Customer Reviews for

Cursed: A Fallen Siren Novel

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 29, 2013

    Before I started this book I told a friend, "I'm expecting

    Before I started this book I told a friend, "I'm expecting Mulder and Scully, only he's a werewolf and she's a siren - so I know I'll be disappointed."
    Am I glad to be WRONG.

    The comparison is even brought up jokingly in the book itself, but it's not exactly true. Other than both couples being FBI agents and the actual plot taking precedence over the romance, there's little else in common. But Cursed was still amazing!

    It's become so rare to find characters who act rationally and behave like adults, without petty drama clouding their decisions! All the characters were fully developed, I felt for them and there was never a moment I went, "That is so stupid!" - I know I'm repeating myself, but do you know how rare that is in UF?!

    So, Emma (formerly known as Ligea) is a siren working for the FBI to atone for letting Persephone be taken by Hades - Demeter will only let her get her life back if she doesn't fail in her job of finding and saving women - the way she failed with Persephone. Not only that, she's denied love - any man she loves and who loves her back is doomed to die.

    Enter Zack, her werewolf FBI partner, with whom she'd had a fling and now is back for good - and Emma can tell they're both falling for each other and that is obviously a problem.

    But don't be fooled by this PR description, the plot was solidly UF - emphasis on the case: a missing artist, followed by several other missing women (and men). And Emma and Zach have to find them before it's too late.

    I really, really!, enjoyed the mystery! I usually can tell who the villain is, but this one took so many twists and turns - I was extremely happy to be surprised!

    Also I should mention I hate love triangles with a burning passion which will never be extinguished, so I was absolutely blown away when there's a hint of a love triangle in this book... and I cheered for it. I know, I know, but it's so well written and it makes so much sense - and the characters are so vividly written and they are so normal (despite being supernatural beings) and reasonable that when the love triangle shows up (and I don't know if I can even call it a love triangle, a triangle possibility, maybe?), I just went, "Yeah, that makes sense, and it would probably be for the best."

    So - to all you love triangle haters (and I know there are a lot of us!), read this because it'll just amaze you how love triangles can be done right and not fill you to the brim with bile (as love triangles tend to do).

    Only one quibble with this: Emma mentioning Nero being responsible for burning Rome. That guy had obviously ran backwards into a wall of crazy, but that's one thing historians have managed to disprove - probably the one thing he didn't do.

    That aside, I highly recommend this to all UF readers, or any readers who enjoy a great book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    alright

    this was alright but not great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2013

    Great book, very emotional at times. I loved this book and I can

    Great book, very emotional at times. I loved this book and I can't wait to read more of this series. I highly recommend reading this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    I received an e-copy of this book in exchange for an honest revi

    I received an e-copy of this book in exchange for an honest review

    I have to admit that the first night I started reading Cursed I started it late at night and kept getting thrown out of the story. Why? The speech tags (all those he said, she replied, etc.) that we’re so used to seeing and generally skip over are written in present tense (he says, she replies). In most books I read they’re written in past tense. I wasn’t used to it or maybe I was just sleepy, but it threw me. But by the time I picked it back up on day 2, I had adjusted, became completely engrossed in the story, and went right back to not noticing them anymore.

    When I say I became engrossed in the story, I flew through it. The action is well paced, broken up with a bit of smexy fun times, and has a mystery that keeps you circling back on suspects. A plus for me too, is that Emma is a Siren and I’ve not read anything with Sirens so yay! a new paranormal entity. Don’t go thinking that the Sirens in Cursed are the whole mermaid type, nope, Emma is one of three mythological sisters cursed by Demeter. Sure she has certain seductive and suggestive powers that can have a certain , erm, effect on men but she’s not luring them to a watery grave.

    Rounding out this UF cast so far, we have werewolves, in the form of hunky Zack Armstrong, witches, and vampires. I enjoyed the interactions between the characters, particularly Emma and Zack as they try to figure each other out. Emma knows Zack’s a werewolf but doesn’t know his past and Zack? He just knows that Emma is….other, and has no idea what.

    I wish there was a little more world building and more of Emma and Zack’s histories, but that hopefully that means we’ll be finding out more as the series progresses. That gives us all something to look forward to because Cursed definitely needs to be on your TBR.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Devilish Diva - Shawnie: *eB

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Devilish Diva - Shawnie:

    *eBook gifted by LITERAL ADDICTION to write an honest review


    Emma Monroe is an F.B.I. Agent with a twist - she's a cursed Siren. Cursed by the Gods to live for one thing... Redemption.

    Her siren abilities help her to solve the missing persons cases she is assigned and she is good at what she does. But her routine life
    is about to get a shake up with the help of Agent Zachary Armstrong. Her new partner, in solving crime.

    Zach is a werewolf, with a past
    darker than he wants it to be, and he too is on a path of redemption. When the chance to start over in a different state come to him, he
    transfers to the San Diego field office and doesn't look back. But there are fractions that don't want to let him go, and she has followed
    him to San Diego.


    These two are similar in ways Emma doesn't want to admit, and there is no way she can or will admit to the attraction she feels towards Zach. The willing attraction between the two of them that has nothing to do with her powers. I was a disappointed
    with Emma because it just felt like she gave Zach the third degree about his life, but she refused to speak about hers. All her talk about
    trust, made me feel like she was bullsh*ting. There was many a times where I wanted to just stop reading.


    Right off the bat you can tell Zach's a good guy, who'd been dealt a bad hand early in life, but he's making up for it. They click together like missing pieces of a puzzle, but Emma wants to keep their relationship strictly professional. She at times seems like a super b**ch the way she comes at Zach,
    but he holds his own and doesn't let her get away with anything when it comes to talking about their lives.


    I warmed up to her once she got the stick out her butt, but that didn't even last long. She is so busy worrying about what others will think
    and do that she doesn't stop to think about what she does to people. The ending made me mad, and it took everything not to give this
    book a two star review off the ending alone. But that wouldn't have been fair. A nasty part of me hopes the decision she made comes back to bite her on the ass, in
    my humble opinion she doesn't deserve anything off that one act.


    The case was amazing, it was unexpected and brilliantly written on and then explained. I couldn't have imagined any of it. I am going to patiently wait for book and two and hope it doesn't upset me like
    this one did. This is the first book though, it was bound to have some rough edges.


    Honest rating 4 SKulls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Okay

    I was really eager to read this book. The story is interesting and so are the characters. I just thought it would be better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Slightly Impressed

    Earc given by LITERAL ADDICTION to write an honest review.
    Emma Monroe is an F.B.I. Agent with a twist - she's a cursed Siren. Cursed by the Gods to live for one thing... Redemption. Her siren abilities help her to solve the missing persons cases she is assigned and she is good at what she does. But her routine life is about to get a shake up with the help of Agent Zachary Armstrong. Her knew partner, in solving crime.

    Zach is a werewolf, with a past darker than he wants it to be, and he too is on a path of redemption. When the chance to start over in a different state come to him, he transfers to the San Diego field office and doesn't look back. But there are fractions that don't want to let him go, and she has followed him to San Diego.

    These two are similar in ways Emma doesn't want to admit, and there is no way she can or will admit to the attraction she feels towards Zach. The willing attraction between the two of them that has nothing to do with her powers. I was a disappointed with Emma because it just felt like she gave Zach the third degree about his life, but she refused to speak about hers. All her talk about trust, made me feel like she was bullsh*ting. There was many a times where I wanted to just stop reading.

    Right off the bat you can tell Zach's a good guy, who'd been dealt a bad hand early in life, but he's making up for it. They click together like missing pieces of a puzzle, but Emma wants to keep their relationship strictly professional. She at times seems like a super b**ch the way she comes at Zach, but he holds his own and doesn't let her get away with anything when it comes to talking about their lives.

    I warmed up to her once she got the stick out her butt, but that didn't even last long. She is so busy worrying about what others will think and do that she doesn't stop to think about what she does to people. The ending made me mad, and it took everything not to give this book a two star review off the ending alone. But that wouldn't have been fair. A nasty part of me hopes the decision she made comes back to bite her on the ass, in my humble opinion she doesn't deserve anything off that one act.

    The case was amazing, it was unexpected and brillantly written on and then explained. I couldn't have imagined any of it. I am going to patiently wait for book and two and hope it doesn't upset me like this one did. This is the first book though, it was bound to have some rough edges.

    Honest rating 4 Stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    Cursed by S.J. Harper is the first book in their Fallen Siren se

    Cursed by S.J. Harper is the first book in their Fallen Siren series. S.J. Harper is the pen name for the writing team of Samantha Sommersby and Jeanne C. Stein. Cursed is urban fantasy, with a Greek Goddess, a Siren, a Witch, and a Werewolf.

    Emma Monroe is our heroine, and she is an FBI agent. But what most people do not know is that Emma is a Fallen Siren, punished by the Greek Goddess, Demeter, for allowing her daughter, Persephone to be kidnapped. Emma has been cursed and banished to live among mortals on earth; she spends these never ending years determined to save those in trouble, mainly other woman, hoping for redemption in the eyes of Demeter. Since thousands of years have passed, will she ever be forgiven?

    Emma knows that Demeter watches her every move from afar. She has unique powers, such as reading a person’s mind, but rarely uses them in fear of repercussions from Demeter. Emma is an excellent FBI agent. We meet our hero Zach, who ends up becoming Emma’s new partner, and she is not a happy camper. Her and Zach worked together on a case awhile ago, which ended up with a one night stand. Zach is determined to win over Emma, as he has not forgotten her.

    Zach has his own issues, as he is a werewolf, something Emma has known. However, Zach knows something is different about Emma, but he does not know why.

    They are assigned a case of some missing women, which involves murder, vampires, and stolen organs. They work very closely together, with Emma determined not to become involved with Zach. She always knows that if she chooses to become romantically involved with any man, Demeter is very vindictive and would think nothing of killing him. Emma and Zach do get off to a bumpy start, but as the case gets more complicated and dangerous, their attraction to one another becomes difficult to ignore.

    Cursed is an excellent mystery, and does show vampires in a somewhat different light, as they live normal lives among the mortals. S.J. Harper has created a great couple, and also some good secondary characters, which I am sure we will learn more about in future books. Liz, is Emma’s friend, and a powerful witch. Kallistos is an ancient vampire, who is extremely powerful, and takes an interest in Emma, when he helps them solve the case.

    Harper does a great job with this world building; an exciting last half of the book, with many twists and surprises. This was also wonderful romance that is destined to fail. Will Emma and Zach stay together? We have had books on Fallen Angels, but this is my first book on Fallen Sirens. There are two more Sirens that we have not met yet. I really enjoyed the characters and the story, and look forward to the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1