Customer Reviews for

Cursor's Fury (Codex Alera Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 346 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(250)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 350 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    Lots of great battles; quick plot pace

    This is the third edition in the codex alera series, and it's no disappointment. As the title would lead one to believe, the protagonist has moved up in the world a bit, and he joins the Legions who, of course, go to war. There are lots of great battle scenes that are beautifully detailed without being too gory. I'm not too interested in war or fighting, but the literary style keeps things interesting. The pace is fast and gives one a sense of being there in the moment, with all of the adrenaline of the battlefield. And there is no shortage of character development and interesting story line. Definitely a worthwhile read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Cjerecter adoption

    I choose luvli

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Moshi monsters- charecter adoption

    Make your monsters here! Choices: katsuma furi poppit luvli divalo and zommer. Select your monster here!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Quite good

    Another excelent romp by jim butcher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    Excellent

    Very good read..Excellent series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    Nicely done, recommended

    I loved the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    A tad disappointing

    Jim Butcher excels as a storyteller and this book is right on target - except for his tendency to over-explain. Just when the action is at its hottest do we really need the cold-water shower of unnecessary "explanations?" I will read the remainder of his books but if they are like this one there will be many pages to skip over. Its the pure action pages that make his books worthwhile.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    Instant favorite

    Butcher again proves his ability to enthral and entertain. As a pretty solid Dresden fan, I was a bit skeptical about the transition to Alera. I truly enjoyed the adventure which compares to Lackey and the character personalities rivaling Eddings. Ive read all of Dresden and Alera and admitt, I can't wait to see what comes next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Keeps getting better!

    This series gets better with each book. Cursor's Fury is still solidly in the military fantasy camp. The battles are well-written enough for the story not to drag on. There are twists and revelations that take it beyond pure military fantasy, and some great developments to whet my appetite for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A really good book

    I really good book. I'm new to this series and really enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Thrilling Ending - Adult Read

    When civil war, unexplainable magical attacks, and thousands of invading foes spread death across Alera, the magic-less Tavi must counter the enemy with what he does possess - wits and guts.

    Cursor's Fury is a fast paced tale with a thrilling ending that leaves you wishing you had the next installment already at hand. The reader should be aware that it contains more sexual content than the two earlier books in the form of implicated/stated sexual desire and foreplay - though I wouldn't classify it as erotica. I would not recommend this as a young adult book.

    Overall a highly enjoyable adult read and a worthy third installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    It's been a long time since a book has kept me up all night.

    I don't think I've turned on my television in weeks - every spare minute has been spent reading the Codex Alera series (of which Cursor's Fury is #3). The characters have depth of personality: I find myself hating the decisions some of the good guys make and even the bad guys have some character traits one if forced to admire. The plots are well-crafted and keep me turning pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic!

    Jim Butcher continues his story of Tavi and his friends. It is every bit as hard to put down as the first two in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    Great book

    Masterfully written in a logical, epic world with rich, likeable characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Very Best of the Series So Far

    Jim Butcher hit a home run on this installment of the Codex Alera series. He brought out the best in his characters in this book. The book has everything one would want to find in one's reading. Pure enjoyment!!!! Thank you Mr. Butcher. I also reccomend the Pern Series, Valdemere series and of course The Wheel of Time series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2009

    I love Jim Butcheer

    I have reead everything he has written. I love is dark humour, his pacing. A great read, any time. every time!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    Incredible Tease

    Although by now in the series, everyone who's kept up on the Codex Alera novels knows where this is going, it would still be nice to be given enough time to see the sights along the way.

    Here we were finally given a fantastic chance to view the homeland and the intricacies of the Canim world, but instead, we saw those hopes quickly dashed against the tormented seas of Alera. It felt as though Caana was a perfunctory stop to tie off threads and back home.

    The characters, in some ways, although developed and now fleshed (specifically Max and Ehren) need something deeper to either drive them into the final story or let them loose as they felt like they were being drug along by the angry gargant that is the Tavi-Kitai-Vorg plot.

    On the very positive side, the story, although moving in a predictable end, is still taking more than enough turns in other threads to keep things entertaining. More importantly, the continuing development of Tavi into his final destiny is now questioned with his involvement with Kitai. One can sense a horrible collection of choices and possible missteps lying ahead for our hero, and we realize he sees that he may be forced into decisions that may decide between destroying those he loves and destroying that which he has vowed to protect.

    To be fair, Jim Butcher doesn't ever shut off the possibility that perhaps, huge pause, just perhaps, Tavi can do both. And he does a fantastic job of showing that every step now will echo in future books. And *that* is what makes this so enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    i love it

    very goood

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2008

    A reviewer

    this surpasses the standard set by the other books in the series. a captivating and injoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2008

    Not quite the quality I am used to

    I found this book very dreary. I battled to get through it, it was predictable and not quite the rollicking adventures I am used to from Jim Butcher. I grab his books the minute they hit the shelves and have read all the Dresden series and loved it, read the first two installments of this series and enjoyed them but this one just dragged on and on and you know Tavi is never going to suffer any dire injury and will always come out tops with everyone loving him. Just annoyingly predictable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 350 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18