Customer Reviews for

Cursed: A Fallen Siren Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 29, 2013

    Before I started this book I told a friend, "I'm expecting

    Before I started this book I told a friend, "I'm expecting Mulder and Scully, only he's a werewolf and she's a siren - so I know I'll be disappointed."
    Am I glad to be WRONG.

    The comparison is even brought up jokingly in the book itself, but it's not exactly true. Other than both couples being FBI agents and the actual plot taking precedence over the romance, there's little else in common. But Cursed was still amazing!

    It's become so rare to find characters who act rationally and behave like adults, without petty drama clouding their decisions! All the characters were fully developed, I felt for them and there was never a moment I went, "That is so stupid!" - I know I'm repeating myself, but do you know how rare that is in UF?!

    So, Emma (formerly known as Ligea) is a siren working for the FBI to atone for letting Persephone be taken by Hades - Demeter will only let her get her life back if she doesn't fail in her job of finding and saving women - the way she failed with Persephone. Not only that, she's denied love - any man she loves and who loves her back is doomed to die.

    Enter Zack, her werewolf FBI partner, with whom she'd had a fling and now is back for good - and Emma can tell they're both falling for each other and that is obviously a problem.

    But don't be fooled by this PR description, the plot was solidly UF - emphasis on the case: a missing artist, followed by several other missing women (and men). And Emma and Zach have to find them before it's too late.

    I really, really!, enjoyed the mystery! I usually can tell who the villain is, but this one took so many twists and turns - I was extremely happy to be surprised!

    Also I should mention I hate love triangles with a burning passion which will never be extinguished, so I was absolutely blown away when there's a hint of a love triangle in this book... and I cheered for it. I know, I know, but it's so well written and it makes so much sense - and the characters are so vividly written and they are so normal (despite being supernatural beings) and reasonable that when the love triangle shows up (and I don't know if I can even call it a love triangle, a triangle possibility, maybe?), I just went, "Yeah, that makes sense, and it would probably be for the best."

    So - to all you love triangle haters (and I know there are a lot of us!), read this because it'll just amaze you how love triangles can be done right and not fill you to the brim with bile (as love triangles tend to do).

    Only one quibble with this: Emma mentioning Nero being responsible for burning Rome. That guy had obviously ran backwards into a wall of crazy, but that's one thing historians have managed to disprove - probably the one thing he didn't do.

    That aside, I highly recommend this to all UF readers, or any readers who enjoy a great book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    alright

    this was alright but not great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I liked the mystery in this book. The thing I didn't like was t

    I liked the mystery in this book. The thing I didn't like was the whiny heroine. I found her character to be flat and completely devoid of any likeable qualities. So unless the author revamps the character, I probably will not read the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    I loved this book, but I ask myself - who knew ol┬┐ goddess Demet

    I loved this book, but I ask myself - who knew ol’ goddess Demeter was such a …. cranky, haggish, bitter piece of work? 
    Very few people know that FBI Special Agent Emma Monroe is actually one of three – EVER – Sirens from Greek “mythology.” She has struggled for eons to gain redemption from goddess Demeter, who holds her accountable for the loss of her daughter, Persephone. Her one-time, and now permanent partner is FBI Special Agent Zack Armstrong, is a werewolf who thinks his secret is safe. They share a passion for one another, and a brief past that must never, never be repeated, let alone allowed to develop. As they peel back the layers of their first case, a dark supernatural threat begins to emerge, and it takes every bit of cunning they possess to follow the leads to a very dangerous end. 
    This book is smart and well written, with strong characters and tough, very tough decisions. I appreciate the pacing, the storytelling, and the way S.J. Harper walks a beautiful line between passion for the sake of a sex scene, and the kind of love that sometimes calls for extraordinary sacrifice. Very well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2013

    Great book, very emotional at times. I loved this book and I can

    Great book, very emotional at times. I loved this book and I can't wait to read more of this series. I highly recommend reading this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    I received an e-copy of this book in exchange for an honest revi

    I received an e-copy of this book in exchange for an honest review

    I have to admit that the first night I started reading Cursed I started it late at night and kept getting thrown out of the story. Why? The speech tags (all those he said, she replied, etc.) that we’re so used to seeing and generally skip over are written in present tense (he says, she replies). In most books I read they’re written in past tense. I wasn’t used to it or maybe I was just sleepy, but it threw me. But by the time I picked it back up on day 2, I had adjusted, became completely engrossed in the story, and went right back to not noticing them anymore.

    When I say I became engrossed in the story, I flew through it. The action is well paced, broken up with a bit of smexy fun times, and has a mystery that keeps you circling back on suspects. A plus for me too, is that Emma is a Siren and I’ve not read anything with Sirens so yay! a new paranormal entity. Don’t go thinking that the Sirens in Cursed are the whole mermaid type, nope, Emma is one of three mythological sisters cursed by Demeter. Sure she has certain seductive and suggestive powers that can have a certain , erm, effect on men but she’s not luring them to a watery grave.

    Rounding out this UF cast so far, we have werewolves, in the form of hunky Zack Armstrong, witches, and vampires. I enjoyed the interactions between the characters, particularly Emma and Zack as they try to figure each other out. Emma knows Zack’s a werewolf but doesn’t know his past and Zack? He just knows that Emma is….other, and has no idea what.

    I wish there was a little more world building and more of Emma and Zack’s histories, but that hopefully that means we’ll be finding out more as the series progresses. That gives us all something to look forward to because Cursed definitely needs to be on your TBR.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Devilish Diva - Shawnie: *eB

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Devilish Diva - Shawnie:

    *eBook gifted by LITERAL ADDICTION to write an honest review


    Emma Monroe is an F.B.I. Agent with a twist - she's a cursed Siren. Cursed by the Gods to live for one thing... Redemption.

    Her siren abilities help her to solve the missing persons cases she is assigned and she is good at what she does. But her routine life
    is about to get a shake up with the help of Agent Zachary Armstrong. Her new partner, in solving crime.

    Zach is a werewolf, with a past
    darker than he wants it to be, and he too is on a path of redemption. When the chance to start over in a different state come to him, he
    transfers to the San Diego field office and doesn't look back. But there are fractions that don't want to let him go, and she has followed
    him to San Diego.


    These two are similar in ways Emma doesn't want to admit, and there is no way she can or will admit to the attraction she feels towards Zach. The willing attraction between the two of them that has nothing to do with her powers. I was a disappointed
    with Emma because it just felt like she gave Zach the third degree about his life, but she refused to speak about hers. All her talk about
    trust, made me feel like she was bullsh*ting. There was many a times where I wanted to just stop reading.


    Right off the bat you can tell Zach's a good guy, who'd been dealt a bad hand early in life, but he's making up for it. They click together like missing pieces of a puzzle, but Emma wants to keep their relationship strictly professional. She at times seems like a super b**ch the way she comes at Zach,
    but he holds his own and doesn't let her get away with anything when it comes to talking about their lives.


    I warmed up to her once she got the stick out her butt, but that didn't even last long. She is so busy worrying about what others will think
    and do that she doesn't stop to think about what she does to people. The ending made me mad, and it took everything not to give this
    book a two star review off the ending alone. But that wouldn't have been fair. A nasty part of me hopes the decision she made comes back to bite her on the ass, in
    my humble opinion she doesn't deserve anything off that one act.


    The case was amazing, it was unexpected and brilliantly written on and then explained. I couldn't have imagined any of it. I am going to patiently wait for book and two and hope it doesn't upset me like
    this one did. This is the first book though, it was bound to have some rough edges.


    Honest rating 4 SKulls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Hot Mystery! Hot Romance! Hot New Series Start!

    People are going missing and the FBI is on the case, everyone is suspect and evil is afoot. Sounds like a good premise for another mystery, right? Add an ancient siren, cursed to be alone forever all because of one horrible family mistake and a hot, awesome and MAYBE just a little alpha-ish werewolf loner and you have as near to book nirvana as us mere mortal humans can get! That they already have a history that neither has quite gotten over is just a plus, a big plus, so big it took two authors combining their creative talent to dream up Cursed by S. J. Harper, the first in the new Fallen Siren Series!

    Emma Monroe seeks redemption from an angry goddess, while Zack Armstrong is determined to atone for a past that cost the lives of many, by using his future to save lives, each hiding their true identity from the world. Their attraction is so obvious, their dedication to doing the right thing no matter what the cost is admirable and in Emma’s case, sadly heartbreaking. Can these two work together without entangling their hearts?

    The S.J. Harper team is the dynamic duo of creative writing with witty dialogue, banter and tension, an ingenious plot that involves science, blackmail and the supernatural and an ending that leaves me wanting more Emma, more Zack and…just plain MORE! Did you two hear me? I want more!

    Lucky me! I received this review copy as part of the Cursed Book Blast Tour and Giveaway coming to Tome Tender October 31,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2013

    SJ Harper is the pseudonym of writing team Samantha Sommersby an

    SJ Harper is the pseudonym of writing team Samantha Sommersby and Jeanne C Stein and I thoroughly enjoyed this first instalment, I love UF and this was an intriguing beginning. There wasn't a huge info dump like a lot of first books have, you discovered things gradually as you needed to and there is still more to come! So far we have Sirens, Werewolves, Witches and Vampires, throw in FBI cases, likeable characters with sizzling chemistry and secretive pasts and you are onto a winner! Definitely a series I will be continuing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Cursed is the first book in the new Fallen Siren series by autho

    Cursed is the first book in the new Fallen Siren series by author S.J. Harper, a pseudonym for the writing duo of Samantha Sommersby and Jeanne C. Stein. Both authors are acclaimed in their own rights and have several books to their credit. Cursed a great combination of genres. You have elements of mystery and police procedural, the paranormal and urban fantasy elements and a bit of romance. The mix that results in a great novel that fans of many different kinds of writing will love. With strong characters, a touch of Greek mythology and vampire and werewolf mythos added in, this is one you won't soon forget.

    Emma Monroe is a siren. She and her sisters failed to save Persephone, the goddess Demeter's daughter from being kidnapped by Hades. And there isn't much worse than an goddess on the war path. Emma has spent thousands of years on Earth after being cast down trying to redeem herself. But Demeter is fickle and does not believe Emma is deserving of salvation. I loved the Greek mythology twist in Cursed. I have often read about Siren's but S.J. Harpers take on them was different and very interesting. The fact that Emma cannot have a loving relationship with a man for fear the Demeter will strike him dead, really adds a human element to the story. 

    Emma is trying to redeem herself by finding missing women as she works for the FBI. This was a great plot point. It allows the reader to have more than one aspect of the book to consider. You have the romantic angle, and mythology, now you have the mystery of finding a missing artist. I liked the way the authors were able to write the police procedural details without taking anything away from the overall story. Emma uses her abilities as a siren in her work and shows a side of herself that readers may not see otherwise.

    If that weren't enough to keep a reader on the edge of their collective seats, you have Zack Armstrong to consider as well. Zack is an FBI agent who becomes Emma's new partner. They have worked together before and Emma knows Zack has a secret of his own, he's a werewolf. He's definitely an alpha and the attraction between these two is palpable. I liked the fact that Harper is able to keep on track with the mystery angle and the romance. Emma can't get too close though or Zack might end up dead. So we add in another element, the werewolf equation. If you are thinking that all of these different aspects of the story might become confusing, you would be surprisingly wrong. It was easy to figure it all out and the pacing of the novel was perfect. You get the back story from all the different kinds of characters in bits and pieces and are not overwhelmed by it. Did I mention there was a vampire and witch in this novel too? 

    Who doesn't love a story about an ill-fated relationship? Usually, the story ends up with a happy-ever-after despite all of the obstacles. But you have to remember, this is urban fantasy. If you are counting on the romance between Emma and Zack  following the normal patterns, you'd be wrong. I loved the whole idea behind this duo. They were so completely different but they were facing the same obstacle... redeeming themselves for past wrongs. I loved the way the authors were able to make the connection between these two characters so real. If was more than just lust, there was some real substance to it, which made it all the more rote with peril.

    Can't wait to see what happens in the next one, we have two more sisters to meet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Okay

    I was really eager to read this book. The story is interesting and so are the characters. I just thought it would be better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    First time with these authors  loved the book , cant wait for th

    First time with these authors  loved the book , cant wait for the second third  so forth , Quite a twist , Really like Zack 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2013

    When I started reading this book, I didn't know what to expect.

    When I started reading this book, I didn't know what to expect. I'm newer to the Urban Fantasy/Paranormal Genre. The authors did a fantastic job mixing the fantasy with real life. The characters are awesome. I had to do a little research for this book because I wasn't exactly for sure what a Siren was. For her to be an FBI agent saving lives is just an interesting little twist!

    In the beginning there is a lot of tension between Emma and Zack. There is feelings that shouldn't be there for partners, or for Emma at all. Anyone she gets too close to ends up dead... 

    Emma knew she was getting a new partner, but she didn't know it was Zack. She worked with Zack before in Charleston. Before wrapping up their assignment, they had a night of passion. Even though they had agreed that it was just a one time thing, no cards, no flowers,  no emails, doesn't mean that they both didn't think of each other. Especially Emma.

    As soon as Zack arrives, there is a missing persons case. The is a favor of a friend of the DA's. A young painter named Amy is missing. The duo digs around and finds another young women is missing, and then Emma's best friend boyfriend. They have all ties to a famous plastic surgeon. Is he hiding something? Is he the only connection the missing have?

    Even though Emma knows Zack is a Were, she never lets it be know that she knows. Will this team finally confide in each other and let their secrets be known? Will they find the missing persons? 1-click to find out.

    I really liked this book. I stayed up all night reading it. :) 4.5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Cursed, the terrific first installment in the Fallen Siren serie

    Cursed, the terrific first installment in the Fallen Siren series, grabs the reader immediately and holds them until the end. Emma Monroe, an FBI agent specializing in missing persons cases in San Diego, gets a shock when Zack Armstrong arrives to take the position as her new partner. Just over a year ago, Emma and Zack worked a case together in Charleston, which they solved, but they also ended up in bed together that final night they worked together. Emma has been trying (somewhat unsuccessfully) to put that night out of her mind, due to the fact that her involvement with men often leads to unpleasant ends for them, given her hidden identity as a Siren (one of only three), doomed to punishment by the goddess Demeter for failing to save her daughter, Persephone, from the Underworld.

    Emma’s curse consists of two parts: her emotional attachment to men can end in their deaths, and she must work tirelessly to return missing women and girls to their loved ones, leading to her eventual redemption. Through the spell-crafting abilities of her witch friend, Liz, Emma keeps her true, irresistible Siren face and power under a glamour, though she does occasionally let down a wall just enough to use her skill to get others to tell the truth while working a case. Emma, able to spot other supernatural beings, knows Zack’s secret nature as a werewolf, though he remains unaware of her knowledge. Together, Emma and Zack must not only locate a missing artist, a case which leads in unexpected directions, but also must navigate the undeniable attraction they feel–a dangerous situation for Zack.

    The authors provide a true page-turner featuring a skillfully-executed melding of elements that define urban fantasy: intriguing paranormal elements, a highly-satisfying mystery, and fascinating characters. Both Emma and Zack have detailed backstories that we learn just enough about to understand the significance of events in the book, yet feel certain more will be revealed in subsequent installments. The pacing and suspense never flags, yet does not reach the frenetic stage which often overshadows plot. In addition, with its subtle thread of humor and splash of sex, Cursed truly has something for everyone and will please urban fantasy and paranormal romance fans alike. This reviewer eagerly awaits book two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Enjoyable

    I'll pick up the next book in the series, but what the author did to the hero in the end is not my favorite plot device.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The writing team of S.J. Harper creates this fabulous story that

    The writing team of S.J. Harper creates this fabulous story that contains a strong and intriguing female heroine, a hot alpha werewolf, ex-lover as our heroines FBI partner and a wonderfully difficult mystery that is brilliantly solved. Emma Monroe is a cursed Siren that will capture your heart. Zach Armstrong is a gloriously hot, dream worthy love interest causing lots of conflict in Emma and her desire to keep Zach safe from her curse. The mystery of the missing vampires is magnificently executed. Keeping us guessing till the end but giving us the perfect conclusion and closure. I can't finish without mentioning the witty character byplay. Cursed is a marvelous story and what a start to a fantastic new series.

    S.J. Harper is the team of Samantha Sommersby and Jeanne Stein. Two marvelously talented writer that have come together to start this fabulous new series.

    I received this copy of Cursed from PENGUIN GROUP Berkley, NAL / Signet Romance, DAW - Roc in exchange for a honest review. This book published October 1, 2013.

    Written by: S. J. Harper
    Series: Fallen Siren
    Sequence in Series: 1
    Print Length: 304 pages
    Publisher: Roc 
    Publication Date: October 1, 2013
    Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC
    ISBN-13: 9780425263297
    Rating: 5 Stars
    Genre: Dark Fantasy
    Age Recommendation: Adult

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    S.J. Harper's Cursed was phenomenal! Authors Samantha Sommersby

    S.J. Harper's Cursed was phenomenal! Authors Samantha Sommersby and Jeanne C. Stein team up to create this totally fantabuously amazing read! I am always blown away when authors team up and write a book together. For the most part, the book reads like it's told by one voice! At times I like to think I might know when Jeanne was writing, having never read Samantha before, but it's hard to tell as a reader. All I can say is that S.J. Harper is now a favorite author of mine!

    One of the most amazing things about this read is how it combines Greek mythology and modern day supernatural creatures! There's not a lot of Greek mythology going on, but Emma is definitely at the center of it. She's a Siren, one of three who failed to save Persephone from Hades and Demeter has punished all three of them. As to what her sisters are up to, we don't know...yet, maybe S.J. will let us know in future reads! Emma has been spending centuries on earth trying to right the wrongs she committed and save other young women from terrible fates. Working in the missing persons department at the FBI definitely fits the bill in that area. Life is simple for her.

    Until Zack Armstrong walks back into her life. Zack is a werewolf, she knows this due to her Siren nature. She knows a lot of things like that regarding the supernatural world and can recognize when someone is other than human. But Zack doesn't know she knows. A year ago the two worked a case in Charleston, SC together and things got intimate. But since Emma was leaving, she thought that would be the end of it since they agreed to let things go and not contact one another, but when Zack comes into her San Diego office and she is told he's her new partner...well, things aren't exactly looking sunny.

    For Emma has learned that if she indulges in having happiness with a man...find someone she ends up caring for and loves...Demeter kills them. It's always best to keep people away and not form loving relationships. As Demeter puts it, Emma is not meant for happiness until she is forgiven and she won't be forgiven until Demeter feels like it.

    Trying to avoid any romantic thoughts or feelings is hard, because there was something about Zack that Emma just couldn't shake off. It only makes it worse when it's clear that Zack feels the same way. But there is work to be done and that involves finding a missing person. Which then leads to two missing people and then three! Most shocking of all is that these three people all have something in common.

    I really, really enjoyed this read! It was like the perfect Urban Fantasy read for the Urban Fantasy reader! There's a good dose of action, a mix of supernaturals, action, a feisty heroine and smoldering, sexy hero! There are definitely go to be some challenges for Emma and Zack and that doesn't even include the main threat of Demeter. Zack's ex-girlfriend happens to be in town, who's also a werewolf. And then Emma ends up catching the eye of an unlikely fellow. Trouble is what's going to happen!

    I am most eager to see where this series goes! I love a good mystery and S.J. definitely delivers that in this read! Trying to find the missing persons seemed like a clear-cut case, but then so many other issues came up in the case that it made it not so easy to deal with anymore. I shudder to think how Emma and Zack will have to handle the legalities of other cases that they will deal with in the future, for in this world, the supernatural peeps are still in hiding, they live among us yes, but we feeble humans do not know of their existence.

    The Fallen Siren series promises to be one helluva Urban Fantasy read and I so look forwarded to seeing what adventures there are to be had! And of course the fate of our starcrossed lovers!


    Overall Rating 5/5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Slightly Impressed

    Earc given by LITERAL ADDICTION to write an honest review.
    Emma Monroe is an F.B.I. Agent with a twist - she's a cursed Siren. Cursed by the Gods to live for one thing... Redemption. Her siren abilities help her to solve the missing persons cases she is assigned and she is good at what she does. But her routine life is about to get a shake up with the help of Agent Zachary Armstrong. Her knew partner, in solving crime.

    Zach is a werewolf, with a past darker than he wants it to be, and he too is on a path of redemption. When the chance to start over in a different state come to him, he transfers to the San Diego field office and doesn't look back. But there are fractions that don't want to let him go, and she has followed him to San Diego.

    These two are similar in ways Emma doesn't want to admit, and there is no way she can or will admit to the attraction she feels towards Zach. The willing attraction between the two of them that has nothing to do with her powers. I was a disappointed with Emma because it just felt like she gave Zach the third degree about his life, but she refused to speak about hers. All her talk about trust, made me feel like she was bullsh*ting. There was many a times where I wanted to just stop reading.

    Right off the bat you can tell Zach's a good guy, who'd been dealt a bad hand early in life, but he's making up for it. They click together like missing pieces of a puzzle, but Emma wants to keep their relationship strictly professional. She at times seems like a super b**ch the way she comes at Zach, but he holds his own and doesn't let her get away with anything when it comes to talking about their lives.

    I warmed up to her once she got the stick out her butt, but that didn't even last long. She is so busy worrying about what others will think and do that she doesn't stop to think about what she does to people. The ending made me mad, and it took everything not to give this book a two star review off the ending alone. But that wouldn't have been fair. A nasty part of me hopes the decision she made comes back to bite her on the ass, in my humble opinion she doesn't deserve anything off that one act.

    The case was amazing, it was unexpected and brillantly written on and then explained. I couldn't have imagined any of it. I am going to patiently wait for book and two and hope it doesn't upset me like this one did. This is the first book though, it was bound to have some rough edges.

    Honest rating 4 Stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    Cursed by S.J. Harper is the first book in their Fallen Siren se

    Cursed by S.J. Harper is the first book in their Fallen Siren series. S.J. Harper is the pen name for the writing team of Samantha Sommersby and Jeanne C. Stein. Cursed is urban fantasy, with a Greek Goddess, a Siren, a Witch, and a Werewolf.

    Emma Monroe is our heroine, and she is an FBI agent. But what most people do not know is that Emma is a Fallen Siren, punished by the Greek Goddess, Demeter, for allowing her daughter, Persephone to be kidnapped. Emma has been cursed and banished to live among mortals on earth; she spends these never ending years determined to save those in trouble, mainly other woman, hoping for redemption in the eyes of Demeter. Since thousands of years have passed, will she ever be forgiven?

    Emma knows that Demeter watches her every move from afar. She has unique powers, such as reading a person’s mind, but rarely uses them in fear of repercussions from Demeter. Emma is an excellent FBI agent. We meet our hero Zach, who ends up becoming Emma’s new partner, and she is not a happy camper. Her and Zach worked together on a case awhile ago, which ended up with a one night stand. Zach is determined to win over Emma, as he has not forgotten her.

    Zach has his own issues, as he is a werewolf, something Emma has known. However, Zach knows something is different about Emma, but he does not know why.

    They are assigned a case of some missing women, which involves murder, vampires, and stolen organs. They work very closely together, with Emma determined not to become involved with Zach. She always knows that if she chooses to become romantically involved with any man, Demeter is very vindictive and would think nothing of killing him. Emma and Zach do get off to a bumpy start, but as the case gets more complicated and dangerous, their attraction to one another becomes difficult to ignore.

    Cursed is an excellent mystery, and does show vampires in a somewhat different light, as they live normal lives among the mortals. S.J. Harper has created a great couple, and also some good secondary characters, which I am sure we will learn more about in future books. Liz, is Emma’s friend, and a powerful witch. Kallistos is an ancient vampire, who is extremely powerful, and takes an interest in Emma, when he helps them solve the case.

    Harper does a great job with this world building; an exciting last half of the book, with many twists and surprises. This was also wonderful romance that is destined to fail. Will Emma and Zach stay together? We have had books on Fallen Angels, but this is my first book on Fallen Sirens. There are two more Sirens that we have not met yet. I really enjoyed the characters and the story, and look forward to the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2