Customer Reviews for

Curveball: The Year I Lost My Grip

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Peter is a star pitcher hoping to make the JV team as a freshman

Peter is a star pitcher hoping to make the JV team as a freshman, but all those games that he played through the pain have left his elbow in a bad state. He doesn’t know what to do with his time after the career-ending surgery other than feel sorry for himself an...
Peter is a star pitcher hoping to make the JV team as a freshman, but all those games that he played through the pain have left his elbow in a bad state. He doesn’t know what to do with his time after the career-ending surgery other than feel sorry for himself and think about his best friend AJ making the team. When he meets Angelika in his photography class, things start looking up. Peter is familiar with cameras and photography due to watching and assisting his grandfather, a very well-known wedding photographer. Grandpa has recently started forgetting things and Angelika suggests that he may have Alzheimer’s, a disease which her grandmother had. There is no offensive language or sexual content but Peter does drink alcoholic fruit punch at a party, gets sick, and has a hangover the next day. This story has many elements which teens will relate to—sweet romance, having their dreams crushed, sadness at seeing the physical decline of a family member. Another winner by Sonnenblick.

posted by Heidi_G on March 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not that much

I really think it stinks so much it smells

posted by 9746629 on October 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Peter is a star pitcher hoping to make the JV team as a freshman

    Peter is a star pitcher hoping to make the JV team as a freshman, but all those games that he played through the pain have left his elbow in a bad state. He doesn’t know what to do with his time after the career-ending surgery other than feel sorry for himself and think about his best friend AJ making the team. When he meets Angelika in his photography class, things start looking up. Peter is familiar with cameras and photography due to watching and assisting his grandfather, a very well-known wedding photographer. Grandpa has recently started forgetting things and Angelika suggests that he may have Alzheimer’s, a disease which her grandmother had. There is no offensive language or sexual content but Peter does drink alcoholic fruit punch at a party, gets sick, and has a hangover the next day. This story has many elements which teens will relate to—sweet romance, having their dreams crushed, sadness at seeing the physical decline of a family member. Another winner by Sonnenblick.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Amazing!!

    Well how do u no it sux if u havenr even read the book?
    I think it rox and i hav read the book

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Best book I have read besides the bible.

    Best book I have read besides the bible.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Great book

    Fantastic book! Jordan Sonnenblick has done it again!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Are u kidding

    Best book in the universe

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Jordon Sonnenblick writes this book perfectly. He takes Pete, a

    Jordon Sonnenblick writes this book perfectly. He takes Pete, a kid just trying to make the high school baseball team, and puts twists in the plot to leave you wanting more. I read this book and fell in love. Pete is on top of the world thinking about making the JV team, the comes crashing down when his arm blows on him. Jordan sonnenblick does it again in CURVEBALL: THE YEAR I LOST MY GRIP.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent!! My 8th graders LOVE it.

    Jordan Sonnenblick has done it again! CURVEBALL: THE YEAR I LOST MY GRIP is fantastic!

    Nightmares of his final pitch and devastating elbow injury plague Peter Friedman. His dreams of joining his friend and fellow pitcher AJ as the stars of the high school JV baseball team are gone forever, and the thought of starting high school without that dream is terrifying.

    In addition to giving up his life as a pitcher, Peter is dealing with his grandfather's confusing behavior. He fondly remembers all the time he has spent by his grandfather's side learning all about photography. As the owner and sole photographer of Goldberg Photo, Peter's grandfather has suddenly decided he's retiring and he's giving all his valuable equipment to Peter. As far as Peter's mother is concerned, the timing is perfect since she insisted that Peter sign up for the freshman class Introduction to Photography.

    Peter's teacher quickly figures out he should be across the hall in the advanced photography class. Peter suddenly finds himself in the middle of a class filled with upperclassmen. He is pleasantly surprised when the cute freshman girl he noticed in the other class is also sent over to join the advanced group. Angelika becomes not only his class partner but also his confidant through some pretty tough times.

    Author Jordan Sonnenblick takes readers into the confused teenage mind of a young man dealing with his own crumbling dreams, his first intense relationship with a girl, and the crushing reality that his grandfather is slipping into another world. Sonnenblick uses a unique combination of humor, stark reality, and compassion to create a story that will make a lasting impression on his readers.

    I am currently reading this aloud to my 8th graders, and they beg for more every time I have to stop.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Not that much

    I really think it stinks so much it smells

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I feel like the loss of Peter's pitching days wasn't enforced as

    I feel like the loss of Peter's pitching days wasn't enforced as much as it should've been, so I did not enjoy this book as much as the other novels of Jordan Sonnenblick. Otherwise, it was pretty good, but not as moving as I thought it would be.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another hit from Sonnenblick!

    Once again, Jordan Sonnenblick approaches serious subject matter with his trademark humor and authentic characters. This is a must-read for fans of Sonnenblick's previous work.

    Curveball is all about the sudden, unexpected changes that happen in life. Starting high school is a big change for anyone, but Pete expected to be a big-time athlete and suddenly he's having to find a new identity. Grampa's sudden descent into Alzheimer's is another unexpected change in Pete's life, made even more stressful by the fact that he feels like he has to protect his grandfather and keep it a secret. The family unit that Pete should be able to steady himself against is suddenly full of pitfalls and uncertainties.

    Jordan Sonnenblick writes with authenticity and Pete's voice rang true to me. The humor in the book keeps it light, even as Pete's dealing with serious situations. The pacing is steady and kept me turning the pages, wondering how everything would work out. There's some romance as Pete delves into his first relationship with Angelika, his photography partner, but it's not overdone and the relationship develops organically throughout the book. It's always nice to see some romance from a guy's perspective because that's something guys are dealing with, too.

    This book will definitely appeal to Sonnenblick's already established audience and it's sure to garner him new fans, as well. Be sure to hand it to fans of Notes from the Midnight Driver. The story's got many of the same elements as L.K. Madigan's wonderful Flash Burnout, so I'd recommend it to fans of that book, as well. Curveball might also serve as a gateway drug of sorts for kids who will only touch sports stories.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    Great Book So Far

    Love this book so far!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Hey chearleader/dancer whar is your number

    Cause i am a cute country guy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    It was good in a way.

    It was good... i have to read this book for school over the su.mer and i read it in one day. I think that the way the plot was set up kinda didnt make sense but hey its just my opinion... a dumb cheerleader who was forced to read. But i think u should buy th book anyways its good to read... luv cheerleader/dancer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Great

    This book wuz awesome. I would definitly recommed it to people who like baseball, family, and love. All I will say it that the book into a teen boy's life and problem &insurcirtie plus it's also funny!

    Great job Jordan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Great for a fun book

    Read it in no time
    Very easy read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    This author was my owl teacher at my church im friends with his daughtr

    I need to read his other books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    This book is totally awesome!

    So I use the website Goodreads to help me find new books based on what I've read before,my interests and what's popular. In need of a new book I checked for new books in my reconmondation box and Curveball appered. After reading a sample of the book and some reviews saying it was totally worth reading I knew I had to buy it. And boy were those reviews right! This book is awesome! Its fun,funny, and captivating. One mintue you could read something romantic and the next read something serious. I felt like was reading my bestfriends journal. If you want something different and awesome to read, chose this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    LOVE!!!

    This was an amazing book!! It was written in such a great way! Diffenitly recommended!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Awesome

    The book was spectacular

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    I get it.

    I play softball, first base, center field, and i catch. Im also the most important pitcher, the death pitcher. I know how it feels to pitch through pain, for i had to pitch in a playoff game after a messed up slide into home. I had landed on my right arm wrong and it hurt like heck. Our regular pitcher couldnt get this one girl out, she just kept hittin fouls, so, our coach, having no other choice, pulled me outta the catchers gear and put me on the pitchers mound. It felt like my arm was on fire, but i just tried that much harder.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2