Customer Reviews for

Cut

Average Rating 4
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Many feel that Cathy Glass shouldn't profit off these foster chi

Many feel that Cathy Glass shouldn't profit off these foster children. As a former foster child I have no problem with it. These are TRUE stories of what happens to children out there. If there are those that are to short sighted to relieze this, they need to wake up. C...
Many feel that Cathy Glass shouldn't profit off these foster children. As a former foster child I have no problem with it. These are TRUE stories of what happens to children out there. If there are those that are to short sighted to relieze this, they need to wake up. Cathy Glass is trying to show the world the dark side of the truth. The only way to make a change, and protect children, is to show what can and does happen. Hurrah for her to write about something that makes people uncomfortable in an effort to educate.

posted by Bookworm0002 on February 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

I find it very offensive that the author capitalizes on her expe

I find it very offensive that the author capitalizes on her experiences as a foster mother.  As a former foster child who suffered severe abuse at the hands of my own father and subsequent foster parents...I would urge all of the readers to imagine what these children m...
I find it very offensive that the author capitalizes on her experiences as a foster mother.  As a former foster child who suffered severe abuse at the hands of my own father and subsequent foster parents...I would urge all of the readers to imagine what these children might feel about having their pain put on display for all the world to see.  Cathy Glass disgusts me. 

posted by amyvsings on December 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    To each their own

    I think even though some people may believe that some of these stories are exaggerated or made up or that Cathy Glass is exploiting the tales of these abused kids is sad. The point is people is that shes shinning a light on a dark subject so to each their own with opinions. The book like the others is heartbreaking but you cant help feel a sense of hope for these children.

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Touching and Thougtful

    While the first twenty pages can, quite frankly, be off-putting,- due to the author's lack of supreme writing ability, I must say the honesty of the portrayal of "Dawn" in this book quite makes up for everything. I found myself coalescing through the oncoming pages with exponential rapidity, towards the end. This book is short, and not sweet. But, it is a work of non-fiction, and makes one think. It screams of life, and the many paths it can take...

    15 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2012

    Good read

    This was a good book. Really makes you wonder how someone could abuse a child so bad that they would have to cut themselves. Glad to see that it did have a good ending.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2013

    I think this was an intriguing and ultimately hopeful story abou

    I think this was an intriguing and ultimately hopeful story about a little girl that had been abused and how the caregiver, "Cathy Glass," was able to love her back to normality and perhaps even some happiness.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Nice

    I like this book, very sad story. I wonder how could suck sad thing happen in our life.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Touched by it!

    I am a veteran elementary teacher and I have taught children like this little girl. May be a little disturbing for some, but very real. Worth the read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Made me cry....

    I just discovered Kathy Glass this week, this is the third book of hers I have read. I plan to read many more!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2014

    Great book eye opening & as far as profiting I see it she pr

    Great book eye opening & as far as profiting I see it she profits nothing simply by being a foster parent & caring for
    these discarded children i think its great what she does & any money she is gaining from this book is clearly being used to help  more kids .Wow how people judge.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    A difficult read

    A difficult read because of the overall mishandling of this girls case• The social services were negligable by not disclosing the seriousness of her case thereby putting the carers in a possible dangerous situation and not allowing the carers to set acceptable guideline appropriate for a thirteen year old • The foster parents were very niave, knowing her tricks, to allow moving about with no supervision and allowing her to make decisions on certain thongs that she was not mature enough to handle•

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    I have to believe that Cathy Glass had permission from the chil

    I have to believe that Cathy Glass had permission from the children she cared for to tell their story. Most are probably adults by now.
    If she did not have permission, than shame on her.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1