with well developed characters and plots. I can't wait for the next one, and do not want to see the series end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2007

    A reviewer

    I cannot begin to tell you how much I enjoyed this book. When I reach the end of the book, I always sit back and ask myself, how will she top this one, and sure enough the next is even better then I could ever imagined. The Cursed is no exception. Biblical references, make me pull out The Word, mythology and history keep me tuned to The History Channel, and the characters feel as though they are my family. I cry and laugh with them, and bob my head with my hands on my hips along with Damali when she gives someone a piece of her mind... The seeds planted in ones brain from this book will spark interest in many things, for me it was history of worlds long gone. Always been into history, but this sent me over the edge... The relationship between Carlos and Damali, the love in the family for each other gives hope. To have fictional characters feel as though they are your best friends and that you are a part of that family is remarkable. I crave to know what will happen next. We in the fan club talk about being addicts, junkies jonesin' for a VHL hit. I'm telling you now, to have to wait until February for 'The Darkness', the tenth installment, will leave a poor Warrior of Light in cold sweats. But there is nothing like taking a hit from re-reading the series and getting a little taste to stave off the shakes then a BTB 'Between the Books'. Mama Banks, done did it again. My only disappointment... that the series can't last forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2007

    The ninth and still on fire!!!!

    I may sound redundant but I feel the same way. I believe that The Series is getting better each launch. I have new hatred for the Lilith Character. You have to wonder when is she going to get her dues. The growth in all characters and the new ones created into light is mind boggling. I suggest that when you purchase this book turn off the cell or at least put it on vibrate and get all healthy snacks available, because you will be rooted in place until the end. I have already Pre-ordered the next installment 'The Darkness' and is trying to have some control or patience. God help me whew...I'M MIST...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2007

    4.5 - Banks is the BEST!

    Well this story opens in of all places HELL. Of course things are hot and fiery with Lilith and the Unnamed One discussing the bad sides loses but when Lilith lets her husband know of her ultimate plan things really get muy caliente! Seriously, the Unnamed One decides to surprise his wife and gift her with a few things she has so desperately been craving. And due to his old ties, Carlos is able to feel when certain energies are at their peak or depleted and weak. Going on instance alone, Carlos and the male counterparts of the Guardian team pay a visit to Lilith¿s empty liar and literally bust-up the place. When they return home, they have some explaining to do to their worried spouses. They left without fully explaining themselves! Hmmm, which subject should be broached first, the fact that they broke the first seal or their mad newlywed wives? .................................. So, the beginning to the end has begun thus the end is near aye? Indeed it is, with Lilith calling together witches, warlocks, and so on some of which are history¿s most menacing characters. Their strategy is to thwart the enemies, Damali, Carlos, and the Guardian team by attacking their sex drive. Ouch, they are all newlyweds! Lilith has another plan up her sleeve though and it requires the help of Damali which she is certain she will get. Seems like the evil guys have a leg up in this one but the good guys always come out the box with a few surprises no one ever expects, not even the guardian team! Will the good guys be able to overcome their enemies and ALL their ominous plans or will something anti-righteous escape to return again? .................................. The Cursed by LA Banks solidifies the fact that there is only one 'L.A. Banks' and that her vampire series is 'the' series to check out! I absolutely loved how Banks included characters like including Jezebel, Genghis Khan, and Medusa to name a few to create a sort of quintessential bad guy team. The plan that Lilith came up with was actually really clever! If given the chance, it would have caused some major damage to the team. The perk to The Cursed is undoubtedly the drawings created by illustrator Eric Battle! They really set the mood and give the reader a great visual as to what is happening within a given scene. Vampire Huntress Legend series fans get ready to hear words from each and every character as the battle between good and evil continues! This book is recommended for those who are fans of the series as well as those who have a love for history. .................................. Chantay W.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2007

    Blessings for 'The Cursed'

    I don't know what else folks are reading this summer, but this year's must read is The Cursed by L.A. Banks. With each installment of the VHL series, we are taken to even more dizzying heights than the last. From the first page to the last, the action, the scheming (by Lilith--yup, she's back, and bolder than ever!), and the dizzying roller-coaster ride that being part of any family provide will have you laughing out loud and talking to yourself. Are you still reading this?? You're just a click or two away from getting this book, what are you waiting for? Seriously--this book is THE best book you'll read this summer--Satisfaction guaranteed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2007

    L.A.Banks has done it AGAIN!

    This is the 9th book in the VHLS Series. I had thought that the book before this, The Wicked, was awesome! I was wrong, so wrong! L.A. Banks wields a pen like no other! As Damali, Carlos and the Guardians go forth to try and capture Lilith (the foul), the Team encounters turns and twists like never before!------------Lilith and her husband, The Un-Named One pursues their quest to bring forth Devil spawn, darker and more evil than the previous. While doing this they even try to lure Yolando into the fray! But The Team, led by Damali and Carlos, have acquired new powers that lead them to heights never known before! If you love adventure, intrique, mystery, macabre along with the true meaning of Love for the Family, you'll not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best horror authors writing today

    She is Lilith the wife of the Lord of Hell and he blames her for the death of vampires he had plans for but instead of torturing or killing her, he forgives her because she has done the one thing that makes him happy. She has created a child with him and hidden the embryo inside a hybrid-angel residing in the land of Nod. The inhabitants of Hell can¿t enter there and the people who fight for the Most High are forbidden to enter there.------------- Lilith knows she is in trouble because nothing grows is the place of banishment and if her husband finds out, he will be furious, a situation she wants to avoid at all costs. While husband and wife share a romantic two weeks together it ends when, Carlos, a Neturu married to Damali (also a Neturu) causes total chaos in Hell. He is helped by fellow Neturu Adam who breaks the first seal signifying the beginning of Armageddon. When Lilith tries to mess with Damali,, she enters Hell and deals Lilith and her minions deadly blow. However Lilith has a plan to free the angel-hybrid by using Damali as the instrument ensuring the birth of the antichrist. Carlos and Damali who don¿t know anything about her plans find themselves in a struggle that could kill them and all they hold dear.----------------- THE CURSED is a great horror novel filled with superb characters that one easily understands as one set works for the Creator and the others work for the devil. Lilith is particularly well drawn as a villain readers will love to hate. There is plenty of action in this fast paced work with the Neturus and the dead battling one demonic attack after another. L.A. Banks is one of the best horror authors writing today.---------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3