Customer Reviews for

Cursed

Average Rating 3.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely intrigued

Could not put it down. However there are 3 series that intwine. This and the other first two are free. I am hooked.

posted by 5116620 on December 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Short

Short book and an okay story.

posted by PattiW1 on February 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Absolutely intrigued

    Could not put it down. However there are 3 series that intwine. This and the other first two are free. I am hooked.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Darker side to the Fey world

    More 3 1/2 stars.

    London is called to a meeting with vampire associate and friend Selena, to meet a new client - Rico. London's new client is... special and curses her with a touch to working for him, a sidhe. Now she needs to find some specific information for him while jonsing for his next touch, but who knows what more will be needed or happen in the future.

    This short read starts out with a dark sexual, sensual feel to it. And even has a dark feel through it. After reading the other two short stories I liked the history supplied through London's contacts and the darkness here. This story introduces a few other elements to the other short stories, a history and the side of the fey's enemies. We learn much more of the Wizards and their brief history with the fey. We see the land is divided by the fey and wizards, Ireland and England.

    I'm curious to see how these three storylines touch each other through the future writings. They each add elements to the other series. All do have a feel of the beginnings of a book for each character, but do have an arc to the story and a close. Just a close that lets you want to know more.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2012

    Fantastic First Book in the Touched Series!

    Cursed is another one of the interweaving stories that S. A. Archer has written that holds much promise. Archer has taken a unique approach in writing short stories that while each can stand alone, they intertwine with one another. An added bonus is that they are short enough to be read in one sitting and leave the reader wanting more.

    In Cursed, we are introduced to private investigator London Eyer who has an interesting encounter with a Sidhe named Rico. Rico is appropriately named, because he is able to convince London to work for him exclusively with his own special brand of magic that only a Sidhe possesses. I found myself unconsciously wishing I was in London's shoes despite the fact that I have no skills at all in investigation.

    I really love the realm that Archer is setting up with these stories that are setting the foundation, I assume, for many others soon to follow. What I like most about this story is how much the reader is able to get into London's thoughts and understand her feelings. Since Rico has now 'Touched' London leaving her consistently needing more, she now has no choice but to work for him and try to seek some relief to this special magic that she will now crave. Factor in a few Changelings, a chatty Wood Elf and a Vamp who also happens to be London's best friend and the stage is set perfectly for action and adventure that contains things that are not always as they appear. These are definitely not the fairy tales of your childhood!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    It should not be in the kids section

    Not appropriate

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    not REcommended

    did not care for this one

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Its only the first chapter

    Its only the first chapter

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Short

    Short book and an okay story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    The Cursed

    London job just got worst, she had it bad working for vampires and werewolves, in walks Rico. Her life is turned upside down in a few hours.

    And we complaint about our work day.. read the Cursed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    Exciting new series. *Book source ~ Many thanks to the author f

    Exciting new series.

    *Book source ~ Many thanks to the author for providing a review copy in exchange for an honest review.

    London Eyer is a private investigator specializing in the paranormal. When she is blackmailed into working for Rico of the Sidhe her life changes in an instant. She may be forced to work for him, but she’s not doing it without fighting for all she’s worth. She will do the job, but as much on her terms as possible considering the Curse he’s put on her. The question is: Will she survive?

    Ok, this story is definitely a good start to a new series. It’s very short, so there’s only a brief glimpse of what this new world and characters are like, but it’s enough to make we want more. I like London. A lot. She reminds me of Harry Dresden (though he’s a wizard) and Anita Blake in the early books (though she’s a necromancer), but the attitude is one that I enjoy reading. She may be forced to do something, but she’s not going to just roll over and play nice. The ending is very intriguing and not how I expected it to turn out, but I very much look forward to reading more in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Interesting

    Like the writing and the beginning of what could be a great book. Not interested in short stories however

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Short

    Can ee have page numbers in descriptions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    FUN

    This was a quick fun read. A great distraction from the everyday

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Interesting!

    An intresting take into a totally different world of fantasy. I enjoyed the characters and left me wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2