Customer Reviews for

Cut

Average Rating 4
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Many feel that Cathy Glass shouldn't profit off these foster chi

Many feel that Cathy Glass shouldn't profit off these foster children. As a former foster child I have no problem with it. These are TRUE stories of what happens to children out there. If there are those that are to short sighted to relieze this, they need to wake up. C...
Many feel that Cathy Glass shouldn't profit off these foster children. As a former foster child I have no problem with it. These are TRUE stories of what happens to children out there. If there are those that are to short sighted to relieze this, they need to wake up. Cathy Glass is trying to show the world the dark side of the truth. The only way to make a change, and protect children, is to show what can and does happen. Hurrah for her to write about something that makes people uncomfortable in an effort to educate.

posted by Bookworm0002 on February 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

I find it very offensive that the author capitalizes on her expe

I find it very offensive that the author capitalizes on her experiences as a foster mother.  As a former foster child who suffered severe abuse at the hands of my own father and subsequent foster parents...I would urge all of the readers to imagine what these children m...
I find it very offensive that the author capitalizes on her experiences as a foster mother.  As a former foster child who suffered severe abuse at the hands of my own father and subsequent foster parents...I would urge all of the readers to imagine what these children might feel about having their pain put on display for all the world to see.  Cathy Glass disgusts me. 

posted by amyvsings on December 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    Many feel that Cathy Glass shouldn't profit off these foster chi

    Many feel that Cathy Glass shouldn't profit off these foster children. As a former foster child I have no problem with it. These are TRUE stories of what happens to children out there. If there are those that are to short sighted to relieze this, they need to wake up. Cathy Glass is trying to show the world the dark side of the truth. The only way to make a change, and protect children, is to show what can and does happen. Hurrah for her to write about something that makes people uncomfortable in an effort to educate.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Loved it

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It hurts to see so many negative comments regarding Cathy Glass' motives. Your rating should be on the quality of the book, not what you think the author's intentions were. She writes these books to share the stories of the children, and to encourage people to foster a child to better its life. What people dont realize is that Cathy Glass is a pen name, and all the names in the book have been changed to protect privacy. Just because alot of the book sounds like something that no one would want to deal with, that doesnt mean it didnt happen. Believe it or not, there people in this world who lovea child to the point that they would stick by them through every hardship. I recommend this book very much, and can't wait to read her other books.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Amazing

    It is an amazing book that will make you cry i would recomend it to everyone it toutches the heart

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Parents have a high calling and this book demonstrates the need

    Parents have a high calling and this book demonstrates the need all the more as it draws our attention to NSSI/SIB more commonly known as "cutting". You most likely know a cutter! All of Cathy's books should be read by anyone considering becoming a foster parent, because they allow readers to see the dedication that is required, how they may have to fight "the system," and finally, how those who can handle the stress can help a child turn their lives around. In "Cut," Cathy tells the story of one 13 year old who had a past that created such severe problems in her that the child could be considered unsafe in a "normal" home. The way Cathy and her husband stuck it out and worked with this child is amazing. Cathy does an amazing job of telling the story in such a way that the reader can feel the severe pressure of all involved - the family, the child, the social workers, etc. I felt for Cathy, sympathizing with her desire to provide Dawn the loving, stable environment the girl desperately needed, but unable to overcome a broken system and even more broken girl. I was frustrated for her, John, and Barbara. I felt each of them wanted what was best for Dawn, even Barbara, in her own flawed way. But the system, meant to help threatened and disadvantaged children, seemed to do more harm than good. My heart broke for Dawn, and the more Cathy revealed about her past, the more I hoped she would somehow be able to turn it all around and claim the happy life she deserved.     

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    I have read several of her books and can't put them down.  She i

    I have read several of her books and can't put them down.  She is an amazing foster 
    Parent.  Some of these kids are mentally ill and scary I could not do it.  The stories are
    Horrific.  I do find Cathy to be a bit smug though.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Could not put down

    Cathys writing is superb

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Wow!

    That is freakin' amazing

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Ppl who say this disgusts them.....

    Really....this disgust you. This is the world we live in stuff like this actually happens so why not write about the truth? As a foster child abused and molested by my own dad i can understand. That happened for over six years and im only thirteen now. Social services had been in my familys life for as long as i can remember and they just kept screwing things up not once did anything become clear or better for me. My mom, dad, and three brother plus me still lived in our car and motels. When i finally told someone their way of "making everything better" was taking me from my mom and brothers i havnt seen or talked to my mom in over six months and i havnt talked to my brothers in about a month. so i think its grest someone is writing about something whether it may disgust you or not......maybe it could actually change something. Maybe their really is hope.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    So glad I read this.

    It makes you feel as if they are your best friends and you always want to keep in touch to see how they are doing. Love this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A truly heartbreaking book filled with stories of abuse and of s

    A truly heartbreaking book filled with stories of abuse and of survival.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2013

    This is the second book I have read by Cathy Glass.  It was very

    This is the second book I have read by Cathy Glass.  It was very well written, thoughtful and insightful.  I learned a great deal about the foster care system.  I highly recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2013

    Amazing

    Another amazing book! Dawn came from a very dark place and didn't even know the severity of that past. Cathy & John succeded in showing Dawn that love & support would always b there while she lived with them, and after. It's amazing how some children can push through the most horrific of cicumstances and become respected well rounded memers of society. WAY TO GO DAWN! Can't seem to put Cathy's books down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    WOW RECOMMENDED

    THIS AUTHOR IS VERY GOOD THE WORDS ARE SELF EXSPLANATORY... U CAN FOLLOW THE STORY IN UR MIND AND ALSO SO SAD STORYS

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    A wonderful book

    This is the second Cathy Glass book I read. It was excellent. Thank you Ms. Glass for sharing your world.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Love it

    This is an amazing book and all of her books that ive read so far have been great im planning on buying more of her books too :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    Want

    I want to read this so bad

    2 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Loved iy

    Amazing book. Never wanted it to enf

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    This iis a sad book

    Thus book is sad:(

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Cut

    Ok

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2015

    Plz tap

    To anyone who thins this is stupid. Look im 12 years old and iv been miserable for 10years since i was three and i wake up every day waiting for it to be over waiting for my biological mom to come save i really tried to kill my self like 5 times already because i wake up every morning withoutt my mommy daddy they have everyone of my birth days for7 yeats and i cry wen isleep

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2