Customer Reviews for

Cursor's Fury (Codex Alera Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 346 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(250)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 250 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Cjerecter adoption

    I choose luvli

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Moshi monsters- charecter adoption

    Make your monsters here! Choices: katsuma furi poppit luvli divalo and zommer. Select your monster here!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Quite good

    Another excelent romp by jim butcher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    Excellent

    Very good read..Excellent series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    Nicely done, recommended

    I loved the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    Instant favorite

    Butcher again proves his ability to enthral and entertain. As a pretty solid Dresden fan, I was a bit skeptical about the transition to Alera. I truly enjoyed the adventure which compares to Lackey and the character personalities rivaling Eddings. Ive read all of Dresden and Alera and admitt, I can't wait to see what comes next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    It's been a long time since a book has kept me up all night.

    I don't think I've turned on my television in weeks - every spare minute has been spent reading the Codex Alera series (of which Cursor's Fury is #3). The characters have depth of personality: I find myself hating the decisions some of the good guys make and even the bad guys have some character traits one if forced to admire. The plots are well-crafted and keep me turning pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic!

    Jim Butcher continues his story of Tavi and his friends. It is every bit as hard to put down as the first two in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    Great book

    Masterfully written in a logical, epic world with rich, likeable characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Very Best of the Series So Far

    Jim Butcher hit a home run on this installment of the Codex Alera series. He brought out the best in his characters in this book. The book has everything one would want to find in one's reading. Pure enjoyment!!!! Thank you Mr. Butcher. I also reccomend the Pern Series, Valdemere series and of course The Wheel of Time series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2009

    I love Jim Butcheer

    I have reead everything he has written. I love is dark humour, his pacing. A great read, any time. every time!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    i love it

    very goood

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2008

    A reviewer

    this surpasses the standard set by the other books in the series. a captivating and injoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2007

    Butcher does it again

    In his latest story about Alera, Jim Butcher continues with his amazing ability to bring to life the people and places he is writing about. Jim Butcher weaves an amazing tale that you find yourself emersed in from start to finish. I couldn't put this book down! In this story, Tavi, a person without Magic is placed in a position of tremendous responsibility against overwhelming odds. Tavi depends on his wits and courage to attempt to overcome impossible odds. Butcher also wraps up some of the storylines from the previous Alera books and introduces new plot twists in a very satisfying way. This author is AMAZING!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2006

    Great Read

    This is a great epic fantasy. Tavi and friends are back once again trying to hold the Kingdom of Aleara together. Good character development and the plot moves along swiftly. The surprise ending alludes to other sequels to come. There is something for everyone in this novel but I strongly suggest you read the first two. All I can say is I can't wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great worldbuilding

    In the realm of Alera where people can bind elemental furies and use their powers, Tavi is one of the fair who has no magical abilities. He is trusted by First Lord Gaius and was once his page. Now he is a Cursor, gathering intelligence to protect the realm from its enemies. However, not everyone is satisfied with the First Lord¿s rule High Lord Kalare wants the position and he makes a devil¿s bargain with the monstrous looking, magic wielding Canim.----------------- The battleground where the Canim will make their first stand is Cerus and Tavi through a series of deaths Tavi is now the captain and the leader of the First Alera legion. He is a natural leader and even though the Canim have fifty thousand troops camped to a few thousand Aleran soldiers, Tavi is determined to hold the line until other legions arrive to aid him. What he doesn¿t know that Kalare has imprisoned the spouses of Lords Atticus and Placida and neither man will make a move until their loved ones is freed. Tavi knows if he doesn¿t find a way to stop the coming horde, they will overrun all of Alera.-------------------- Jim Butcher, author of the Dresden Files writes high fantasy in the tradition of Tolkien. The author is a fantastic worldbuilder who has created a society with its own culture, politics and values and it seems so real, the reader will believe such places actually exist. This is a unique hero who thinks he is losing because he has no fury crafting but doesn¿t understand one doesn¿t need magic to be a leader and inspire loyalty. There is much intrigue and political maneuvering in CURSOR¿S FURY but the battle scenes are fantastic because they are easily visualized. Mr. Butcher deserves a Hugo nomination for this fine book.--------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 250 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13